Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
110 views

Adjucate a Timeless modifier for a “Item Box” or “Inventory” power

I am trying to run an Isekai campaign, and I want an advantage that works like the "item box" or "inventory" that is so popular in those stories. Browsing the "powers" rulebook, I've found under ...
4
votes
1answer
62 views

Did I miscalculate this Variable Power?

I've been messing around with Character Creation in Mutants and Masterminds 3e, and I want to double check to see if I have this right. I wanted to have the Variable power (from p. 132 of the Hero's ...
3
votes
2answers
72 views

How do I assemble this Perception-based Defensive power into Mutants and Masterminds?

My Tabletop group has been discussing running a game of Mutants and Masterminds in the future, so I thought I should get a head start and attempt to build a character. The character i have in mind is ...
4
votes
2answers
203 views

How long does Alternate Form last: a turn, or until canceled?

I'm just getting into Mutants and Masterminds, and have encountered a snag while building a character: I don't know if Alternate Form only lasts for the turn or if it's the kind of thing where you ...
19
votes
3answers
485 views

What happens when a grabbed target of Avalanche Stomp is teleported?

Avalanche Stomp is a power of the Stone Titan (all quotes are from the DDI Compendium): Close burst 3; +21 vs Fortitude; 3d10+7 damage, and the target is grabbed by earth and stone. The stone titan ...
3
votes
1answer
81 views

How can I build this Spinning Bird Kick move?

I was trying to formulate the Spinning Bird Kick move from Chun-Li using 2nd edition: But I'm not sure how to cover the ability to move and attack at the same time. How can I build this move?
5
votes
1answer
364 views

How does the Nova's Burn power work at the 7-9 level?

In Masks, Novas have the Burn power: Burn When you charge up your powers, roll + conditions you currently have marked. On a hit, hold 3 burn. On a 7-9, mark a condition. On a miss, hold 2 burn ...
2
votes
1answer
68 views

Can Control Element create an element?

I have a doubt regarding Control (Element). Is it possible to create the element with this power? Or just control something that already exists?
7
votes
1answer
102 views

Stealing in Mutants and Masterminds

In a question on reddit, someone asked about how to create a Power that replicated the common cartoon trope of a villain holding an item only to not notice (until they try to use it) that it has been ...
7
votes
2answers
520 views

How do I create Plants in 3.5e?

Our campaign is plodding along steadily and we are approaching the various character made Demiplane levels of play. These demiplanes are full of non living materials, but this question can be applied ...
9
votes
2answers
91 views

Can a creature have simultaneously a magical and a psionic contingency?

Can a creature have in operation at the same time both the 6th-level Sor/Wiz spell contingency [evoc] (Player's Handbook 213) and the 6th-level psion/wilder power psionic contingency [clairsentience] (...
7
votes
2answers
675 views

What class pairs well with a fighter in 4e?

We're getting ever closer to our 4e game and have begun to hash out backgrounds. Much like in Fire Emblem (yes I do pretty much decide all of what I want to do based on video games) I really want my ...
8
votes
3answers
328 views

Is there such a thing as a ranged unarmed attack?

So I haven't had much time to create a character for playing D&D and thought I'd try my luck using a character generator for 4e, so I had something to tinker with before game. Mind you I am a ...
7
votes
2answers
432 views

How can I motivate my players' characters to explore, when they have teleportation?

My group and I are playing a Superhero Campaign. We are using the Fantasy Flight Games Roleplaying system used in their Star Wars series, with a mixture of the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying. In the Marvel ...
2
votes
2answers
137 views

Is there official wording on whether a Hunter's Quarry affects or is affected by “marks”?

I thought I read somewhere that Hunter's Quarry worked like a mark, but I can't find this in the rules. I've just recently started DMing 4e again and can't remember where I picked that up. It may ...
8
votes
1answer
304 views

What are good guidelines and principles for designing and balancing superpower stunts in FATE Core?

I want to make a stronger focus on the F in FATE1 in my future campaigns, and that means I'm expecting said campaigns to involve what I usually see broadly referred to as special or superhuman ...
3
votes
1answer
109 views

Do Fast Grab and (Damaging) Move Object work together?

