Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
15
votes
1answer
3k views

Does casting Disintegrate on a polymorphed enemy still kill it after the 2018 errata?

After the 2018 errata, the disintegrate spell description now reads: A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. ...
15
votes
2answers
706 views

Intellect devourer vs multiple heads

If a creature possessed by an intellect devourer is true polymorphed into a creature with multiple heads (i.e. a hydra), what happens? Is the intellect devourer ejected since at least one head's ...
15
votes
3answers
10k views

Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels?

The true polymorph spell specifies that: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new form ... The creature is limited in the actions it ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if one's petrified while Enlarged (or Polymorphed)?

If one were under the effect of Enlarge Person (or some temporary polymorph effect) and then get petrified, what happens when the spell expires? I could imagine: The petrification creates a statue ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a sentient weapon polymorphed into a creature retain the sentience's personality/alignment?

Consider the spell true polymorph. If you turn a creature into a creature, the new creature retains its alignment and personality. If you turn an object into a creature The creature is ...
14
votes
1answer
5k views

True polymorph and the dragon Change Shape feature

I cast true polymorph on myself and I maintain concentration for 1 hour, so I became an Ancient Brass Dragon, until true polymorph is dispelled. Days / months later, I want to turn back to my original ...
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Does gaining a proficiency via the Shapechange spell let you add your original proficiency bonus if yours is higher?

For example, if a 17th level character with a +6 proficiency bonus and who isn't proficient in Acrobatics casts the shapechange spell to turn into a Quickling (who have a +6 Dexterity modifier and an ...
14
votes
1answer
825 views

Do you continue to develop and mature after true polymorphing into a younger form of a creature?

If you use True Polymorph to change into a young or adult dragon, and sustain the spell for the full hour so that it becomes permanent, will you (over the following centuries) mature into an ancient ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Animal Shapes continually refresh a creature's Hit Points?

Looking at the Animal Shapes spell (PHB pg.212) it says: On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms. Followed by the usual transformation rules: ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Does polymorph use a PC’s CR or its level?

I was discussing the spell with my DM relating to this question Can a Wizard polymorph low-level PCs into over-powered beasts? about the polymorph spell. According to Polymorph's description, The ...
13
votes
2answers
558 views

RAW, can you avoid Heat Metal via Polymorph?

A Wizard and a Knight clad in chainmail are happily walking through a forest. A wily Druid pops out of a tree and casts Heat Metal upon the Knight and he begins melting in his armor, screaming. ...
13
votes
1answer
902 views

Can a simulacrum “regain” HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally?

If a simulacrum is polymorphed through True Polymorph into a creature that can regain hit points normally, can the simulacrum regain hit points while polymorphed in that way?
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How do multiple castings of True Polymorph interact?

When targeting a creature changed by any form of polymorph affect (Polymorph, Shapechange, Wild Shape, or True Polymorph), do you target the original creature, or the creature in its current form? ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Does polymorph cancel rage?

We know that when you polymorph in D&D 5e, per the spell, you lose access to your class features, as discussed in this question. However, polymorph does not say it cancels on-going effects on the ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when a creature possessed by an intellect devourer is true polymorphed?

Let's assume that a new party member, already possessed by an intellect devourer, is true polymorphed into a dog by the wizard as part of his initiation ritual (and a big message that said "don't mess ...
13
votes
3answers
266 views

Does the yuan-ti action option Polymorph into Snake require concentration? What is its duration?

In Volo's Guide to Monsters, the Yuan-Ti "Unusual Abilities" section (p. 98) lists a number of action options that might be given to high-ranking yuan-ti, one of which is: Polymorph into Snake (...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

How large a snake can a Yuan-Ti Abomination become?

In the Monster Manual (p. 308) it states: The yuan-ti can use its action to polymorph into a Large snake... Can the snake be as large as I want or is there a set size? The description wasn't ...
12
votes
5answers
2k views

Is it possible to possess a non-humanoid creature with a combination of True Polymorph and Magic Jar?

True polymorph says: Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

D&D 3.5: Polymorphed Rust Monster vs. Iron Golem

GMs hate me because of my sheer resourcefulness. This situation presented itself during a 3.0 game, and I'm wondering how it would play out in a 3.5 game. The party was attacked by an iron golem. I ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a necromancer True Polymorph to get an arbitrary CR 9-or-less companion?

According to If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? after a necromancer polymorphs an undead they control, it is still under their control. ...
12
votes
1answer
8k views

Now that my wizard is a dragon, can I do the following things? [closed]

In a campaign as a wizard at 17th level, I have accomplished turning into an adult gold dragon with variant innate spell casting. My DM and I agreed the dragon can cast spells, but then the following ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens when a creature that has swallowed another creature is polymorphed?

Twice this week, I have faced a situation where Polymorph was going to be cast on a creature that had swallowed a PC. As a DM, I ruled that if the polymorphed form was smaller, the swallowed PC would ...
12
votes
3answers
607 views

Does a familiar stay the same after being true polymorphed and then dismissed and resummoned?

Let's say someone true polymorphs your snake familiar into a bandit and concentrates long enough to make it permanent, does the familiar stay a bandit when you dismiss them and resummon?
12
votes
5answers
5k views

How much control does Polymorph/True Polymorph allow over aesthetics?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore would like to become an elf. When casting either Polymorph or True Polymorph, can Dumbledore specify how the elf will look? For example: "I want to be a ...
11
votes
4answers
44k views

How is True Polymorph not completely unbalanced?

