Questions tagged [proficiency]

Broadly, proficiency refers to the ability to use a specific skill or piece of gear without taking penalties for not knowing what you're doing.

47
votes
3answers
6k views

I Roll To Seduce The Dragon! (or, Do doublings of proficiency bonus stack?) [duplicate]

Lets say there exist some enterprising young bard 3/ sorcerer 1 named Kirk. Deciding to uphold (long past) family tradition, he has chosen to go out and have a little half-dragon of his own. He ...
39
votes
4answers
540k views

Can someone explain what the “Proficiency Bonus” is in D&D 5e/Next exactly?

I am reading the 5e rules, and I keep seeing how you can add proficiency bonus to attack rolls checks with weapons you are proficient in and skill checks in skills you are proficient in, but I can't ...
39
votes
3answers
37k views

What happens if I get the same skill from both my background and my class?

I made a trickster cleric with spy background. This caused an overlap of stealth and disguise. (Further compounded by me wanting to take hide in shadow ... which again granted me stealth.) What ...
33
votes
5answers
100k views

How can you gain proficiency in a skill after level 1?

I have been reading the Basic Rules a couple times, but could not find any way to gain proficiency in skills past level 1. For example, if I create a Rogue, I may chose 4 skills among 11: ...
30
votes
1answer
31k views

Do you have to be proficient in armour to use it?

Do you have to be proficient in armour to be able to actually wear it?
28
votes
1answer
4k views

How long does it take to read and learn from a book?

My party has stumbled upon an abandoned library. They've found some books that they want to read and study. I've told them if they read and study the books they'll gain a proficiency bonus for the ...
27
votes
5answers
57k views

What is the point of a shield proficiency?

PHB describes the downsides of wearing an armor you are not proficient with: Armor Proficiency. Your class gives you proficiency with certain types of armor. If you wear armor that you lack ...
25
votes
7answers
26k views

Is there any way for my wizard to learn just sword proficiency?

Can a wizard learn a single weapon proficiency (similar to how they can learn a tool set or language, which use Training rules), or are costly and over-blown options like multi-classing, feats, or ...
25
votes
1answer
3k views

How does a bat have +0 modifier to attack?

I am quite new to playing DND and I'm struggling to understand how a bat has +0 to attack. I'm clearly missing something, but as per my calculations: A bat has a strength of 2 (-4 Modifier). This is ...
24
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you gain a proficiency bonus, without being proficient?

I'm asking with a particular eye on the Rogue's level 11 feature, "Reliable Talent": Reliable Talent By 11th level, you have refined your chosen skills until they approach perfection. Whenever ...
23
votes
4answers
195k views

What are the choices for proficiency in a musical instrument?

The rules say the following regarding musical instruments (PH p.154): Each type of musical instrument requires a separate proficiency. Since this text is an annotation for the equipment list on ...
22
votes
3answers
4k views

Would it be unbalanced for Dex-based Fighters to choose proficiency in Dex saving throws instead of Str saving throws?

Whilst building a Dex-based Fighter (an Arcane Archer), I decided to pick the Resilient feat at level 4 so that I could have proficiency in Dexterity saving throws, which makes sense given that they ...
22
votes
3answers
2k views

Is your proficiency bonus a class feature?

The shapechange spell question has raised a difference in opinion on whether or not the proficiency bonus is a class feature. The crux of the issue is that shapechange allows the character to retain ...
21
votes
2answers
5k views

Why is allowing players to stack their skill proficiency bonus overpowered?

I am the DM for a campaign and play with the following house rules: When gaining proficiency in any skill (during character creation, taking the Skilled feat, etc.), you may choose a skill more ...
21
votes
4answers
27k views

Are Monks proficient with unarmed strikes by default?

I can't find anything in the PHB that actually says that Monks are proficient with unarmed strikes by default. Their Proficiencies list just says simple weapons and shortswords. Their Martial Arts ...
21
votes
3answers
1k views

What values do I recalculate when I Wild Shape?

When I Wild Shape, I take a beast's STR, DEX, and CON scores. I keep my proficiency bonus and my INT, WIS, and CHA scores. I will focus this question on the assumption I'm proficient in Athletics, and ...
20
votes
9answers
6k views

How can a Forge Cleric obtain proficiency with swords at first level?

