Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
1answer
269 views

Do I get all my damage bonuses with the second part of Flaming Sphere?

I recently used a Wizard(Mage) in a level 14 one-shot. I used the daily power Flaming Sphere and when I went to roll the secondary d4 + damage I assumed all my bonuses would be included. Here's those ...
8
votes
1answer
458 views

Are the effects of a power applied in an “atomic” mode?

Are the effects of a power applied in an "atomic" mode, i.e. all at once, or are they sequentially applied ? So for example, the power says … "does 1W + Int damage and pushes the target one square" .....
8
votes
2answers
164 views

If a power references your Speed, can it be your Flight Speed?

My player has a 4e Pixie Monk and his Daily power says he can shift his speed (which on his sheet says Speed 4 Flight 8) and I'm not sure if the card is specific to Speed or can he use his Flight ...
8
votes
3answers
574 views

Can I use force move to throw myself?

I'm wondering about force move. Can it be used to throw oneself at a location (or to use it while falling down to throw oneself upwards to a target location)? As far as I interpret things: There is ...
8
votes
0answers
85 views

Am I misreading the effect-cancelling part of Warforged Juggernaut's Crag of Steel power, or is it meant to be extremely limited?

Warforged Juggernaut's Level 20 Daily Power is Crag of Steel; a stance that gives you a bunch of stuff, but the part of the power I'm interested in here is: "Until the stance ends, you gain resist ...
7
votes
4answers
536 views

How do I work Powers into Skill Challenges?

I am a rather new DM (returning after 18 years) and I had a question about running a Skill Challenge called "Give it Back". The party was chasing a thief through the market and the mage said "I'm ...
7
votes
3answers
294 views

Using Powers During A Rest

The below excerpts are from the D&DI Compendium entry on "Short Rest", referencing PHB 1. No Strenuous Activity: You have to rest during a short rest. You can stand guard, sit in place, ...
7
votes
2answers
680 views

What class pairs well with a fighter in 4e?

We're getting ever closer to our 4e game and have begun to hash out backgrounds. Much like in Fire Emblem (yes I do pretty much decide all of what I want to do based on video games) I really want my ...
7
votes
2answers
525 views

What does the Beacon ability “phasing” refer to?

On the Beacon's Playbook sheet, it lists some potential abilities for the Beacon. One of them says "phasing". What does this refer to? My reading of it seems to be that it is a superpower, but isn't ...
7
votes
2answers
513 views

How to stat a character with truesight that is blind outside a certain radius?

I'm trying to learn more about GURPS for a future campaign, and I'm working on converting some old DnD characters to get a grasp of how to build PCs. My players will need my help with chargen, so I ...
7
votes
2answers
625 views

How many attacks per turn can a vampire with Celerity 3 make?

The wording of Celerity (Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th, p. 202) regarding attacks per turn seems ambiguous. How many attacks can a character with Celerity 3 make per turn?
7
votes
1answer
4k views

Can multiple abilities be used at once if they have a shared prerequisite?

Greater Vital Strike, Spirited Charge, and Unstoppable Strike (19th level Weapon Master). Or Greater Vital Strike, Greater Power Attack, Piledriver, and Overhand chop. Do these all work at once or ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

What can a player do to force down a flying creature?

Dakeyras' answer in this thread got me thinking about how a player would/could counter an enemy that used hovering flight to its full advantage. What specific items/powers/etc. can a character use to ...
7
votes
1answer
661 views

Can a Hypnotism target be forced to move before its attack?

I have just created a Wizard (Mage) who specializes in enchantment. I have a question about the Hypnotism spell.. The power states that the target creature can be forced to attack another enemy (...
7
votes
5answers
1k views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Monk use a Full Discipline move without the attack?

One of my players in my 4e game is playing a monk. He opted to use two move actions in one turn. He used the move action of one of his Full Discipline powers - such as the power Crane's Wings - twice ...
7
votes
1answer
839 views

Is a utility power that has the encounter keyword considered an “encounter power”?

Powers are divided into At-Will, Encounter, Utility, and ...
7
votes
1answer
337 views

Using the Shadow Jack encounter power, do I get an opportunity attack?

