Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the half-dragon template be added to a beast and still qualify it for beast form and polymorph spells?

After reading the Half-Dragon template in the monster manual, it became apparent that the type of the creature does not change so a brown bear which is normally a beast continues to be a beast if it ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

Do you need to know the creature to use Polymorph to change someone into that creature?

Does a character need to know a creature to use Polymorph? If yes, is a little information found in an old book enough, or does it have to be an encounter with said creature? If no, does the ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Does a True Polymorphed player character continue to gain experience?

Suppose a 5th-level human wizard (let's call her Morgan) is subject to true polymorph, and the spell becomes permanent. While polymorphed, Morgan remains with the party and contributes to adventures. ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

How do multiple castings of True Polymorph interact?

When targeting a creature changed by any form of polymorph affect (Polymorph, Shapechange, Wild Shape, or True Polymorph), do you target the original creature, or the creature in its current form? ...
8
votes
2answers
10k views

Is a creature that uses Change Shape to become a humanoid affected by spells that only work on humanoids?

Creatures such as the Deva, Couatl and Oni have an ability which lets them magically polymorph into a humanoid, stating that they keep their statistics (other than ones listed as changing). Does this ...
5
votes
4answers
2k views

What is a character's level after being True Polymorphed?

One of my players intends to cast 'True Polymorph' on himself to turn into a CR 16 Creature. What character level does he have in this form, if he has any at all? Is he level 16, and if so, can he ...
24
votes
4answers
18k views

What happens when a Polymorphed creature is reduced to 0 HP by Disintegrate? [duplicate]

Disintegrate and Polymorph both have effects that happen when the subject is reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate says: If this damage reduces the target to 0 hit points, it is disintegrated. ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What kind of control should a player have over themselves when they are polymorphed?

So I'm a level 8 sorcerer and I love the spell polymorph for all those situations where fireball isn't the answer. Usually it involves me polymorphing myself and maybe one other party member into a ...
17
votes
5answers
4k views

Can you cast polymorph on a dead thing?

Can you polymorph a dead creature? If so, would the wounds sustained by the target's original form appear on the polymorphed form? A possible scenario would be you're hunting a stag on the king's ...
9
votes
5answers
8k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
5
votes
1answer
979 views

Does polymorph change your ability to think?

Polymorph says that they cannot cast spells in the new form, their intelligence hits the floor, but they maintain personality. Does this mean they also lose the ability of Logical thinking? As an ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Changeling's Shapechanger trait (from UA: Eberron) change your physical stats and abilities?

The Changeling race from Unearthed Arcana: Eberron has the Shapechanger trait, which lets it innately shapeshift: As an action, you can polymorph into any humanoid of your size that you have seen, ...
11
votes
3answers
28k views

What do you and do you not inherit from your new form when using Wild Shape / Beast Shape?

Changing shape using Wild Shape appears quite daunting when first looking it over. I was wondering if there was a clear, step-by-step, process of working out what you do and do not gain from changing ...
19
votes
2answers
4k views

Removing an unreasonable number of curses

So, in my last session, my trusty Dwarf Fighter became cursed. He is currently afflicted with one hundred distinct polymorph curses. For both my sake and the DM's, how would he go about getting ...
11
votes
4answers
46k views

How is True Polymorph not completely unbalanced?

How is True polymorph balanced in regards to any spell besides Wish? (Which is inherently unbalanced per design). Two example uses that seem unbalanced: A level 20 Warlock and Bard are having a talk ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

If a magical item has an effect that changes how it looks passively after its activated, would polymorph disable that?

So essentially I am trying to understand this is the situation: Kitsune with Fox shape feat has the item Demon Talon equipped to a stump. Let's say both of their hands, so two Demon Talons. If this ...
4
votes
2answers
922 views

Can a caster grant class levels to the target form of a True Polymorph?

This is a follow-on to: Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels? Assume we have a wizard who wants to check out a cave system where he or she can't fit ...
23
votes
2answers
8k views

What happens when Wild Shape/Polymorph runs out in a space that's too small?

So in a 5e campaign I'm running, the party Druid has recently been doing some scouting of the local monster caves in spider form to avoid notice. I've also described how the goblins and kobolds who ...
1
vote
3answers
279 views

Can other Shifters enter Weretouched Master?

The Weretouched Master is supposed to be designed for shifters of any bloodline right? So why are Bear, Boar, Rat, Tiger, Wolf and Wolverine the only bloodlines with listed info.? Shifters are ...
17
votes
4answers
3k views

How to polymorph one object into another, specifically a pumpkin into a carriage?

So, I wish to polymorph one object into another. But neither Polymorph nor True Polymorph say anything about casting it on an object and transforming it into another object, so how could it be ...
8
votes
2answers
10k views

Can you use a Dragon's Change Shape Ability to Turn Back Into Yourself?

If you are a level 20 Wizard who is True Polymorphed into an Ancient Brass Dragon, can you then use the Dragon's Change Shape ability to turn back into a level 20 Wizard, maintaining all your class ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How large can a thing be “produced” by True Polymorph?

In this question, it was decided a goblin could be permanently True Polymorphed into a lump of adamantine. True Polymorph can also turn a goblin into a larger creature, like a cow. This effectively ...
35
votes
2answers
16k views

Can you permanently True Polymorph into yourself?

