Questions tagged [powers]

For questions about powers, which generally refer to discrete abilities of a character, typically but not always associated with combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
2answers
385 views

What exactly does the Ardent's Wormhole Plunge do?

I am the DM in a campaign in which one of my friends plays an ardent. Everyone agrees with my friend that his ardent's Wormhole Plunge power kills any enemies that go into it. Is this true? It's ...
4
votes
1answer
503 views

Is it possible to use Fey step to bypass locks?

In D&D 4e Eladrin get an ability called fey step which allows them to teleport 5 squares per encounter. Would an Eladrin be able to peek through a keyhole and bypass a door by teleporting?
4
votes
5answers
911 views

Is the Jedi Power Mind Trick OP?

I'm GMing a Star Wars Saga Edition campaign, with a party of 2 Jedis (lvl 3). One of them took the Mind Trick Jedi Power and he takes advantage of the (basically) unlimited use per day (with only a 1 ...
4
votes
1answer
307 views

Can I use “Heroic Effort” benefit with a reroll?

I've just found this item: Couters of Second Chances (Adv I 116): Power (Daily) Free Action. Use this power when you miss with a melee attack. Reroll the attack, and use the ...
4
votes
1answer
138 views

Does Thunder Buffer only work once per round?

My friends and I recently had an issue with the sorceror ability Thunder Buffer. Daily, Arcane Minor Action, Personal Effect: Until the end of the encounter, you gain a +2 ...
4
votes
2answers
253 views

Does this combination of Battlemage Readiness & Spellsword Perfection with Dimensional Charge work?

Can an assault swordmage combine Battlemage Readiness & Spellsword Perfection to gain a 4[W] immediate reaction whenever an enemy violates its mark? Battlemage Readiness (11th level): When you ...
4
votes
1answer
244 views

Does a power improve with your level?

Do powers "level up" with your character? In other words, does a power's effect ever increase with your level, or is it stuck doing exactly the same thing as when you first got it? For example, if I ...
4
votes
1answer
328 views

Temporary HP on missed attack

Let's say I attack with a power that gives me Temporary HP like Bolstering Strike (Paladin). Do I still get the THP even if I miss?
4
votes
2answers
691 views

Does glowering threat work the same way as a mark or differently?

I'm playing a high level fighter in a long term D&D campaign and a specific issue related to one of my powers has come up regularly and been a source of dispute at our table. I have the power ...
4
votes
2answers
383 views

What happens to a dying Revenant in the Stunning Palm stance?

Unnatural Vitality: When you drop to 0 hit points or fewer and are subjected to the dying condition, you can choose to be dazed, instead of falling unconscious. You make death saving throws as normal, ...
4
votes
1answer
109 views

How to price “Lifting ST” with a “Payload Only” limiter?

Designing a vehicle ally for a super, it has the payload advantage. But I want to buy "Lifting ST" limited to its payload only. How much (-NN%) would be a "Payload Only" limiter on Lifting ST? I am ...
4
votes
1answer
211 views

What does a Limited Degree Affliction do to a Minion?

It's a rule that minions suffer the worst possible result with a missed save (simple case, any failed Toughness save renders a minion dead or unconscious). Does this include Limited Degree with ...
4
votes
2answers
277 views

Can brawler fighters sustain grabs from their powers?

The brawler fighter attack powers that enable grabbing contain the following line: ... The grab ends automatically at the end of your next turn. Can players sustain these grabs with a minor action ...
4
votes
1answer
750 views

Do I always have access to my domain powers?

I am playing as a cleric of Fharlanghn in my first D&D campaign ever. We are using 3.5 rulings and only the handbook to get our feet wet. This gives me access to the luck and travel domains which ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

How many Encounter Powers can I use during an Encounter?

So, I have a lvl. 1 cleric! I have 1 Encounter power + the power of my deity + Healing Word. But how do encounter powers work? Either you can only use ONE power from the whole 'encounter' category ...
4
votes
1answer
194 views

Does sustaining Mountain's Might allow an extra attack?

The Level 9 Shaman power Mountain's MightDDI (Dark Sun Campaign Setting) does the following: Primary Target: One ally Effect: Your spirit companion disappears. Until the end of your next turn, ...
4
votes
3answers
3k views

Is this a valid method to use Shadow Walk + Fleeting Ghost?