My assassin has an encounter power called Shadow Jack, it reads like this: Hit: 2[W] + Dexterity modifier damage, and you shift 1 square into the target’s space and remain there until the start of ...
7
votes
2answers
455 views

How can I motivate my players' characters to explore, when they have teleportation?

My group and I are playing a Superhero Campaign. We are using the Fantasy Flight Games Roleplaying system used in their Star Wars series, with a mixture of the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying. In the Marvel ...
7
votes
1answer
298 views

Is there an item that prevents expending a power on a miss?

I know that some powers have the Reliable Keyword. Is there an item that prevents me from expending a power on a miss? I've read my share of books, but it is just too many books.
7
votes
2answers
311 views

Does Immunity Stack?

So I've got a guy who's playing an "elemental" character with the Insubstantial 3 (Fire-Energy) power. He already has Fire Immunity 5, so when he "flames on" does the Fire-immunity of the ...
7
votes
1answer
307 views

How do Primordial Blade and Githyanki Silver Weapon interact?

So, the Githyanki Silver Blade turns all damage dealt by it to Psychic, and Primordial Blade (16th level Malec-Keth Janissary) adds +1d4 of one of (Fire, Lightning, Thunder, Cold) to the damage. If I ...
7
votes
1answer
304 views

Can a power with “target: one creature” be used on an empty square in an attempt to hit a hidden creature?

Say that I'm in the midst of a battle, and I know that there's an Invisible and Hidden creature somewhere. Am I allowed to use a power that says "Target: One creature" on a random square in an attempt ...
7
votes
2answers
121 views

How to build an harpoon innate attack?

I'm putting together a GURPS character as a PC option for my players. The idea is that it's a heavy lifting robot that gained sentience when an AI took it over, but is limited to its current form. It ...
7
votes
1answer
152 views

Does Double or Total Aegis require dropping all targets to zero to reactivate Aegis?

With Hybrid Swordmages, you only get the Aegis once per encounter, but you can regain it by dropping the marked enemy to 0. What if you mark using Total Aegis or Double Aegis, though? Do you have to ...
7
votes
1answer
125 views

Stealing in Mutants and Masterminds

In a question on reddit, someone asked about how to create a Power that replicated the common cartoon trope of a villain holding an item only to not notice (until they try to use it) that it has been ...
7
votes
2answers
608 views

How do I create Plants in 3.5e?

Our campaign is plodding along steadily and we are approaching the various character made Demiplane levels of play. These demiplanes are full of non living materials, but this question can be applied ...
7
votes
1answer
98 views

How to cause variable stat changes over extended period?

I'm trying to create a wizard with a polymorph spell in Mutants and Masterminds 3rd edition. I want the power to have the ability to alter a target's stats in a number of different ways for an ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

How do I read the Attack line on power cards in D&D 4e?

I've just recently started playing D&D 4e through the Red Box, and I am confused about how to fill in the power cards. So, take Nimbus of Holy Shielding for instance. I understand the Target and ...
6
votes
5answers
424 views

How does Warp in the Weave interact with moveable area-effects?

The level 6 Arcana utility power Warp in the Weave (Dragon #385, p. 79) reads as follows: Trigger: A creature uses a burst or blast power that includes you. Effect: You spend a healing surge but ...
6
votes
1answer
233 views

Do powers that can be used as basic attacks trigger effects that happen when you make a basic attack?

If I have one of the Skald's at-will powers such as Bolstering Speech that triggers when I hit with a basic attack through Master of Stories and the half-elf 1/encounter at-will, can I trigger its ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

How can a Warlord gain an at-will power that pushes?

I know you can multiclass, but that gives you another class's at-will power as an encounter power. I'm looking for an at-will attack that also pushes, but I'm playing a Warlord and they don't have ...
6
votes
3answers
431 views

How does “Skilled Companion” work in Dungeons and Dragons 4e

My hybrid Psion/Ranger is about to reach level 6, and I need to pick a level 6 Ranger Utility. I'm considering picking the level 2 Utility Crucial Advice, but I'm also looking at the level 6 Utility ...
6
votes
1answer
134 views

How exactly does Phrenic Strike Work?

