Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
20
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I use restful healing? (using encounter powers outside of an encounter)

I'll start this question with a bit of background first... I've been playing in a new group as a Cleric. Our warrior was in a pretty bad state but survived the encounter. He was about to use 3 ...
19
votes
3answers
486 views

What happens when a grabbed target of Avalanche Stomp is teleported?

Avalanche Stomp is a power of the Stone Titan (all quotes are from the DDI Compendium): Close burst 3; +21 vs Fortitude; 3d10+7 damage, and the target is grabbed by earth and stone. The stone titan ...
18
votes
3answers
685 views

How do you make your players see beyond their power cards?

This question is similar in intent to How do you help players not focus on the rules?, but more focused on a particular feature of D&D 4E: the power list. On today's Rule of Three's article, ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

If a power says 'move your speed', what happens while I'm prone?

I want to use the Battlemind At-Will power Lightning Rush [DDI], PHB3 p. 49, while I am prone, with a normal speed of 6, with an enemy that is 6 squares away, one that is 3 squares away, and one that ...
18
votes
2answers
517 views

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster?

Can a blast hit targets vertically above the caster? ... trying to draw the situations in text mode ... Assuming we have a map like so ... ...
16
votes
2answers
768 views

Can Aegis of Ensnarement teleport adjacent enemies to adjacent squares?

The Swordmage power Aegis of Ensnarement allows you to mark targets and trigger a reaction when the marked target attacks others. Paraphrasing pertinent power text: If the marked target hits with ...
15
votes
4answers
648 views

How can I keep track of Aspects and Powers?

I'm going to begin running a Dresden Files Roleplaying Game campaign in a group that has no Fate or Fudge experience (myself included); we've largely been running D&D 3.5 and 4e. I'm concerned ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Sustaining a power and readied actions: what happens?

This came up today at our gaming session. I was sustaining a Wall of Fire with my minor actions. The enemy was out of sight and I readied an action to Thunderwave them into the Wall of Fire if they ...
14
votes
3answers
666 views

When does a creature “Deal Damage”?

When does a creature deal damage? A number of powers mention "deals damage" and a number mention "takes damage" and a comprehensive understanding when, exactly, "dealing damage" happens would be ...
13
votes
3answers
1k views

Role playing with powers, solely for the effect without damage

Certain abilities have very interesting effects, but are accompanied by damage. In combat, this is no problem. But say you want to use the ability outside of combat, for role-playing reasons. Can you ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Do attacks against gelatinous cubes hit engulfed players?

I have a question about a situation happened in our last D&D 4th edition session. A gelatinous cube managed to swallow one of us and put us into troubles because almost all of our powers have as ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you make your ally die faster when trying to save him from a Death Ray?

The Beholder has the Death Ray power. It says that if the target fails the second saving throw, the target dies. Does it count for when the players are using heal or powers to let their ally save ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a human's bonus at-will power be psionically augmented?

The other day, I used the old character builder to print out cards for a new human battlemind. For each of the augment-able at will powers, there is a separate card created for each augment point ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Dungeons and Dragons 4e character take D&D Essentials class powers?

Either by retraining or gaining a level, can a old-school D&D 4e character take the daily, encounter, utility, or at-will powers listed in the Essentials materials? For example, the Essentials' ...
13
votes
1answer
733 views

How often per Day can the Living Missile Attack power be used?

The Effect line of the Living Missile power card reads: While the target is immobilized or slowed by this power, you can use the Living Missile Attack power once per round. The Requirement line of ...
13
votes
1answer
183 views

Power based game based on describing powers' scopes

I remember reading a power based/super hero like game where each character was allowed to list a few powers. Each power was defined by examples of what it was or wasn't possible to do with that power. ...
12
votes
2answers
10k views

How do some of the Hunter Abilities interact with Extra Attack for Rangers?

