Questions tagged [proficiency]

Broadly, proficiency refers to the ability to use a specific skill or piece of gear without taking penalties for not knowing what you're doing.

4
votes
2answers
848 views

Does Jack of All Trades count for having proficiency in Performance for practicing a profession?

According to p. 187 of the PHB, you can use your Performance skill to maintain a wealthy lifestyle during downtime, if you have proficiency in it. Does having the Jack of All Trades feature count? ...
27
votes
5answers
57k views

What is the point of a shield proficiency?

PHB describes the downsides of wearing an armor you are not proficient with: Armor Proficiency. Your class gives you proficiency with certain types of armor. If you wear armor that you lack ...
2
votes
0answers
413 views

If a bard has expertise in Persuasion, doubling his Proficiency Bonus, does drawing the Throne card from the Deck of Many Things double it again? [duplicate]

The Throne card in the Deck of Many Things (5e) says, "You gain proficiency in the Persuasion skill, and you double your proficiency bonus on checks made with that skill." If a 4th level Bard who ...
5
votes
1answer
10k views

Ranger Attack Bonus seems too high

I'm DM for my group of friends and have a question about our Ranger. He was level 6 last session, and had a +11 to hit. +5 from DEX, +3 prof, +2 from Archery style, and +1 from his bow. Against the ...
1
vote
2answers
5k views

What does Weapon Master do if you choose a weapon you're already generally proficient with?

What happens if you get the Weapon Master feat and select a specific weapon whose general type you are proficient with? Weapon Master You have practiced extensively with a variety of weapons, ...
24
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you gain a proficiency bonus, without being proficient?

I'm asking with a particular eye on the Rogue's level 11 feature, "Reliable Talent": Reliable Talent By 11th level, you have refined your chosen skills until they approach perfection. Whenever ...
1
vote
1answer
300 views

Determining how to apply Bonuses and Penalties to Ability Checks

I've recently begun trying to understand and implement nonweapon proficiencies as written in the AD&D 2e Player's Handbook. Most aspects of the system seem to come across clearly enough; my ...
2
votes
3answers
6k views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock proficiently use weapons given by race? [closed]

I am starting a campaign and I am looking to play a pact of the blade warlock. So at first I was thinking of creating a human character in order to get 1st level feat ...
5
votes
5answers
751 views

Does proficiency with improvised weapons also give proficiency with some actual but very simple weapons (like a club)?

This is a question related to a very specific situation : I had an idea about an unorthodox build for an ape animal companion. Animals only have melee attacks by default, and even the rules mention ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Can A Psionic Talent Be Cast Wearing Heavy Armor?

As most of you know, according to the Player's Handbook, it isn't possible to cast a spell while wearing armor you aren't proficient in. Have there been any rulings on this in regards to expending ...
30
votes
1answer
30k views

Do you have to be proficient in armour to use it?

Do you have to be proficient in armour to be able to actually wear it?
14
votes
1answer
22k views

Do you have to be proficient in a weapon to use it?

Do you have to be proficient in martial weapons to use a martial weapon for example?
1
vote
4answers
1k views

Why have a starting proficiency bonus at all? [closed]

I've just started running a 5E game after decades away. Im coming from the BECMI and AD&D era. I remember how finding a sword +1 plus +2 against goblins at low levels was quite a haul. But it now ...
25
votes
7answers
26k views

Is there any way for my wizard to learn just sword proficiency?

Can a wizard learn a single weapon proficiency (similar to how they can learn a tool set or language, which use Training rules), or are costly and over-blown options like multi-classing, feats, or ...
11
votes
2answers
8k views

Is There A Non-Homebrew Way To Add Proficiency to Initiative?

I know in some homebrew classes, such as Matt Mercer's Gunslinger Archetype, you can add your proficiency bonus to your initiative modifer. Are there any ways of doing this in the official rulebooks?
10
votes
1answer
5k views

What determines monster proficiency for skills not listed in the Monster Manual?

For each creature in the Monster Manual, a few special cases are listed for skill checks if applicable. For every other skill check, how do you determine whether the monster has proficiency? (...
9
votes
2answers
117k views

How do I calculate my skill modifier?

