Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
562 views

What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?

Many spells specify a condition (animal, living creature, undead, etc.) that their targets must fulfill. What happens if such a spell is cast on a target that meets the condition(s), but changes in ...
22
votes
4answers
1k views

Does the save DC of a spell decrease if the original spellcaster polymorphs on a later turn?

Does the save DC of a spell being concentrated on change if the caster's Int stat changes in the meantime due to polymorphing? For instance, if a level 8 wizard with Int 16 casts Hold Person on ...
17
votes
5answers
70k views

How is True Polymorph not completely unbalanced?

How is True polymorph balanced in regards to any spell besides Wish? (Which is inherently unbalanced per design). Two example uses that seem unbalanced: A level 20 Warlock and Bard are having a talk ...
13
votes
4answers
960 views

How can I model a character polymorphed into a (stupid, speechless) Tyrannosaurus Rex?

The wizard in my party likes to use polymorph to turn himself into a Tyrannosaurus Rex. The T-Rex has Intelligence 2, and cannot understand or speak any langauges. Although the character retains his ...
20
votes
2answers
4k views

Does a True Polymorphed player character continue to gain experience?

Suppose a 5th-level human wizard (let's call her Morgan) is subject to true polymorph, and the spell becomes permanent. While polymorphed, Morgan remains with the party and contributes to adventures. ...
16
votes
1answer
6k views

Does polymorph cancel rage?

We know that when you polymorph in D&D 5e, per the spell, you lose access to your class features, as discussed in this question. However, polymorph does not say it cancels on-going effects on the ...
9
votes
1answer
181 views

What happens when a caster's soul returns to his polymorphed body by the effect of Magic Jar?

Consider the following sequence of actions: A caster casts Magic Jar and his souls travel to the chosen container The caster manages to possess an NPS's body. The caster's class features are retained ...
5
votes
2answers
14k views

Can polymorph and true polymorph change a PC's race and sex?

Can polymorph and true polymorph alter a PC's race and sex? If a PC can be altered in such a way, can the PC speak and use his or her hands?
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Action economy and polymorphing into a hydra

The polymorph spell would allow an 7th level character to turn themselves into a hydra with all the benefits that implies. The polymorph spell states: (The spellcaster) gains all extraordinary ...
16
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens when a creature possessed by an intellect devourer is true polymorphed?

Let's assume that a new party member, already possessed by an intellect devourer, is true polymorphed into a dog by the wizard as part of his initiation ritual (and a big message that said "don't mess ...
16
votes
1answer
23k views

Can damage taken while in polymorph break concentration?

A wizard uses polymorph to become a Giant Ape. The ape takes damage, but the damage does not spill over into the wizard's hit points. Can this damage break concentration (if they fail the DC 10 or ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when you cast the Polymorph spell on a swarm?

If a caster targets a swarm with the spell polymorph, what happens? The polymorph spell description says: This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a simulacrum "regain" HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally?

If a simulacrum is polymorphed through True Polymorph into a creature that can regain hit points normally, can the simulacrum regain hit points while polymorphed in that way?
12
votes
1answer
808 views

If an Ancient Metallic Dragon uses Change Shape to turn into a humanoid with Innate Spellcasting, do the uses of “X/day” spells reset each time?

Ancient Metallic Dragons (e.g. Ancient Brass Dragons) have the Change Shape ability: Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating no higher than ...
10
votes
2answers
13k views

Is a creature that uses Change Shape to become a humanoid affected by spells that only work on humanoids?

Creatures such as the Deva, Couatl and Oni have an ability which lets them magically polymorph into a humanoid, stating that they keep their statistics (other than ones listed as changing). Does this ...
9
votes
1answer
954 views

Can polymorphing monsters spam their ability to effectively give themselves a massive health pool?

Some creatures have an ability that lets them polymorph, such as the Couatl's Change Shape action. I am wondering if this ability could be used again whenever the form is dropped to give the creature ...
8
votes
2answers
4k views

Which stat and proficiency bonuses of a creature you transform into do you gain?