While there's several feats that could also interact with the following, I don't want this to become a ramble, so I'll stick to specifically how the Ranger and Hunter specialisation abilities interact ...
12
votes
1answer
676 views

Can the Pixie's Teleport Trick make you invincible?

Pixie Teleport Trick (Heroes of the Feywild page 33) Daily: Teleportation Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, whenever an enemy attacks you, you can use an ...
12
votes
2answers
670 views

Inhuman Strength vs. +5 Might

I have been reading Your Story and Our World, trying to figure certain things out. One of the things I am stumped over is how stats work in this system. I am not sure if this is intentional or not, ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a Pacifist Healer using a non-damaging attack who crits with a magic implement… do damage? Does he have to?

Pacifist Clerics (and anyone who takes Astral Seal, for example, but there are other powers- Hymn of Resurgence, for example that do no damage) can use their magic holy symbols to augment their attack ...
11
votes
3answers
473 views

Do creatures take falling damage after Hurl Into Heaven?

Hurl Into Heaven allows you to fling a creature 5 to 50 feet into the air, where it will remain until the start of your next turn. At that point, "the target drops to the ground ... taking 3d10 + ...
11
votes
1answer
348 views

Does readying an encounter or daily power expend it automatically?

Question: If I ready a daily or encounter power to trigger on a certain condition. Such as the fighter power Sweeping Blow with a condition such as to trigger when 3 or more enemies are adjacent to me....
11
votes
2answers
730 views

How can I turn invisible?

I'm learning DFRPG, having no prior experience with the FATE system. One thing I really like is the idea that we can --and should-- create our own stunts and powers... but I'm not sure I've really got ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Does “each creature in blast” include allies?

When a power says "Each creature in the blast", does that mean my allies are hit by the attack too? I play a Control Wizard/Witch and almost all of my powers are blast and burst that target creatures.
10
votes
3answers
25k views

How many powers do I get as a first level character in D&D 4E?

I can't seem to figure out how many powers I get. Is it one of each type of the level I'm at? I'm starting at level one, so I get one at-will, one encounter, and one daily? The recommended builds ...
10
votes
5answers
813 views

What happens to effects when their origin dies?

Character A gives a target the dazed condition until the end of character A's next turn, but character A dies before their next turn. What happens to the dazed condition? When does it last until now?
10
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I build an 4e essentials character?

I'm having trouble interpreting the 4th Edition Essentials books. How do I determine how many powers a level 1 paladin/cavalier gets? The book never comes out and says it. With skills and feats, it's ...
10
votes
1answer
334 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
10
votes
2answers
414 views

Can Dominate and similar mental powers be used via phone or video chat?

I am mostly interested in using these over a video conference or over audio: Dominate Presence Obfuscate (such as Mask of Thousand Faces) Chimerstry If possible, it would open many new interesting ...
10
votes
1answer
644 views

Monk and Swift Flight

The monk power Swift Flight [ddi] states You fly a number of squares equal to your speed + your Wisdom modifier. If you don’t land at the end of this movement, ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

How to balance Celerity against other powers in 20th Anniversary

First of all, I have not playtested the game yet, but I managed to notice that Vampire 20th Anniversary Disciplines roster has been wildly revised from any previous version. Seems like all the ...
9
votes
2answers
604 views

Forced Movement: Can a Halfling really pull a Dragon?

One of my PCs is a Druid with "Thorn Whip". In our last session, he used it on a wall-mounted magic Turret Trap. Since the Power says "Pull the Target 2 squares", I ruled that he just ripped it out of ...
9
votes
6answers
333 views

What are good techniques help remember the interrupts of DND 4e monsters?

For new and experienced 4e DM's alike, a recurring challenge is activating all of the appropriate interrupt powers on monster sheets. It gets really easy to miss something when solo monsters can have ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

How can I make fighters and monks better in 3.5e D&D?

