A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
10
votes
4answers
556 views

Does Antimagic Field suppress all layers of True Polymorph simultaneously?

Imagine that you have cast True Polymorph to turn a medium object into a Helmed Horror with Spell Immunity to Antimagic Field. If you were to then True Polymorph that Helmed Horror into something else,...
9
votes
5answers
8k views

Is Baleful Polymorph really this weak?

So, Polymorph subschool spells apparently end if you want them to, whenever you are subject to a new polymorph spell. Does this mean I can use literally any Polymorph spell to end Baleful Polymorph? ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a creature be True Polymorphed into a corpse and then raised?

Inspired by If a corpse is polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality? True Polymorph can turn a creature into an object Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Are unwilling Changeling PCs from “Eberron: Rising from the Last War” now immune to the Polymorph spell?

In the original question Are Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?, it was decided that because Changelings didn't have the Shapeshifter trait (though the answer should have said Shapechanger), ...
9
votes
1answer
657 views

Can polymorphing monsters spam their ability to effectively give themselves a massive health pool?

Some creatures have an ability that lets them polymorph, such as the Couatl's Change Shape action. I am wondering if this ability could be used again whenever the form is dropped to give the creature ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

Do you need to know the creature to use Polymorph to change someone into that creature?

Does a character need to know a creature to use Polymorph? If yes, is a little information found in an old book enough, or does it have to be an encounter with said creature? If no, does the ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when you try to True Polymorph into a werewolf?

Okay, let's assume that a non-shapeshifter (Bob the human for example) is going to be polymorphed (Using True Polymorph) into a werewolf. What would be the most likely thing to happen? Would Bob be ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Can True Polymorph create rare inks?

I am a level 20 wizard and have been using the True Polymorph spell to create expensive spell components. However my DM, who will never overrule RAW, has recently created a spell which requires "rare ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a ghost or other incorporeal creature be polymorphed?

While researching this question about polymorphing a paladin's steed, I had a realization. Polymorph specifies a creature you can see as a target, and as answered here, "creature" essentially refers ...
9
votes
1answer
999 views

Can the half-dragon template be added to a beast and still qualify it for beast form and polymorph spells?

After reading the Half-Dragon template in the monster manual, it became apparent that the type of the creature does not change so a brown bear which is normally a beast continues to be a beast if it ...
9
votes
1answer
650 views

Can a Polymorphed creature grapple?

My confusion comes from this part of the polymorph spell: The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other ...
9
votes
2answers
471 views

What happens when you cast the Polymorph spell on a swarm?

If a caster targets a swarm with the spell polymorph, what happens? The polymorph spell description says: This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range ...
9
votes
2answers
982 views

How do you detemine if a polymorph form can use a weapon?

I am playing a druid who is going to be wild shaping. How do I determine if a weapon can be used in a particular form? Some forms are obvious like a chicken can't pick up and use a sword. Other forms ...
9
votes
1answer
251 views

If an Ancient Metallic Dragon uses Change Shape to turn into a humanoid with Innate Spellcasting, do the uses of “X/day” spells reset each time?

Ancient Metallic Dragons (e.g. Ancient Brass Dragons) have the Change Shape ability: Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating no higher ...
8
votes
5answers
2k views

Can a Ranger bond with a beast that’s secretly an Angel in disguise?

In my game there’s a Ranger who is a demigod and doesn’t know it (my homebrew, but shouldn’t affect the question I have). He has a pet “lizard” who is actually a polymorphed Deva in disguise that his ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Does damage that caused concentration on polymorph to break carry over to the HP of the normal form?

I argue in this question that damage taken while polymorphed can break concentration. If this damage does break concentration, is it applied to the polymorphed form (just before concentration breaks), ...
8
votes
2answers
10k views

Is a creature that uses Change Shape to become a humanoid affected by spells that only work on humanoids?

Creatures such as the Deva, Couatl and Oni have an ability which lets them magically polymorph into a humanoid, stating that they keep their statistics (other than ones listed as changing). Does this ...
8
votes
2answers
10k views

Can you use a Dragon's Change Shape Ability to Turn Back Into Yourself?

