A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
3answers
605 views

Can an object be transformed into a shapechanger using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

Can an object be transformed into a werebear (a shapechanger) using True Polymorph? Werebears have a particular kind of "shapechanger" ability that allow it to transform into a bear or just half-bear. ...
24
votes
2answers
38k views

Can Polymorph turn a character into a dragon?

This first sentence in the "Polymorph" spell description says This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into a new form. I have heard that polymorph ...
5
votes
1answer
444 views

Yochlol [Shapechanger feature] Hit Point cases

Yochlol have a Shapechange feature which reads: Yochlol can use its action to polymorph into a form that resembles a female drow or giant spider, or back into its true form. Its statistics are ...
12
votes
2answers
15k views

Can I true polymorph into an Ancient Brass Dragon, and then use its Change Shape ability?

If I were to cast True Polymorph (which permits all creatures, not just beasts, as the regular Polymorph does) on myself to turn myself into, say, an Ancient Brass Dragon (provided that I'm level 20, ...
0
votes
1answer
196 views

Question about polymorph [duplicate]

For the spell polymorph, it says that you keep your alignment and personality. Does that mean when an evil character polymorphs into a t-rex, he will attack his friends and team?
6
votes
1answer
640 views

If a creature's size suddenly increases while it is inside a very small Sphere of Force (from Wall of Force) what happens? [duplicate]

Let's be very specific. Assume you have two casters. The first one casts polymorph on, lets say, a Kraken, and uses portent to assure a failed save. He turns the Kraken it into a regular 1/2 inch ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Clarification of Alter Self

Alter Self description says: When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

What keeps players from creating all legendary items imaginable using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

So, True Polymorph can be used to turn creatures into objects, like lumps of adamantine. Creature into Object: If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an object created by True Polymorph be used as a consumable spell component?

Using the creature to object feature of true polymorph you can transform a creature into an object. Can you then use that object as a consumable component for a spell? How does the potential ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Can True Polymorph create rare inks?

I am a level 20 wizard and have been using the True Polymorph spell to create expensive spell components. However my DM, who will never overrule RAW, has recently created a spell which requires "rare ...
4
votes
1answer
213 views

Does a character need knowledge of a creature to Polymorph or Wild Shape into it?

Can a character with Wild Shape or casting Form of the Dragon/Monstrous Physique/Elemental Shape/etc. shift into any form (meeting the size requisites) that the player knows of, or do they need ...
1
vote
0answers
241 views

When you polymorph into a creature do you retain your proficiencies and class abilities? [duplicate]

We are playing Storm Kings Thunder and our party picked up a Fire Giant Sword. Can we polymorph our fighter into a Giant Ape in order to wield the sword, and could he benefit from multiattack or ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a shapechanger be affected by Polymorph if they are forced to be willing?

Assuming that you can force creatures to be willing, could a werewolf or other shapechanger be subject to Polymorph? What I'm reading of Polymorph, RAW PHB p.266, is: "an unwilling creature must ...
2
votes
2answers
406 views

Does arcane ward come back after a polymorph?

In the description of polymorph, it states that The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. And this sage advice clarifies ...
4
votes
1answer
286 views

Do you still benefit from ASIs when using True Polymorph?

I've seen references to feats being retained when you are transformed via True Polymorph. Are ability score increases (ASIs) also kept? If not, that would seem to make feats a strictly better choice ...
14
votes
1answer
6k views

True polymorph and the dragon Change Shape feature

I cast true polymorph on myself and I maintain concentration for 1 hour, so I became an Ancient Brass Dragon, until true polymorph is dispelled. Days / months later, I want to turn back to my original ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Share Transmutation on inanimate objects

Does the level 9 Brown-Fur Transmuter ability Share Transmutation, allow spells such as Beast Shape to be cast on inanimate objects, such as walls, doors and chairs?
6
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when a polymorphed creature is petrified?

If a creature A is polymorphed into creature B and is subsequently petrified, does it still revert to its original form after the polymorph ends? I see several possible scenarios after the polymorph ...
16
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Polymorph be used to give a druid new Wild Shape forms?