How is True polymorph balanced in regards to any spell besides Wish? (Which is inherently unbalanced per design). Two example uses that seem unbalanced: A level 20 Warlock and Bard are having a talk ...
11
votes
4answers
4k views

Can you cast spell while using “Polymorph” with sorcerer's “Subtle Spell” [duplicate]

The polymorph spell description is kind of elusive about this: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast Spells, or take any ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when polymorph ends in a demiplane that is too small for the creature?

The Demiplane spell lets you create a permanent room 30 feet in any dimension as a separate plane, which would then be smaller than the Tarrasque. On the other side I may polymorph a Tarrasque into a ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Does exhaustion affect a creature after it is polymorphed?

I have an ally that is exceptionally exhausted. If I polymorph him into another form, do the negative effects of exhaustion—such as reduced speed—apply to the new polymorphed form?
11
votes
2answers
14k views

Can I true polymorph into an Ancient Brass Dragon, and then use its Change Shape ability?

If I were to cast True Polymorph (which permits all creatures, not just beasts, as the regular Polymorph does) on myself to turn myself into, say, an Ancient Brass Dragon (provided that I'm level 20, ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a polymorphed creature remember who his friends are?

The polymorph spell states, in part: The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality. ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What kind of control should a player have over themselves when they are polymorphed?

So I'm a level 8 sorcerer and I love the spell polymorph for all those situations where fireball isn't the answer. Usually it involves me polymorphing myself and maybe one other party member into a ...
11
votes
1answer
16k views

Can a Druid cast the spell Polymorph on themselves?

A thought occurred to me when I noticed that the Druid can learn the Polymorph spell and I came up with the idea of casting Polymorph on yourself to turn into beast with a challenge rating that ...
11
votes
1answer
566 views

Are UA Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?

The Polymorph spell says: This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. The spell has no ...
11
votes
3answers
27k views

What do you and do you not inherit from your new form when using Wild Shape / Beast Shape?

Changing shape using Wild Shape appears quite daunting when first looking it over. I was wondering if there was a clear, step-by-step, process of working out what you do and do not gain from changing ...
11
votes
4answers
659 views

How can I model a character polymorphed into a (stupid, speechless) Tyrannosaurus Rex?

The wizard in my party likes to use polymorph to turn himself into a Tyrannosaurus Rex. The T-Rex has Intelligence 2, and cannot understand or speak any langauges. Although the character retains his ...
11
votes
3answers
373 views

What happens when a True Polymorphed Simulacrum is affected by Dispel Magic, but only the Simulacrum spell is dispelled?

Something very weird happened last Sunday night in my Tier 4 gaming session : a player had a simulacrum that was True Polymorphed (into a Red Abishai) for more than an hour (became "permanent"). A foe ...
11
votes
4answers
6k views

How does Max-HP reduction affect wild-shaped/polymorphed creatures?

Certain creatures have abilities which can reduce a character's maximum HP, and usually if it gets reduced to 0 the character dies outright. Suppose a HP30 PC is wild-shaped/polymorphed to a creature ...
11
votes
1answer
393 views

Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object?

Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object? Or would doing so break your concentration on the spell?
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can True Polymorph be used to transform someone into a shapechanger creature?

The spell clearly says that it does not affect a shapechanger. Shapechangers are not affected by this spell. But has nothing about the opposite. Would that mean that I can change a Goblin into a ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature polymorphs?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

If a corpse is True Polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality?

True polymorph can turn a creature into another creature. When it does so, the creature "retains its alignment and personality", although its other statistics change. However, true polymorph can also ...
10
votes
1answer
843 views

If you have cast Spiritual Weapon and then you are polymorphed, can you make melee spell attacks?

I have a player that would like to cast Polymorph on the party's cleric. If the cleric has already cast Spiritual Weapon on himself (this is not a concentration spell) and he is Polymorphed into ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Paladin's Find Steed was True Polymorphed

The paladin in the party I DM for uses the Find Steed spell to summon a saber toothed tiger mount (I'm a nice DM). The spell says: You summon a spirit that assumes the form of an unusually ...
10
votes
1answer
120 views

In the Shackled City, what is the relevance of the polymorphed Otyugh?

In section M4 the party encounter an otyugh polymorphed into an ogre. The encounter is straight to combat, so there is no real way of knowing it is anything other than an ogre, but a dispel magic ...
10
votes
2answers
582 views

What happens if you dispel a “permanent” True Polymorph after the target has died?

With the errata (no longer so recent), it is clear that true polymorph can be dispelled, even after it has been concentrated on for the full hour. On page 185 of the SRD, the spell description now ...
10
votes
1answer
183 views

Is a frog intelligent enough to issue telepathic commands?

A wizard in my party has cast polymorph on an opponent that has control of a Shield Guardian. The wizard turned them into a frog before it was their turn to act. Can that opponent still issue ...
10
votes
2answers
265 views

Does a warforged benefit from composite plating when it uses alter self to assume a different form?

The spell alter self mentions nothing about the affected creature losing its racial traits that are natural abilities, like the warforged racial trait composite plating. With this in mind, if a ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

How does true polymorph interact with class feature companions? [closed]

How does true polymorph work with the companion from the rangers beast master and warlocks pact of the chain class options? Beast Master Can it be true polymorphed into a large CR 1/4 creature? Can ...
10
votes
4answers
435 views

Does Antimagic Field suppress all layers of True Polymorph simultaneously?

Imagine that you have cast True Polymorph to turn a medium object into a Helmed Horror with Spell Immunity to Antimagic Field. If you were to then True Polymorph that Helmed Horror into something else,...
9
votes
5answers
8k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...