Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
165 views

To what alignment belong psychic powers of telepathy, telekinesis and divination?

When purchasing psychic powers from the schools of telepathy, telekinesis and divination, to what alignment are the advancements to be considered? I am considering they are either unaligned or ...
5
votes
2answers
202 views

How much of a person or object must cross an extra-dimensional space's interface from inside, in order to attack a target outside of said space?

The party is in the habit of using extra-dimensional spaces such as Rope Trick or Psychoportive Shelter. Recently they want to use it as a sniping blind or bunker. As per the description of either, ...
5
votes
1answer
364 views

How to deal with obtaining more Force Powers than available?

Because high wisdom is relatively easy to get halfway up the level curve, as is multiple iterations of the Force Training feat; it is quite possible to have a copy of every Force Power ever printed ...
6
votes
2answers
298 views

How many times per round does Hero's Beacon affect Tiamat?

In the final encounter of Scales of War, each of Tiamat's heads gets its own initiative (on 45, 40, 35, 30, and 25) and can use one standard and one minor action. (If she wants to move, one head must ...
7
votes
2answers
125 views

How to build an harpoon innate attack?

I'm putting together a GURPS character as a PC option for my players. The idea is that it's a heavy lifting robot that gained sentience when an AI took it over, but is limited to its current form. It ...
2
votes
1answer
99 views

How is BAB calculated for a Fused being?

How do you calculate the BAB on the fused being created by the fusion power? If you fuse together two half bab characters does it make a full bab character?
1
vote
1answer
364 views

Do touch attack powers only require one attack to use multiple?

When a power says, “use a touch attack to use this power”, does a player need to make multiple touch attacks to use multiple powers or is one touch attack enough? If just the one, is there a multi-...
2
votes
2answers
201 views

What is Intelligence vs. Reflex for in a Power when I'm already attacking AC?

If I am already rolling to beat the creature's Armour Class, where does the Intelligence vs. Reflex check come into play, in (let's say) the move Fire Burst?
8
votes
1answer
2k views

What's the point of Enhanced Trait?

Since Enhanced Trait costs the same as the base trait, won't allow you to go over the power level limit, and adds several drawbacks (like it being nullified), I don't really understand why anyone ...
8
votes
2answers
529 views

How to stat a character with truesight that is blind outside a certain radius?

I'm trying to learn more about GURPS for a future campaign, and I'm working on converting some old DnD characters to get a grasp of how to build PCs. My players will need my help with chargen, so I ...
9
votes
1answer
205 views

How does Drunken Monkey interact with Savage Demise?

A PC (character A) in our game used Drunken Monkey on an enemy (character B). It hit and did the following: Hit: 1d8 + Dexterity modifier damage, and you slide the target 1 square. The target then ...
2
votes
2answers
137 views

If I make an Unarmed Attack while using Rage of the Remorhaz, do I deal extra damage?

So, for a gestalt campaign, using all books for D&D 3.5, I made a Psychic Warrior/Monk character. I just turned level 16, and I saw the power Rage of the Remorhaz. If I make an unarmed attack ...
7
votes
2answers
635 views

How do I create Plants in 3.5e?

Our campaign is plodding along steadily and we are approaching the various character made Demiplane levels of play. These demiplanes are full of non living materials, but this question can be applied ...
3
votes
1answer
251 views

How does Psionic levitate ACTUALLY work in 3.5e?

There are conflicting paragraphs and statements in the descriptions currently making the power unplayable. First of all, the Psionic version lasts 10 minutes per level, not 1 minute per level, which ...
3
votes
1answer
186 views

How does Concerted Effort scale?

Concerted Effort ... Effect: Until the end of your next turn, each target gains a +1 power bonus to attack rolls. Whenever a target hits with at least one attack during his or her turn, the bonus ...
2
votes
1answer
70 views

If the target of Final Rebuke ends the forced move in a square adjacent to a solid obstacle, do they take the extra damage?

The power in question is Final Rebuke, a Paladin level 9 power from Divine Powers: Daily • Divine, Reliable, Weapon Standard Action Melee weapon Target: One creature Attack: Strength vs. ...
5
votes
1answer
317 views

What is the Empyreal Lord ability Seed of Life?

All the Empyreal Lords have a Special Quality called Seed of Life. However, their statblocks don't expand on what this ability does or how any of them got it. What does this ability do and why do ...
2
votes
2answers
350 views

How many extra actions can you gain with Takedown?

