Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
1answer
245 views

What counts as a target for the purposes of 'Simple Animation?

The 2nd level Wizard Utility 'Simple Animation' has the following specification: Target: One Medium or smaller object that is not fastened in place or held by a creature Effect: The target ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

do I only get a limited number of at-will powers?

In the pre made characters for the 4e adventure Keep on the Shadowfell they only give each character about 3 at-will powers. reading through the PHB I find that most characters have about 4-6 at-will ...
5
votes
2answers
798 views

How do I read the 2[W] and 'at level X' of attack cards?

Probably a simple question but one I cannot figure out from the books: Some power and attack cards have at the HIT statement a small symbol saying 1[W], or 2[W] at level 21. For example: How do I ...
5
votes
2answers
549 views

Does my secondary attack use up my standard action for my turn?

Visions of Avarice Daily - Arcane, Illusion, Implement, Zone Standard Action Area burst 5 within 10 squares Effect: The burst creates a zone in its origin square. The zone lasts until ...
5
votes
2answers
576 views

Why does Infernal Wrath's burst 10 target 1 enemy?

I went over the updates on Wizards of the Coast and discovered that the Infernal Wrath power has changed from what it was in the Player's Handbook. There's one part that confuses me: Infernal ...
5
votes
2answers
552 views

Is Reaper's Challenge really that broken? Did I get it wrong?

I'm DMing a 4e campaign and the PCs are level 19, now, but I have been having trouble with a power. Reaper's Challenge. My group's swordmage saves it through every adventure so he can use it on a ...
5
votes
1answer
397 views

How does the Nova's Burn power work at the 7-9 level?

In Masks, Novas have the Burn power: Burn When you charge up your powers, roll + conditions you currently have marked. On a hit, hold 3 burn. On a 7-9, mark a condition. On a miss, hold 2 burn ...
5
votes
2answers
426 views

Do zone effect spells require a target to hit and if it fails to hit does the zone happen?

A group discussion happened last night. The power in question was Stinking Cloud. Our wizard argued that zone spells always succeed until the sustain fails. This seemed to be very strong in my ...
5
votes
1answer
912 views

When a Wizard learns a non-spell power, do they learn two?

Playing my first campaign of 4e, I discovered Skill Powers in the Player's Handbook 3. Per the PHB 3: Whenever you reach a level that grants you a utility power from your class, you can choose a ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I make multiple extra melee attacks with one crit?

Can I make a extra melee attack with Harmony Blade and Two-Weapon Opening and Rampage on the same crit? If I crit again with Rampage can I again make a melee attack with harmony blade and two weapon ...
5
votes
4answers
2k views

Is there a way to regain the daily power on a miss?

Missing on a daily power is a big let down and happens, frankly, a lot around our gaming table. Is there a way to introduce a rule that allows regaining the daily on a miss?
5
votes
2answers
256 views

If a monster “cannot attack you” does that prevent it from using burst attacks that would include you?

I have a scenario that occurred in our recent game. The Cleric used the 17th level encounter power Enthrall which states on hit: Until the end of your next turn, the target is immobilized and ...
5
votes
1answer
310 views

What is the Empyreal Lord ability Seed of Life?

All the Empyreal Lords have a Special Quality called Seed of Life. However, their statblocks don't expand on what this ability does or how any of them got it. What does this ability do and why do ...
5
votes
3answers
527 views

Is a victim of the Mind Control Power from Necessary Evil ever aware of their plight?

In Necessary Evil for Savage Worlds, the Mind Control power gives no indication of whether the victim is aware, either before or after the fact, that they have been controlled. However, the Mind ...
5
votes
1answer
384 views

How many times can this power attack one target?

One of my players wants to use this homebrew class, but we're unclear on how to read one of its powers: Rotating Turret Gunslinger Attack 1 Enemies close in from all sides. You make them ...
5
votes
2answers
543 views

When do you need to call a Disruptive Strike?

Immediate Interrupt; Trigger: You or an ally is attacked by a creature. Does a ranger need to call this interrupt before the attack roll, before the damage roll or can he do it whenever he wants? ...
5
votes
1answer
348 views

Burst Power +2 because of Cone Template?

In the core rules of the deluxe version it is mentioned that a flamethrower gets +2 to hit since its failry easy for this kind of weapon. But what about the Burst power? It uses the cone template and ...
5
votes
3answers
806 views

Does Blazing Starfall Cause Fire Damage?

