Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
3answers
582 views

Can an object be transformed into a shapechanger using True Polymorph? [duplicate]

Can an object be transformed into a werebear (a shapechanger) using True Polymorph? Werebears have a particular kind of "shapechanger" ability that allow it to transform into a bear or just half-bear. ...
4
votes
1answer
208 views

Does a character need knowledge of a creature to Polymorph or Wild Shape into it?

Can a character with Wild Shape or casting Form of the Dragon/Monstrous Physique/Elemental Shape/etc. shift into any form (meeting the size requisites) that the player knows of, or do they need ...
4
votes
1answer
222 views

Can an Aegis/Soulknife manifest weapons and armor while in Form of Dragon I?

In the event an Aegis/Soulknife managed to get themselves a fairly long duration Form of Dragon I, from Polymorph Any Object for instance, does it legally follow that said character should be allowed ...
4
votes
2answers
880 views

Can a caster grant class levels to the target form of a True Polymorph?

This is a follow-on to: Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels? Assume we have a wizard who wants to check out a cave system where he or she can't fit ...
4
votes
1answer
124 views

What game elements can raise the caster level of a fixed-caster-level supernatural ability?

The prestige class thrall to Juiblex gains the supernatural ability polymorph self that says, "An 8th-level thrall of Juiblex’s form is more amorphous than ever. It can change its appearance and form ...
4
votes
3answers
692 views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature's polymorphed form reaches 0 HP?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
3
votes
4answers
1k views

Is gender a creature statistic relevant to Polymorph? [duplicate]

Assuming a creature with two genders (male / female), is said gender part of its game statistics block for the purposes of Polymorph effects? In some species also the male has different statistics ...
3
votes
2answers
213 views

Can you get infinite spells through True Polymorph and Shapechange

You're a level 17+ Wizard and you cast True Polymorph on yourself to turn yourself into a CR 17 Adult Gold Dragon. This grants you the stat block of said Adult Gold Dragon, including its Change Shape ...
3
votes
2answers
415 views

How Does the Healer Feat Interact with Polymorph?

When you are Polymorphed, say into a T-Rex with 13 hit dice, and are healed by someone using the Healer feat you would recover 1d6+17 hit points. After polymorph has worn off, but prior to completing ...
3
votes
1answer
225 views

What do you get when making a Simulacrum of a True Polymorphed creature?

The Simulacrum spell states: You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The duplicate is a creature, partially real and ...
3
votes
2answers
537 views

What happens if you stop meeting the requirements for a spell?

Many spells specify a condition (animal, living creature, undead, etc.) that their targets must fulfill. What happens if such a spell is cast on a target that meets the condition(s), but changes in ...
3
votes
2answers
296 views

What is and is not “personality” for the purpose of Polymorph?

It's well understood that "___ Polymorph" spells overwrite pretty much everything in a stat block (or character sheet) with numerical functionality, including languages, proficiencies, and named ...
3
votes
2answers
358 views

What happens when one conceives a child while polymorphed into another species?

I can't imagine that it's addressed explicitly, but I wonder: Is there anything in either Pathfinder rules or Golarion lore to suggest what happens when someone who's polymorphed into another ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Undead thrall attribute. How does it work with the True Polymorph spell

This is a follow-up to my how to get a permanent skeleton companion question. As the previous question answered a True Polymorph spell can allow a permanent zombie follower summoned using Finger of ...
3
votes
2answers
229 views

If a dragon under my control uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, can I choose the Evoker's race, and benefit from its racial traits?

Nuanced questions about True Polymorph and spellcasting: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum. Wizard TP's the sim into an adult bronze dragon, which can then Change Shape into a humanoid or beast of ...
3
votes
2answers
155 views

What are racial bonus feats that are gained from polymorph?

I am trying to determine what exactly constitutes a racial feat for the polymorph spell. The spell states that in many ways it functions like alter self, which states You acquire the physical ...
3
votes
1answer
86 views

Can I use strike maneuvers while polymorphed?