Hi so I've been told I should split up my earlier question to allow for more focused answers. Detonate is confronting Dr I.n.Flammable, unfortunately for Flammable, he brought his minions to the ...
5
votes
1answer
6k views

Is there any limit to how many ranks you can take in a power?

Recently I have started to design a character in Mutants and Masterminds third edition, and have hit a snag. We start at power level 8, so could I only take 8 ranks in any power, or could I go as far ...
6
votes
2answers
146 views

Can Iron Dragon Charge be used each time, or only once?

Iron Dragon Charge (PHB I) reads: Until the end of the encounter, as an immediate reaction, an ally of your choice within 5 squares of you can charge a target that you charge. Does this imply ...
3
votes
2answers
113 views

Can Avenging Echo trigger multiple times per enemy?

Avenging Echo reads: Any enemy that ends its turn adjacent to you or that hits or misses you takes 5 radiant damage. If an enemy attacks the avenger and ends its turn adjacent, or if an enemy ...
1
vote
1answer
302 views

How do I implement conceptual magic into a d100 system? [closed]

I'm running a campaign with a constant group of players and have been for a couple of years now, in which they are playing several generations of PCs, each consecutive generation being more powerful ...
3
votes
1answer
89 views

Can I target allies with utility powers without having line of effect to them?

The rules for "Seeing and Targeting" (PHB, p273) specifically mention that You need line of effect to any target you attack and to any space in which you wish to create an effect. However, that ...
1
vote
1answer
66 views

Does Instinctive Flyby require the power to be charged?

The Young Green Dragon has the power instictive flyby: On an initiative of 10 + its initiative check, the dragon can use a free action to use flyby attack. flyby attack: Flyby Attack • Recharge ...
3
votes
1answer
194 views

Other than taking the Adamant Arrow Style feat, how can I use powers in place of a ranged basic attack?

I am playing Ranger in D&D 4e and I built myself around Flying Steel and other attacks that let you make a ranged basic attack when (trigger). I want to know if there is a way that I could use ...
8
votes
2answers
558 views

Do class features count against the number of powers you can choose at 1st level?

I have been researching my question for a week now and, simple a question though it may be, I keep reading answers that are pulling me in different directions, so I finally decided to just ask. Here ...
10
votes
2answers
437 views

Can Dominate and similar mental powers be used via phone or video chat?

I am mostly interested in using these over a video conference or over audio: Dominate Presence Obfuscate (such as Mask of Thousand Faces) Chimerstry If possible, it would open many new interesting ...
4
votes
1answer
187 views

Is there a “Murderous Command” equivalent for Psions?

Does the Psion have an equivalent power to the spell Murderous Command? I can't find one.
4
votes
1answer
212 views

What does a Limited Degree Affliction do to a Minion?

It's a rule that minions suffer the worst possible result with a missed save (simple case, any failed Toughness save renders a minion dead or unconscious). Does this include Limited Degree with ...
3
votes
2answers
276 views

Is there any way for a Telepath to gain Hustle?

I am helping a PC improve his character. He is a Halfling Fighter 2/Rogue 8/Psion(Telepath) 3 and he is about to take Shadowmind. He is very concerned about his mobility and has taken the feats Run ...
4
votes
5answers
917 views

Is the Jedi Power Mind Trick OP?

I'm GMing a Star Wars Saga Edition campaign, with a party of 2 Jedis (lvl 3). One of them took the Mind Trick Jedi Power and he takes advantage of the (basically) unlimited use per day (with only a 1 ...
2
votes
3answers
237 views

How does augmenting Dispel Psionics work?

In the Targeted Dispel section of the power description of Dispel Psionics it says: You make a dispel check (1d20 + your manifester level, maximum +10) against the power or against each ongoing ...
4
votes
1answer
199 views

How much ammo does an area burst weapon attack use?

While I was perusing a CharOp guide for the Seeker class, I saw a suggestion of a Hybrid Seeker|Executioner build. While my first thought was to the use the Seeker at-will powers that count as basic ...
6
votes
1answer
333 views

How can super-hacking be simulated?