Blazing Starfall has the Fire and Radiant keywords, the damage line indicates radiant damage, and cosmic magic sorcerers create a zone has a fire damage effect. The players were fighting Trolls "if ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Savage Worlds Powers - trappings and other options

In Savage Worlds, when choosing Powers for a character, you're sometimes given a lot of options. Most famously, you get to choose Trappings for the Power, but also there's "Raise/Lower Trait". My ...
5
votes
3answers
213 views

Does a monster that saves against effect that gets reapplied by Dark Reach of Xevut get to save again?

In response to a monster saving against a dominate effect at the end of its turn, I successfully hit with Dark Reach of Xevut and chose to apply the dominate back to the same monster as an immediate ...
5
votes
1answer
258 views

How many times does “Hammer of the Gods” deal extra damage?

The Cleric level 3 Encounter Power Hammer of the GodsDDI (Divine Power) states: Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier radiant damage. When any ally hits the target before the start of your next turn, the ...
5
votes
1answer
202 views

Does replacing a basic melee attack with an encounter power expend the use of the power?

When using an encounter power to replace the basic melee attack at the end of a charge, such as daring charge (barbarian lvl 3 encounter power, phb2) does this expend the use of said encounter power? ...
5
votes
1answer
236 views

Can the Skald's Armour power be used to make a creature attack itself?

Can the Skald's Armour power be used to make a creature attack itself? Power Daily (Immediate Interrupt) Trigger: An enemy targets you with a melee attack. Effect: The triggering enemy instead ...
5
votes
4answers
242 views

What is the range for mental disruption?

Mental Disruption has conflicting info. It says Range: 10 ft. Area: 10-ft.-radius spread centered on you If the range of the spell is 10 ft, how can it be centered on you? Was this ever ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How do Psion At-Will Powers work?

Where can I find the list of Psion Powers? I know where the At-Wills, Encounters, etc. are, but where are the powers upon which I can spend power points? I'm a fairly green DM, and this is my first ...
5
votes
1answer
265 views

Can Oath of Enmity and Divine Challenge be stacked on the same target?

We have a Paladin and an Avenger. Both aim to kill the last standing baddie. The Paladin uses Divine Challenge on the target, then the Avenger wishes to use Oath of Enmity on their next turn. The ...
5
votes
1answer
243 views

Can my Cleric with the Primordial Adept theme use his holy symbol for theme powers?

The Primordial Adept theme, which gives rod proficiency and has Implement-keyword powers, mentions no restrictions or caveats to its powers' implement use. Do only rods work for Primordial Adept ...
5
votes
1answer
422 views

Does a Barbarian need to start out adjacent to his ultimate target to use Pressing Strike?

Suppose a Barbarian (with a reach 1 weapon) isn't adjacent to any enemy, but there is one 1 or 2 squares away. Can he use Pressing Strike to shift adjacent to that enemy and attack all in one action? ...
5
votes
1answer
561 views

What changes to Blinding Barrage, as reflected in the October 2011 errata updates, actually happened?

Listed here it states the Blinding Barrage has had it's damage reduced. On the errata for the Player's Handbook (page 8) as of the October update it states that: Blinding Barrage Page 119: Delete “2[...
5
votes
1answer
361 views

How to deal with obtaining more Force Powers than available?

Because high wisdom is relatively easy to get halfway up the level curve, as is multiple iterations of the Force Training feat; it is quite possible to have a copy of every Force Power ever printed ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Is there any limit to how many ranks you can take in a power?

Recently I have started to design a character in Mutants and Masterminds third edition, and have hit a snag. We start at power level 8, so could I only take 8 ranks in any power, or could I go as far ...
5
votes
1answer
142 views

Warlock's Shadow Legion

Shadow Legion[DDI] (Heroes of Shadow p75) creates a conjuration for each enemy in the area of effect, which each make an attack against the enemy it was created for. Great, that all makes sense. ...
5
votes
2answers
128 views

Does Manifestation of Wrath heal depending on the number of enemies hit or not?

The power says: Daily Divine, Radiant Standard Action Close burst 1 Target: Each enemy in the burst Effect: Each target takes 10 + Wisdom modifier radiant damage, and you ...
5
votes
2answers
419 views

Are the powers listed only in the Red Box available to use or deliberately removed?

