Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange
Join us in building a kind, collaborative learning community via our updated Code of Conduct.

In D&D 3.0 and related editions, a prestige class is a class that a player can take in addition to their starting class, to expand the options their character has or to specialize in certain aspects of said class.

2
votes
1answer
42 views

Does a Skald’s Raging Song qualify as a “similar ability” for the Pathfinder Chronicler’s Bardic Performance?

In terms of both description and flavor, the Skald’s Raging Song appears to function as a Bardic Performance, albeit with different effects. It is treated as Bardic Performance for the purpose of ...
4
votes
2answers
70 views

Can a Swiftblade with Perpetual Options benefit from extra attacks that don't normally stack with Haste?

A 9th level Swiftblade gains the Perpetual Options class feature: Perpetual Options (Ex): At 9th level, you can perform even more actions with the haste spell. Instead of making one extra attack at ...
7
votes
1answer
59 views

Rules Question on Prestige Classes and Level Scaling Caster Abilities (from the base caster class)

My GM and I are having a bit of a debate about what those prestige classes that add "+1 level of existing class" actually do when in it comes to base class abilities that have a level scaling ...
4
votes
2answers
106 views

Do the numbers from a prestige class replace or add to your base class numbers?

I've played before but never long enough for me to get to try to prestige. I'm trying to figure out how to go about prestiging my character. I understand you need to meet the requirements. For example ...
5
votes
1answer
74 views

Does the Stargazer's Mystery Magic (hex) class feature counts as Hex for the purpose of prerequisites?

A character taking levels in the Stargazer prestige class receives, at first level, the Mystery Magic class feature. That ability gives it a choice of any hex from the witch or shaman (heavens) lists, ...
3
votes
1answer
85 views

Can a hulking hurler use both its two-handed hurl tricks with one attack?

The prestige class hulking hurler at levels 2 and 3 gains the extraordinary ability two-handed hurl trick that, in part, says that he "chooses one of the following tricks. In order to use any of these ...
3
votes
2answers
78 views

Can Imbue Arrow be used with spells from items, spell-like abilities or supernatural effects?

One of my players has a high level rogue and is thinking about taking a dip into Bard and then Arcane Archer, to be more useful when fighting things that don't die from Sneak Attacks. She has a ton ...
3
votes
1answer
113 views

Can a Mind Mage/ StP Erudite learn Shapechange as a 1st level power?

Can a character with levels in Mind Mage and Spell-to-Power Erudite learn their own spells (i.e. Shapechange) as powers at a below normal spell level (i.e. 1st level) with the Mind Mage's Focus of ...
1
vote
0answers
27 views

Does the XP penalty for non-favored class apply to prestige classes? [duplicate]

In D&D 3.5, a character with multiple classes suffers an XP penalty if two of their classes are more than one level apart, but favored class is ignored for that purpose. (Player's Handbook, p.60). ...
1
vote
2answers
118 views

What non-explicitly-psionic Prestige Classess advance psionic manifesting?

So, I was looking for a way to close up my Cerebremancer (Wizard/Psion) build with emphasis on Psionic side (I like it way more) and as little Manifester Level loss as possible, and... There's not a ...
1
vote
1answer
86 views

Kensai PrC “Multiclass” Clause

The DnD 3.5e Kensai PrC contains this clause: Multiclass Note: A samurai, paladin, or monk who becomes a kensai may continue advancing in his original class. Does this mean that they continue ...
5
votes
1answer
108 views

Can a Master of Unseen Hand wield oversized weapons with telekinesis? And would he have the -4 on the attack?

I'm planning a MoUH as dungeon boss for my campaign and I was figuring out this kickass fling mage in a black cloak that has at first a huge object hidden in straps on his back. Suddenly he levitates ...
2
votes
1answer
39 views

Infusions & +caster level

I know this exists in a book somewhere but I can't find it no matter how much I look and Google has failed me. How do prestige classes that offer + effective spellcaster level affect an articifer and ...
5
votes
1answer
140 views

Can an apostle of peace wear magic items?

The prestige class apostle of peace in its weapons and armor proficiency class feature says As part of their sacred vows, apostles of peace forswear the use of armor, though they may wear magic ...
2
votes
1answer
100 views

What happens when you Imbue arrow with sleep?

So if you go through the Arcane Archer prestige class at level 2 of arcane archer you can imbue your arrows with spells which basically allows you to give your choice of spell ... really whatever ...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

Is there any way to protect NPCs from Emissary of Barachiel?

One of my friends keeps complaining that a guy in his game, who is playing an Emissary Of Barachiel, is breaking the game by converting every NPC that was supposed to betray the group to the lawful ...
2
votes
2answers
428 views

Is there anything preventing warlocks from learning and casting invocations listed in warlock prestige classes?

