Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
638 views

What does “functions like greater polymorph” mean for Polymorph Any Object?

There are two main interpretations that I have come across for this spell. The spell "functions like greater polymorph" with objects added. They interpret "functions like" to mean “behaves exactly ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a sentient weapon polymorphed into a creature retain the sentience's personality/alignment?

Consider the spell true polymorph. If you turn a creature into a creature, the new creature retains its alignment and personality. If you turn an object into a creature The creature is ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

Can a shadow dancer's summoned shadow be polymorphed? [closed]

Let’s assume I'm playing a Shadow Dancer, epic level 70 or so. If I summon my shadow, can I polymorph it? If so, what are the limitations: can I polymorph it to be me and have a "doppelganger" of ...
8
votes
1answer
439 views

How does casting Animate Dead on a True Polymorphed corpse get resolved?

Inspired by some similar questions and a comment on this answer, I'm curious how one might resolve the casting of animate dead on a creature who has been true polymorphed into a corpse. The ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a creature be True Polymorphed into a corpse and then raised?

Inspired by If a corpse is polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality? True Polymorph can turn a creature into an object Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

If a corpse is True Polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality?

True polymorph can turn a creature into another creature. When it does so, the creature "retains its alignment and personality", although its other statistics change. However, true polymorph can also ...
9
votes
1answer
603 views

Can a Polymorphed creature grapple?

My confusion comes from this part of the polymorph spell: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other ...
7
votes
1answer
478 views

Can an Imp which is in another form (through Shapechanger) be invisible?

The imp has the Shapechanger trait: The imp can use its action to polymorph into a beast form that resembles a rat (speed 20 ft.), a raven (20 ft., fly 60 ft.), or a spider (20 ft., climb 20 ft.), ...
4
votes
1answer
410 views

Can Polymorph Any Object turn a human into a Huge Giant with a Permanent duration, with all the benefits of Giant Form II?

Can Polymorph Any Object turn a human into a Huge Giant with a Permanent duration, with all the benefits of Giant Form II? James Jacobs (Paizo Creative Director) says on the Paizo forums in response ...
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Can True Polymorph transform an object (a tree) into the Champion (CR 9) from Volo's?

I'm running a high-level Norse-themed adventure with Odin and Thor running around messing up giants. The Odin-wizard used true polymorph to create a human from an oak log (see the saga), and he ...
6
votes
2answers
715 views

Does Polymorph break or melt Tomb of Levistus?

Our group's paladin/warlock (multiclass) was wondering about the following scenario. The paladin/warlock uses his reaction to use the Tomb of Levistus eldritch invocation (from Xanathar's Guide to ...
2
votes
3answers
479 views

Lost limbs and transmutation/polymorph effects

We had a character lose an arm trying to avoid dying from a magic disintegration effect (removing their arm was successful). We are too low of a level to have regeneration cast. There is nothing in ...
5
votes
2answers
420 views

Action economy and polymorphing into a hydra

The polymorph spell would allow an 7th level character to turn themselves into a hydra with all the benefits that implies. The polymorph spell states: (The spellcaster) gains all extraordinary ...
20
votes
3answers
2k views

How does resistance/vulnerability/immunity interact with carryover damage after reducing Polymorphed (or Wild Shaped) form to 0 HP?

A caster casts polymorph on another creature. Let's say the polymorphed creature has 10 HP in its new form, but takes 30 piercing damage and its current form is reduced to 0 HP. This causes it to ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you escape from Dimensional Shackles as easily as by polymorphing?

The intent of Dimensional Shackles (which block all kinds of teleportation or interplanar travel on their victim) is clearly to prevent spellcasters from escaping. But what happens if a Dimensional-...
6
votes
1answer
483 views

Is a beast from Bag of Tricks a willing creature for Polymorph?

If I were to pull a beast out of a Bag of Tricks and then cast Polymorph on it, would it be considered a willing creature or does it make a save for the spell?
44
votes
3answers
5k views

Can you escape a Maze spell by turning into a Minotaur?

The Maze spell states: Minotaurs are not affected by this spell. So could an enterprising victim escape the Maze spell by using a spell like polymorph to turn themselves into a Minotaur? ...
1
vote
0answers
773 views

When does a Truly Polymorphed creature gain its 'new' form as a 'base' form? [closed]

True Polymorph: Getting the new form it easy - it's keeping this new form that's the trick. True Polymorph transforms creatures quasi-permanently, at least until one runs afoul of Dispel Magic or any ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a necromancer True Polymorph to get an arbitrary CR 9-or-less companion?

According to If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? after a necromancer polymorphs an undead they control, it is still under their control. ...
4
votes
3answers
698 views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature's polymorphed form reaches 0 HP?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature polymorphs?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Does True Polymorph end if the CR requirement is no longer met?

True polymorph is a spell that allows for the transformation of a creature into another of equal or lower CR. Does this spell end if the CR of the original creature is reduced after the true ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when polymorph ends in a demiplane that is too small for the creature?

The Demiplane spell lets you create a permanent room 30 feet in any dimension as a separate plane, which would then be smaller than the Tarrasque. On the other side I may polymorph a Tarrasque into a ...
7
votes
1answer
466 views

Can you give health potions to Polymorphed companions?

If a fellow adventurer gets turned into a beast using the Polymorph spell can you administer first aid using a Health Potion?
9
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when you try to True Polymorph into a werewolf?

Okay, let's assume that a non-shapeshifter (Bob the human for example) is going to be polymorphed (Using True Polymorph) into a werewolf. What would be the most likely thing to happen? Would Bob be ...
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Does gaining a proficiency via the Shapechange spell let you add your original proficiency bonus if yours is higher?