When you transform into a creature via a spell or wild shape, you gain its Str, Dex and Con ability scores, but keep your Int, Cha and Wis scores. However, if the creature you're transforming into has ...
8
votes
3answers
421 views

Does a severely reduced intelligence ability score impair your ability to communicate?

When under the effects of the Polymorph spell: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and ...
7
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I benefit from a feat effect while polymorphed?

If I have polymorphed into a creature can I use the effects of my feats? For example: If I have Alert do I still get a plus 5 to initiative? If I have the Grappler feat can I still pin a creature ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you take the form of a swarm with the polymorph spell?

The Polymorph spell says: The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's Swarm of insects says: Medium swarm of Tiny beasts Can a wizard choose the form ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Does an Oni get new HP when it changes shape into a humanoid or large giant?

I am building an encounter for 6 or 7 PCs (mixed levels 4/5) with an Oni: it may turn into combat. Oni can be very difficult, even deadly, encounters for PCs at this level. What has me puzzled is ...
6
votes
1answer
977 views

What "a shapechanger" means in the Polymorph description?

The Polymorph spell does not work on "shapechangers": The spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points. This answer assumes the word "shapechanger" means the specific ...
6
votes
1answer
508 views

What do you get when making a Simulacrum of a True Polymorphed creature?

The Simulacrum spell states: You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The duplicate is a creature, partially real and ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Are a polymorphed beast's attacks magical?

When seen by detect magic, a polymorphed beast will glow magical (Transmutation). Since the creature is magical, do their attacks count as magical for overcoming resistances?
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it legal to use True Polymorph to become a really old adult dragon so that you become ancient with time?

A scenario popped up in my mind that seems legal but feels like cheating. Say a level 20 wizard used True Polymorph to become an Adult Gold Dragon, at age 800 years and 364 days old. As stated in ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How large a thing can True Polymorph produce?

In this question, it was decided a goblin could be permanently True Polymorphed into a lump of adamantine. True Polymorph can also turn a goblin into a larger creature, like a cow. This effectively ...
5
votes
1answer
467 views

When a creature changes form is its melded equipment still burdensome?

My human PC has been forced to assume magically the form of a typical squirrel, and his gear has melded into this new form. Does this melded equipment still have weight? If it does still have weight, ...
5
votes
1answer
351 views

Do you still benefit from ASIs when using True Polymorph?

I've seen references to feats being retained when you are transformed via True Polymorph. Are ability score increases (ASIs) also kept? If not, that would seem to make feats a strictly better choice ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Do Permanent Spells Remain after a Polymorph?

I'm playing a wizard and I've cast Permanency on Tongues and Arcane Sight. If I Polymorph myself into a Sun Giant, do those spells remain active? Furthermore, if I cast Haste earlier in the round, ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a caster grant class levels to the target form of a True Polymorph?

This is a follow-on to: Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels? Assume we have a wizard who wants to check out a cave system where he or she can't fit ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

How do Polymorph and Find [Greater] Steed interact?

A bard has used magical secrets to select either Find Steed, or Find Greater Steed and has summoned a mount. They then cast Polymorph on themselves and turn themselves into a T-Rex, because they are ...
1
vote
3answers
4k views

Can a simulacrum true polymorphed into an archmage regain spell slots? [duplicate]

Followup to: Can a simulacrum "regain" HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally? So this is a particularly ridiculous idea, but it might work. A simulacrum ...
0
votes
1answer
4k views

How do polymorph-like spells interact with spellcasting capability? [closed]

For this question I am going to define these spells as, namely, Polymorph, True Polymorph & Shapechange. You must also, for the sake of this question, disregard any creature type limitations and ...
36
votes
1answer
4k views

What's the story to "WotC gave up on fixing Polymorph"?

