Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when a polymorphed creature is petrified?

If a creature A is polymorphed into creature B and is subsequently petrified, does it still revert to its original form after the polymorph ends? I see several possible scenarios after the polymorph ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Polymorph be used to give a druid new Wild Shape forms?

After my group's last session, it was pointed out that Polymorph does not require the caster to have ever seen the creature they are attempting to transform the person into. This has spawned a ...
11
votes
4answers
4k views

Can you cast spell while using “Polymorph” with sorcerer's “Subtle Spell” [duplicate]

The polymorph spell description is kind of elusive about this: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast Spells, or take any ...
1
vote
2answers
113 views

Can a backpack (loaded) be counted as “an item held in one hand”? [closed]

A druid can shapechange into animal, and limited stuff changes together: the clothing and one item held in each hand. Can a backpack (preferrably loaded) count as an item held in one hand? Assume ...
3
votes
2answers
488 views

How to determine when Ex or Su abilities are dependant on original form when polymorphying?

I have been working on a character concept and I am trying to figure out how some things work together. What I am working on is a druid unchained summoner who is being allowed to use the Synthesist ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you continue to play an Adventurers League character who was True Polymorphed into a monster?

If your character is transformed into a monster by true polymorph, can you legally continue playing them if the effect isn't dispelled? If not, then what are the ways to be reverted if the session ...
6
votes
2answers
262 views

Does a tibbit possess the type animal when in house cat form?

A tibbit (Dragon Compendium Volume 1 21–25) possesses the natural ability feline transformation that "is similar to the spell polymorph but with a number of key changes" that allows a tibbit to assume ...
30
votes
3answers
9k views

Can you get pregnant while True Polymorphed?

While True Polymorphed, say into a dragon, can you get pregnant? If so, what happens when you revert form? I am a player in a D&D game that wants to know.
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I need to continue to save against Frightful Presence after a successful Polymorph?

Inspired by this contentious question. The DMG indicates that to calculate a creature's save DC, the following formula should be used: 8 + Monster's Proficiency Bonus + Relevant Ability Score ...
19
votes
4answers
1k views

Does the save DC of a spell decrease if the original spellcaster polymorphs on a later turn?

Does the save DC of a spell being concentrated on change if the caster's Int stat changes in the meantime due to polymorphing? For instance, if a level 8 wizard with Int 16 casts Hold Person on ...
0
votes
1answer
47 views

How does Windrider interact with polymorph?

Dnd 3e's Masters of the Wild introduced the Windrider prestige class. Windriders can designate a mount (subject to some restrictions) and give it various bonuses, including bonus HD. A fifth-level ...
8
votes
1answer
418 views

What happens when a creature gains a black pudding's split ability?

What happens to a polymorphed wizard or master of many forms when, while in black pudding form, he splits? Some say the ability creates a new black pudding, yet the black pudding's split ability says ...
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Why does the book suggest polymorphing into a giant? Can polymorph do that?

This question is prompted by a particular passage in Storm King's Thunder: The level 4 spell Polymorph allows to transform a character into a beast with challenge rating ≤ character level and Hill ...
3
votes
1answer
268 views

How can a PC make multiple full attacks with a bow on the same turn?

The Second Darkness adventure path (which is for for dnd-3.5e) in its third chapter The Armageddon Echo includes a new monster, the elven flesh golem, that possesses the following special qualitity: ...
3
votes
1answer
668 views

When you polymorph/wild shape into elementals, can you speak?

Since elementals have languages that can be learned and spoken by anyone, are you able to speak freely with any language you know to fulfill the conditions of spell casting and communication?
3
votes
1answer
212 views

Polymorphing into Giant Porcupine, do you get quills?

Using wild shape or beast shape, when you choose a Giant Porcupine do you get the quills ability? Its not listed within the beast shape spell, which as a specific spell over rules the more general ...
12
votes
1answer
8k views

Now that my wizard is a dragon, can I do the following things? [closed]

In a campaign as a wizard at 17th level, I have accomplished turning into an adult gold dragon with variant innate spell casting. My DM and I agreed the dragon can cast spells, but then the following ...
7
votes
1answer
570 views

Does changing shape or changing another's shape require knowledge of the resulting creature?