After my group's last session, it was pointed out that Polymorph does not require the caster to have ever seen the creature they are attempting to transform the person into. This has spawned a ...
11
votes
4answers
4k views

Can you cast spell while using “Polymorph” with sorcerer's “Subtle Spell” [duplicate]

The polymorph spell description is kind of elusive about this: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast Spells, or take any ...
1
vote
2answers
113 views

Can a backpack (loaded) be counted as “an item held in one hand”? [closed]

A druid can shapechange into animal, and limited stuff changes together: the clothing and one item held in each hand. Can a backpack (preferrably loaded) count as an item held in one hand? Assume ...
3
votes
2answers
507 views

How to determine when Ex or Su abilities are dependant on original form when polymorphying?

I have been working on a character concept and I am trying to figure out how some things work together. What I am working on is a druid unchained summoner who is being allowed to use the Synthesist ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you continue to play an Adventurers League character who was True Polymorphed into a monster?

If your character is transformed into a monster by true polymorph, can you legally continue playing them if the effect isn't dispelled? If not, then what are the ways to be reverted if the session ...
6
votes
2answers
270 views

Does a tibbit possess the type animal when in house cat form?

A tibbit (Dragon Compendium Volume 1 21–25) possesses the natural ability feline transformation that "is similar to the spell polymorph but with a number of key changes" that allows a tibbit to assume ...
30
votes
3answers
10k views

Can you get pregnant while True Polymorphed?

While True Polymorphed, say into a dragon, can you get pregnant? If so, what happens when you revert form? I am a player in a D&D game that wants to know.
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I need to continue to save against Frightful Presence after a successful Polymorph?

Inspired by this contentious question. The DMG indicates that to calculate a creature's save DC, the following formula should be used: 8 + Monster's Proficiency Bonus + Relevant Ability Score ...
21
votes
4answers
1k views

Does the save DC of a spell decrease if the original spellcaster polymorphs on a later turn?

Does the save DC of a spell being concentrated on change if the caster's Int stat changes in the meantime due to polymorphing? For instance, if a level 8 wizard with Int 16 casts Hold Person on ...
0
votes
1answer
50 views

How does Windrider interact with polymorph?

Dnd 3e's Masters of the Wild introduced the Windrider prestige class. Windriders can designate a mount (subject to some restrictions) and give it various bonuses, including bonus HD. A fifth-level ...
8
votes
1answer
435 views

What happens when a creature gains a black pudding's split ability?

What happens to a polymorphed wizard or master of many forms when, while in black pudding form, he splits? Some say the ability creates a new black pudding, yet the black pudding's split ability says ...
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Why does the book suggest polymorphing into a giant? Can polymorph do that?

This question is prompted by a particular passage in Storm King's Thunder: The level 4 spell Polymorph allows to transform a character into a beast with challenge rating ≤ character level and Hill ...
3
votes
1answer
269 views

How can a PC make multiple full attacks with a bow on the same turn?

The Second Darkness adventure path (which is for for dnd-3.5e) in its third chapter The Armageddon Echo includes a new monster, the elven flesh golem, that possesses the following special qualitity: ...
3
votes
1answer
707 views

When you polymorph/wild shape into elementals, can you speak?

Since elementals have languages that can be learned and spoken by anyone, are you able to speak freely with any language you know to fulfill the conditions of spell casting and communication?
3
votes
1answer
215 views

Polymorphing into Giant Porcupine, do you get quills?

Using wild shape or beast shape, when you choose a Giant Porcupine do you get the quills ability? Its not listed within the beast shape spell, which as a specific spell over rules the more general ...
12
votes
1answer
8k views

Now that my wizard is a dragon, can I do the following things? [closed]

In a campaign as a wizard at 17th level, I have accomplished turning into an adult gold dragon with variant innate spell casting. My DM and I agreed the dragon can cast spells, but then the following ...
7
votes
1answer
572 views

Does changing shape or changing another's shape require knowledge of the resulting creature?

