Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How large can a thing be “produced” by True Polymorph?

In this question, it was decided a goblin could be permanently True Polymorphed into a lump of adamantine. True Polymorph can also turn a goblin into a larger creature, like a cow. This effectively ...
6
votes
1answer
858 views

How does changing a PC's creature type but not race affect the character sheet?

I'm using the deck of many things in my campaign, it's a way to let the chaotic characters create chaos and to let the lawful characters fight against drawing cards. Anyway, I'm trying to be prepared ...
6
votes
1answer
483 views

Is a beast from Bag of Tricks a willing creature for Polymorph?

If I were to pull a beast out of a Bag of Tricks and then cast Polymorph on it, would it be considered a willing creature or does it make a save for the spell?
6
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when a polymorphed creature is petrified?

If a creature A is polymorphed into creature B and is subsequently petrified, does it still revert to its original form after the polymorph ends? I see several possible scenarios after the polymorph ...
6
votes
2answers
265 views

Does a tibbit possess the type animal when in house cat form?

A tibbit (Dragon Compendium Volume 1 21–25) possesses the natural ability feline transformation that "is similar to the spell polymorph but with a number of key changes" that allows a tibbit to assume ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can True Polymorph be used to recover from diseases or curses?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore is tired of his hand hurting. Said appendage was damaged magically and cannot be cured by any known means (short of deity magic or a Wish spell, which ...
6
votes
2answers
812 views

Magically becoming multi-headed creatures

If someone Polymorphs into a Hydra, what happens when a head is cut off? Hydra heads have complicated rules about hitpoints and regrown heads and stuff. What if instead of a wizard casting polymorph ...
6
votes
1answer
417 views

How does an enhancement bonus to base speed affect a creature with no land speed?

In Pathfinder, what is the effect of an enhancement bonus to land speed for a creature that has no specified land speed? For example, a druid is under the effects of both Longstrider and a polymorph....
6
votes
1answer
616 views

If a creature's size suddenly increases while it is inside a very small Sphere of Force (from Wall of Force) what happens? [duplicate]

Let's be very specific. Assume you have two casters. The first one casts polymorph on, lets say, a Kraken, and uses portent to assure a failed save. He turns the Kraken it into a regular 1/2 inch ...
6
votes
2answers
715 views

Does Polymorph break or melt Tomb of Levistus?

Our group's paladin/warlock (multiclass) was wondering about the following scenario. The paladin/warlock uses his reaction to use the Tomb of Levistus eldritch invocation (from Xanathar's Guide to ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I use polymorph to turn people into creatures that aren't in the books?

I'd like my gnome wizard to be able to turn people (and monsters) into bunny rabbits. But there aren't stats for that in either the player's hand book or the monster manual. There are stats for frogs (...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you use a beast's innate abilities while polymorphed?

I'm just getting access to the Polymorph spell this level, and I'm curious about beasts with innate capabilities. Swarm of Cranium Rats (CR5) are probably the strongest example: Innate Spellcasting ...
5
votes
3answers
6k views

What is the lifespan of the Changeling race from UA: Eberron?

I'm going to be playing a changeling (from UA: Eberron) soon, and my DM is excited to have this unique race as a PC, but I was wondering if there was some form of RAW on this sort of thing. The ...
5
votes
2answers
700 views

Does a controlled undead polymorphed into a living creature stay under the necromancer's control?

I'm working on a dread necromancer and was thinking of fun things to do. I got the idea of having polymorph cast on undead I've raised. The question is, would the polymorphed undead still be under my ...
5
votes
4answers
2k views

What is a character's level after being True Polymorphed?

One of my players intends to cast 'True Polymorph' on himself to turn into a CR 16 Creature. What character level does he have in this form, if he has any at all? Is he level 16, and if so, can he ...
5
votes
1answer
679 views

What happens to memories when using True Polymorph?

The text of true polymorph says (emphasis mine): Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is ...
5
votes
1answer
969 views

Does polymorph change your ability to think?