Many forum threads and comments on this site and elsewhere claim that You cannot transform yourself or others into creatures you haven't encountered. For instance, another player recently complained ...
6
votes
1answer
416 views

How does an enhancement bonus to base speed affect a creature with no land speed?

In Pathfinder, what is the effect of an enhancement bonus to land speed for a creature that has no specified land speed? For example, a druid is under the effects of both Longstrider and a polymorph....
5
votes
2answers
667 views

Can a kitsune get a magical tattoo while in fox shape and use it in fox shape?

A kitsune caster with the feat Fox Shape wants to cast spells in fox shape. The caster's tattoo is a magic item that can be used once per day to cast a spell as if using the feats Silent Spell and ...
5
votes
3answers
6k views

What is the lifespan of the Changeling race from UA: Eberron?

I'm going to be playing a changeling (from UA: Eberron) soon, and my DM is excited to have this unique race as a PC, but I was wondering if there was some form of RAW on this sort of thing. The ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens when a creature that has swallowed another creature is polymorphed?

Twice this week, I have faced a situation where Polymorph was going to be cast on a creature that had swallowed a PC. As a DM, I ruled that if the polymorphed form was smaller, the swallowed PC would ...
9
votes
2answers
914 views

How do you detemine if a polymorph form can use a weapon?

I am playing a druid who is going to be wild shaping. How do I determine if a weapon can be used in a particular form? Some forms are obvious like a chicken can't pick up and use a sword. Other forms ...
0
votes
1answer
177 views

Beast Shape and other polymorphic spells/abilities and improved unarmed strike

When you Beast Shape/Elemental Body/Plant Shape/wild shape, how do you know if that form can take advantage of the feat “Improved unarmed strike”? Or since the feat has no prerequisites do all forms ...
4
votes
1answer
220 views

Can an Aegis/Soulknife manifest weapons and armor while in Form of Dragon I?

In the event an Aegis/Soulknife managed to get themselves a fairly long duration Form of Dragon I, from Polymorph Any Object for instance, does it legally follow that said character should be allowed ...
5
votes
2answers
679 views

Does a controlled undead polymorphed into a living creature stay under the necromancer's control?

I'm working on a dread necromancer and was thinking of fun things to do. I got the idea of having polymorph cast on undead I've raised. The question is, would the polymorphed undead still be under my ...
0
votes
3answers
513 views

How can I keep extraodinary abilities when under polymorph effects or wildshaping?

I am playing a tiefling who has the see-in-darkness racial ability which is Ex. I will be playing a druid, and since see-in-darkness is superior to all forms of darkvision granted by the druid ...
1
vote
1answer
898 views

What's a good Polymorph choice to successfully follow-up with Plane Shift? [closed]

I'm thinking about how to optimize polymorphing a tough enemy, to increase the odds of a successful Plane Shift (the Abyss) afterwards. Here's the criteria I have in mind: Low Cha save. Low threat (...
0
votes
1answer
316 views

Are racial senses Extraordinary Abilities (Ex)?

I am trying to decide if racial senses are considered Ex for the purposes of wild shaping. I had previously asked if ability scores are lost when under polymorph, and the answer was no. These ability ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

When true polymorphed creature dies, does it revert to its original form?

The True Polymorph description says: Creature into Creature. The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Polymorph Ending in Forcecage

What happens if you polymorph something like an elephant into a frog, and then place a forcecage around said frog with the polymorph spell ending before the forcecage does? Does the elephant just ...
4
votes
1answer
662 views

How does Bestow Curse on a Polymorphed creature work?

Recently we had a player cast a Bestow Curse spell on a Polymorphed enemy in D&D 5e. The question: Does the curse remain on the creature once Polymorph wears off, and/or they revert to their ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Phylactery of Change interact with other polymorph effects on the wearer?

