Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
16
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a caster that cast Polymorph on themselves stop concentrating at any point even if their Int is low?

I was playing a moon druid and cast the polymorph spell on myself, changing me into a T-Rex, which caused my Int to become 2 and my Wis 12. I realized my targets had immunity to non-magical damage ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a creature transformed by the True Polymorph spell use Legendary Resistance?

Can a creature transformed by the true polymorph spell use Legendary Resistance? The "Legendary Creatures" section of the introduction to the Monster Manual (p. 11) and the corresponding ...
15
votes
2answers
8k views

Does exhaustion affect a creature after it is polymorphed?

I have an ally that is exceptionally exhausted. If I polymorph him into another form, do the negative effects of exhaustion—such as reduced speed—apply to the new polymorphed form?
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object?

Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object? Or would doing so break your concentration on the spell?
14
votes
4answers
489 views

Does contingency work if you are polymorphed and so the statuette merged with your body?

The spell Contingency has a material component of: a statuette of yourself carved from ivory and decorated with gems worth at least 1,500 gp The spell also ends if this statue isn't on your person. ...
14
votes
3answers
790 views

Does a familiar stay the same after being true polymorphed and then dismissed and resummoned?

Let's say someone true polymorphs your snake familiar into a bandit and concentrates long enough to make it permanent, does the familiar stay a bandit when you dismiss them and resummon?
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if you dispel a "permanent" True Polymorph after the target has died?

With the errata (no longer so recent), it is clear that true polymorph can be dispelled, even after it has been concentrated on for the full hour. On page 185 of the SRD, the spell description now ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when you cast the Polymorph spell on a swarm?

If a caster targets a swarm with the spell polymorph, what happens? The polymorph spell description says: This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature polymorphs?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Does Antimagic Field suppress all layers of True Polymorph simultaneously?

Imagine that you have cast True Polymorph to turn a medium object into a Helmed Horror with Spell Immunity to Antimagic Field. If you were to then True Polymorph that Helmed Horror into something else,...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Are UA Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?

The Polymorph spell says: This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. The spell has no ...
11
votes
2answers
6k views

Which beast should I choose to most effectively remove an enemy from a fight using the Polymorph spell?

A common battle tactic among mid-level spellcasters is to remove one big enemy from the fight using polymorph to transform them into a harmless beast. However, the question inevitably arises: what ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

How does true polymorph interact with class feature companions? [closed]

How does true polymorph work with the companion from the rangers beast master and warlocks pact of the chain class options? Beast Master Can it be true polymorphed into a large CR 1/4 creature? Can ...
10
votes
5answers
10k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
10
votes
3answers
13k views

Do you need to know the creature to use Polymorph to change someone into that creature?

Does a character need to know a creature to use Polymorph? If yes, is a little information found in an old book enough, or does it have to be an encounter with said creature? If no, does the ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Paladin's Find Steed was True Polymorphed

The paladin in the party I DM for uses the Find Steed spell to summon a saber toothed tiger mount (I'm a nice DM). The spell says: You summon a spirit that assumes the form of an unusually ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature be True Polymorphed into a corpse and then raised?

Inspired by If a corpse is polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality? True Polymorph can turn a creature into an object Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Polymorphed creature grapple?

My confusion comes from this part of the polymorph spell: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can True Polymorph create rare inks?

I am a level 20 wizard and have been using the True Polymorph spell to create expensive spell components. However my DM, who will never overrule RAW, has recently created a spell which requires "rare ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Can an object created by True Polymorph be used as a consumable spell component?

Using the creature to object feature of true polymorph you can transform a creature into an object. Can you then use that object as a consumable component for a spell? How does the potential ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

What keeps players from creating all legendary items imaginable using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

So, True Polymorph can be used to turn creatures into objects, like lumps of adamantine. Creature into Object: If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Does damage that caused concentration on polymorph to break carry over to the HP of the normal form?

I argue in this question that damage taken while polymorphed can break concentration. If this damage does break concentration, is it applied to the polymorphed form (just before concentration breaks), ...
8
votes
1answer
611 views

Does changing shape or changing another's shape require knowledge of the resulting creature?

Many forum threads and comments on this site and elsewhere claim that You cannot transform yourself or others into creatures you haven't encountered. For instance, another player recently complained ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Does polymorph cancel bladesong?

A wizard is fighting with his bladesong active and decides to cast polymorph upon himself. Will bladesong still be active in the new form (let’s take a giant ape for example)?
7
votes
1answer
238 views

Does casting the Polymorph spell on a creature break an active Warding Bond spell affecting that creature?

We had a recent event in our campaign where our Warlock cast the Polymorph spell (PHB, p. 266) to change another player into a Giant Ape. I had the Warding Bond spell (PHB p. 287) cast on the player ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an Imp which is in another form (through Shapechanger) be invisible?

The imp has the Shapechanger trait: The imp can use its action to polymorph into a beast form that resembles a rat (speed 20 ft.), a raven (20 ft., fly 60 ft.), or a spider (20 ft., climb 20 ft.), ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

If a creature's size suddenly increases while it is inside a very small Sphere of Force (from Wall of Force) what happens? [duplicate]

Let's be very specific. Assume you have two casters. The first one casts polymorph on, lets say, a Kraken, and uses portent to assure a failed save. He turns the Kraken it into a regular 1/2 inch ...
7
votes
1answer
366 views

Do diseases carry over from polymorph?