Polymorph says that they cannot cast spells in the new form, their intelligence hits the floor, but they maintain personality. Does this mean they also lose the ability of Logical thinking? As an ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use class features while Polymorphed? [duplicate]

More specifically I'm trying to understand if a Barbarian who has been polymorphed, either willingly or not would be able to rage. However this also applies to things such as Uncanny Dodge, or Evasion,...
5
votes
1answer
438 views

Yochlol [Shapechanger feature] Hit Point cases

Yochlol have a Shapechange feature which reads: Yochlol can use its action to polymorph into a form that resembles a female drow or giant spider, or back into its true form. Its statistics are ...
5
votes
1answer
243 views

Is there a spell that would allow you to transform someone into an object?

Is there any spell in Pathfinder that actually would allow an evil witch to turn an opposing witch into a sentient door knob, or something alike? It is such a common trope in fantasy that I find it ...
5
votes
2answers
420 views

Action economy and polymorphing into a hydra

The polymorph spell would allow an 7th level character to turn themselves into a hydra with all the benefits that implies. The polymorph spell states: (The spellcaster) gains all extraordinary ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Clarification of Alter Self

Alter Self description says: When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, ...
5
votes
2answers
8k views

Can polymorph and true polymorph change a PC's race and sex?

Can polymorph and true polymorph alter a PC's race and sex? If a PC can be altered in such a way, can the PC speak and use his or her hands?
5
votes
1answer
168 views

Does increasing size stop the grapple if it has been initiated with Improved Grab?

A Huge reptile bit my Medium character and started a grapple using Improved Grab. My character activated a Polymorph item and transformed into an elefant - which is Huge. Improved Grab says: "...
5
votes
1answer
305 views

Can True Polymorph create creatures with the Spellcasting feature?

One notable limitation of the Shapechange spell reads as follows: You transform into an average example of that creature, one without any class levels or the Spellcasting trait. However, True ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Phylactery of Change interact with other polymorph effects on the wearer?

The phylactery of change from the Arms and Equipment Guide reads as follows: The wearer of this item can invoke a polymorph self ability with an indefinite duration (or until the phylactery is ...
5
votes
1answer
366 views

When a creature changes form is its melded equipment still burdensome?

My human PC has been forced to assume magically the form of a typical squirrel, and his gear has melded into this new form. Does this melded equipment still have weight? If it does still have weight, ...
5
votes
2answers
588 views

What are the final polymorph rules?

The polymorph self spell and its friends were an ever-changing pile of errata. What was the final word on how polymorph effects work in Dungeons and Dragons, Third Edition? I am uninterested in the ...
5
votes
2answers
809 views

What defines a PC's consciousness of self, memories and knowledge?

I am not sure whether a PC's consciousness, memories and knowledge are related to their personality or their mental stats (in particular, INT and WIS). My doubt comes from a practical situation, that ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

If a magical item has an effect that changes how it looks passively after its activated, would polymorph disable that?

So essentially I am trying to understand this is the situation: Kitsune with Fox shape feat has the item Demon Talon equipped to a stump. Let's say both of their hands, so two Demon Talons. If this ...
5
votes
1answer
302 views

If a deva uses its Change Shape ability to turn into a cat, what is its size?

The Deva stat block states: Change Shape. The deva magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating equal to or less than its own, or back into its true form. It reverts to ...
5
votes
1answer
595 views

What happens if you Polymorph Any Object a magic weapon into another form while its magic is suppressed by Dispel Magic?

I'm aware of this question but it hasn't really come to any solid conclusion. Additionally, that question is more concerned about spell stacking in general, and I'm interested in this specific case. ...
5
votes
2answers
676 views

Can a kitsune get a magical tattoo while in fox shape and use it in fox shape?

A kitsune caster with the feat Fox Shape wants to cast spells in fox shape. The caster's tattoo is a magic item that can be used once per day to cast a spell as if using the feats Silent Spell and ...
4
votes
1answer
391 views

Does a creature polymorphed into a Giant Ape carry ammunition to make its ranged attacks?