The Damaging Modifier on the Move Object Power (page 119) states: Damaging: Your effect can inflict damage, like an application of normal Strength with damage equal to its rank This includes ...
7
votes
2answers
460 views

How to stat a character with truesight that is blind outside a certain radius?

I'm trying to learn more about GURPS for a future campaign, and I'm working on converting some old DnD characters to get a grasp of how to build PCs. My players will need my help with chargen, so I ...
7
votes
2answers
112 views

How to build an harpoon innate attack?

I'm putting together a GURPS character as a PC option for my players. The idea is that it's a heavy lifting robot that gained sentience when an AI took it over, but is limited to its current form. It ...
7
votes
2answers
266 views

Does Immunity Stack?

So I've got a guy who's playing an "elemental" character with the Insubstantial 3 (Fire-Energy) power. He already has Fire Immunity 5, so when he "flames on" does the Fire-immunity of the ...
5
votes
2answers
243 views

If a monster “cannot attack you” does that prevent it from using burst attacks that would include you?

I have a scenario that occurred in our recent game. The Cleric used the 17th level encounter power Enthrall which states on hit: Until the end of your next turn, the target is immobilized and ...
3
votes
2answers
439 views

If a character shapeshifts into a larger creature, how do I determine their mass?

I've got a character with the ability to shape shift into any animal. I've got everything else squared away, but I'm wondering about mass. If the character turns into a creature larger than what the ...
12
votes
2answers
9k views

How do some of the Hunter Abilities interact with Extra Attack for Rangers?

While there's several feats that could also interact with the following, I don't want this to become a ramble, so I'll stick to specifically how the Ranger and Hunter specialisation abilities interact ...
3
votes
1answer
249 views

Can Hellish Rebuke be cast twice with an Action Point for twice the damage?

4e’s Hellish Rebuke: 1d6 + Constitution modifier fire damage. The first time you take damage before the end of your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 + Constitution modifier fire damage. ...
8
votes
1answer
445 views

Does the “Ki Strike” Power for a Monk cost Spell Points to use?

The Monks "Ki Strike" Class Feat gives you access to the Power "Ki Strike", and says the following: This power is a type of special spell you can cast by spending Spell Points The section on ...
3
votes
1answer
93 views

How do multiple racial power replacement feats interact in D&D4e?

If a character has two feats which both replace their racial power with another power, which one takes effect? For example, the Wizard's Wrath feat (Dragon 381) states: You ignore bloodied enemies’ ...
4
votes
5answers
800 views

Is the Jedi Power Mind Trick OP?

I'm GMing a Star Wars Saga Edition campaign, with a party of 2 Jedis (lvl 3). One of them took the Mind Trick Jedi Power and he takes advantage of the (basically) unlimited use per day (with only a 1 ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

What is considered a special power for the Leadership feat?

For the feat Leadership, there are several modifiers listed that change a character's Leadership score. One of the entries on the Reputation table is "Special Power," but there is nothing describing ...
1
vote
1answer
109 views

Does “Ability modifier damage” always include all bonuses?

We all know that a character's damage bonus gets enhanced by many kinds of bonuses — item bonus, feat bonus, power bonus, enhancement bonus, etc. Once all is said and done, a higher-level character's ...
5
votes
1answer
118 views

How many attacks does Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) involve?

The 17th level rogue encounter power Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) states the following: Effect: You can shift a number of squares equal to 2 + your Charisma modifier. Two times during this ...
4
votes
1answer
104 views

How to price “Lifting ST” with a “Payload Only” limiter?

Designing a vehicle ally for a super, it has the payload advantage. But I want to buy "Lifting ST" limited to its payload only. How much (-NN%) would be a "Payload Only" limiter on Lifting ST? I am ...
3
votes
3answers
352 views

Can you spend a Power Point to add a power to a premade Array of Powers?

We have finally played our first session in Mutants and Masterminds 3e, a premade module that at the end of it, offered to each of my players 3 Power Points to spend and power up their characters. My ...
0
votes
1answer
84 views

How do you handle multiple Quarry as a Ranger?

A ranger having the Battlefield Archer PP can use this power: Battlefield Experience (11th level): You can designate more than one creature as your quarry at a time, up to a number equal to your ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

How do multi-attack powers interact with the Hunting Party power?