I would like to play a level 6 hybrid Assassin/Rogue MC Warlock in the Thunderspire Labyrinth. The character summary is given below. I have the Shadow Walk[DDI] (SW) ability and also have Fleeting ...
4
votes
2answers
229 views

How long does Alternate Form last: a turn, or until canceled?

I'm just getting into Mutants and Masterminds, and have encountered a snag while building a character: I don't know if Alternate Form only lasts for the turn or if it's the kind of thing where you ...
4
votes
2answers
346 views

Inevitable Strike: do I have to declare which die is which?

Inevitable Strike No Action Range Personal Trigger: You make a melee weapon attack roll. Effect: Make the attack roll twice. If both attack rolls hit, the target takes 1d8 extra ...
4
votes
1answer
209 views

Rogue daily power Profit from Weakness

I'm building an Rogue duelist and have a question about the lvl 9 daily: Profit from Weakness Profit from Weakness You step aside as the enemy’s attack sweeps toward you. You then slide your ...
4
votes
2answers
588 views

What does “any enemy you deal damage to” mean in Bloody Blades?

I am looking at Bloody Blades for my L9 fighter, but I have a question before I take it. The second effect line on the power has the following text: You can assume the stance of the bloody blades. ...
4
votes
1answer
41 views

Can an alternate Effect have the Reaction extra?

I've been playing around with making a Kung-Fu master for some time in Mutants and Masterminds, and I'm nearly done. However, I'm not sure if I constructed their attacks correctly. The image that I ...
4
votes
2answers
144 views

What's the Cap on Minion Summoning?

just screwing around with Character Creation again in Mutants and Masterminds. I'm just a little confused with how the Summon power functions, specifically its limits. I know that each attack and ...
4
votes
1answer
185 views

Is there a “Murderous Command” equivalent for Psions?

Does the Psion have an equivalent power to the spell Murderous Command? I can't find one.
4
votes
1answer
115 views

Does Beast-Friending a horse overrule the rider?

A PC successfully casts Beast Friend on an NPC's horse while the NPC is riding on it (e.g. charging in battle). If the PC now suggests the horse to run away or lie down, does the horse simply do that, ...
4
votes
1answer
300 views

Are the following moves legal when affected by the dread carapace power?

Dread Carapace is the L6 utility in the Misshapen theme from Dragon Mag 416. Part of the power states: In addition, when any enemy ends its turn adjacent to you, it must use a free action to move ...
4
votes
1answer
308 views

Does Deep Shroud affect the Sorcerer's own attacks?

I was considering using Deep Shroud, but have a question on attacking through the cloud it creates. The Effect reads: "You create a shroud of supernatural shadow around you. Until the end of your next ...
4
votes
2answers
832 views

How many attacks can you make with Duelist's Prowess in a round?

Duelist's Prowess Reads Effect: Until the stance ends, each time an enemy hits or misses you, you can use the Duelist's Prowess Attack power against it. But then the associated power is an ...
4
votes
1answer
46 views

How do I build Multiple Defenses/Security Systems for the same Heaquarters?

I'm taking a slog through Mutants and Masterminds 3e again. This time, I'm working on a character with a county-sized headquarters (Awesome headquarters with Grounds feature). In his backstory, the ...
4
votes
1answer
92 views

Did I miscalculate this Variable Power?

I've been messing around with Character Creation in Mutants and Masterminds 3e, and I want to double check to see if I have this right. I wanted to have the Variable power (from p. 132 of the Hero's ...
4
votes
1answer
131 views

How extra:Action and Dimensional Pocket work?

Dimensional Pocket require two actions (standard/move); one to open the pocket (the standard action) and one to move objects in/out (the move action). The extra:Action decreases one step time it takes ...
4
votes
1answer
191 views

When can an enemy attempt to break free from Arms of the Abyss?

Trying to code Arms of The Abyss in AnyDice, I understood that I don't actually understand the rule. Or do I? As I get it for now, it works like this. You roll Manipulation + Occult to determine the ...
4
votes
1answer
184 views

In D&D 4E can effects that come before the attack line, make an attack power legal to use?