I'm curious how polymorph and diseases interact. Say the following scenario. A character of at least level 5 is polymporphed into a Giant Shark and fights an Aboleth. Polymorph states the following: ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can True Polymorph be used to recover from diseases or curses?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore is tired of his hand hurting. Said appendage was damaged magically and cannot be cured by any known means (short of deity magic or a Wish spell, which ...
6
votes
1answer
306 views

As a wildshaped druid, I’m getting polymorphed. What happens when the polymorph ends, do I revert to wildshape form or to normal form?

Imagine that I’m a druid, wild-shaped into a beast. I got polymorphed by a wizard. I want to know which form my druid will revert to when the polymorph spell ends because of the wizard losing ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I use polymorph to turn people into creatures that aren't in the books?

I'd like my gnome wizard to be able to turn people (and monsters) into bunny rabbits. But there aren't stats for that in either the player's hand book or the monster manual. There are stats for frogs (...
6
votes
1answer
947 views

How does changing a PC's creature type but not race affect the character sheet?

I'm using the deck of many things in my campaign, it's a way to let the chaotic characters create chaos and to let the lawful characters fight against drawing cards. Anyway, I'm trying to be prepared ...
5
votes
1answer
710 views

What does "Polymorph Any Object" actually do?

So, I'm not entirely sure what this spell actually does. Based on the answer to this question, I would think the generally accepted use of this spell is 'greater polymorph' but with a longer duration ...
5
votes
1answer
757 views

What happens to the target of a "permanent" True Polymorph spell when its caster dies?

The description of the spell says specifically that after the caster has maintained it's concentration for an hour, the spell can be dispelled. The transformation lasts for the duration, or until ...
5
votes
3answers
291 views

Does unarmed proficiency get downgraded in Pathfinder 2e polymorph spells (animal form etc.)?

Every polymorph spell that grants you special attacks in your battle form notes that you are trained with these attacks. They are also always unarmed attacks. Does your proficiency bonus for these ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

If a magical item has an effect that changes how it looks passively after its activated, would polymorph disable that?

So essentially I am trying to understand this is the situation: Kitsune with Fox shape feat has the item Demon Talon equipped to a stump. Let's say both of their hands, so two Demon Talons. If this ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature's polymorphed form reaches 0 HP?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
5
votes
1answer
729 views

What happens if you Polymorph Any Object a magic weapon into another form while its magic is suppressed by Dispel Magic?

I'm aware of this question but it hasn't really come to any solid conclusion. Additionally, that question is more concerned about spell stacking in general, and I'm interested in this specific case. ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to memories when using True Polymorph?

The text of true polymorph says (emphasis mine): Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is ...
5
votes
2answers
344 views

How does this scenario involving the Polymorph and Alter Self spells play out?

We had an interesting scenario pop up at our table. A dwarven runesmith (Races of Stone p.118) with caster level 9, getting ready for a big battle, did the following: He set all his equipment out on ...
4
votes
1answer
796 views

Can Polymorph Any Object turn a human into a Huge Giant with a Permanent duration, with all the benefits of Giant Form II?

Can Polymorph Any Object turn a human into a Huge Giant with a Permanent duration, with all the benefits of Giant Form II? James Jacobs (Paizo Creative Director) says on the Paizo forums in response ...
4
votes
1answer
148 views

What game elements can raise the caster level of a fixed-caster-level supernatural ability?

The prestige class thrall to Juiblex gains the supernatural ability polymorph self that says, "An 8th-level thrall of Juiblex’s form is more amorphous than ever. It can change its appearance and form ...
4
votes
2answers
535 views

Can multiple casts of True Polymorph stack?

Heavily related to this question, I want to know if multiple castings of True Polymorph would stack if made permanent. Picture this scenario: (Assume a willing target.) Any given character is TP'd ...
4
votes
1answer
260 views

Could True Polymorph turn a creature like a shark into a object like a dead dragon turtle's head?

I have a bard that has been true polymorphing into a dragon turtle and attacking coastal towns on a large island (think "Big Island" Hawaii) I am doing this so another member of my party can be true ...
4
votes
1answer
409 views

Are racial ability score adjustments lost when polymorphed?

When you gain a ability score adjustment from a race, when you polymorph do you lose it since you lose abilities that are dependent on your form?
4
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Bestow Curse on a Polymorphed creature work?

Recently we had a player cast a Bestow Curse spell on a Polymorphed enemy in D&D 5e. The question: Does the curse remain on the creature once Polymorph wears off, and/or they revert to their ...
4
votes
3answers
717 views

How do Polymorph and Awaken interact?

The awaken spell targets a tree or an animal. The Polymorph, polymorph any object and baleful polymorph spells change, or can change, the target's type to Animal, as do some other spells outside core, ...
4
votes
1answer
272 views

Does a character need knowledge of a creature to Polymorph or Wild Shape into it?

Can a character with Wild Shape or casting Form of the Dragon/Monstrous Physique/Elemental Shape/etc. shift into any form (meeting the size requisites) that the player knows of, or do they need ...
3
votes
2answers
178 views

Can you use reaction class features when receiving excess damage from polymorph ending?

Is it possible to use a reaction from your class when your polymorphed form is reduced to 0 hit points and the excess carries over to you? For example, let's say you're playing a rogue and your ...
3
votes
1answer
687 views

Can you benefit from Bladesong while Shapechanged into a Marilith?

Shapechange allows you retain your Intelligence & class features, while taking up your new forms' physical stats. In theory, this means that a Bladesinger could change into a Marilith and get 7 ...