The description of the polymorph spell (BR, p. 266) says: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment ...
4
votes
1answer
201 views

How much damage carries over, or which attack triggers the end of Polymorph?

Polymorph is said to be a great spell, and I can see why: it can turn a CR 18 monstrosity into a CR 0 Frog, or something along those lines. My question comes from one specific paragraph in polymorph'...
4
votes
1answer
532 views

Shapechanged into an intellect devourer

If I use shapechange and turn into an intellect devourer and then use Body Thief to possess a humanoid, will I be forced out when the spell ends or remain in control of the humanoid?
4
votes
2answers
204 views

How does this scenario involving the Polymorph and Alter Self spells play out?

We had an interesting scenario pop up at our table. A dwarven runesmith (Races of Stone p.118) with caster level 9, getting ready for a big battle, did the following: He set all his equipment out on ...
4
votes
2answers
250 views

Permanent Enlarge Person and Kitsune Shape

The subject of this question is a Kitsune character under a permanent Enlarge Person spell. I have some difficulties to figure out how it will react with the two shape features of this character, ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a true polymorphed familiar retain the mechanical benefits of a familiar?

If I use find familiar as an Arcane Trickster Rogue, then have a high level wizard cast (concentration) true polymorph on said familiar to turn them into a homunculus, would the familiar still retain ...
4
votes
1answer
411 views

Can Polymorph Any Object turn a human into a Huge Giant with a Permanent duration, with all the benefits of Giant Form II?

Can Polymorph Any Object turn a human into a Huge Giant with a Permanent duration, with all the benefits of Giant Form II? James Jacobs (Paizo Creative Director) says on the Paizo forums in response ...
4
votes
1answer
283 views

Do you still benefit from ASIs when using True Polymorph?

I've seen references to feats being retained when you are transformed via True Polymorph. Are ability score increases (ASIs) also kept? If not, that would seem to make feats a strictly better choice ...
4
votes
2answers
190 views

Can multiple casts of True Polymorph stack?

Heavily related to this question, I want to know if multiple castings of True Polymorph would stack if made permanent. Picture this scenario: (Assume a willing target.) Any given character is TP'd ...
4
votes
1answer
491 views

When an Adult Gold Dragon changes into an Archmage, what are its saving throw and skill bonuses?

An Adult Gold Dragon has Change Shape as one of its actions (emphasis mine): Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating no higher than its ...
4
votes
2answers
620 views

Do Permanent Spells Remain after a Polymorph?

I'm playing a wizard and I've cast Permanency on Tongues and Arcane Sight. If I Polymorph myself into a Sun Giant, do those spells remain active? Furthermore, if I cast Haste earlier in the round, ...
4
votes
4answers
6k views

Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?

Change Shape states the following: Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, ...
4
votes
1answer
205 views

Can a player polymorphed as a hydra grapple a foe with each head?

Player A has improved grapple and polymorphs into a 7 HD hydra. If he takes a full attack action, can he grapple 7 enemies simultaneously? Things to consider: Once grappling, a player threatens no ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a shapechanger be affected by Polymorph if they are forced to be willing?

Assuming that you can force creatures to be willing, could a werewolf or other shapechanger be subject to Polymorph? What I'm reading of Polymorph, RAW PHB p.266, is: "an unwilling creature must ...
4
votes
1answer
680 views

How does Bestow Curse on a Polymorphed creature work?

Recently we had a player cast a Bestow Curse spell on a Polymorphed enemy in D&D 5e. The question: Does the curse remain on the creature once Polymorph wears off, and/or they revert to their ...
4
votes
1answer
289 views

Are racial ability score adjustments lost when polymorphed?

When you gain a ability score adjustment from a race, when you polymorph do you lose it since you lose abilities that are dependent on your form?
4
votes
1answer
474 views

Do Elves lose sleep immunity when under a polymorph effect?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Transmutation While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen ...