A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
4answers
100 views

For powers with additional targets, do I pay 1 power point per extra target, or do I repay the full cost per target?

In Savage Worlds Deluxe, many powers can affect more than one target. For example the Smite power cost 2 Power Points (PP) and has also the following text: Additional Targets: The character may ...
1
vote
1answer
47 views

What methods exist, if any, for adding a power from one class list to another class list?

Having looked into the matter, so far the only possibility I'm finding would be to research the power in question the same way one would create a new power or spell... Are there any other methods? ...
0
votes
1answer
33 views

Can, and if so how, may a non-Erudite psionic character learn a spellpower?

Spellpowers are powers that are converted into powers from spells by the Convert Spell to Power Erudite alternate class feature. They are powers for all intents and purposes. But they do not seem to ...
2
votes
1answer
31 views

How does the Insidious Extra interact with the Weaken Power?

I've been playing around with the Weaken Power and trying to find its best application. As of right now, I think it's in Weaken Senses. Almost every enhancement in Senses requires 1 rank at 1 point ...
4
votes
1answer
41 views

Can an alternate Effect have the Reaction extra?

I've been playing around with making a Kung-Fu master for some time in Mutants and Masterminds, and I'm nearly done. However, I'm not sure if I constructed their attacks correctly. The image that I ...
5
votes
1answer
102 views

How can the Bolt power miss?

The Core Rulebook page 151 (Activation) implies that the bolt power can miss: A character activates a power by picking a target within Range and making an arcane skill roll. A roll less than 4 ...
4
votes
1answer
66 views

How does the Impervious Modifier apply to Defenses other than Toughness?

It's been about a Month since i started playing Mutants and Masterminds 3e with my friends, and we absolutely LOVE the system (particularly the one-shot modules), but something in the Impervious ...
5
votes
3answers
192 views

How do you make a Bicycle in Mutants and Masterminds?

Hopefully the last time I have to ask someone a question about M&M 3e, but here it goes. I've been experimenting with a character that has a Blast Affliction that has the quirk of activating, ...
4
votes
1answer
46 views

How do I build Multiple Defenses/Security Systems for the same Heaquarters?

I'm taking a slog through Mutants and Masterminds 3e again. This time, I'm working on a character with a county-sized headquarters (Awesome headquarters with Grounds feature). In his backstory, the ...
4
votes
1answer
86 views

How do you make a Gravity effect?

I've been doing character building exercises in M&M3e so I can have a better grasp on the Dos and Don'ts of the system. I was thinking of that one scene from Batman Beyond where the one villain ...
4
votes
2answers
143 views

What's the Cap on Minion Summoning?

just screwing around with Character Creation again in Mutants and Masterminds. I'm just a little confused with how the Summon power functions, specifically its limits. I know that each attack and ...
8
votes
0answers
85 views

Am I misreading the effect-cancelling part of Warforged Juggernaut's Crag of Steel power, or is it meant to be extremely limited?

Warforged Juggernaut's Level 20 Daily Power is Crag of Steel; a stance that gives you a bunch of stuff, but the part of the power I'm interested in here is: "Until the stance ends, you gain resist ...
4
votes
1answer
92 views

Did I miscalculate this Variable Power?

I've been messing around with Character Creation in Mutants and Masterminds 3e, and I want to double check to see if I have this right. I wanted to have the Variable power (from p. 132 of the Hero's ...
3
votes
2answers
89 views

How do I assemble this Perception-based Defensive power into Mutants and Masterminds?

My Tabletop group has been discussing running a game of Mutants and Masterminds in the future, so I thought I should get a head start and attempt to build a character. The character i have in mind is ...
3
votes
1answer
118 views

How can I build this Spinning Bird Kick move?

I was trying to formulate the Spinning Bird Kick move from Chun-Li using 2nd edition: But I'm not sure how to cover the ability to move and attack at the same time. How can I build this move?
5
votes
1answer
397 views

How does the Nova's Burn power work at the 7-9 level?

In Masks, Novas have the Burn power: Burn When you charge up your powers, roll + conditions you currently have marked. On a hit, hold 3 burn. On a 7-9, mark a condition. On a miss, hold 2 burn ...
2
votes
1answer
69 views

Can Control Element create an element?

I have a doubt regarding Control (Element). Is it possible to create the element with this power? Or just control something that already exists?
7
votes
1answer
125 views

Stealing in Mutants and Masterminds

In a question on reddit, someone asked about how to create a Power that replicated the common cartoon trope of a villain holding an item only to not notice (until they try to use it) that it has been ...
9
votes
2answers
94 views

Can a creature have simultaneously a magical and a psionic contingency?

Can a creature have in operation at the same time both the 6th-level Sor/Wiz spell contingency [evoc] (Player's Handbook 213) and the 6th-level psion/wilder power psionic contingency [clairsentience] (...
2
votes
2answers
198 views

Is there official wording on whether a Hunter's Quarry affects or is affected by “marks”?

I thought I read somewhere that Hunter's Quarry worked like a mark, but I can't find this in the rules. I've just recently started DMing 4e again and can't remember where I picked that up. It may ...
7
votes
2answers
455 views

How can I motivate my players' characters to explore, when they have teleportation?

My group and I are playing a Superhero Campaign. We are using the Fantasy Flight Games Roleplaying system used in their Star Wars series, with a mixture of the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying. In the Marvel ...
3
votes
1answer
140 views

Do Fast Grab and (Damaging) Move Object work together?

The Damaging Modifier on the Move Object Power (page 119) states: Damaging: Your effect can inflict damage, like an application of normal Strength with damage equal to its rank This includes ...
8
votes
1answer
385 views

What are good guidelines and principles for designing and balancing superpower stunts in FATE Core?

I want to make a stronger focus on the F in FATE1 in my future campaigns, and that means I'm expecting said campaigns to involve what I usually see broadly referred to as special or superhuman ...
7
votes
2answers
311 views

Does Immunity Stack?

So I've got a guy who's playing an "elemental" character with the Insubstantial 3 (Fire-Energy) power. He already has Fire Immunity 5, so when he "flames on" does the Fire-immunity of the ...
5
votes
2answers
255 views

If a monster “cannot attack you” does that prevent it from using burst attacks that would include you?

I have a scenario that occurred in our recent game. The Cleric used the 17th level encounter power Enthrall which states on hit: Until the end of your next turn, the target is immobilized and ...
3
votes
2answers
443 views

If a character shapeshifts into a larger creature, how do I determine their mass?

I've got a character with the ability to shape shift into any animal. I've got everything else squared away, but I'm wondering about mass. If the character turns into a creature larger than what the ...
8
votes
3answers
397 views

Is there such a thing as a ranged unarmed attack?

So I haven't had much time to create a character for playing D&D and thought I'd try my luck using a character generator for 4e, so I had something to tinker with before game. Mind you I am a ...
3
votes
1answer
97 views

How do multiple racial power replacement feats interact in D&D4e?

If a character has two feats which both replace their racial power with another power, which one takes effect? For example, the Wizard's Wrath feat (Dragon 381) states: You ignore bloodied enemies’ ...
8
votes
1answer
563 views

Does the “Ki Strike” Power for a Monk cost Spell Points to use?

The Monks "Ki Strike" Class Feat gives you access to the Power "Ki Strike", and says the following: This power is a type of special spell you can cast by spending Spell Points The section on ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

Does “Ability modifier damage” always include all bonuses?

We all know that a character's damage bonus gets enhanced by many kinds of bonuses — item bonus, feat bonus, power bonus, enhancement bonus, etc. Once all is said and done, a higher-level character's ...
5
votes
1answer
121 views

How many attacks does Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) involve?

The 17th level rogue encounter power Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) states the following: Effect: You can shift a number of squares equal to 2 + your Charisma modifier. Two times during this ...
3
votes
1answer
309 views

Can Hellish Rebuke be cast twice with an Action Point for twice the damage?

4e’s Hellish Rebuke: 1d6 + Constitution modifier fire damage. The first time you take damage before the end of your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 + Constitution modifier fire damage. ...
4
votes
1answer
109 views

How to price “Lifting ST” with a “Payload Only” limiter?

Designing a vehicle ally for a super, it has the payload advantage. But I want to buy "Lifting ST" limited to its payload only. How much (-NN%) would be a "Payload Only" limiter on Lifting ST? I am ...
3
votes
2answers
118 views

Adjucate a Timeless modifier for a “Item Box” or “Inventory” power

I am trying to run an Isekai campaign, and I want an advantage that works like the "item box" or "inventory" that is so popular in those stories. Browsing the "powers" rulebook, I've found under ...
3
votes
3answers
384 views

Can you spend a Power Point to add a power to a premade Array of Powers?

We have finally played our first session in Mutants and Masterminds 3e, a premade module that at the end of it, offered to each of my players 3 Power Points to spend and power up their characters. My ...
0
votes
1answer
87 views

How do you handle multiple Quarry as a Ranger?

A ranger having the Battlefield Archer PP can use this power: Battlefield Experience (11th level): You can designate more than one creature as your quarry at a time, up to a number equal to your ...
3
votes
1answer
128 views

How do multi-attack powers interact with the Hunting Party power?

Recently, the Ranger in my group started to use this power : Hunting Party / Ranger Utility 10 Daily ✦ martial, stance Minor Action Personal Effect: Until the stance ends, each time you ...
4
votes
1answer
131 views

How extra:Action and Dimensional Pocket work?

Dimensional Pocket require two actions (standard/move); one to open the pocket (the standard action) and one to move objects in/out (the move action). The extra:Action decreases one step time it takes ...
4
votes
1answer
498 views

Is it possible to use Fey step to bypass locks?

In D&D 4e Eladrin get an ability called fey step which allows them to teleport 5 squares per encounter. Would an Eladrin be able to peek through a keyhole and bypass a door by teleporting?
7
votes
2answers
526 views

What does the Beacon ability “phasing” refer to?

On the Beacon's Playbook sheet, it lists some potential abilities for the Beacon. One of them says "phasing". What does this refer to? My reading of it seems to be that it is a superpower, but isn't ...
0
votes
1answer
73 views

Calculating damage on a crit with an item's encounter power?

If I crit. while using a Frostbrand's close blast encounter power, do I add in the "crit per plus" of d8 as well? Even though it wasn't used as a melee attack?
2
votes
2answers
135 views

Does the Daily Power of a Parrying Weapon have to be used with that weapon?

The power in question: Power (Daily): Immediate Reaction. Use this power when an enemy makes a melee attack against you. Make a melee basic attack against that enemy, with a power bonus on your ...
1
vote
1answer
78 views

Can a Swordmage use Spikes of Agony with every use of Aegis of Assault, or only once per encounter?

The Swormage has the 7th level Encounter Power Spikes of Agony. This Encounter has an effect that includes the At-Will Aegis of Assault. When attacking with Aegis of Assault you normally make a melee ...
7
votes
1answer
98 views

How to cause variable stat changes over extended period?

I'm trying to create a wizard with a polymorph spell in Mutants and Masterminds 3rd edition. I want the power to have the ability to alter a target's stats in a number of different ways for an ...
8
votes
2answers
164 views

If a power references your Speed, can it be your Flight Speed?

My player has a 4e Pixie Monk and his Daily power says he can shift his speed (which on his sheet says Speed 4 Flight 8) and I'm not sure if the card is specific to Speed or can he use his Flight ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you attack from inside Rope Trick and vice versa?

Same question listed here, but for 5e. How much of a person or object must cross an extra-dimensional space's interface from inside, in order to attack a target outside of said space? From what ...
1
vote
1answer
162 views

To what alignment belong psychic powers of telepathy, telekinesis and divination?

When purchasing psychic powers from the schools of telepathy, telekinesis and divination, to what alignment are the advancements to be considered? I am considering they are either unaligned or ...
5
votes
2answers
199 views

How much of a person or object must cross an extra-dimensional space's interface from inside, in order to attack a target outside of said space?

The party is in the habit of using extra-dimensional spaces such as Rope Trick or Psychoportive Shelter. Recently they want to use it as a sniping blind or bunker. As per the description of either, ...
5
votes
1answer
361 views

How to deal with obtaining more Force Powers than available?

Because high wisdom is relatively easy to get halfway up the level curve, as is multiple iterations of the Force Training feat; it is quite possible to have a copy of every Force Power ever printed ...
6
votes
2answers
294 views

How many times per round does Hero's Beacon affect Tiamat?

In the final encounter of Scales of War, each of Tiamat's heads gets its own initiative (on 45, 40, 35, 30, and 25) and can use one standard and one minor action. (If she wants to move, one head must ...