If you are a level 20 Wizard who is True Polymorphed into an Ancient Brass Dragon, can you then use the Dragon's Change Shape ability to turn back into a level 20 Wizard, maintaining all your class ...
8
votes
3answers
385 views

If a creature polymorphs into something, is it then that thing?

A number of creatures have the Shapechanger trait with some variation of the phrasing: Shapechanger. The [creature] can use its action to polymorph into [output] or back into its true form. Its ...
8
votes
2answers
662 views

Which beast should I choose to most effectively remove an enemy from a fight using the Polymorph spell?

A common battle tactic among mid-level spellcasters is to remove one big enemy from the fight using polymorph to transform them into a harmless beast. However, the question inevitably arises: what ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Which stat and proficiency bonuses of a creature you transform into do you gain?

When you transform into a creature via a spell or wild shape, you gain its Str, Dex and Con ability scores, but keep your Int, Cha and Wis scores. However, if the creature you're transforming into has ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Can someone who has been Feebleminded have their Int and Cha scores changed via Polymorph?

I'm running a campaign at the moment and one of the characters got feeblemind-ed. If another character used polymorph to change them into something with higher Intelligence and Charisma, would this ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

What keeps players from creating all legendary items imaginable using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

So, True Polymorph can be used to turn creatures into objects, like lumps of adamantine. Creature into Object: If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing ...
8
votes
1answer
725 views

Would the Detect Magic spell recognize a creature or object affected by the True Polymorph spell?

Straightforward issue here: in the D&D 5e version of true polymorph, the creature or object becomes permanently polymorphed into the creature or object of the caster’s choice after an hour has ...
8
votes
1answer
262 views

Can killing the spellcaster undo a 'permanent' True Polymorph?

So I have a character (E) that, Many years ago, was True Polymorphed into an elf so his also-elven spouse (N) wouldn't outlive him so drastically. The result ended in E being roughly thirty years ...
8
votes
1answer
478 views

I've been swallowed and the creature has been Baleful Polymorphed; what happens?

Related question but different game (D&D 5e): What happens when a creature that has swallowed another creature is polymorphed? We went into the water and a 5x4 creature attacked us. It had grab ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I use Mage Hand to fly by Polymorphing myself and picking myself up with the hand?

Could I first cast Mage Hand, then Polymorph into a Tiny creature less than 10 pounds then use the Mage Hand to pick myself up and fly at 30 Ft per turn? Polymorph says: The new form can be any ...
8
votes
1answer
236 views

What is the upper limit for the size of an object that True Polymorph can change?

For changing an object to a creature, true polymorph says: Object into Creature. You can turn an object into any kind of creature as long as the creature's size is no larger than the object's size ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you shapechange into an object instead of a creature?

I'm fairly new to Pathfinder and I was wondering if a character could shapechange into something like a door, table, or wall? If not shapechange would polymorph do it? I don't have a particular ...
8
votes
3answers
829 views

Can a polymorphed magic user still cast spells if the new form has limbs, mouth, and fingers?

The Wizard power Foe to Frog (Heroes of the Fey Wild) allows the wizard to change the target into a tiny beast. My question is: can the polymorphed target retain ...
8
votes
1answer
636 views

Can a willing lycanthrope be True Polymorphed?

Can a lycanthrope or other shapeshifter be willingly affected by the spell True Polymorph? I know that it can be affected by regular Polymorph, but the text for the enhanced version seems to differ.
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Can one Wild Shape into a Swarm?

My gut feeling is that wildshaping into a swarm is not RAI, but I've had such feelings at times and been wrong, so it feels worth asking. When it comes to RAW, so far I cannot find anything that says ...
8
votes
1answer
449 views

How does casting Animate Dead on a True Polymorphed corpse get resolved?

