Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
268 views

What is the Empyreal Lord ability Seed of Life?

All the Empyreal Lords have a Special Quality called Seed of Life. However, their statblocks don't expand on what this ability does or how any of them got it. What does this ability do and why do ...
2
votes
2answers
318 views

How many extra actions can you gain with Takedown?

Hi so I've been told I should split up my earlier question to allow for more focused answers. Detonate is confronting Dr I.n.Flammable, unfortunately for Flammable, he brought his minions to the ...
5
votes
1answer
4k views

Is there any limit to how many ranks you can take in a power?

Recently I have started to design a character in Mutants and Masterminds third edition, and have hit a snag. We start at power level 8, so could I only take 8 ranks in any power, or could I go as far ...
6
votes
2answers
142 views

Can Iron Dragon Charge be used each time, or only once?

Iron Dragon Charge (PHB I) reads: Until the end of the encounter, as an immediate reaction, an ally of your choice within 5 squares of you can charge a target that you charge. Does this imply ...
3
votes
2answers
111 views

Can Avenging Echo trigger multiple times per enemy?

Avenging Echo reads: Any enemy that ends its turn adjacent to you or that hits or misses you takes 5 radiant damage. If an enemy attacks the avenger and ends its turn adjacent, or if an enemy ...
1
vote
1answer
272 views

How do I implement conceptual magic into a d100 system? [closed]

I'm running a campaign with a constant group of players and have been for a couple of years now, in which they are playing several generations of PCs, each consecutive generation being more powerful ...
3
votes
1answer
88 views

Can I target allies with utility powers without having line of effect to them?

The rules for "Seeing and Targeting" (PHB, p273) specifically mention that You need line of effect to any target you attack and to any space in which you wish to create an effect. However, that ...
1
vote
1answer
65 views

Does Instinctive Flyby require the power to be charged?

The Young Green Dragon has the power instictive flyby: On an initiative of 10 + its initiative check, the dragon can use a free action to use flyby attack. flyby attack: Flyby Attack • Recharge ...
3
votes
1answer
183 views

Other than taking the Adamant Arrow Style feat, how can I use powers in place of a ranged basic attack?

I am playing Ranger in D&D 4e and I built myself around Flying Steel and other attacks that let you make a ranged basic attack when (trigger). I want to know if there is a way that I could use ...
8
votes
2answers
511 views

Do class features count against the number of powers you can choose at 1st level?

I have been researching my question for a week now and, simple a question though it may be, I keep reading answers that are pulling me in different directions, so I finally decided to just ask. Here ...
10
votes
2answers
371 views

Can Dominate and similar mental powers be used via phone or video chat?

I am mostly interested in using these over a video conference or over audio: Dominate Presence Obfuscate (such as Mask of Thousand Faces) Chimerstry If possible, it would open many new interesting ...
4
votes
1answer
174 views

Is there a “Murderous Command” equivalent for Psions?

Does the Psion have an equivalent power to the spell Murderous Command? I can't find one.
4
votes
1answer
203 views

What does a Limited Degree Affliction do to a Minion?

It's a rule that minions suffer the worst possible result with a missed save (simple case, any failed Toughness save renders a minion dead or unconscious). Does this include Limited Degree with ...
3
votes
2answers
244 views

Is there any way for a Telepath to gain Hustle?

I am helping a PC improve his character. He is a Halfling Fighter 2/Rogue 8/Psion(Telepath) 3 and he is about to take Shadowmind. He is very concerned about his mobility and has taken the feats Run ...
4
votes
5answers
788 views

Is the Jedi Power Mind Trick OP?

I'm GMing a Star Wars Saga Edition campaign, with a party of 2 Jedis (lvl 3). One of them took the Mind Trick Jedi Power and he takes advantage of the (basically) unlimited use per day (with only a 1 ...
2
votes
3answers
207 views

How does augmenting Dispel Psionics work?

In the Targeted Dispel section of the power description of Dispel Psionics it says: You make a dispel check (1d20 + your manifester level, maximum +10) against the power or against each ongoing ...
4
votes
1answer
188 views

How much ammo does an area burst weapon attack use?

While I was perusing a CharOp guide for the Seeker class, I saw a suggestion of a Hybrid Seeker|Executioner build. While my first thought was to the use the Seeker at-will powers that count as basic ...
5
votes
1answer
288 views

How can super-hacking be simulated?