This question has opened a Pandora's Box in my head. The first answer (and resultant discussion) states that warlocks are unable to learn invocations described in prestige class descriptive text ...
7
votes
1answer
224 views

Does an Apostle of Peace violate their vows by casting End to Strife?

End to Strife is a spell on the Apostle of Peace PrC spell list that deals damage to creatures who make attacks in its area, yet an Apostle of Peace is forbidden by their vows from dealing damage. ...
7
votes
1answer
96 views

Can a creature with hit die get a prestige class without getting a class level?

Creatures like dragons start with four hit die and those hit die provide them with enough power to classify for several prestige classes. Can such a creature select a prestige class before getting a ...
4
votes
1answer
126 views

What comes first, a class level or bonus from leveling? (Prestige Class Question)

Example: Duelist Requirements: To qualify to become a duelist, a character must fulfill all the following criteria. Base Attack Bonus: +6. Skills: Acrobatics 2 ranks, Perform 2 ranks....
2
votes
2answers
156 views

Does a Pale Master “know” animate dead enough to scribe a scroll?

The Pale Master prestige class entry reads Animate Dead (Sp): Starting at 2nd level, a pale master begins to exercise control over the undead. Once per day, he can use animate dead, as the spell, ...
6
votes
3answers
343 views

Do the rebuilding/retraining rules from PHB II allow “bootstrap” qualification, creating legal characters that could not be made without these rules?

The rebuilding/retraining rules (PHB II, p. 192) allow a player character to retroactively change character choices, including feats and class levels. The rules include some restrictions that look ...
3
votes
5answers
449 views

Methods of Early Entry for Evangelist in Pathfinder

So, I am in a rather complex build, and I'd like to be able to enter the Evangelist PrC at ECL 4. Current build is thus: Graveknight 2 (template CR is being treated as class levels in this game)/...
16
votes
1answer
309 views

What were the winning prestige classes?

Wizards of the Coast in Jan. 2001 sponsored a prestige class contest on the company's messageboards, and, I assume, announced the results mid-April. Unlike the earlier spellwriting contest that saw ...
5
votes
1answer
160 views

When doesn't a Mystic Wanderer AC bonus apply?

The Mystic Wanderer PrC (Magic of Faerûn p. 35) allows one to add Cha to AC: Glory of the Divine (Su): A mystic wanderer who wears no armor gains a sacred (or profane, if her patron deity is evil) ...
5
votes
3answers
93 views

Can I circumnavigate an unexpected swift action disadvantage when leveling up battle herald?

Here's a little RAW background for my problem: The Battle Herald is a Bard/Cavalier prestige class that gets inspiring commands. They're like bardic performances, but more combat based. Along with ...
4
votes
1answer
111 views

Psionics/Magic Transparancy and PrC Qualification

So, I'm in a campaign that is running full (aka, 100%) Psionic-Magic Transparency. I'm a Divine Caster with not psionics classes, but am interested in taking Thrallherd. So, for purposes of ...
3
votes
1answer
122 views

Can I multiclass into Planar Shepherd again to get an additional plane?

So, this is an odd little question. For this, I'd like answers to include the following, if possible: Rules as Written Rules as Intended Flavor-text/infamous DnD 3.5e Vagueness potential Now on to ...
1
vote
1answer
247 views

Does the first level of the Agent of the Grave count as a new level gained for its spell progression?

The text of the Agent of the Grave's class feature, "Spells Per Day/Spells Known" reads When a new Agent of the Grave level is gained, the character gains new spells as if he had also gained a ...
3
votes
0answers
67 views

Were the veth's spells per day and spells known ever corrected?

While digging through and compiling aging material, I happened upon the Greyhawk-specific prestige class veth (link is to the Internet Archive version; the original apparently gone). The class ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Apostle of Peace committed murder willingly. Now what?

The apostle of peace killed an orc. Willinglly. Justify as you wish that said orc is chaotic evil, that he eats newborn elf babies, whatever. They broke the vows. The vow of peace feat was stripped ...
3
votes
1answer
162 views

Specialist Wizard became an Incantatrix. Two specalizations?

Gwendolin the Elven Arcanist is a Transmuter Wizard (banned schools: necro, evocation) that became an Incantatrix (Magic of Faerun ver.): Upon becoming an incantatrix [...] the incantatrix is a ...
1
vote
1answer
95 views

Is there any other class that qualifies for the “prepared” side of Ultimate Magus than the Wizard?

Ultimate magus allows you to advance both a "prepared" and a "spontaneous" arcane class spellcasting progression. The most obvious choice would be Sor/Wiz, but Bard/Wiz works too. There are several ...
3
votes
2answers
395 views

What does the Exotic Weapon Master's Uncanny Blow require?

