Skip to main content

Questions tagged [proficiency]

For questions about a character's proficiencies. Broadly, proficiency refers to the ability to use a specific skill or piece of gear without taking penalties for not knowing what you're doing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-2 votes
0 answers
70 views

One of my DND characters is a ranger and I don't understand how proficiencies works [closed]

I need help understanding. I've looked everywhere but I cannot find anything that has been useful and if someone can, please explain how it works simply so I can understand.
Sage's user avatar
  • 1
2 votes
0 answers
145 views

Expertise and additional doubling proficiency bonus [duplicate]

I have been experimenting with a multiclassed Draconic Bloodline sorcerer (lvl 14) and bard (lvl 6). I have expertise through bard on both persuasion and deception giving them both +12 and then with ...
ado_enthusiast's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
884 views

Which is More Positively Effective, Math-Wise: Modifier Bonuses, or Expertise?

After my previous question about my character, I went off the deep end to find what role is needed in my party, exactly. Long-story short, we need a high DEX skill monkey. I'll have trouble with the ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,503
5 votes
1 answer
235 views

Are D&D 3.5 Armor Proficiencies Always By Category?

In comments under an otherwise persuasive answer, KRyan mentions that armor proficiencies are always by category, i.e. armor proficiencies only come as light, medium, and heavy armor proficiency. This ...
fectin's user avatar
  • 13.7k
8 votes
2 answers
919 views

Is using a shield "wearing armor" or not? Conflicting rulings on Defense Fighting Style and Shield Proficiency

The "Armor Proficiency" part of the Armor section on the PHB reads: Anyone can put on a suit of armor or strap a shield to an arm. Only those proficient in the armor’s use know how to wear ...
Matías Odriozola's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
817 views

How many Proficiencies should I have?

I playing am a Shifter (Wildhunt), Druid (Circle of the Shepherd) with a Gruul Anarch background. I am not sure how many Proficiencies I should have. Please help me get the right number.
capricornuss's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does proficiency with a Poisoner's Kit protect you from exposure while Harvesting Poison?

The Dungeon Master's Guide (p. 258) describes a risk if you badly fail to harvest poison from a creature: A character can … attempt to harvest poison from a poisonous creature … The creature must be ...
yeastgoblin's user avatar
  • 1,320
2 votes
0 answers
55 views

Is there a way to make a character proficient in every skill? [duplicate]

Is there a way to have a PC proficient in every ability(not including the bards "Jack of All trades" class feature) in D&D 5e while obtaining the full proficiency bonus? If not, what is ...
TieflingDragon84's user avatar
14 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is there a way to temporarily gain tool proficiencies?

Is it possible for my character to gain proficiency with a tool temporarily? I'm playing an Artificer, so I can create the tools I need using The Right Tool for the Job, but that doesn't give ...
Jorn's user avatar
  • 2,162
9 votes
1 answer
325 views

Literacy and Dual Classing AD&D Proficiencies?

I've got a bunch of players about to dual class and they aren't supposed to use their old class abilities, but some basic things bother me: Reading/Writing Their Native Language Foreign languages ...
Tristian's user avatar
  • 4,136
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is Arcana the only profiency in 5e that locks something behind the *skill* profiency system?

What opportunities are locked behind skill proficiencies? I keep trying to look through things as soon as I learned that because of XGTE you can only craft scrolls / magic items if you have ...
laz zlo's user avatar
  • 193
8 votes
1 answer
3k views

Expert proficiency with Advanced weapons

I can become trained with any Advanced weapon through the Weapon Proficiency feat, if I take it enough times. How can I become an expert with it? Taking the various Weapon Familiarity feats (like ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
20 votes
4 answers
4k views

After a Ghost possesses an armored character, is it basically limited to a single attack per turn with disadvantage?

The Possession trait of the ghost says: Possession (Recharge 6). One humanoid that the ghost can see within 5 feet of it must succeed on a DC 13 Charisma saving throw or be possessed by the ghost; ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.5k
3 votes
2 answers
556 views

What are the rules, if any, regarding equipping a dragon with weapons in 5e?

The question has been asked as to whether or not a dragon can wield weapons in 5e, and for the first time in a long time, I am stumped about how to answer. I first searched the stack exchange, finding ...
Joshua's user avatar
  • 91
9 votes
4 answers
1k views

Is there a class (including variants) with Survival, Knowledge (nature), and Heavy Armor Proficiency?

I'm looking for a class that has Survival and ideally also Knowledge (nature) as class skills, to easily meet prerequisites for a prestige class (Weretouched Master). That's easy enough, but it would ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
7 votes
1 answer
832 views

Is proficiency needed to Trip with a weapon?

Can a Wizard use a Guisarme to Trip an enemy in a non-adjacent square? Weapons only list the proficiency for attacks (CRB p278): Melee attack modifier = Strength modifier (or optionally Dexterity for ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

How do you calculate proficiency bonus for monsters?