One of my Mutants & Masterminds players wants to make a hero inspired by Aiden Pierce, the protagonist of the video game Watch Dogs. All was well until we came to the topic of hacking things ...
3
votes
1answer
159 views

Does Vampire's “Hidden Power” trigger on “Blood Drinker” and base power

Hidden Power says: You gain a bonus to the damage rolls of your vampire powers and vampire paragon path powers. The bonus equals your Charisma modifier. So, let's say you're a level one vampire. ...
5
votes
3answers
368 views

Does having two sources of damage in one attack count as two damage rolls?

For instance, if an attack power allows you to do "2d8+3 plus 1d6 fire damage", and you're under the effects of a power which gives you "+4 to all damage rolls", would the +4 be added to both the ...
7
votes
1answer
146 views

Does Double or Total Aegis require dropping all targets to zero to reactivate Aegis?

With Hybrid Swordmages, you only get the Aegis once per encounter, but you can regain it by dropping the marked enemy to 0. What if you mark using Total Aegis or Double Aegis, though? Do you have to ...
2
votes
1answer
180 views

How do I make a Zip-kick attack?

In M&M, how do I mechanicaly create an attack that is my character grappling onto a surface, zipping towards it, then using the momentum to hit an opponent for an extra-powerful attack? (See ...
5
votes
1answer
173 views

Damage effect costing some of your own life

I am currently helping one of my players create a power where he "sacrifices" some of his life in exchange for dealing even more damage to an opponent. I thought it to be like the player has to pass ...
7
votes
1answer
278 views

How do Primordial Blade and Githyanki Silver Weapon interact?

So, the Githyanki Silver Blade turns all damage dealt by it to Psychic, and Primordial Blade (16th level Malec-Keth Janissary) adds +1d4 of one of (Fire, Lightning, Thunder, Cold) to the damage. If I ...
7
votes
2answers
581 views

How many attacks per turn can a vampire with Celerity 3 make?

The wording of Celerity (Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th, p. 202) regarding attacks per turn seems ambiguous. How many attacks can a character with Celerity 3 make per turn?
1
vote
3answers
223 views

Is it possible to use a Cleric's Melee power with a Non-Melee weapon?

So I'm still pretty new to 4e and I had a concept for a primarily "spellcaster" Human Cleric that uses a bow instead of a regular melee weapon. (A close comparison is Kikyo/Kagomae from Inuyasha.) ...
3
votes
2answers
178 views

Do vulnerabilities trigger multiple times when a power deals damage multiple times?

If I hit a vulnerable target with an effect that hits it twice, such as Static Charge or Chromatic Bolt, does it count the damage for vulnerability twice?
4
votes
1answer
179 views

When can an enemy attempt to break free from Arms of the Abyss?

Trying to code Arms of The Abyss in AnyDice, I understood that I don't actually understand the rule. Or do I? As I get it for now, it works like this. You roll Manipulation + Occult to determine the ...
1
vote
1answer
450 views

Why did the designers move Vengeance of Samiel (Valeren •••••) to level 6 in V20 Dark Ages?

In Vampire: The Masquerade: 20th Anniversary the first three powers of Valeren's Warrior path (page 474 of the Corebook) are rather useless. One would only learn them if one wanted to learn the •••• ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

How often can I do a Minor Action to activate a Goliath's racial power?

I am new to 5th edition D&D. I got ahold of the Player's Handbook 2, and I'm trying to figure out how often I can activate the Goliath racial power on page 12. Most of the other powers in the ...
3
votes
2answers
275 views

Can a Surprised character use powers triggered when initiative is rolled?

Certain powers are triggered when initiative is rolled, such as the power for the Casque of Tactics. Power (Daily): Free Action. Use this power when initiative is rolled. Swap initiative check ...
3
votes
1answer
123 views

Why does the Bolas Weapon cost 2 if it's a Snare Rank 3 Item?

I'm learning to build my own equipment, and I am quite confused on the subject of the Bolas weapon. The price of the weapon is 6 Equipment Points, despite the Snare effect costing 3 points per rank; ...
4
votes
2answers
374 views

What exactly does the Ardent's Wormhole Plunge do?

I am the DM in a campaign in which one of my friends plays an ardent. Everyone agrees with my friend that his ardent's Wormhole Plunge power kills any enemies that go into it. Is this true? It's ...
5
votes
1answer
158 views

Can Cloak of the Night be used in combat?