I am about to start a campaign of D&D 5th edition. I have a character in mind, a blacksmith with a thing for swords, who became a cleric worshiping a sword god. Mechanically this translates to a ...
20
votes
3answers
6k views

How does Jack of All Trades interact with Reliable Talent?

The Bard's Jack of All Trades says you can add half of your proficiency bonus to rolls to skills that you otherwise can't add your proficiency bonus. And the Rogue's Reliable Talent feature lets them ...
20
votes
3answers
16k views

What's the advantage of being proficient with a Disguise Kit over the Deception skill?

In one instance, a player uses his Disguise kit proficiency to craft a well-made disguise, and then whenever someone makes a check to see though it, he adds his proficiency bonus plus relevant ability ...
20
votes
1answer
422 views

Is it possible to have a character with proficiency in all martial weapons without proficiency in Medium armor?

When thinking more about this question: Are the requirements of a Horn of Valhalla cumulative?, I started to wonder if characters could effectively use horns without being able to use their lesser ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?
19
votes
2answers
4k views

Does proficiency in both simple and martial weapons mean my character is proficient in all weapons?

So I am building my first D&D character, it's a Barbarian Mountain Dwarf, and I'm trying to figure out what weapons he is proficient with, but in the Barbarian section it says that he his ...
19
votes
1answer
3k views

Are there mistakes on the pregenerated Starter Set wizard and ranger character sheets?

I am returning to D&D having not played since first edition and am trying to get my head around the character building process before I try and explain it to some new players. I have been ...
19
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Bard's Jack of all Trades increase passive checks?

Jack of all Trades increases all ability checks in which the bard is not proficient. Passive checks are ability checks. (PHB5e p.54 & 175, respectively) Does that mean I can add half my ...
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Would an artifact that enhanced proficiency be too over-powered?

I am the DM of 5e, and during my campaigns I try to allow characters to get an artifact — a legendary magical item — as a sort of personal side quest to build their character. This is something that ...
18
votes
3answers
4k views

When throwing a melee weapon without the thrown property is the proficiency bonus still added to the attack?

The rules for improvised weapons state that you can throw a melee weapon even if it does not have the thrown property for 1d4 damage: If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there a way for a Rock Gnome Artificer to have double proficiency with Tinker's Tools?

Background I want to make a Rock Gnome Artificer (from Unearthed Arcana) but there is something I'm not happy about with the character I'm planning. Rock Gnomes (PHB, p. 37) get proficiency with ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

Under what conditions would I NOT add my Proficiency Bonus to a Spell Attack Roll (or Saving Throw DC)?

For physical attacks, the scenario where you don't add your Proficiency bonus to an attack roll is relatively clear-cut: when you don't have proficiency in a weapon. If you're a Sorcerer trying to ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Rogue's Reliable Talent feature work for thieves' tools, since the rogue is proficient in them?

Does the Rogue's Reliable Talent work for thieves' tools, since the rogue is proficient in them? On PHB, pg. 96, it says when Reliable Talent is applicable: Whenever you make an ability check that ...
17
votes
4answers
8k views

Does a Druid in Wild Shape add their own Proficiency Bonus to the physical attribute of the Beast for Skills?

The PHB entry on Wild Shape states: "You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature." Does this mean you add the character's ...
17
votes
4answers
30k views

Are there rules for using gaming sets?

Just started DMing, and in a moment of hubris had a NPC challenge the party to a game of cards… which one of the PCs was proficient in. When asked the reasonable question of "ok what now," I realized ...
17
votes
2answers
9k views

Variant Half-Elf: is this meant to be Keen Senses AND another trait?

The Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide says: Some half-elves in Faerûn have a racial trait in place of the Skill Versatility trait. If your DM allows it, your half-elf character can forgo Skill ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Does multi-classing into Fighter give you heavy armor proficiency?

A lot of build guides I've seen suggest you should dip into Fighter in order to get heavy armor proficiency. But that doesn't seem right since the multi-class rules in the PHB (p164) does not list ...
16
votes
1answer
102k views

How does Expertise work?