I'm making monsters on Dnd beyond, and I always get the proficiency bonus wrong. I need to know how to calculate proficiency bonus for a challenge rating 8 monster.
Primalsavage of Treetribe's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can a Soulknife Harengon add a Psionic Energy Die to Initiative Checks?

I've been searching forums and brainstorming about this idea. I am curious about how many holes can be put in this theory and how many DMs would allow this at their table. Supporting Evidence Every ...
Tails's user avatar
  • 101
13 votes
3 answers
2k views

What is stronger: an ability that can be used proficiency bonus times, or one that can be used once per short rest?

A lot of races and classes have abilities that can either be used proficiency bonus times per long rest, or that can be used once per short or long rest. For evaluating homebrew races, you often need ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Can I use Tool Expertise and Fire Rune both at the same time? [duplicate]

Tool Expertise At 6th level, your proficiency bonus is now doubled for any ability check you make that uses your proficiency with a tool. (Artificer) Fire Rune This rune's magic channels the ...
Orwell's user avatar
  • 13
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can monks use a Sun Blade as monk weapon?

Rules as written, can monks use a Sun Blade as a monk weapon? Sun Blade Weapon (longsword), rare (requires attunement) Properties: Versatile, Finesse
Slaves_of_the_Coast's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the Artificer's Homunculus Servant infusion have any tool proficiencies?

The artificer's Infuse Item feature (TCoE, p. 9; E:RftLW, p. 57) grants access to a number of infusion options, one of which is the Homunculus Servant (TCoE, p. 21; E:RftLW, p. 62). I'm just trying to ...
Rakiden's user avatar
  • 21
5 votes
1 answer
636 views

What is the standard terminology for proficiency?

I’ve seen a few things that say “you are proficient with X”, other things that say “you have proficiency with X”, and still others that say “you gain proficiency in X”. Is there a standard for these? ...
TheDragonOfFlame's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a tortle become proficient with thieves’ tools if they have large fingers and long claws?

I'm a new DM and I'm helping two members of my party create their first characters. One wants to be a tortle druid. Their chosen background is Far Traveler but they also want to be proficient with ...
fsa's user avatar
  • 391
8 votes
2 answers
4k views

Is a weapon proficiency also a skill proficiency, or are the two things completely distinct from each other?

A simple question to answer, I thought, but so far I've been unable to find a reference that really clarifies it. The context for it is the Skill Expert feat in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything. Part of ...
RickL's user avatar
  • 1,130
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does Proficiency bonus get added to rolls for raw Ability checks?

Suppose that I'm requested to roll a raw Ability check, such as an Intelligence check or a Dexterity check. (I realise that these checks are relatively rare, compared to skill checks such as Arcana or ...
Jakub Konieczny's user avatar
15 votes
5 answers
2k views

Is there any means to improve vehicle use other than the artificer's 6th-level Tool Expertise feature?

I'm going to be starting a new campaign in the new year, in which the party are crewmembers of an airship. I'm planning to have my character be the helmsman, and as such I have a tool proficiency in ...
Brian S's user avatar
  • 3,378
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you get the benefits from tool proficiency to make ability checks, even if you don't have/own the tool?

I'm sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but all the related questions I found asked the opposite scenario (using the tool you own without having proficiency), and the PHB is pretty poor in ...
Subjecterino's user avatar
-7 votes
2 answers
3k views

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in?

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in? Extra Attack: Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
5k views

Does the monk's Diamond Soul feature apply to death saving throws?

The description of the monk's class feature Diamond Soul says the following: Beginning at 14th level, your mastery of ki grants you proficiency in all saving throws. Additionally, whenever you make a ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

What rules apply when Saving Throw proficiencies overlap?

I'm a playing in a custom setting. The DM says all races are allowed, including the Human (Keldon) variant, from the Plane Shift: Dominaria handbook. One of the traits of the race is this: Keldon ...
Dremons's user avatar
  • 295
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

What proficiencies do you need to craft Serpent Scale Armor?

What proficiencies do you need to craft Serpent Scale Armor? My DM said I need both Smith's Tools and Leatherworker's Tools because there's both metal and serpent scales needed to craft it. If it's ...
Nil Nox's user avatar
  • 173
3 votes
1 answer
745 views

Can the weapon master feat give proficiency with firearms?

The feat gives proficiency with 4 simple or martial weapons of your choice. From what I understand the renaissance firearm weapons in the DMG are classified as ranged martial weapons. So, could this ...
Mike's user avatar
  • 101
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

When you are granted a tool proficiency, which type of tools can you choose?