I don't see Poised Strike and Stone Blood in any books other than the 4e Red Box. I believe there are quite a few others (listed below). Why weren't these added into the 4e PHB or other 'essentials' ...
5
votes
1answer
433 views

Are Innate powers reused every turn or is the current manifestation just maintained

In Anima: Beyond Fantasy, I am playing a mentalist and I have access to an innate slot and the energy discipline power Energy Shield. I was wondering if making that an innate power reused the power ...
5
votes
3answers
198 views

Does ending a Power early take the equivalent of an action?

Obviously it normally takes an spellcasting action to use Shape Change (Savage Worlds Deluxe EE, p. 115) to shift into animal form, but the description says nothing about how shifting back to normal ...
5
votes
1answer
146 views

Can Pursuit of the Hunter be triggered in the middle of the enemy's movement?

From Pursuit of the Hunter: Trigger: An enemy within 2 squares of you moves on its turn Does the triggering enemy have to start its movement within two squares, or can the power be triggered mid-...
5
votes
3answers
193 views

How do you make a Bicycle in Mutants and Masterminds?

Hopefully the last time I have to ask someone a question about M&M 3e, but here it goes. I've been experimenting with a character that has a Blast Affliction that has the quirk of activating, ...
5
votes
1answer
121 views

How many attacks does Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) involve?

The 17th level rogue encounter power Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) states the following: Effect: You can shift a number of squares equal to 2 + your Charisma modifier. Two times during this ...
5
votes
2answers
199 views

How much of a person or object must cross an extra-dimensional space's interface from inside, in order to attack a target outside of said space?

The party is in the habit of using extra-dimensional spaces such as Rope Trick or Psychoportive Shelter. Recently they want to use it as a sniping blind or bunker. As per the description of either, ...
5
votes
3answers
387 views

Does having two sources of damage in one attack count as two damage rolls?

For instance, if an attack power allows you to do "2d8+3 plus 1d6 fire damage", and you're under the effects of a power which gives you "+4 to all damage rolls", would the +4 be added to both the ...
5
votes
1answer
177 views

Damage effect costing some of your own life

I am currently helping one of my players create a power where he "sacrifices" some of his life in exchange for dealing even more damage to an opponent. I thought it to be like the player has to pass ...
5
votes
1answer
158 views

How Long does Unnerving Shove cause the target to grant Combat Advantage?

The level 3 Ardent power Unnerving Shove's Augment 2 states the following: Hit: 2[W] + Charisma modifier damage, and you push the target a number of squares equal to 1 + your Constitution modifier. ...
5
votes
2answers
588 views

Final Fantasy Style/Tales of Symphonia Style Summoner in 4e

I’m trying to build a character for a 4e game but I’m having trouble picking a class and powers that go with the feel I’m looking for. I want to effectively play a Final Fantasy style or a Tales of ...
5
votes
1answer
153 views

Can a close burst attack hit flying creatures?

As a rogue, I used acrobat's blade trick with a magical dagger in an attempt to hit two flying creatures adjacent to me. At the time, the DM let me hit the creatures, although we remain unsure as to ...
5
votes
1answer
102 views

How can the Bolt power miss?

The Core Rulebook page 151 (Activation) implies that the bolt power can miss: A character activates a power by picking a target within Range and making an arcane skill roll. A roll less than 4 ...
5
votes
1answer
328 views

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark or some other version of a mark?

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark (e.g. Aegis of Assault) or some other version of a mark? Powers like Swordmage: Dual Lightning Strike, lvl 3 ...
5
votes
1answer
147 views

How do Aspect Miracles and Auctoritas interact?

In Nobilis does the Auctoritas defend against Aspect Miracles? What would this look like, i.e. how best to roleplay to avoid "forcefield" phenomena.
4
votes
2answers
445 views

Does Word of Life interrupt and heal a dying ally before they fall unconscious?

The Bard level 10 utility power Word of Lifeddi states: Immediate Reaction Close burst 20 Trigger: An enemy attack reduces an ally within 20 squares of you to 0 hit points or fewer ...
4
votes
2answers
308 views

Can a Surprised character use powers triggered when initiative is rolled?

Certain powers are triggered when initiative is rolled, such as the power for the Casque of Tactics. Power (Daily): Free Action. Use this power when initiative is rolled. Swap initiative check ...