We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
463 views

Do Elves lose sleep immunity when under a polymorph effect?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Transmutation While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen ...
-2
votes
2answers
351 views

Does polymorph any object strip your magic items from you?

I thought I was finally done with some of this after someone answered that melded gear that is not functioning has no weight. But another player in the game has raised another concern/point. The ...
3
votes
1answer
238 views

Does the tongues spell require the creature to be capable of speaking in the first place?

I have been polymorphed into a squirrel, but thankfully I am under a permanent tongues spell. Squirrels have no listed language but from personal experience in the real world I know they can make ...
2
votes
2answers
178 views

Does 3.0 Polymorph as originally printed in the PHB leave max hit points unchanged? Even through a level change while polymorphed?

In the PHB 3.0 on page 236, polymorph other has a permanent duration. It swaps the target's physical stats (strength, dexterity, constitution) out for those of some arbitrary monster. However, it ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I fulfill somatic casting components if I'm a squirrel right now?

I recently lost my form to a polymorph spell and I am a caster so I am trying to figure out what I have open to me. I am currently a squirrel. Somatic components are vaguely defined in the rules: ...
5
votes
1answer
360 views

When a creature changes form is its melded equipment still burdensome?

My human PC has been forced to assume magically the form of a typical squirrel, and his gear has melded into this new form. Does this melded equipment still have weight? If it does still have weight, ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

When polymorphed, how do racial feats and traits work?

My human cleric just failed a save against polymorph any object. I am now a squirrel for most likely a week in game time (I was told that duration by the DM). Do I temporarily lose the feat I gained ...
3
votes
2answers
413 views

How Does the Healer Feat Interact with Polymorph?

When you are Polymorphed, say into a T-Rex with 13 hit dice, and are healed by someone using the Healer feat you would recover 1d6+17 hit points. After polymorph has worn off, but prior to completing ...
11
votes
4answers
653 views

How can I model a character polymorphed into a (stupid, speechless) Tyrannosaurus Rex?

The wizard in my party likes to use polymorph to turn himself into a Tyrannosaurus Rex. The T-Rex has Intelligence 2, and cannot understand or speak any langauges. Although the character retains his ...
2
votes
3answers
216 views

Can size-altering and shape-altering effects be used on the same creature at the same time?

A friend plans to play a cross-blooded abyssal and draconic bloodrager. His plans for the late game are to benefit from both Demonic Bulk (size increase while bloodraging, same effect as enlarge ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a ghost or other incorporeal creature be polymorphed?

While researching this question about polymorphing a paladin's steed, I had a realization. Polymorph specifies a creature you can see as a target, and as answered here, "creature" essentially refers ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Paladin's Find Steed was True Polymorphed

The paladin in the party I DM for uses the Find Steed spell to summon a saber toothed tiger mount (I'm a nice DM). The spell says: You summon a spirit that assumes the form of an unusually ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Does damage that caused concentration on polymorph to break carry over to the HP of the normal form?

I argue in this question that damage taken while polymorphed can break concentration. If this damage does break concentration, is it applied to the polymorphed form (just before concentration breaks), ...
15
votes
1answer
10k views

Can damage taken while in polymorph break concentration?

A wizard uses polymorph to become a Giant Ape. The ape takes damage, but the damage does not spill over into the wizard's hit points. Can this damage break concentration (if they fail the DC 10 or ...
7
votes
4answers
491 views

Can a magic weapon be made temporarily nonmagical so it can be polymorphed?

If a caster successfully casts dispel magic on a magic weapon, can the caster then cast the spell polymorph any object on that temporarily nonmagical weapon to transform the weapon into a different ...
7
votes
2answers
439 views

What happens if a character who is multi-classed is True Polymorphed?

The basic notion is that the rules of multi-classing in D&D 5e state that a character who chooses to multi-class must meet a stat requirement of both classes. Now, what happens if and when the ...
3
votes
4answers
1k views

Is gender a creature statistic relevant to Polymorph? [duplicate]

Assuming a creature with two genders (male / female), is said gender part of its game statistics block for the purposes of Polymorph effects? In some species also the male has different statistics ...
21
votes
3answers
8k views

Are druids “shapechangers” for the purpose of a Polymorph spell saving throw?