I have a level 7 Swordsage equipped with a Cape of Vipers from the Magic Item Compendium. He is currently in tiny viper form. I assume he is proficient with his natural bite attack. I have the Tiger ...
3
votes
1answer
269 views

How can a PC make multiple full attacks with a bow on the same turn?

The Second Darkness adventure path (which is for for dnd-3.5e) in its third chapter The Armageddon Echo includes a new monster, the elven flesh golem, that possesses the following special qualitity: ...
3
votes
1answer
865 views

If a creature uses a 'polymorph into humanoid' racial ability, do they gain that humanoid's racial features/spells?

Creatures such as metallic dragons, certain hags, oni and doppelgangers can polymorph into humanoids. Would one of these who polymorphs into a tiefling or drow gain their spells, or who polymorphs ...
3
votes
1answer
242 views

Does the tongues spell require the creature to be capable of speaking in the first place?

I have been polymorphed into a squirrel, but thankfully I am under a permanent tongues spell. Squirrels have no listed language but from personal experience in the real world I know they can make ...
3
votes
2answers
633 views

What does “functions like greater polymorph” mean for Polymorph Any Object?

There are two main interpretations that I have come across for this spell. The spell "functions like greater polymorph" with objects added. They interpret "functions like" to mean “behaves exactly ...
3
votes
1answer
213 views

Polymorphing into Giant Porcupine, do you get quills?

Using wild shape or beast shape, when you choose a Giant Porcupine do you get the quills ability? Its not listed within the beast shape spell, which as a specific spell over rules the more general ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

When transforming from a race using Polymorph any Object, what changes?

In the campaign I'm in, the narrative of my character's backstory involves being raised by a race that is not her own, and she is so enamored with the race as a whole that she actively pursues the ...
3
votes
1answer
72 views

Does a one-attack monster lose its strength bonus when gaining an additional attack?

In Pathfinder, does a one-attack monster lose its x1.5 strength bonus when gaining an additional attack type? This question came about when beastshaping into a one-attack animal but temporarily ...
3
votes
5answers
377 views

How does the Polymorph spell affect procreation?

The Polymorph spell alters the body of one willing target, changing it into a different creature- Potentially from a different type. If someone were to breed whilst under the effect of this spell, ...
3
votes
2answers
493 views

How to determine when Ex or Su abilities are dependant on original form when polymorphying?

I have been working on a character concept and I am trying to figure out how some things work together. What I am working on is a druid unchained summoner who is being allowed to use the Synthesist ...
3
votes
1answer
682 views

When you polymorph/wild shape into elementals, can you speak?

Since elementals have languages that can be learned and spoken by anyone, are you able to speak freely with any language you know to fulfill the conditions of spell casting and communication?
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Confused about Polymorph any object

I am confused as to what exactly how Polymorph Any Object (POA) is different from all the other polymorph spells which have clearly stated rules. Even the guide which talks about all the polymorph ...
3
votes
3answers
555 views

Can the True Polymorph spell transform a creature into a custom creature?

The basis for my question is this line in the true polymorph spell (emphasis mine): Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you ...
3
votes
1answer
130 views

Why are the rules for the polymorph subschool of magic separated from the rest of the book?

When I first bought the core rulebooks for Dungeons and Dragons 3.5, I did a cursory look through of all the books. One thing that stuck out to me was the fact that in the very back of the Player's ...
3
votes
3answers
361 views

How do Polymorph and Awaken interact?

The awaken spell targets a tree or an animal. The Polymorph, polymorph any object and baleful polymorph spells change, or can change, the target's type to Animal, as do some other spells outside core, ...
3
votes
0answers
106 views

Can you obtain a Transmuter's Stone if you “morph” into a Transmuter statblock? [duplicate]

Volo's Guide to Monsters contains the stat bloc for an NPC called Transmuter, who is a humanoid, CR 5, with the following trait: Transmuter's Stone. The transmuter carries a magic stone it ...
3
votes
0answers
109 views

Can the Polymorph Other spell restore to flesh a character turned to stone by a medusa? [closed]

I have a character turned to stone by a medusa. The mage in the party has a polymorph other spell in her repertoire. Can that be used to restore to flesh (in a different body, I suppose) a person ...
2
votes
2answers
389 views

Does arcane ward come back after a polymorph?