Can a character true polymorph into itself (possibly after transforming into some other form first)? Possibly to prevent aging, cure wounds, or alter their original body in some way? Or as a means of ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can True Polymorph be used to recover from diseases or curses?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore is tired of his hand hurting. Said appendage was damaged magically and cannot be cured by any known means (short of deity magic or a Wish spell, which ...
12
votes
5answers
5k views

How much control does Polymorph/True Polymorph allow over aesthetics?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore would like to become an elf. When casting either Polymorph or True Polymorph, can Dumbledore specify how the elf will look? For example: "I want to be a ...
17
votes
4answers
24k views

Can True Polymorph be dispelled or reversed?

My interpretation of True Polymorph is that, once made permanent, it could not be undone (except perhaps with a Wish spell, god-level magic, another casting of True Polymorph, or some similar ability)....
24
votes
3answers
7k views

Can True Polymorph be used repeatedly to never age?

Let's say we have a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore. Dumbledore is wicked old. Dumbledore would like to not die of old age, as he has a few enemies left to take care of. Can Dumbledore cast ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens to armor when you transform into a werebear?

I have a medium sized PC who is wearing plate armor. If he turns into a werebear, what happens to the armor? The MM states that any equipment it is carrying isn't transformed. Since the medium sized ...
1
vote
1answer
713 views

What can I polymorph into, whose natural attacks count as magic for DR?

Are there any monsters you can polymorph into that allow you to attack as if you had a magical weapon for the purposes of Damage Reduction? I think an example would be easier to understand: If I ...
0
votes
1answer
3k views

How do polymorph-like spells interact with spellcasting capability? [closed]

For this question I am going to define these spells as, namely, Polymorph, True Polymorph & Shapechange. You must also, for the sake of this question, disregard any creature type limitations and ...
3
votes
2answers
540 views

What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?

Many spells specify a condition (animal, living creature, undead, etc.) that their targets must fulfill. What happens if such a spell is cast on a target that meets the condition(s), but changes in ...
15
votes
3answers
11k views

Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels?

The true polymorph spell specifies that: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new form ... The creature is limited in the actions it ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a polymorphed creature remember who his friends are?

The polymorph spell states, in part: The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality. ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Animal Shapes continually refresh a creature's Hit Points?

Looking at the Animal Shapes spell (PHB pg.212) it says: On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms. Followed by the usual transformation rules: ...
32
votes
4answers
31k views

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Which stat and proficiency bonuses of a creature you transform into do you gain?

When you transform into a creature via a spell or wild shape, you gain its Str, Dex and Con ability scores, but keep your Int, Cha and Wis scores. However, if the creature you're transforming into has ...
22
votes
2answers
8k views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
33
votes
7answers
18k views

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don't require speech or hand gestures?

The Polymorph spell states (in part): The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality....
26
votes
4answers
3k views

Does the True Polymorph spell form a creature with equipment?

When a spellcaster transforms an object or creature into a creature using the True Polymorph spell, does that creature form with equipment? Example: if a spellcaster used True Polymorph to ...
11
votes
4answers
7k views

How does Max-HP reduction affect wild-shaped/polymorphed creatures?

Certain creatures have abilities which can reduce a character's maximum HP, and usually if it gets reduced to 0 the character dies outright. Suppose a HP30 PC is wild-shaped/polymorphed to a creature ...
6
votes
1answer
869 views

How does changing a PC's creature type but not race affect the character sheet?

I'm using the deck of many things in my campaign, it's a way to let the chaotic characters create chaos and to let the lawful characters fight against drawing cards. Anyway, I'm trying to be prepared ...
33
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?)

Is it possible to make crafting materials, like adamantine, out of a goblin or such using the True Polymorph spell for the full duration of the spell? On a side note, while adamantine is mentioned in ...
0
votes
5answers
3k views

How to build a workable master transmogrifist 10

Ok, big edit to the question as people have suggested. I would like to use the master transmogrifist prestige class all the way to L10, as I find it interesting to use two of its key abilities. ...
2
votes
2answers
947 views

What abilities remain when using Draconic Exemplar's shapechange ability?

Draconic Exemplar is a Racial Paragon Class for the dragonlike Taninim Race by Rite. One of the Draconic Gifts is Humanoid Form (Su): The draconic exemplar can assume a specific humanoid form of ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

When transforming from a race using Polymorph any Object, what changes?

In the campaign I'm in, the narrative of my character's backstory involves being raised by a race that is not her own, and she is so enamored with the race as a whole that she actively pursues the ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Can one Wild Shape into a Swarm?

My gut feeling is that wildshaping into a swarm is not RAI, but I've had such feelings at times and been wrong, so it feels worth asking. When it comes to RAW, so far I cannot find anything that says ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if one's petrified while Enlarged (or Polymorphed)?

If one were under the effect of Enlarge Person (or some temporary polymorph effect) and then get petrified, what happens when the spell expires? I could imagine: The petrification creates a statue ...
4
votes
4answers
6k views

Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?

Change Shape states the following: Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, ...
6
votes
2answers
818 views

Magically becoming multi-headed creatures

If someone Polymorphs into a Hydra, what happens when a head is cut off? Hydra heads have complicated rules about hitpoints and regrown heads and stuff. What if instead of a wizard casting polymorph ...
7
votes
6answers
2k views

A way to water-proof equipment on short notice

So, our 3.5 party is about to make a quick dive to the next story location, and just before that, our Bard remembers that he don't want to get his lute wet since it would damage the instrument. Then, ...