The Polymorph spell states that "A shapechanger automatically succeeds on this saving throw" Druids have Beast Shape, and although numerous textual references refer to this ability, at no point (that ...
5
votes
2answers
8k views

Can polymorph and true polymorph change a PC's race and sex?

Can polymorph and true polymorph alter a PC's race and sex? If a PC can be altered in such a way, can the PC speak and use his or her hands?
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can True Polymorph be used to transform someone into a shapechanger creature?

The spell clearly says that it does not affect a shapechanger. Shapechangers are not affected by this spell. But has nothing about the opposite. Would that mean that I can change a Goblin into a ...
14
votes
1answer
821 views

Do you continue to develop and mature after true polymorphing into a younger form of a creature?

If you use True Polymorph to change into a young or adult dragon, and sustain the spell for the full hour so that it becomes permanent, will you (over the following centuries) mature into an ancient ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when a creature possessed by an intellect devourer is true polymorphed?

Let's assume that a new party member, already possessed by an intellect devourer, is true polymorphed into a dog by the wizard as part of his initiation ritual (and a big message that said "don't mess ...
5
votes
1answer
590 views

What happens if you Polymorph Any Object a magic weapon into another form while its magic is suppressed by Dispel Magic?

I'm aware of this question but it hasn't really come to any solid conclusion. Additionally, that question is more concerned about spell stacking in general, and I'm interested in this specific case. ...
4
votes
2answers
606 views

Do Permanent Spells Remain after a Polymorph?

I'm playing a wizard and I've cast Permanency on Tongues and Arcane Sight. If I Polymorph myself into a Sun Giant, do those spells remain active? Furthermore, if I cast Haste earlier in the round, ...
5
votes
2answers
573 views

What are the final polymorph rules?

The polymorph self spell and its friends were an ever-changing pile of errata. What was the final word on how polymorph effects work in Dungeons and Dragons, Third Edition? I am uninterested in the ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Undead thrall attribute. How does it work with the True Polymorph spell

This is a follow-up to my how to get a permanent skeleton companion question. As the previous question answered a True Polymorph spell can allow a permanent zombie follower summoned using Finger of ...
1
vote
1answer
405 views

A question about true polymorphing yourself [duplicate]

If you true polymorph yourself into a chair do you instantly break concentration and turn back to normal? (Whoops, apologies. I'm an idiot.)
5
votes
2answers
803 views

What defines a PC's consciousness of self, memories and knowledge?

I am not sure whether a PC's consciousness, memories and knowledge are related to their personality or their mental stats (in particular, INT and WIS). My doubt comes from a practical situation, that ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a True Polymorphed wizard use a copy of his spellbook?

Consider the fllowing scenario: a level 20 Wizard duplicates his spellbook and hides one copy. The he casts True Polymorph on himself, becoming a Planetar Angel (the original copy of the spellbook ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Can True Polymorph be used to create magic items?

The True Polymorph spell allows you to turn a creature into an object and if you concentrate on it for 1 hour it becomes permanent. The relevant text follows: Choose one creature or non-magical ...
5
votes
1answer
167 views

Does increasing size stop the grapple if it has been initiated with Improved Grab?

A Huge reptile bit my Medium character and started a grapple using Improved Grab. My character activated a Polymorph item and transformed into an elefant - which is Huge. Improved Grab says: "...
8
votes
1answer
627 views

Can a willing lycanthrope be True Polymorphed?

Can a lycanthrope or other shapeshifter be willingly affected by the spell True Polymorph? I know that it can be affected by regular Polymorph, but the text for the enhanced version seems to differ.
6
votes
1answer
777 views

What does Banishment do to a person Polymorphed into an outsider? [duplicate]

If a person is Polymorphed into an outsider by the 4th level spell Polymorph, what affect does the 4th level spell Banishment have on them? I mean, based on RAW, they're treated as a native, because ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

How does true polymorph interact with class feature companions? [closed]

How does true polymorph work with the companion from the rangers beast master and warlocks pact of the chain class options? Beast Master Can it be true polymorphed into a large CR 1/4 creature? Can ...
11
votes
1answer
16k views

Can a Druid cast the spell Polymorph on themselves?