For example, if a 17th level character with a +6 proficiency bonus and who isn't proficient in Acrobatics casts the shapechange spell to turn into a Quickling (who have a +6 Dexterity modifier and an ...
20
votes
4answers
1k views

Does a spell persist if it is cast on an object, and the object changes into a creature?

Does a spell persist if it is cast on an object, and the object changes into a creature? For example, spells like Light or Darkness, are linked to a movable object but can't be cast directly onto a ...
24
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you destroy a powerful creature with True Polymorph, Turning, and Destroy Undead?

As an Arcana Domain cleric, I cast true polymorph on a powerful enemy creature (say a Kraken), its statistics change to match a lower CR creature; I choose an undead (say a Skeleton). If I then use ...
23
votes
1answer
9k views

True Polymorph: can a player use legendary actions of its new form?

True Polymorph PHB 283: Creature into Creature. (...) the new form can be any kind you choose. The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a monster use Shapechanger to take any form, or just one unique form?

I'm confused by the Shapechanger ability, which seems to be all over the place for different creatures. Here's the description of the ability from the Succubus stat block: Shapechanger. The fiend ...
4
votes
1answer
205 views

Can a player polymorphed as a hydra grapple a foe with each head?

Player A has improved grapple and polymorphs into a 7 HD hydra. If he takes a full attack action, can he grapple 7 enemies simultaneously? Things to consider: Once grappling, a player threatens no ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? [closed]

When you kill a humanoid with Finger of Death, it creates a zombie that is permanently under your command. If you then True Polymorph that zombie, replacing its statistics with another creature's, ...
15
votes
2answers
707 views

Intellect devourer vs multiple heads

If a creature possessed by an intellect devourer is true polymorphed into a creature with multiple heads (i.e. a hydra), what happens? Is the intellect devourer ejected since at least one head's ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Primal Strike work with Polymorph?

Amazingly, I can't find anything even close to definitive on this across multiple google searches and phrasings. A Circle of the Moon druid casts polymorph on themselves for some of that sweet, ...
4
votes
1answer
532 views

Shapechanged into an intellect devourer

If I use shapechange and turn into an intellect devourer and then use Body Thief to possess a humanoid, will I be forced out when the spell ends or remain in control of the humanoid?
2
votes
2answers
476 views

Is equipment resized with the Alter Self line of spells?

I've been reading and re-reading Alter Self and how it handles equipment. The important bit is here: When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

How large a snake can a Yuan-Ti Abomination become?

In the Monster Manual (p. 308) it states: The yuan-ti can use its action to polymorph into a Large snake... Can the snake be as large as I want or is there a set size? The description wasn't ...
2
votes
1answer
421 views

What happens to your class features if you short rest while your form has been changed?

Bob the Warlock has blown all of his spell slots. The friendly party druid casts Animal Forms on Bob, and while in his animal form he takes a Short Rest. After the rest completes, he drops out of ...
7
votes
2answers
10k views

Can Polymorph + Awaken give any creature intelligence and language?

If you cast Polymorph on a non beast creature then cast Awaken on their beast form how much carries over after polymorph ends? Polymorph does not give any explicit information on what happens to your ...
2
votes
1answer
479 views

In Adventurer's League season 7 are all creatures from the SRD manual allowed?

In Adventurer's League Season 7, which creatures are PCs allowed to polymorph themselves or others into? Do they have access to the entire SRD, or only a limited set of creatures?
4
votes
3answers
582 views

Can an object be transformed into a shapechanger using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

Can an object be transformed into a werebear (a shapechanger) using True Polymorph? Werebears have a particular kind of "shapechanger" ability that allow it to transform into a bear or just half-bear. ...
24
votes
2answers
37k views

Can Polymorph turn a character into a dragon?

This first sentence in the "Polymorph" spell description says This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into a new form. I have heard that polymorph ...
5
votes
1answer
438 views

Yochlol [Shapechanger feature] Hit Point cases

Yochlol have a Shapechange feature which reads: Yochlol can use its action to polymorph into a form that resembles a female drow or giant spider, or back into its true form. Its statistics are ...
11
votes
2answers
14k views

Can I true polymorph into an Ancient Brass Dragon, and then use its Change Shape ability?

If I were to cast True Polymorph (which permits all creatures, not just beasts, as the regular Polymorph does) on myself to turn myself into, say, an Ancient Brass Dragon (provided that I'm level 20, ...
0
votes
1answer
194 views

Question about polymorph [duplicate]

For the spell polymorph, it says that you keep your alignment and personality. Does that mean when an evil character polymorphs into a t-rex, he will attack his friends and team?
6
votes
1answer
616 views

If a creature's size suddenly increases while it is inside a very small Sphere of Force (from Wall of Force) what happens? [duplicate]

Let's be very specific. Assume you have two casters. The first one casts polymorph on, lets say, a Kraken, and uses portent to assure a failed save. He turns the Kraken it into a regular 1/2 inch ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Clarification of Alter Self

Alter Self description says: When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

What keeps players from creating all legendary items imaginable using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

So, True Polymorph can be used to turn creatures into objects, like lumps of adamantine. Creature into Object: If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an object created by True Polymorph be used as a consumable spell component?

Using the creature to object feature of true polymorph you can transform a creature into an object. Can you then use that object as a consumable component for a spell? How does the potential ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Can True Polymorph create rare inks?

I am a level 20 wizard and have been using the True Polymorph spell to create expensive spell components. However my DM, who will never overrule RAW, has recently created a spell which requires "rare ...