One of my Mutants & Masterminds players wants to make a hero inspired by Aiden Pierce, the protagonist of the video game Watch Dogs. All was well until we came to the topic of hacking things ...
3
votes
1answer
167 views

Does Vampire's “Hidden Power” trigger on “Blood Drinker” and base power

Hidden Power says: You gain a bonus to the damage rolls of your vampire powers and vampire paragon path powers. The bonus equals your Charisma modifier. So, let's say you're a level one vampire. ...
5
votes
3answers
388 views

Does having two sources of damage in one attack count as two damage rolls?

For instance, if an attack power allows you to do "2d8+3 plus 1d6 fire damage", and you're under the effects of a power which gives you "+4 to all damage rolls", would the +4 be added to both the ...
7
votes
1answer
153 views

Does Double or Total Aegis require dropping all targets to zero to reactivate Aegis?

With Hybrid Swordmages, you only get the Aegis once per encounter, but you can regain it by dropping the marked enemy to 0. What if you mark using Total Aegis or Double Aegis, though? Do you have to ...
2
votes
1answer
185 views

How do I make a Zip-kick attack?

In M&M, how do I mechanicaly create an attack that is my character grappling onto a surface, zipping towards it, then using the momentum to hit an opponent for an extra-powerful attack? (See ...
5
votes
1answer
177 views

Damage effect costing some of your own life

I am currently helping one of my players create a power where he "sacrifices" some of his life in exchange for dealing even more damage to an opponent. I thought it to be like the player has to pass ...
7
votes
1answer
312 views

How do Primordial Blade and Githyanki Silver Weapon interact?

So, the Githyanki Silver Blade turns all damage dealt by it to Psychic, and Primordial Blade (16th level Malec-Keth Janissary) adds +1d4 of one of (Fire, Lightning, Thunder, Cold) to the damage. If I ...
7
votes
2answers
626 views

How many attacks per turn can a vampire with Celerity 3 make?

The wording of Celerity (Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th, p. 202) regarding attacks per turn seems ambiguous. How many attacks can a character with Celerity 3 make per turn?
1
vote
3answers
229 views

Is it possible to use a Cleric's Melee power with a Non-Melee weapon?

So I'm still pretty new to 4e and I had a concept for a primarily "spellcaster" Human Cleric that uses a bow instead of a regular melee weapon. (A close comparison is Kikyo/Kagomae from Inuyasha.) ...
3
votes
2answers
182 views

Do vulnerabilities trigger multiple times when a power deals damage multiple times?

If I hit a vulnerable target with an effect that hits it twice, such as Static Charge or Chromatic Bolt, does it count the damage for vulnerability twice?
4
votes
1answer
193 views

When can an enemy attempt to break free from Arms of the Abyss?

Trying to code Arms of The Abyss in AnyDice, I understood that I don't actually understand the rule. Or do I? As I get it for now, it works like this. You roll Manipulation + Occult to determine the ...
1
vote
1answer
674 views

Why did the designers move Vengeance of Samiel (Valeren •••••) to level 6 in V20 Dark Ages? [closed]

In Vampire: The Masquerade: 20th Anniversary the first three powers of Valeren's Warrior path (page 474 of the Corebook) are rather useless. One would only learn them if one wanted to learn the •••• ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

How often can I do a Minor Action to activate a Goliath's racial power?

I am new to 5th edition D&D. I got ahold of the Player's Handbook 2, and I'm trying to figure out how often I can activate the Goliath racial power on page 12. Most of the other powers in the ...
4
votes
2answers
311 views

Can a Surprised character use powers triggered when initiative is rolled?

Certain powers are triggered when initiative is rolled, such as the power for the Casque of Tactics. Power (Daily): Free Action. Use this power when initiative is rolled. Swap initiative check ...
3
votes
1answer
137 views

Why does the Bolas Weapon cost 2 if it's a Snare Rank 3 Item?

I'm learning to build my own equipment, and I am quite confused on the subject of the Bolas weapon. The price of the weapon is 6 Equipment Points, despite the Snare effect costing 3 points per rank; ...
4
votes
2answers
386 views

What exactly does the Ardent's Wormhole Plunge do?

I am the DM in a campaign in which one of my friends plays an ardent. Everyone agrees with my friend that his ardent's Wormhole Plunge power kills any enemies that go into it. Is this true? It's ...
6
votes
1answer
164 views

Can Cloak of the Night be used in combat?

I master a campaign of Vampire and one of the players used Cloak of the Night (Obfuscate) to disengage during combat. I let him do it at first but I wonder if this works this way. After his round of ...

1 2 3 4 5 7