Recently, the Ranger in my group started to use this power : Hunting Party / Ranger Utility 10 Daily ✦ martial, stance Minor Action Personal Effect: Until the stance ends, each time you ...
2
votes
2answers
130 views

Does the Daily Power of a Parrying Weapon have to be used with that weapon?

The power in question: Power (Daily): Immediate Reaction. Use this power when an enemy makes a melee attack against you. Make a melee basic attack against that enemy, with a power bonus on your ...
7
votes
2answers
464 views

What does the Beacon ability “phasing” refer to?

On the Beacon's Playbook sheet, it lists some potential abilities for the Beacon. One of them says "phasing". What does this refer to? My reading of it seems to be that it is a superpower, but isn't ...
4
votes
1answer
116 views

How extra:Action and Dimensional Pocket work?

Dimensional Pocket require two actions (standard/move); one to open the pocket (the standard action) and one to move objects in/out (the move action). The extra:Action decreases one step time it takes ...
7
votes
1answer
97 views

How to cause variable stat changes over extended period?

I'm trying to create a wizard with a polymorph spell in Mutants and Masterminds 3rd edition. I want the power to have the ability to alter a target's stats in a number of different ways for an ...
12
votes
1answer
726 views

How often per Day can the Living Missile Attack power be used?

The Effect line of the Living Missile power card reads: While the target is immobilized or slowed by this power, you can use the Living Missile Attack power once per round. The Requirement line of ...
3
votes
1answer
145 views

What's the duration of Savage Transformation?

What's the duration of the wizard level 5 attack power, Savage Transformation? The card reads: Hit: 2d8 + Intelligence modifier damage, and you partially transform the target's mind and body ...
3
votes
1answer
264 views

Persistent Threat and Rain of Steel

Are you able to make opportunity attacks if you're dazed and have the feat Persistent Threat? Persistent Threat - While you are dazed, you can still flank enemies, and you can take an opportunity ...
5
votes
2answers
543 views

Is Reaper's Challenge really that broken? Did I get it wrong?

I'm DMing a 4e campaign and the PCs are level 19, now, but I have been having trouble with a power. Reaper's Challenge. My group's swordmage saves it through every adventure so he can use it on a ...
12
votes
1answer
666 views

Can the Pixie's Teleport Trick make you invincible?

Pixie Teleport Trick (Heroes of the Feywild page 33) Daily: Teleportation Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever an enemy attacks you, you can use an ...
5
votes
1answer
141 views

Warlock's Shadow Legion

Shadow Legion[DDI] (Heroes of Shadow p75) creates a conjuration for each enemy in the area of effect, which each make an attack against the enemy it was created for. Great, that all makes sense. ...
2
votes
2answers
167 views

Is there time after a free action triggers to use another free action before continuing?

I've got the following feat and power on my rogue. Slaying action: If you spend an action point to take an extra action and have already dealt Sneak Attack damage during this round, you can deal ...
11
votes
1answer
348 views

Does readying an encounter or daily power expend it automatically?

Question: If I ready a daily or encounter power to trigger on a certain condition. Such as the fighter power Sweeping Blow with a condition such as to trigger when 3 or more enemies are adjacent to me....
3
votes
1answer
178 views

Are the victims of Wrathful Aspect spared if they are immune to Fear?

As Wrathful Aspect, a level 2 Hexblade Utility, is currently worded, it has the Fear keyword (along with Fire and Arcane). If a creature who were immune to Fear were to attack the Hexblade that has ...
6
votes
3answers
287 views

Does Bolt of Genius restore ALL of a Cleric's uses of Healing Word or just one?

Here's the scenario: The Cleric uses all their uses of Healing Word for the encounter. Then the Battle Captain Warlord uses...
7
votes
1answer
828 views

Is a utility power that has the encounter keyword considered an “encounter power”?

Powers are divided into At-Will, Encounter, Utility, and ...
2
votes
1answer
327 views

Replacing Dilettante power with a level 13 encounter power

My players just hit level 13 and get to replace one old encounter attack power with a new level 13 power. Is there any reason why a half-elf player couldn't choose to replace his Dilettante power?