In the description of polymorph, it states that The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. And this sage advice clarifies ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Is it possible to polymorph 2 characters into a Tarrasque using True Polymorph?

Is it possible to use true polymorph to transform 2 PC characters, each of whom is at least level 15, into a CR 30 Tarrasque?
2
votes
1answer
268 views

Do you retain darkvision while polymorphed?

If a character or monster that normally has darkvision is polymorphed into an animal that normally does not, does it still have darkvision?
2
votes
3answers
473 views

Lost limbs and transmutation/polymorph effects

We had a character lose an arm trying to avoid dying from a magic disintegration effect (removing their arm was successful). We are too low of a level to have regeneration cast. There is nothing in ...
2
votes
1answer
421 views

What happens to your class features if you short rest while your form has been changed?

Bob the Warlock has blown all of his spell slots. The friendly party druid casts Animal Forms on Bob, and while in his animal form he takes a Short Rest. After the rest completes, he drops out of ...
2
votes
3answers
309 views

Does taking the form of a Muse using Fey Form gain you the Sound Strike attack?

I have this possibly game-breaking doubt about the spell Fey Form and the Muse creature. Does the caster get the Sound Strike attack? That's way too strong for a level 3/4 spell.
2
votes
1answer
431 views

What happen if someone transformed via Polymorph Any Object uses an Alter Self special ability?

If I use a scroll of Polymorph Any Object to permanently turn into a dragon, can I use an Alter Self spell-like ability to turn into an human for a few hours? And when I stop using it, do i return to ...
2
votes
1answer
711 views

Does equipment meld and/or resize with your body when under elemental body?

When close to humanoid in form your equipment does not meld with you while under polymorph effects. The spell elemental body 1-4 changes you into an psudo-elemental but does not say if your form is ...
2
votes
1answer
420 views

Two polymorph any object cast in a row with same choice

If two polymorph any object (PAO) spells are cast in a row with the same end result what happens? PAO is unlike all the other polymorph spells in that your type actually changes. So for the duration ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Changeling's Shapechanger trait (from UA: Eberron) change your physical stats and abilities?

The Changeling race from Unearthed Arcana: Eberron has the Shapechanger trait, which lets it innately shapeshift: As an action, you can polymorph into any humanoid of your size that you have seen, ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I need to continue to save against Frightful Presence after a successful Polymorph?

Inspired by this contentious question. The DMG indicates that to calculate a creature's save DC, the following formula should be used: 8 + Monster's Proficiency Bonus + Relevant Ability Score ...
2
votes
3answers
449 views

Can I make an exact copy of myself and my equipment using True Polymorph on a simulacrum?

More wizard shenanigans! If I create a simulacrum of myself and true polymorph the sim into me, assuming the simulacrum has the same CR/level as I do, can I essentially create an exact copy of myself ...
2
votes
1answer
104 views

Does the spell Alter Self potentially change the effective hit dice of the caster for the purpose of targeted spells?

In this question about Polymorph and Alter Self, one of the answers claims that using Alter Self might effectively reduce the caster's hit dice to match the form chosen, thus making a higher-HD ...
2
votes
3answers
217 views

Can size-altering and shape-altering effects be used on the same creature at the same time?

A friend plans to play a cross-blooded abyssal and draconic bloodrager. His plans for the late game are to benefit from both Demonic Bulk (size increase while bloodraging, same effect as enlarge ...
2
votes
2answers
470 views

Is equipment resized with the Alter Self line of spells?

I've been reading and re-reading Alter Self and how it handles equipment. The important bit is here: When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if ...
2
votes
1answer
155 views

Share Transmutation on inanimate objects

Does the level 9 Brown-Fur Transmuter ability Share Transmutation, allow spells such as Beast Shape to be cast on inanimate objects, such as walls, doors and chairs?
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a True Polymorphed wizard use a copy of his spellbook?

Consider the fllowing scenario: a level 20 Wizard duplicates his spellbook and hides one copy. The he casts True Polymorph on himself, becoming a Planetar Angel (the original copy of the spellbook ...