Many forum threads and comments on this site and elsewhere claim that You cannot transform yourself or others into creatures you haven't encountered. For instance, another player recently complained ...
6
votes
1answer
424 views

How does an enhancement bonus to base speed affect a creature with no land speed?

In Pathfinder, what is the effect of an enhancement bonus to land speed for a creature that has no specified land speed? For example, a druid is under the effects of both Longstrider and a polymorph....
5
votes
2answers
696 views

Can a kitsune get a magical tattoo while in fox shape and use it in fox shape?

A kitsune caster with the feat Fox Shape wants to cast spells in fox shape. The caster's tattoo is a magic item that can be used once per day to cast a spell as if using the feats Silent Spell and ...
6
votes
3answers
7k views

What is the lifespan of the Changeling race from UA: Eberron?

I'm going to be playing a changeling (from UA: Eberron) soon, and my DM is excited to have this unique race as a PC, but I was wondering if there was some form of RAW on this sort of thing. The ...
12
votes
3answers
5k views

What happens when a creature that has swallowed another creature is polymorphed?

Twice this week, I have faced a situation where Polymorph was going to be cast on a creature that had swallowed a PC. As a DM, I ruled that if the polymorphed form was smaller, the swallowed PC would ...
9
votes
2answers
980 views

How do you detemine if a polymorph form can use a weapon?

I am playing a druid who is going to be wild shaping. How do I determine if a weapon can be used in a particular form? Some forms are obvious like a chicken can't pick up and use a sword. Other forms ...
0
votes
1answer
180 views

Beast Shape and other polymorphic spells/abilities and improved unarmed strike

When you Beast Shape/Elemental Body/Plant Shape/wild shape, how do you know if that form can take advantage of the feat “Improved unarmed strike”? Or since the feat has no prerequisites do all forms ...
4
votes
1answer
224 views

Can an Aegis/Soulknife manifest weapons and armor while in Form of Dragon I?

In the event an Aegis/Soulknife managed to get themselves a fairly long duration Form of Dragon I, from Polymorph Any Object for instance, does it legally follow that said character should be allowed ...
5
votes
2answers
730 views

Does a controlled undead polymorphed into a living creature stay under the necromancer's control?

I'm working on a dread necromancer and was thinking of fun things to do. I got the idea of having polymorph cast on undead I've raised. The question is, would the polymorphed undead still be under my ...
0
votes
3answers
550 views

How can I keep extraodinary abilities when under polymorph effects or wildshaping?

I am playing a tiefling who has the see-in-darkness racial ability which is Ex. I will be playing a druid, and since see-in-darkness is superior to all forms of darkvision granted by the druid ...
1
vote
1answer
917 views

What's a good Polymorph choice to successfully follow-up with Plane Shift? [closed]

I'm thinking about how to optimize polymorphing a tough enemy, to increase the odds of a successful Plane Shift (the Abyss) afterwards. Here's the criteria I have in mind: Low Cha save. Low threat (...
0
votes
1answer
333 views

Are racial senses Extraordinary Abilities (Ex)?

I am trying to decide if racial senses are considered Ex for the purposes of wild shaping. I had previously asked if ability scores are lost when under polymorph, and the answer was no. These ability ...
16
votes
3answers
3k views

When true polymorphed creature dies, does it revert to its original form?

The True Polymorph description says: Creature into Creature. The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Polymorph Ending in Forcecage

What happens if you polymorph something like an elephant into a frog, and then place a forcecage around said frog with the polymorph spell ending before the forcecage does? Does the elephant just ...
4
votes
1answer
693 views

How does Bestow Curse on a Polymorphed creature work?

Recently we had a player cast a Bestow Curse spell on a Polymorphed enemy in D&D 5e. The question: Does the curse remain on the creature once Polymorph wears off, and/or they revert to their ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Phylactery of Change interact with other polymorph effects on the wearer?

The phylactery of change from the Arms and Equipment Guide reads as follows: The wearer of this item can invoke a polymorph self ability with an indefinite duration (or until the phylactery is ...