Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
156 views

Share Transmutation on inanimate objects

Does the level 9 Brown-Fur Transmuter ability Share Transmutation, allow spells such as Beast Shape to be cast on inanimate objects, such as walls, doors and chairs?
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a True Polymorphed wizard use a copy of his spellbook?

Consider the fllowing scenario: a level 20 Wizard duplicates his spellbook and hides one copy. The he casts True Polymorph on himself, becoming a Planetar Angel (the original copy of the spellbook ...
2
votes
2answers
938 views

What abilities remain when using Draconic Exemplar's shapechange ability?

Draconic Exemplar is a Racial Paragon Class for the dragonlike Taninim Race by Rite. One of the Draconic Gifts is Humanoid Form (Su): The draconic exemplar can assume a specific humanoid form of ...
2
votes
1answer
269 views

If a dragon uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, does it gain/have the material components for its spells?

Nuanced question about true polymorph (TP) and dragons changing shape: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum (sim). Wizard TPs the sim into an Adult Bronze Dragon, which can then Change Shape into a ...
2
votes
1answer
541 views

Does a Clone spell work on a (True) Polymorphed creature? If so, to what effect?

The spell true polymorph ends when dispelled - even when the creature has been in their 'new' shape for hundreds of years. According to the Clone spell, any such polymorphed creature should still be ...
2
votes
1answer
479 views

In Adventurer's League season 7 are all creatures from the SRD manual allowed?

In Adventurer's League Season 7, which creatures are PCs allowed to polymorph themselves or others into? Do they have access to the entire SRD, or only a limited set of creatures?
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I fulfill somatic casting components if I'm a squirrel right now?

I recently lost my form to a polymorph spell and I am a caster so I am trying to figure out what I have open to me. I am currently a squirrel. Somatic components are vaguely defined in the rules: ...
2
votes
2answers
178 views

Does 3.0 Polymorph as originally printed in the PHB leave max hit points unchanged? Even through a level change while polymorphed?

In the PHB 3.0 on page 236, polymorph other has a permanent duration. It swaps the target's physical stats (strength, dexterity, constitution) out for those of some arbitrary monster. However, it ...
2
votes
0answers
151 views

Can the Bestow Curse 3rd-level spell turn any creature into a humanoid? [duplicate]

Can a 'curse' or 'polymorph' transform any creature into a humanoid? In Volo's Guide to Monsters, a note suggests a 'curse' can turn someone into another humanoid - the 2nd row of the Monstrous ...
1
vote
1answer
906 views

What's a good Polymorph choice to successfully follow-up with Plane Shift? [closed]

I'm thinking about how to optimize polymorphing a tough enemy, to increase the odds of a successful Plane Shift (the Abyss) afterwards. Here's the criteria I have in mind: Low Cha save. Low threat (...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

How do you determine the height of a polymorphed creature?

If I polymorph my ally into a giant ape(huge),how do you determine the exact height?
1
vote
2answers
281 views

Does a Dispel Magic on a True Polymorphed Helmed Horror dispel all magical effects, or only those cast on the polymorphed form?

Imagine you have cast True Polymorph to turn an object into a Helmed Horror with spell immunity to Dispel Magic. You cast True Polymorph on the Helmed Horror again, and turn it into something that ...
1
vote
1answer
111 views

Can a character using a polymorph spell be targeted by Enlarge Person?

After looking over Shifter for a build, I noticed that they use the same class feature (Wild Shape) as a Druid. Wild Shape depends on Beast Shape (among other similar spells), which is a spell of the ...
1
vote
3answers
241 views

Does Enlarge Person work on someone under the effect of Polymorph?

A party member casts polymorph on herself. Will casting enlarge person increase her size? I believe in 3.5 this did not work. I can't find any ruling text in pathfinder saying that it does or doesn'...
1
vote
1answer
253 views

What are the exact rules for the spell Polymorph considering its inheritance from the spell Alter Self?

There is a great deal of confusion as to what the exact rules are for the spell Polymorph. If you ask three different tables how to resolve the same use of the spell, you are likely to get three very ...
1
vote
1answer
128 views

Can a shadow dancer's summoned shadow be polymorphed? [closed]

Let’s assume I'm playing a Shadow Dancer, epic level 70 or so. If I summon my shadow, can I polymorph it? If so, what are the limitations: can I polymorph it to be me and have a "doppelganger" of ...
1
vote
1answer
692 views

What can I polymorph into, whose natural attacks count as magic for DR?

Are there any monsters you can polymorph into that allow you to attack as if you had a magical weapon for the purposes of Damage Reduction? I think an example would be easier to understand: If I ...
1
vote
1answer
60 views

Do shaman spirit animals lose their spirit abilities while polymorphed?

Polymorphing a creature causes it to lose extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on form, and class features that depend on form. Do a shaman's spirit animal abilities fall under the ...
1
vote
1answer
124 views

Can I cast Elemental Body while Wild-Shaped?

I have a level 13 Druid with access to the Cloud (Air Domain). My level 7 domain spell is Elemental Body IV (Air). Can I cast that while I am in a Wild Shape? Or does polymorph rules prevent that?
1
vote
2answers
2k views

When polymorphed, how do racial feats and traits work?

My human cleric just failed a save against polymorph any object. I am now a squirrel for most likely a week in game time (I was told that duration by the DM). Do I temporarily lose the feat I gained ...
1
vote
1answer
405 views

A question about true polymorphing yourself [duplicate]

If you true polymorph yourself into a chair do you instantly break concentration and turn back to normal? (Whoops, apologies. I'm an idiot.)
1
vote
3answers
265 views

Can other Shifters enter Weretouched Master?

The Weretouched Master is supposed to be designed for shifters of any bloodline right? So why are Bear, Boar, Rat, Tiger, Wolf and Wolverine the only bloodlines with listed info.? Shifters are ...
1
vote
1answer
295 views

Can I Wild Shape or Polymorph into an Awakened Beast?

Suppose I see an Awakened Beast, either through an adventure or by casting Awaken myself. Am I then able to Wild Shape or Polymorph into the Awakened version of the Beast? The main advantages are ...
1
vote
0answers
41 views

What happens when a permanent True Polymorphed creature drops to 0? [duplicate]

Assume that a creature was True Polymorphed for the entire duration of the spell and is thus permanently transformed. When said creature drops to 0, does the creature revert to it's previous form or ...
1
vote
0answers
30 views

What happens to parts or materials taken off of (true) polymorphed creatures? [duplicate]

As a DM with a wizard PC dangerously close to asking me that question I figured I'd try and find some primary source on this. Neither True Polymorph nor Polymorph state what happens to bits and ...
1
vote
0answers
50 views

Can I pluck a polymorphed creature and keep its feathers? [duplicate]

So this is a question about the polymorph and true polymorph spells. Both spells include in their description an explanation as to what happens to the gear of the target of the polymorph spells ... ...
1
vote
0answers
192 views

Who lifts more, a Barbarian or a BEARbarian? [duplicate]

In short: Do totem barbarian features continue after they are polymorphed? In long: The 6th level bear totem barbarian feature doubles carrying capacity. Carrying capacity is your strength times 15 ...
1
vote
0answers
773 views

When does a Truly Polymorphed creature gain its 'new' form as a 'base' form? [closed]

True Polymorph: Getting the new form it easy - it's keeping this new form that's the trick. True Polymorph transforms creatures quasi-permanently, at least until one runs afoul of Dispel Magic or any ...
1
vote
0answers
238 views

When you polymorph into a creature do you retain your proficiencies and class abilities? [duplicate]

We are playing Storm Kings Thunder and our party picked up a Fire Giant Sword. Can we polymorph our fighter into a Giant Ape in order to wield the sword, and could he benefit from multiattack or ...
1
vote
2answers
113 views

Can a backpack (loaded) be counted as “an item held in one hand”? [closed]

A druid can shapechange into animal, and limited stuff changes together: the clothing and one item held in each hand. Can a backpack (preferrably loaded) count as an item held in one hand? Assume ...
0
votes
5answers
3k views