Bards get Expertise at level 3. How does this work? For example, if I have a standard proficiency bonus of +2, and if I have proficiency in Perception with a Wisdom ability modifier of +2, then my ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Do monsters have proficiency with all weapons and armors?

As a bit of background, my players befriended a kobold and gave him a javelin (instead of the dagger a kobold usually have, according to his stat block). They later also gave him a leather armor for ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

How does the Cleric's Blessings of Knowledge feature interact with the rules for gaining proficiency when already proficient in a skill?

Scenario: I am a level 1 Half-Elf Monk, using a combination of my Monk starting skill proficiencies and Skill Versatility racial features to start with proficiency in Arcana, History, Religion, and ...
14
votes
1answer
31k views

Proficiency bonuses and multiclassing: highest, add all together, or what?

When you multiclass, do you only use the highest proficiency bonus of any of the classes you have, do you add together all the proficiency bonuses from any classes you might have levels in or do you ...
14
votes
2answers
14k views

How do I figure out how many proficiencies I get at level 1?

My character is a high elf rogue with criminal background. I ended up with proficiencies in acrobatics, deception, investigation, perception, performance, sleight of hand, and stealth. This gives me ...
14
votes
1answer
22k views

Do you have to be proficient in a weapon to use it?

Do you have to be proficient in martial weapons to use a martial weapon for example?
14
votes
1answer
5k views

Does/Should the Gladiator background grant proficiency in the weapon it gives?

The Gladiator background (an Entertainer variant, from PHB p. 130-131) gives a strange weapon (like a trident or net) as starting equipment, but doesn't explicitly specify that it gives proficiency ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Can A Psionic Talent Be Cast Wearing Heavy Armor?

As most of you know, according to the Player's Handbook, it isn't possible to cast a spell while wearing armor you aren't proficient in. Have there been any rulings on this in regards to expending ...
14
votes
1answer
75k views

When do you add the proficiency bonus?

I am very new to D&D, but I cannot seem to find when to add the proficiency bonus. From what I can tell from the character sheet, there is a proficiency bonus for a specific task, and another (on ...
14
votes
1answer
44k views

Do proficencies with one thing from multiple different sources stack?

In D&D 5e it is possible for a character to receive proficiency in the same skill, tool, weapon and/or armor more than once via Class, Race, and/or Background. Do any of these proficiencies ...
13
votes
2answers
7k views

Do I get my proficiency bonus with Shillelagh?

I am considering picking up the Shillelagh cantrip as part of my book of shadows pact boon as a level 3 Warlock. The spell description states that I get to use my spell casting modifier (Cha + 3) ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a multiclassed druid/rogue benefit from Expertise while in Wild Shape?

The text concerning changing proficiency bonuses for a druid's Wild Shape feature is as follows: Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast, but you retain your alignment, ...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

Does gaining a proficiency via the Shapechange spell let you add your original proficiency bonus if yours is higher?

For example, if a 17th level character with a +6 proficiency bonus and who isn't proficient in Acrobatics casts the shapechange spell to turn into a Quickling (who have a +6 Dexterity modifier and an ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

If I'm proficient in Investigation, and take the Investigator feat and the Prodigy feat, do I have triple proficiency?

I have a Half Orc who is proficient in Investigation so I was wondering, can I take the Investigator feat and also the Prodigy feat to gain triple proficiency on Investigation checks? If I become ...
12
votes
1answer
11k views

What proficiency gives you spell attack modifiers?

So I'm just starting out in DND and I'm confused about what allows a character to have proficiency bonuses in spellcasting. For example my level 1 Ranger has a +2 on shortbow attacks because he's ...
11
votes
3answers
4k views

Disguise Kit: do I need proficiency to use it?

I have a disguise kit from my bard's initial equipment (Entertainer's Pack). Do I need proficiency in such kit to be able to use it, or would proficiency simply increase my chance of having success ...
11
votes
2answers
8k views

Is There A Non-Homebrew Way To Add Proficiency to Initiative?

I know in some homebrew classes, such as Matt Mercer's Gunslinger Archetype, you can add your proficiency bonus to your initiative modifer. Are there any ways of doing this in the official rulebooks?