Seems like a simple thing, but it got my whole group in an argument. It was over the Assassin level 3 encounter power "inescapable Shadow" which states Before the attack, teleport 5 squares to a ...
4
votes
1answer
82 views

Earthreaver Stompers (Boots) Daily Power Target Clarification

To the point: Does the Daily Power given from the Earthreaver Stompers (AV) attack each creature in the burst, each enemy in the burst, or one creature in the burst? "Power (Daily): Standard Action. ...
4
votes
1answer
220 views

How does Wizard spell preparation deal with non-spell powers?

How do non-spell powers work with Wizard preparation? Say, for example, I made a Tiefling Wizard with the Grim Isolation racial daily power — how would this work with regards to choosing my ...
4
votes
1answer
68 views

How does the Impervious Modifier apply to Defenses other than Toughness?

It's been about a Month since i started playing Mutants and Masterminds 3e with my friends, and we absolutely LOVE the system (particularly the one-shot modules), but something in the Impervious ...
4
votes
1answer
87 views

How do you make a Gravity effect?

I've been doing character building exercises in M&M3e so I can have a better grasp on the Dos and Don'ts of the system. I was thinking of that one scene from Batman Beyond where the one villain ...
4
votes
1answer
197 views

How much ammo does an area burst weapon attack use?

While I was perusing a CharOp guide for the Seeker class, I saw a suggestion of a Hybrid Seeker|Executioner build. While my first thought was to the use the Seeker at-will powers that count as basic ...
3
votes
1answer
899 views

Does the Rogue's Riposte stop the enemy's attack?

Rogue's Riposte Strike (PHB1 Pg 118) says: Hit: 1[W] + Dexterity modifier damage. If the target attacks you before the start of your next turn, you make your riposte against the target as an ...
3
votes
3answers
384 views

Can you spend a Power Point to add a power to a premade Array of Powers?

We have finally played our first session in Mutants and Masterminds 3e, a premade module that at the end of it, offered to each of my players 3 Power Points to spend and power up their characters. My ...
3
votes
1answer
332 views

Does a Daily gained from a feat count against my current 3/day limit?

I am playing a tiefling level 9 Rogue and I learned the Diabolic Soul feat that gives me the Diabolic Transformation daily feat power. Right now I can use only 3 daily powers in one day. Will Diabolic ...
3
votes
1answer
146 views

What's the duration of Savage Transformation?

What's the duration of the wizard level 5 attack power, Savage Transformation? The card reads: Hit: 2d8 + Intelligence modifier damage, and you partially transform the target's mind and body ...
3
votes
2answers
661 views

Assassin multiclass feat for Shade Form

Is there an Assassin multiclass feat that grants Shade Form? I found one for Assassin's Shroud and Shadow Step but I can't find one for Shade Form.
3
votes
1answer
729 views

Wizard's Fury grants a second attack per turn?

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as ...
3
votes
1answer
146 views

Does Seeker's Biting Swarm give both a dex bonus and wis bonus to damage?

Biting Swarm damage is calculated at 1[W]+Wis. If you are using an xbow would that be 1[1d10+Dex]+Wis?
3
votes
1answer
270 views

Does a Half-Orcs furious assault affect non damaging attacks?

A question came up in todays session. If a Half-Orc uses an attack power that doesn't do any damage (for example, Song Of Discord, Bard 5) can they still apply the damage granted from their Furious ...
3
votes
1answer
166 views

Does Vampire's “Hidden Power” trigger on “Blood Drinker” and base power

Hidden Power says: You gain a bonus to the damage rolls of your vampire powers and vampire paragon path powers. The bonus equals your Charisma modifier. So, let's say you're a level one vampire. ...
3
votes
1answer
931 views

How do Hybrid Warlocks get Eldritch Blast?

I may be reading this wrong but with the hybrid rules in PHB3 it doesn't seem to say that a Hybrid Warlock does or does not get Eldritch Blast which in PHB1 it says all Warlocks have. Does this ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

I'm looking for advice on Wizard status effect powers. Anyone have good advice?

After studying up on the wizards forums and reading the class 'handbooks' there (as well as getting pummeled to near death in the last few combat encounters in my group), I've begun to consider using ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Master of Flame (Paragon Path) and Flaming Weapon

Master of Flame paragon path has a level 12 Utility Power called Burning Transformation. Burning Transformation - You transform into a creature of fire until the end of the encounter. While in this ...