In DnD 4e there's an Encounter Power called Phrenic Strike. The flavour text reads: You fight past your enemy's attack to deliver a punishing blow to its body and mind. The Effect says: Before ...
6
votes
1answer
213 views

Will Death's Resurgence prevent death?

Looking at the Swordmage/19 power Death's Resurgence: Immediate Interrupt Target: Each enemy in burst Trigger: You become bloodied or brought to 0 or fewer hit points. Hit: some damage Miss:...
6
votes
3answers
369 views

Do Weapon of the Gods and Seldarine Dedicate form a combo?

I think I just discovered a combo for a cleric, but I'm not sure if it actually works. Weapon of the Gods (PHB) is a daily which allows you to do an extra 1d6 radiant when you make an attack with ...
6
votes
3answers
288 views

Does Bolt of Genius restore ALL of a Cleric's uses of Healing Word or just one?

Here's the scenario: The Cleric uses all their uses of Healing Word for the encounter. Then the Battle Captain Warlord uses...
6
votes
1answer
110 views

Dilettante replaced by Encounter-atk replacing feat?

I'm trying to create a Blackguard multiclass-vampire. One of the multiclass-vampire feats called "Thirst for Blood" allows you to "Choose one of your encounter attack powers that has a level. You lose ...
6
votes
1answer
213 views

Does a target affected by font of radiance get to save before it takes damage?

Font of Radiance Epic Tier Prerequisite: 21st level Benefit: When you score a critical hit with a power that has the radiant keyword, the target begins to glow brightly (save ends). ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Do certain powers gain or lose keywords depending on usage?

Blazing Starfall is a Sorcerer power that, in its power description, includes the Fire keyword. However, the Fire keyword is apparently inherited from a zone effect that is only available when the ...
6
votes
2answers
292 views

How many times per round does Hero's Beacon affect Tiamat?

In the final encounter of Scales of War, each of Tiamat's heads gets its own initiative (on 45, 40, 35, 30, and 25) and can use one standard and one minor action. (If she wants to move, one head must ...
6
votes
2answers
294 views

Is there any exisiting feature similar to this (poorly worded?) homebrew?

I'm working with an homebrew artifact from this file, page 34, but the way its (poorly worded?) powers work baffles me. The artifact is a morning star, but it has an attack without the Weapon keyword ...
6
votes
1answer
838 views

Rangers making attacks with different melee weapons?

I'm somewhat confused by the Ranger class attack powers from the Player's Handbook. Many powers require the player to wield two melee weapons. What's bothering me is the damage: the book says the ...
6
votes
1answer
496 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
6
votes
2answers
146 views

Can Iron Dragon Charge be used each time, or only once?

Iron Dragon Charge (PHB I) reads: Until the end of the encounter, as an immediate reaction, an ally of your choice within 5 squares of you can charge a target that you charge. Does this imply ...
6
votes
1answer
328 views

How can super-hacking be simulated?

One of my Mutants & Masterminds players wants to make a hero inspired by Aiden Pierce, the protagonist of the video game Watch Dogs. All was well until we came to the topic of hacking things ...
6
votes
1answer
586 views

Does Arcane Resistance work against inherent abilities?

If a creature has an ability that is like a power. For example, an undead with fear ability. Are the character allowed to save using their Arcane Resistance Edge?
6
votes
1answer
162 views

Can Cloak of the Night be used in combat?

I master a campaign of Vampire and one of the players used Cloak of the Night (Obfuscate) to disengage during combat. I let him do it at first but I wonder if this works this way. After his round of ...
6
votes
1answer
627 views

How much does this Linked Power cost?

I'm new to the system and trying to make some League of Legends heroes as exercises, using a Power of Level 10. As of now, I'm stuck on Ekko's first power: he is supposed to be able to launch a ...
6
votes
2answers
108 views

Which power covers summonable armor?

I'm currently in the process of running a round with the old marvel-super-heroes rules (yepp not the 2012 version but the 'ancient' one). The players are able to choose powers and one came up with a ...