So I'm planning to DM a 3.5e D&D game for casual non-optimizing people in a setting I'm creating. In this setting, the base classes I've retained are Fighter, Monk, Wizard, Sorcerer, Cleric, ...
9
votes
1answer
467 views

Do burst/close burst attacks “splash” around corners?

I know that blasts require LoS in 4e and that bursts require line of effect between the target square and the creature using the power but one my players asked if a burst would hit diagonally around a ...
9
votes
2answers
93 views

Can a creature have simultaneously a magical and a psionic contingency?

Can a creature have in operation at the same time both the 6th-level Sor/Wiz spell contingency [evoc] (Player's Handbook 213) and the 6th-level psion/wilder power psionic contingency [clairsentience] (...
9
votes
1answer
201 views

How does Drunken Monkey interact with Savage Demise?

A PC (character A) in our game used Drunken Monkey on an enemy (character B). It hit and did the following: Hit: 1d8 + Dexterity modifier damage, and you slide the target 1 square. The target then ...
8
votes
4answers
4k views

Is it fair to make all Encounter/Daily powers Reliable in D&D 4e?

There's a D&D 4e variant rule where all powers are Reliable, meaning you don't lose your Encounter/Daily powers if they miss. If a power has an effect on a miss, you may either accept the miss ...
8
votes
2answers
537 views

Do class features count against the number of powers you can choose at 1st level?

I have been researching my question for a week now and, simple a question though it may be, I keep reading answers that are pulling me in different directions, so I finally decided to just ask. Here ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

What is considered a special power for the Leadership feat?

For the feat Leadership, there are several modifiers listed that change a character's Leadership score. One of the entries on the Reputation table is "Special Power," but there is nothing describing ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

In D&D 4e, does the half-elf get an extra encounter power, or does his race power take the place of his class power?

The half-elf gets a racial power that lets him take an at-will from a class not his own and make it an encounter power. Does that mean it replaces his class encounter power or that he gets an ...
8
votes
1answer
501 views

Does the Direct The Strike power provoke OA?

Does using the Warlord's Direct The Strike power provoke opportunity attacks? It is a Ranged 5 power with only the Martial keyword (not an ...
8
votes
1answer
439 views

Rogue's Tumble PHB vs HotFL

Which version of Tumble is correct? The powers are exactly the same Level 2 Utility, Encounter, Req. Acrobatics training. The difference is in the effect. Player's Handbook (PHB) ~ Effect:You can ...
8
votes
4answers
944 views

How long does True Shapeshifting take in Dresden Files?

There are a bunch of powers labeled "Shapeshifting" in dresden files, and in general they are pretty easy to understand and use. It even mentions that, unless otherwise mentioned, shapeshifting is a ...
8
votes
1answer
364 views

What are good guidelines and principles for designing and balancing superpower stunts in FATE Core?

I want to make a stronger focus on the F in FATE1 in my future campaigns, and that means I'm expecting said campaigns to involve what I usually see broadly referred to as special or superhuman ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

What's the point of Enhanced Trait?

Since Enhanced Trait costs the same as the base trait, won't allow you to go over the power level limit, and adds several drawbacks (like it being nullified), I don't really understand why anyone ...
8
votes
2answers
501 views

Does the damage caused by Wall of Fire get the implement bonus when a creature walks into it?

Our wizard cast a Wall Of Fire which is an implement power. Does the damage that is caused when a creature starts their turn adjacent to or in the wall of fire get to add the implement's enhancement ...
8
votes
3answers
370 views

Is there such a thing as a ranged unarmed attack?

So I haven't had much time to create a character for playing D&D and thought I'd try my luck using a character generator for 4e, so I had something to tinker with before game. Mind you I am a ...
8
votes
1answer
519 views

Does the “Ki Strike” Power for a Monk cost Spell Points to use?

The Monks "Ki Strike" Class Feat gives you access to the Power "Ki Strike", and says the following: This power is a type of special spell you can cast by spending Spell Points The section on ...
8
votes
1answer
496 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...