I'm trying to fill out the skills section on my first character, but when I look at the character sheets in the Starter Set as examples of how to make a character, the skills that are circled have ...
16
votes
1answer
102k views

How does Expertise work?

Bards get Expertise at level 3. How does this work? For example, if I have a standard proficiency bonus of +2, and if I have proficiency in Perception with a Wisdom ability modifier of +2, then my ...
7
votes
1answer
7k views

Does the proficiency bonus stay the same at each level in a tier or am I supposed to add to it at each level?

I'm looking at the Character Advancement table on pg15 of the 5e Players Handbook. It shows that levels 1-4 have a +2 proficiency bonus each, levels 5-8 are +3 each, etc. I don't know if it is telling ...
10
votes
3answers
32k views

What is the purpose of having proficiency with artisan's tools?

One of my players wants to build a forge (see How much gold would the construction of a forge cost?). I explained to him how the creation of a magic item works (like a +1 weapon, for example), and he ...
7
votes
1answer
264 views

Do monster PCs get racial weapon proficiencies?

I remember reading that all monster characters are assumed to be proficient in any weapons listed in their MM description, but when they take class levels they lose these and have only class ...
17
votes
4answers
30k views

Are there rules for using gaming sets?

Just started DMing, and in a moment of hubris had a NPC challenge the party to a game of cards… which one of the PCs was proficient in. When asked the reasonable question of "ok what now," I realized ...
10
votes
1answer
805 views

How do you determine the success of a nonweapon proficiency that the character doesn't have?

In AD&D 2nd Edition, if a character, for example, has the Fishing Nonweapon Proficiency, the rules are clear about how to determine their success at fishing: Each hour the character spends ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Do you add your proficiency bonus if you are not proficient in the skill but you are proficient in the stat?

I have a sorcerer with 10 dex, which is +0 and 16 cha which is +3 So if I make a dex saving throw, I get +0 as I have no proficiency If I make a cha saving throw, I get +3 and since I am proficient ...
2
votes
4answers
2k views

D&D 5e - Proficiency Question [closed]

I'm new here and this is my first question, so please excuse me if I didn't follow the rules or something. I received my 5th edition D&D books recently and I'm working on a basic translation of ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Is it possible to double your proficiency bonus twice? [duplicate]

Let's say I'm a multiclass rogue/ranger and I have taken Expertise in survival checks. Now, if a ranger is in their favored terrain it says they double their proficiency bonus in intelligence and ...
-1
votes
0answers
367 views

Help a DND noob out? Proficiency and how it is used? [duplicate]

I am extremely new to D&D and I'm filling out a 5th edition character sheet for the first time. I chose my race as elf and it says, "You have proficiency in the Perception skill." What's ...
19
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Bard's Jack of all Trades increase passive checks?

Jack of all Trades increases all ability checks in which the bard is not proficient. Passive checks are ability checks. (PHB5e p.54 & 175, respectively) Does that mean I can add half my ...
13
votes
2answers
7k views

Do I get my proficiency bonus with Shillelagh?

I am considering picking up the Shillelagh cantrip as part of my book of shadows pact boon as a level 3 Warlock. The spell description states that I get to use my spell casting modifier (Cha + 3) ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Weapon Proficiency without needing a particular class/race or multi-classing

Other than taking the Weapon Master feat, is there any way of gaining proficiency in either one weapon or martial weapons that doesn't either extend from being a certain class/race or multi-classing?
14
votes
1answer
31k views

Proficiency bonuses and multiclassing: highest, add all together, or what?

When you multiclass, do you only use the highest proficiency bonus of any of the classes you have, do you add together all the proficiency bonuses from any classes you might have levels in or do you ...
8
votes
3answers
10k views

How many skill proficiencies does a College of Lore Bard have?