At various places in the books it is mentioned that you gain proficiency in: a type of tool (eg. Skilled feat; p.170 PHB) and a type of artisan's tool (eg. Folk Hero background; p.131 PHB) Which ...
svenema's user avatar
  • 2,359
12 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can a 6th level rogue select Investigation for their Expertise feature even if their Intelligence modifier is +0?

So I started playing d&d a while ago, but when I was building my first character ever I didn’t completely know what I was doing so I assigned my rolls to abilities I didn’t totally need to have ...
Thorn Sixx's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
611 views

Does multi-classing provides weapon proficiency of the guest class?

As a Wizard, multi-classing into Fighter (through Multi-class Feat), would the Fighter multi-class provide the weapon proficiencies that the Fighter otherwise gains from its class? I found no evidence ...
Dyin's user avatar
  • 597
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Are you able to apply your tool proficiency bonus when there is an overlap with a skill but you are not proficient in that skill?

So for DnD 5e, XGtE expanded/clarified the use of Tool Proficiencies and very specifically talks about when skill and tool proficiencies overlap and what to do in those situations (advantage or added ...
Plucky54's user avatar
  • 559
0 votes
3 answers
13k views

Effects of wearing armor without proficiency

The PHB (p. 144) says: If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you have disadvantage on any ability check, saving throw, or attack roll that involves Strength or Dexterity, and you can’t ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.5k
13 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does armor and weapon proficiencies work with sidekicks?

A noble wears a breastplate and wields a rapier, but the "Bonus Proficiencies" section of the spellcaster sidekick class reads in part: The sidekick gains proficiency with light armor, and ...
Spencer's user avatar
  • 641
8 votes
3 answers
760 views

Is a Blade Pact Warlock proficient when wielding their pact weapon in an improvised fashion?

The Pact of the Blade Warlock is proficient with their pact weapon while they wield it. Suppose that a Blade Pact warlock is wielding a longsword as their pact weapon (either because they created a ...
sptrashcan's user avatar
  • 4,415
5 votes
1 answer
10k views

Does the "Changing a Skill" optional rule from Tasha's allow me to change a skill proficiency from the background for one offered by the class?

Does the "Changing a Skill" optional rule from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 8) allow me to replace a skill proficiency from my background with a skill proficiency offered by my class? ...
sbb's user avatar
  • 113
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is there any precedent for doubling the proficiency bonus only if the character has a given skill proficiency?

A number of character classes have features that allow them to double their proficiency bonus when using selected skill proficiencies. An example is the Bard's Expertise: [C]hoose two of your skill ...
RedGeomancer's user avatar
  • 6,609
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is there any way to get proficiency (or expertise/doubled proficiency) in Constitution checks?

I was looking for any official way - class feature, magic item, anything - for a character to add their proficiency to any form of Constitution check, but I couldn't find anything. Is it possible to ...
PseudoDruid's user avatar
  • 1,281
4 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can I stabilize a character if I don't have proficiency in the Medicine skill or any healing equipment or abilities?

Can I stabilize someone by simply rolling a DC 10 Wisdom check if I don't have the Medicine Skill or any other healing-related equipment or abilities?
Keef's user avatar
  • 73
28 votes
3 answers
5k views

Why do we assume that PHB rules apply to monsters?

The party is deep into my 5e-updated classic Greyhawk Giants series. They are returning the body of a stone giant killed in the siege of Headwater to the stone giant's clan. The Thane of the Stone ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.5k
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

If I'm proficient with a bastard sword, does that qualify as being proficient with a martial weapon?

My character is a Kensai, which means he is only proficient with simple weapons, and one martial or exotic weapon of his choice. He has chosen proficiency with the bastard sword. A bastard sword is ...
hamburgerpls's user avatar
  • 1,698
5 votes
3 answers
772 views

Does unarmed proficiency get downgraded in Pathfinder 2e polymorph spells (animal form etc.)?

Every polymorph spell that grants you special attacks in your battle form notes that you are trained with these attacks. They are also always unarmed attacks. Does your proficiency bonus for these ...
Arne Brandt's user avatar
5 votes
5 answers
2k views

Can you choose not to add your proficiency bonus to an attack roll?

I'm building a very gimmicky multiclass crit-confirmation paladin, and as a part of my build I have a feature that lets me reroll a failed attack roll as a reaction. The idea is that I want to fail at ...
Moxie Riles's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
554 views

Does proficiency work on natural armor?

If I have a PC that has natural armor giving 13+Dex if he wears no armor, will proficiency have any effect on that (or does no proficiency exist for natural armor)?.
Thomas E.'s user avatar
  • 8,159
14 votes
2 answers
2k views

What is the comparative value of armor proficiencies?

Is medium or heavy armor proficiency as racial feature more powerful (in general) than light armor, or is it just favoring different kinds of builds? The intent is that I want to playtest some racial ...
Anagkai's user avatar
  • 16.5k

1
2 3 4 5 6