I master a campaign of Vampire and one of the players used Cloak of the Night (Obfuscate) to disengage during combat. I let him do it at first but I wonder if this works this way. After his round of ...
5
votes
1answer
143 views

Can a close burst attack hit flying creatures?

As a rogue, I used acrobat's blade trick with a magical dagger in an attempt to hit two flying creatures adjacent to me. At the time, the DM let me hit the creatures, although we remain unsure as to ...
3
votes
1answer
563 views

Full Turn Attacks, Two Weapon Fighting, and Path of War questions

Okay, I have a few questions about how exactly things stack and what happens. I'm new to Pathfinder and so is pretty much everyone else playing. The GM has played a little before but isn't an expert. ...
8
votes
3answers
545 views

Can I use force move to throw myself?

I'm wondering about force move. Can it be used to throw oneself at a location (or to use it while falling down to throw oneself upwards to a target location)? As far as I interpret things: There is ...
4
votes
2answers
198 views

How long does Alternate Form last: a turn, or until canceled?

I'm just getting into Mutants and Masterminds, and have encountered a snag while building a character: I don't know if Alternate Form only lasts for the turn or if it's the kind of thing where you ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

Can Forceful Drag move Multiple Creatures?

Forceful Drag: You move your speed. For each square you move, you slide a creature grabbed by you 1 square to a square adjacent to you. The creature remains grabbed, and you do not provoke an ...
2
votes
1answer
498 views

Do powers that let me shift as reaction make me negate the triggering attack at all?

I'm playing an Avenger multi-classed Ranger, and I got powers like Snarling Wolf Stance, Vengeful Parry and Fox's Cunning. Can I use the shift granted by those powers to negate the triggering attack ...
6
votes
1answer
228 views

Do powers that can be used as basic attacks trigger effects that happen when you make a basic attack?

If I have one of the Skald's at-will powers such as Bolstering Speech that triggers when I hit with a basic attack through Master of Stories and the half-elf 1/encounter at-will, can I trigger its ...
3
votes
1answer
252 views

Can the Impervious Power Modifier be linked to unenhanced, natural Toughness?

I'm building a new character whose powers come from a "cyber skin implant" that is pretty natural to her since it's now part of her body, giving her 12 Stamina without Enhanced Trait. Her cyber skin ...
2
votes
1answer
80 views

When do creatures start receiving additional attacks while under Freezing Cloud?

The effect part of the Freezing Cloud spell description reads (PHB, p. 160): Effect: The cloud lasts until the end of your next turn. Any creature that enters the cloud or starts its turn there ...
1
vote
1answer
106 views

What does “plus changing existing physical trait allocations” mean on a Variable Power?

I'm studying some stat blocks from both the M&M 3E Forums and the DC Heroes and Villains Vol. 1 and 2, and I find many shapeshifter themed powers using Variable have "plus changing existing ...
1
vote
1answer
241 views

Can spirits Endow their Immunity?

If a spirit has the Endowment power, can they share their Immunity to Age/Normal Weapons? Excluding Hidden Life/Spirit Pact, are there any other ways for characters to gain the benefits of these ...
5
votes
2answers
539 views

Is Reaper's Challenge really that broken? Did I get it wrong?

I'm DMing a 4e campaign and the PCs are level 19, now, but I have been having trouble with a power. Reaper's Challenge. My group's swordmage saves it through every adventure so he can use it on a ...
6
votes
2answers
97 views

Which power covers summonable armor?

I'm currently in the process of running a round with the old marvel-super-heroes rules (yepp not the 2012 version but the 'ancient' one). The players are able to choose powers and one came up with a ...
6
votes
1answer
578 views

How much does this Linked Power cost?

I'm new to the system and trying to make some League of Legends heroes as exercises, using a Power of Level 10. As of now, I'm stuck on Ekko's first power: he is supposed to be able to launch a ...
2
votes
2answers
315 views

How does the bolt power work with the Gatling Shotgun? [closed]

My GM is telling me that when I use the Bolt power with the Gatling Shotgun, the normal shooting ROF is lost, and only the one power bolt is used. This does not make sense to me. Especially since both ...
2
votes
3answers
280 views

Do I have to prepare wizards level 2 encounter spells?

I have a level 2 Wizard. Player's handbook on page 158 says: After an extended rest, you can prepare a number of daily and utility spells according to what you can cast per day for your level. You ...