The phylactery of change from the Arms and Equipment Guide reads as follows: The wearer of this item can invoke a polymorph self ability with an indefinite duration (or until the phylactery is ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

How do you determine the height of a polymorphed creature?

If I polymorph my ally into a giant ape(huge),how do you determine the exact height?
2
votes
1answer
704 views

Does equipment meld and/or resize with your body when under elemental body?

When close to humanoid in form your equipment does not meld with you while under polymorph effects. The spell elemental body 1-4 changes you into an psudo-elemental but does not say if your form is ...
2
votes
1answer
423 views

What happen if someone transformed via Polymorph Any Object uses an Alter Self special ability?

If I use a scroll of Polymorph Any Object to permanently turn into a dragon, can I use an Alter Self spell-like ability to turn into an human for a few hours? And when I stop using it, do i return to ...
30
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I still cast spells through my polymorphed familiar?

Is a polymorphed familiar still considered a familiar for purposes of casting touch spells through them?
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can imps talk while shape-changed to a form resembling a beast?

Can an imp speak while shape-changed? Another question on the same topic: is a shape-changed imp a beast? The Imp has the following ability: Shapechanger: The imp can use its action to polymorph ...
31
votes
5answers
41k views

Can a Wizard polymorph low-level PCs into over-powered beasts?

According to Polymorph's description, The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or the target’s level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating)....
4
votes
1answer
284 views

Are racial ability score adjustments lost when polymorphed?

When you gain a ability score adjustment from a race, when you polymorph do you lose it since you lose abilities that are dependent on your form?
28
votes
1answer
5k views

Can you polymorph an unconscious creature that is at 0 HP to wake it up?

The polymorph spell mentions that the creature assumes the new form's hp. As long as that hp doesn't hit 0 hp, the creature doesn't revert. But it doesn't state that you can't polymorph a creature at ...
0
votes
1answer
775 views

What are an animal companions ability scores and abilities when under the effects of polymorph any object?

I am building a character who is focusing on their animal companion. My plan is to take one of the base animal companions, subject it to polymorph any object (PAO) into its true form or another which ...
-2
votes
2answers
228 views

If you get polymorph any object'ed into something with a different racial alignment, does your alignment change?

Let's take a neutral character. If it is hit with Polymorph Any Object and is turned into a LG dragon, does their alignment change to LG?
2
votes
1answer
419 views

Two polymorph any object cast in a row with same choice

If two polymorph any object (PAO) spells are cast in a row with the same end result what happens? PAO is unlike all the other polymorph spells in that your type actually changes. So for the duration ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Confused about Polymorph any object

I am confused as to what exactly how Polymorph Any Object (POA) is different from all the other polymorph spells which have clearly stated rules. Even the guide which talks about all the polymorph ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Does exhaustion affect a creature after it is polymorphed?

I have an ally that is exceptionally exhausted. If I polymorph him into another form, do the negative effects of exhaustion—such as reduced speed—apply to the new polymorphed form?
3
votes
1answer
856 views

If a creature uses a 'polymorph into humanoid' racial ability, do they gain that humanoid's racial features/spells?

Creatures such as metallic dragons, certain hags, oni and doppelgangers can polymorph into humanoids. Would one of these who polymorphs into a tiefling or drow gain their spells, or who polymorphs ...
4
votes
1answer
463 views

Do Elves lose sleep immunity when under a polymorph effect?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Transmutation While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen ...
-2
votes
2answers
350 views

Does polymorph any object strip your magic items from you?

I thought I was finally done with some of this after someone answered that melded gear that is not functioning has no weight. But another player in the game has raised another concern/point. The ...
3
votes
1answer
238 views

Does the tongues spell require the creature to be capable of speaking in the first place?

I have been polymorphed into a squirrel, but thankfully I am under a permanent tongues spell. Squirrels have no listed language but from personal experience in the real world I know they can make ...