A thought occurred to me when I noticed that the Druid can learn the Polymorph spell and I came up with the idea of casting Polymorph on yourself to turn into beast with a challenge rating that ...
9
votes
1answer
966 views

Can the half-dragon template be added to a beast and still qualify it for beast form and polymorph spells?

After reading the Half-Dragon template in the monster manual, it became apparent that the type of the creature does not change so a brown bear which is normally a beast continues to be a beast if it ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

Do you need to know the creature to use Polymorph to change someone into that creature?

Does a character need to know a creature to use Polymorph? If yes, is a little information found in an old book enough, or does it have to be an encounter with said creature? If no, does the ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

Does a True Polymorphed player character continue to gain experience?

Suppose a 5th-level human wizard (let's call her Morgan) is subject to true polymorph, and the spell becomes permanent. While polymorphed, Morgan remains with the party and contributes to adventures. ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How do multiple castings of True Polymorph interact?

When targeting a creature changed by any form of polymorph affect (Polymorph, Shapechange, Wild Shape, or True Polymorph), do you target the original creature, or the creature in its current form? ...
8
votes
2answers
10k views

Is a creature that uses Change Shape to become a humanoid affected by spells that only work on humanoids?

Creatures such as the Deva, Couatl and Oni have an ability which lets them magically polymorph into a humanoid, stating that they keep their statistics (other than ones listed as changing). Does this ...
5
votes
4answers
1k views

What is a character's level after being True Polymorphed?

One of my players intends to cast 'True Polymorph' on himself to turn into a CR 16 Creature. What character level does he have in this form, if he has any at all? Is he level 16, and if so, can he ...
24
votes
4answers
17k views

What happens when a Polymorphed creature is reduced to 0 HP by Disintegrate? [duplicate]

Disintegrate and Polymorph both have effects that happen when the subject is reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate says: If this damage reduces the target to 0 hit points, it is disintegrated. ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What kind of control should a player have over themselves when they are polymorphed?

So I'm a level 8 sorcerer and I love the spell polymorph for all those situations where fireball isn't the answer. Usually it involves me polymorphing myself and maybe one other party member into a ...
16
votes
5answers
4k views

Can you cast polymorph on a dead thing?

Can you polymorph a dead creature? If so, would the wounds sustained by the target's original form appear on the polymorphed form? A possible scenario would be you're hunting a stag on the king's ...
9
votes
5answers
8k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
5
votes
1answer
967 views

Does polymorph change your ability to think?

Polymorph says that they cannot cast spells in the new form, their intelligence hits the floor, but they maintain personality. Does this mean they also lose the ability of Logical thinking? As an ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Changeling's Shapechanger trait (from UA: Eberron) change your physical stats and abilities?

The Changeling race from Unearthed Arcana: Eberron has the Shapechanger trait, which lets it innately shapeshift: As an action, you can polymorph into any humanoid of your size that you have seen, ...
11
votes
3answers
27k views

What do you and do you not inherit from your new form when using Wild Shape / Beast Shape?

Changing shape using Wild Shape appears quite daunting when first looking it over. I was wondering if there was a clear, step-by-step, process of working out what you do and do not gain from changing ...
19
votes
2answers
4k views

Removing an unreasonable number of curses

So, in my last session, my trusty Dwarf Fighter became cursed. He is currently afflicted with one hundred distinct polymorph curses. For both my sake and the DM's, how would he go about getting ...
11
votes
4answers
43k views

How is True Polymorph not completely unbalanced?

How is True polymorph balanced in regards to any spell besides Wish? (Which is inherently unbalanced per design). Two example uses that seem unbalanced: A level 20 Warlock and Bard are having a talk ...