Questions tagged [proficiency]

For questions about a character's proficiencies. Broadly, proficiency refers to the ability to use a specific skill or piece of gear without taking penalties for not knowing what you're doing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
523 views

Do Neraphim Get any Armor Proficiency?

Outsiders get what ever armor proficiency is "described" for their race. Only Description I've seen for Neraphim: Neraphim also prefer to wear strangely colorful body-covering bone spiked leather ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a Ranger's Companion get proficiency bonuses twice on its skills?

A Ranger's Companion (PH p.93) enjoys the following bonuses relative to a typical member of its species: Add your proficiency bonus to the beast's AC, attack rolls, and damage rolls, as well as to ...
23
votes
4answers
204k views

What are the choices for proficiency in a musical instrument?

The rules say the following regarding musical instruments (PH p.154): Each type of musical instrument requires a separate proficiency. Since this text is an annotation for the equipment list on ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Which stat and proficiency bonuses of a creature you transform into do you gain?

When you transform into a creature via a spell or wild shape, you gain its Str, Dex and Con ability scores, but keep your Int, Cha and Wis scores. However, if the creature you're transforming into has ...
1
vote
4answers
271 views

Can 4e druids use machetes? [closed]

I don't even know if machetes are in d&d but since druids can use simple weapons would a druid be able to use a machete.
4
votes
3answers
5k views

Arcane trickster and proficiency bonus

A quick question regarding the rogue's arcane trickster archetype. In his spell table (PHB p.98), there is no column with the proficiency bonus, like for the other spellcaster classes. Does this mean ...
2
votes
1answer
251 views

Do I have to be proficient with an Implement to get its properties?

I'm trying to get low-light vision with any magic item that is not a Head slot item. I found Totem of the Night (Adventurer's Vault 2 pg.46). Property: You gain low-light vision. If you already ...
1
vote
0answers
136 views

5th ed duplicate proficiencies [duplicate]

Example, assassin rogue with the charlatan background, both the class and background specify the disguise kit as a proficiency. What do you do about that to even it out? With the second proficiency do ...
11
votes
1answer
7k views

Are mountain dwarves proficient with shields?

In 5e, the Moderately Armored feat grants proficiency with both medium armor and shields. It is, that I can see, the only feat that grants proficiency with shields. Every single class that has ...
15
votes
1answer
76k views

When do you add the proficiency bonus?

I am very new to D&D, but I cannot seem to find when to add the proficiency bonus. From what I can tell from the character sheet, there is a proficiency bonus for a specific task, and another (on ...
20
votes
3answers
6k views

How does Jack of All Trades interact with Reliable Talent?

The Bard's Jack of All Trades says you can add half of your proficiency bonus to rolls to skills that you otherwise can't add your proficiency bonus. And the Rogue's Reliable Talent feature lets them ...
33
votes
5answers
105k views

How can you gain proficiency in a skill after level 1?

I have been reading the Basic Rules a couple times, but could not find any way to gain proficiency in skills past level 1. For example, if I create a Rogue, I may chose 4 skills among 11: ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?
21
votes
4answers
28k views

Are Monks proficient with unarmed strikes by default?

I can't find anything in the PHB that actually says that Monks are proficient with unarmed strikes by default. Their Proficiencies list just says simple weapons and shortswords. Their Martial Arts ...
14
votes
1answer
47k views

Do proficencies with one thing from multiple different sources stack?

In D&D 5e it is possible for a character to receive proficiency in the same skill, tool, weapon and/or armor more than once via Class, Race, and/or Background. Do any of these proficiencies ...
39
votes
4answers
573k views

Can someone explain what the “Proficiency Bonus” is in D&D 5e/Next exactly?

I am reading the 5e rules, and I keep seeing how you can add proficiency bonus to attack rolls checks with weapons you are proficient in and skill checks in skills you are proficient in, but I can't ...
1
vote
1answer
33k views

Do you get a proficiency bonus to AC?

Do you get a proficiency bonus to AC when wearing armor you are proficient with?
40
votes
3answers
39k views

What happens if I get the same skill from both my background and my class?

I made a trickster cleric with spy background. This caused an overlap of stealth and disguise. (Further compounded by me wanting to take hide in shadow ... which again granted me stealth.) What ...