How to build a workable master transmogrifist 10

Ok, big edit to the question as people have suggested. I would like to use the master transmogrifist prestige class all the way to L10, as I find it interesting to use two of its key abilities. ...
0
votes
3answers
595 views

Can a simulacrum true polymorphed into an archmage regain spell slots? [duplicate]

Followup to: Can a simulacrum "regain" HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally? So this is a particularly ridiculous idea, but it might work. A simulacrum ...
0
votes
1answer
194 views

Question about polymorph [duplicate]

For the spell polymorph, it says that you keep your alignment and personality. Does that mean when an evil character polymorphs into a t-rex, he will attack his friends and team?
0
votes
3answers
350 views

If I cast the Polymorph spell on an ally to assist the group in a fight, will he attack us or fight alongside us? [duplicate]

What happen if I polymorph an ally to assist the group in a fight? Will he end up attacking us, or remember the fact than we are ally and help us? The only relevant part I can find is this: The ...
0
votes
1answer
3k views

How do polymorph-like spells interact with spellcasting capability? [closed]

For this question I am going to define these spells as, namely, Polymorph, True Polymorph & Shapechange. You must also, for the sake of this question, disregard any creature type limitations and ...
0
votes
1answer
73 views

What happens if modifications are made to the base entity while it is under the effects of a suppressed True Polymorph?

Posit the following situation: A wizard has True Polymorphed a stick into, say, an adult Silver Dragon, and maintained it for the full hour. He uses the thing as a mount, he's kept it happy with the ...
0
votes
1answer
323 views

Are racial senses Extraordinary Abilities (Ex)?

I am trying to decide if racial senses are considered Ex for the purposes of wild shaping. I had previously asked if ability scores are lost when under polymorph, and the answer was no. These ability ...
0
votes
1answer
785 views

What are an animal companions ability scores and abilities when under the effects of polymorph any object?

I am building a character who is focusing on their animal companion. My plan is to take one of the base animal companions, subject it to polymorph any object (PAO) into its true form or another which ...
0
votes
3answers
526 views

How can I keep extraodinary abilities when under polymorph effects or wildshaping?

I am playing a tiefling who has the see-in-darkness racial ability which is Ex. I will be playing a druid, and since see-in-darkness is superior to all forms of darkvision granted by the druid ...
0
votes
1answer
49 views

How does Windrider interact with polymorph?

Dnd 3e's Masters of the Wild introduced the Windrider prestige class. Windriders can designate a mount (subject to some restrictions) and give it various bonuses, including bonus HD. A fifth-level ...
0
votes
1answer
178 views

Beast Shape and other polymorphic spells/abilities and improved unarmed strike

When you Beast Shape/Elemental Body/Plant Shape/wild shape, how do you know if that form can take advantage of the feat “Improved unarmed strike”? Or since the feat has no prerequisites do all forms ...
0
votes
0answers
44 views

Can a character who was True Polymorphed into a Dragon Change Shape back into their original form? [duplicate]

A level 20 character can be changed permanently by True Polymorph into an Ancient Brass Dragon (CR 20). Ancient Brass Dragons have the Change Shape action that says, The dragon magically polymorphs ...
-1
votes
1answer
247 views

If you cast True Polymorph on a party member to turn them into a monster, will they turn hostile or remain loyal?

If you cast true polymorph on a party member to transform them into, let's say, an intellect devourer, is he now going to attempt to go after the wizard for his intellect? Or would he remain allied to ...
-2
votes
2answers
360 views

Does polymorph any object strip your magic items from you?

I thought I was finally done with some of this after someone answered that melded gear that is not functioning has no weight. But another player in the game has raised another concern/point. The ...
-2
votes
2answers
228 views

If you get polymorph any object'ed into something with a different racial alignment, does your alignment change?

Let's take a neutral character. If it is hit with Polymorph Any Object and is turned into a LG dragon, does their alignment change to LG?
-5
votes
4answers
338 views

Can a Polymorphed Ape climb a tree?

By the SRD description, an Ape is a Beast, with a Climb speed of 30. However, if somoene is polymorphed into an Ape, by the wording of Polymorph, that Ape cannot climb, because climbing (for an Ape) ...