Inspired by some similar questions and a comment on this answer, I'm curious how one might resolve the casting of animate dead on a creature who has been true polymorphed into a corpse. The ...
8
votes
1answer
436 views

What happens when a creature gains a black pudding's split ability?

What happens to a polymorphed wizard or master of many forms when, while in black pudding form, he splits? Some say the ability creates a new black pudding, yet the black pudding's split ability says ...
8
votes
1answer
203 views

Can a True Polymorphed Familiar Change Spells?

Say you're a Pact of the Chain warlock, so you have a familiar with a CR of 1 or something. If you hit 17th level or find and pay a high-level mage to permanently turn your familiar into an Apprentice ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an object created by True Polymorph be used as a consumable spell component?

Using the creature to object feature of true polymorph you can transform a creature into an object. Can you then use that object as a consumable component for a spell? How does the potential ...
7
votes
6answers
2k views

A way to water-proof equipment on short notice

So, our 3.5 party is about to make a quick dive to the next story location, and just before that, our Bard remembers that he don't want to get his lute wet since it would damage the instrument. Then, ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does polymorph cancel bladesong?

A wizard is fighting with his bladesong active and decides to cast polymorph upon himself. Will bladesong still be active in the new form (let’s take a giant ape for example)?
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I benefit from a feat effect while polymorphed?

If I have polymorphed into a creature can I use the effects of my feats? For example: If I have Alert do I still get a plus 5 to initiative? If I have the Grappler feat can I still pin a creature ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Can True Polymorph be used to create magic items?

The True Polymorph spell allows you to turn a creature into an object and if you concentrate on it for 1 hour it becomes permanent. The relevant text follows: Choose one creature or non-magical ...
7
votes
2answers
10k views

Can Polymorph + Awaken give any creature intelligence and language?

If you cast Polymorph on a non beast creature then cast Awaken on their beast form how much carries over after polymorph ends? Polymorph does not give any explicit information on what happens to your ...
7
votes
1answer
572 views

Does changing shape or changing another's shape require knowledge of the resulting creature?

Many forum threads and comments on this site and elsewhere claim that You cannot transform yourself or others into creatures you haven't encountered. For instance, another player recently complained ...
7
votes
1answer
306 views

What happens when Polymorph is cast on a creature already affected by Polymorph?

What happens when a caster casts Polymorph on a creature that is already Polymorphed by a different caster?
7
votes
2answers
2k views

If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? [closed]

When you kill a humanoid with Finger of Death, it creates a zombie that is permanently under your command. If you then True Polymorph that zombie, replacing its statistics with another creature's, ...
7
votes
2answers
443 views

What happens if a character who is multi-classed is True Polymorphed?

The basic notion is that the rules of multi-classing in D&D 5e state that a character who chooses to multi-class must meet a stat requirement of both classes. Now, what happens if and when the ...
7
votes
1answer
504 views

Can an Imp which is in another form (through Shapechanger) be invisible?

The imp has the Shapechanger trait: The imp can use its action to polymorph into a beast form that resembles a rat (speed 20 ft.), a raven (20 ft., fly 60 ft.), or a spider (20 ft., climb 20 ft.), ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you escape from Dimensional Shackles as easily as by polymorphing?

The intent of Dimensional Shackles (which block all kinds of teleportation or interplanar travel on their victim) is clearly to prevent spellcasters from escaping. But what happens if a Dimensional-...
7
votes
1answer
468 views

Can you give health potions to Polymorphed companions?

If a fellow adventurer gets turned into a beast using the Polymorph spell can you administer first aid using a Health Potion?
7
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens to armor when you transform into a werebear?

I have a medium sized PC who is wearing plate armor. If he turns into a werebear, what happens to the armor? The MM states that any equipment it is carrying isn't transformed. Since the medium sized ...
7
votes
2answers
732 views

Does Polymorph break or melt Tomb of Levistus?

Our group's paladin/warlock (multiclass) was wondering about the following scenario. The paladin/warlock uses his reaction to use the Tomb of Levistus eldritch invocation (from Xanathar's Guide to ...