This is about D&D version 3.0 through 3.5e. It's been well-established that the Polymorph spell is broken. However, I often see the claim that "Wizards of the Coast (WotC, the game publisher) ...
31
votes
5answers
52k views

Can a Wizard polymorph low-level PCs into over-powered beasts?

According to Polymorph's description, The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or the target’s level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating). For ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

How worldly is a polymorphic elf?

In the 3.5e campaign I'm running, a very real concern has arisen that the player characters might actually fail to save the world from the horrific fate that the villian has planned for it. If this ...
24
votes
6answers
1k views

Should PCs be limited to choosing forms into which to polymorph (or wild shape, etc.) that the PCs have previously encountered?

In trying to set reasonable limits on a PC's usage of the polymorph chain of spells. Is it plausible to require that the PC have some form of interaction with the target creature? Or can a PC ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

What abilities remain when using Draconic Exemplar's shapechange ability?

Draconic Exemplar is a Racial Paragon Class for the dragonlike Taninim Race by Rite. One of the Draconic Gifts is Humanoid Form (Su): The draconic exemplar can assume a specific humanoid form of ...
45
votes
3answers
6k views

Can you escape a Maze spell by turning into a Minotaur?

The Maze spell states: Minotaurs are not affected by this spell. So could an enterprising victim escape the Maze spell by using a spell like polymorph to turn themselves into a Minotaur? ...
20
votes
4answers
1k views

Does a spell persist if it is cast on an object, and the object changes into a creature?

Does a spell persist if it is cast on an object, and the object changes into a creature? For example, spells like Light or Darkness, are linked to a movable object but can't be cast directly onto a ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if one's petrified while Enlarged (or Polymorphed)?

If one were under the effect of Enlarge Person (or some temporary polymorph effect) and then get petrified, what happens when the spell expires? I could imagine: The petrification creates a statue ...
12
votes
4answers
7k views

Can you cast spell while using "Polymorph" with sorcerer's "Subtle Spell" [duplicate]

The polymorph spell description is kind of elusive about this: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast Spells, or take any other ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the half-dragon template be added to a beast and still qualify it for beast form and polymorph spells?

After reading the Half-Dragon template in the monster manual, it became apparent that the type of the creature does not change so a brown bear which is normally a beast continues to be a beast if it ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a ghost or other incorporeal creature be polymorphed?

While researching this question about polymorphing a paladin's steed, I had a realization. Polymorph specifies a creature you can see as a target, and as answered here, "creature" essentially refers ...
8
votes
1answer
765 views

What happens if a creature with a Bag of Holding is polymorphed/wild-shaped, then is placed inside another Bag of Holding?

If a druid who has a bag of holding uses Wild Shape to become a bug, then the bag of holding merges with their new form (and is not dropped). Then someone puts said bug in another bag of holding, what ...
8
votes
1answer
686 views

What happens when a creature gains a black pudding's split ability?

What happens to a polymorphed wizard or master of many forms when, while in black pudding form, he splits? Some say the ability creates a new black pudding, yet the black pudding's split ability says ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? [closed]

When you kill a humanoid with Finger of Death, it creates a zombie that is permanently under your command. If you then True Polymorph that zombie, replacing its statistics with another creature's, ...
28
votes
5answers
3k views

Does Polymorph break attunements with prerequisites?

Some magic items have prerequisites for attunement, most commonly requiring a specific race, class, or alignment. According to the rules on attunement: A creature's attunement to an item ends if the ...
20
votes
1answer
3k views

Does the mind flayer's Extract Brain affect polymorphed or Wild Shaped humanoids?

A mind flayer has the following requirement in order to perform its Extract Brain Action (MM, 222): one incapacitated humanoid grappled by the mind flayer. If a humanoid has been polymorphed (PHB, ...
19
votes
2answers
3k views

Does a creature die outright if they drop below negative max hit points of their polymorphed form?

Does a creature die outright if they drop below negative max hit points of their polymorphed form? I know a creature will revert to their normal form upon reaching 0 hit points, but a creature dies ...