In fifth edition D&D when creating a bard it says you have 3 skills of your choice. I'm guessing that mean proficiency in those skills. When you level up to level 3, it you choose College of Lore, ...
47
votes
3answers
6k views

I Roll To Seduce The Dragon! (or, Do doublings of proficiency bonus stack?) [duplicate]

Lets say there exist some enterprising young bard 3/ sorcerer 1 named Kirk. Deciding to uphold (long past) family tradition, he has chosen to go out and have a little half-dragon of his own. He ...
5
votes
1answer
712 views

When does a monk have proficiency with deflected missiles?

Does the monk have proficiency when throwing whatever missile he catches only when throwing it back, or can he be considered to have proficiency with (for example) throwing arrows any time besides ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Do bonuses from proficiency and Fighting Style stack?

One of the pregen fighters in the Starter Set has proficiency in simple & martial weapons, giving a +2 bonus, but also has the Archery fighting style, giving a +2 bonus. I don't see these added ...
1
vote
2answers
98k views

How do skills work? [duplicate]

I am a new player creating a rogue character and I'm struggling to understand how the skill system works. I've spent about an hour searching through the Basic Rules and can't find anything. I'm ...
20
votes
3answers
16k views

What's the advantage of being proficient with a Disguise Kit over the Deception skill?

In one instance, a player uses his Disguise kit proficiency to craft a well-made disguise, and then whenever someone makes a check to see though it, he adds his proficiency bonus plus relevant ability ...
5
votes
2answers
519 views

Do Neraphim Get any Armor Proficiency?

Outsiders get what ever armor proficiency is "described" for their race. Only Description I've seen for Neraphim: Neraphim also prefer to wear strangely colorful body-covering bone spiked leather ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a Ranger's Companion get proficiency bonuses twice on its skills?

A Ranger's Companion (PH p.93) enjoys the following bonuses relative to a typical member of its species: Add your proficiency bonus to the beast's AC, attack rolls, and damage rolls, as well as to ...
23
votes
4answers
194k views

What are the choices for proficiency in a musical instrument?

The rules say the following regarding musical instruments (PH p.154): Each type of musical instrument requires a separate proficiency. Since this text is an annotation for the equipment list on ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Which stat and proficiency bonuses of a creature you transform into do you gain?

When you transform into a creature via a spell or wild shape, you gain its Str, Dex and Con ability scores, but keep your Int, Cha and Wis scores. However, if the creature you're transforming into has ...
1
vote
4answers
271 views

Can 4e druids use machetes? [closed]

I don't even know if machetes are in d&d but since druids can use simple weapons would a druid be able to use a machete.
4
votes
3answers
4k views

Arcane trickster and proficiency bonus

A quick question regarding the rogue's arcane trickster archetype. In his spell table (PHB p.98), there is no column with the proficiency bonus, like for the other spellcaster classes. Does this mean ...
2
votes
1answer
244 views

Do I have to be proficient with an Implement to get its properties?

I'm trying to get low-light vision with any magic item that is not a Head slot item. I found Totem of the Night (Adventurer's Vault 2 pg.46). Property: You gain low-light vision. If you already ...
1
vote
0answers
136 views

5th ed duplicate proficiencies [duplicate]

Example, assassin rogue with the charlatan background, both the class and background specify the disguise kit as a proficiency. What do you do about that to even it out? With the second proficiency do ...
11
votes
1answer
7k views

Are mountain dwarves proficient with shields?

In 5e, the Moderately Armored feat grants proficiency with both medium armor and shields. It is, that I can see, the only feat that grants proficiency with shields. Every single class that has ...
14
votes
1answer
75k views

When do you add the proficiency bonus?

I am very new to D&D, but I cannot seem to find when to add the proficiency bonus. From what I can tell from the character sheet, there is a proficiency bonus for a specific task, and another (on ...
20
votes
3answers
6k views

How does Jack of All Trades interact with Reliable Talent?

The Bard's Jack of All Trades says you can add half of your proficiency bonus to rolls to skills that you otherwise can't add your proficiency bonus. And the Rogue's Reliable Talent feature lets them ...
33
votes
5answers
100k views

How can you gain proficiency in a skill after level 1?

I have been reading the Basic Rules a couple times, but could not find any way to gain proficiency in skills past level 1. For example, if I create a Rogue, I may chose 4 skills among 11: ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?