The Exotic Weapon Master (Complete Warrior, p. 30) has, as one of its optional class abilities, the Weapon Stunt Uncanny Blow. Uncanny Blow gives a benefit to the Exotic Weapon Master "[w]hen ...
1
vote
1answer
216 views

Is an erudite's spell to power alternate class feature close enough to spells to qualify for prestige classes requiring spellcasting or spells?

Is an erudite's spell to power alternate class feature close enough to spells to qualify for prestige classes requiring spellcasting or spells? Keep in mind that the power of psionics is a psi-like ...
8
votes
1answer
270 views

How to progress Chameleon spellcasting?

The Chameleon class has both the Arcane Focus and Divine Focus class features which allows a character to cast Arcane spells and Divine spells respectively. It is explicit that: You can't use any ...
14
votes
4answers
1k views

Is it possible to achieve 9th level spells in 3 different progressions?

With just a little shenanigans, you can get 9th level in 2 progressions. I think Wizard 3 / Druid 3 / Mystic Theurge 10 / Arcane Hierophant 4 does the trick (If I am not mistaken - no books on me ...
15
votes
3answers
372 views

Which identical image appears in each of these editions' DMGs?

The just-for-fun prestige class conventioneer (or, if that doesn't work for you, here) that was posted on Wizards of the Coast Web site in 2001 possesses the special ability convention savvy. The ...
2
votes
1answer
189 views

Crystal Master and Vow of Poverty

Is there any way for a character with the Crystal Master prestige class and Vow of Poverty to use the class's embed gem feature without breaking the vow? The gem must cost 100 gp but it is destroyed ...
5
votes
2answers
348 views

Kensai Monks and Unarmed Strike questions

So, I'm currently building a Monk for a 3.5e campaign. While researching development options, I came across the Kensai prestige class from the Complete Warrior book. However, it led me to some ...
0
votes
1answer
127 views

Do Soul Manifesters (by RAW only) have the ability to advance a meldshaper class they formerly possessed?

If I'm a psion 3/incarnate 1 and I lose my incarnate class due to level loss, can I qualify for soul manifester using feats and then advance the incarnate class to which I belonged prior to taking my ...
1
vote
1answer
204 views

Can I meet noble scion’s Knowledge (nobility) 5 ranks requirement before 5th level?

I'm looking to get into the prestige class noble scion however all of the skill prerequisites Skills: Bluff 2 ranks, Diplomacy 2 ranks, Knowledge (nobility) 5 ranks, Sense Motive 2 ranks. can be ...
4
votes
2answers
528 views

Early entry into mindbender prc

This splits from my previous question. This time I'm interested in the fastest way to enter mindbender prestige class as a wizard (or cleric 1/wizard X, if it helps). Plain and straight. You may use ...
4
votes
1answer
193 views

How can an ultimate magus control spellcasting progression when Practiced Spellcaster isn’t enough?

A background in the ultimate magus class and how it progresses spellcasting An ultimate magus progresses a prepared-spellcasting arcane class and a spontaneous-spellcasting arcane class at each of ...
2
votes
1answer
319 views

Racial HD and Meditant Prestige Class Qualification

If I understand it correctly, Racial HD count as character levels for how many ranks you can have in a skill. Does this mean that a psionic character with 4 racial hd could qualify for the meditant ...
0
votes
1answer
40 views

How does Windrider interact with polymorph?

Dnd 3e's Masters of the Wild introduced the Windrider prestige class. Windriders can designate a mount (subject to some restrictions) and give it various bonuses, including bonus HD. A fifth-level ...
4
votes
1answer
377 views

When do prestige bard/ranger/paladin get access to their spells?

Prestigious Character Classes says: The bard, paladin, and ranger spell lists contain a number of spells that don't appear on other classes' spell lists. In general, any character who enters one of ...
5
votes
1answer
149 views

How do Masters of the Nine prepare maneuvers?

Say I have a multiclass warblade/swordsage. I want to go into Master of the Nine. What are my initiator levels for each class? How do I prepare maneuvers gained through the PrC? Under what classes ...
4
votes
1answer
576 views

How many Animal Companions does a Beastmaster have?

The Beastmaster Prestige Class has the following class feature. Animal Companion (Ex): A beastmaster gains the service of a loyal animal companion. See the druid class feature, pages 35-36 of the ...
4
votes
1answer
315 views

Is there a mistake in the shadow illusions example?

The prestige class shadowcraft mage (Races of Stone 120–2) at level 3 gains the supernatural ability shadow illusion that says that the creature can infuse [its silent image, minor image, major ...