Skip to main content

Questions tagged [reactions]

For questions about reactions - an action taken by an entity in response to a trigger happening.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
2 answers
985 views

Can I use Misty Step during someone else's reaction?

On my turn, can I avoid a melee attack by using misty step when the enemy has readied an action to react to my movement?
small secret's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
103 views

Is 'at the end of your turn' also 'on your turn'? [duplicate]

Some effects, like a monster's legendary actions, only happen when a turn ends. Legendary Actions The phoenix can take 3 legendary actions, choosing from the options below. Only one legendary action ...
user10063's user avatar
  • 3,280
3 votes
1 answer
119 views

Does Reactive Strike counts as an effect, for purpose of Frigid Flurry

Frigid Flurry description end with this specific wording: The wind then picks you up and carries you to the other end of the area; though your movement within the gust can still trigger reactions, ...
Guy with jewels' names's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
422 views

Can you make a spell attack with the Hunter's Giant Killer?

The full Hunter's Prey ability is written as such (Player's Handbook p.93, emphasis mine): Hunter’s Prey At 3rd level, you gain one of the following features of your choice. Colossus Slayer Your ...
Jon Aristotle's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
123 views

Contingency against an attack of opportunity

Is it possible to use Contingency (7th) spell with Invisibility (heightened 4th), or any other 4th level/rank spell, with a trigger for an Attack of Opportunity? The objective of this "strategy&...
edgardcunha's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
153 views

Does a Large creature moving through a threatened area trigger Reactive Strike?

Consider a fighter (green), with a reach weapon (red), confronting an ogre (orange). On the ogre's turn, it Strides five feet southeast and then five feet east, ending adjacent to the fighter. Does ...
darch's user avatar
  • 2,477
4 votes
1 answer
257 views

Gift of Metallic Dragon Protective Wings duration

How long do the protective wings from the feat Gift of the Metallic Dragon last? The description of the Gift of the Metallic Dragon feat provided in the Fizban's Treasury of Dragons sourcebook states, ...
Bryan's user avatar
  • 103
7 votes
2 answers
764 views

Does dropping prone or standing when you are within an enemy's range or reach generate a reaction?

I would like to know whether standing up or crouching down when you are in an enemy's attack range generates a reaction; would leaving their attack range would do so as well?
Jesus Cabrita's user avatar
14 votes
2 answers
2k views

If a Goliath is hit by an attack, they have resistance to its damage type, and they also use Stone's Endurance, in what order is the damage reduced?

Let's suppose we have a raging Goliath Barbarian. They are hit by an attack that deals 36 slashing damage, and then, as a reaction, they use Stone's Endurance. Since they are raging, they have ...
turtrooper's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Intercepting a grappled Bite Swallow attack in place of an ally with Vigilant Guardian: What happens?

Let's use a Giant Toad as an example: Bite. The target is grappled, escape dc 13 Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the toad can't bite another target Swallow. The toad makes one ...
VoiceChatty's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
983 views

What's the exact RAW order of interaction between an Abjuration wizard with the Arcane Ward feature casting Absorb Elements in response to a Fireball?

What's the exact RAW order of interaction between an abjurer with the Arcane Ward feature casting absorb elements in response to a fireball? The curiosity comes up because you have two conflicting ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,408
4 votes
1 answer
281 views

"Each of your turns" Gathered swarm clarification

I'm trying to figure out if I can do the reaction polearm master and use gathered swarm if I hit I'm just honestly confused by the "each of your turns" part of gathered swarm.
SuprLarry's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Countering the Forcecage spell with reactions?

I am trying to create a reaction that a creature can use in order to avoid the OP effect of the forcecage spell. Here is the reaction description: When the monster sees a creature within 120 ft. of ...
Leonardo's user avatar
  • 913
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you make an attack with a crossbow and then prepare a reaction attack using action surge without the crossbow expert feat?

As far as I can tell no one has asked this question before, so forgive me if they have. This also assumes the character here does not have an extra attack, so they are probably level 2 or 3 in ...
defmod's user avatar
  • 708
9 votes
4 answers
2k views

What character options (except spells) increase AC as reaction?

Some monsters, (e.g. the Death Knight) have a reaction called Parry which enables them to increase their AC. Are there any character options that work the same way, i.e. increase AC as a reaction? I ...
Anagkai's user avatar
  • 16.5k
1 vote
0 answers
39 views

Would a target stunned by Stunning Strike still get their reaction to use against that attack? [duplicate]

In the particular instance that raised the question, a target that was hit--and stunned--by a Monk's Stunning Strike then used their reaction for an ability (Banishing Rebuke) which banishes the ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,373
2 votes
0 answers
29 views

Can the Warforged Soldier reaction "Protection" be used for an attack targeting him? [duplicate]

The Protection reaction on the Warforged Soldier Statblock states: Protection. When an attacker the warforged can see makes an attack roll against a creature within 5 feet of the warforged, the ...
JWhitewolfS's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
587 views

Does a party get a full round of readied actions after an enemy comes back from banishment spell?

So our party has a dragon banished. Our plan is to drop the banishment spell right after the dragon's turn in initiative. Can the whole party get a whole round of readied attacks and/or advantage and ...
Dnd junkie's user avatar
  • 3,131
6 votes
1 answer
780 views

Does the Aid reaction require the Ready action?

In Pathfinder 2e the term action is used both to define the "currency" of time in battle and to define pretty much everything that require such currency (Strike action, Stride action, ...
Snakehelm's user avatar
  • 2,417
11 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can the Silvery Barbs spell be cast on a target more than once as a reaction to the same roll?

Can the silvery barbs spell spell be cast on a target more than once as a reaction to the same roll? For example, say you have two wizards fighting one creature. The enemy passes a saving throw ...
Morthanal's user avatar
  • 483
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

What damage does a good Champion's Reaction actually reduce?

All 3 of the reactions of a good champion include the wording "resistance against the triggering damage", written in different ways. So a player of mine and I were debating about what is the ...
Snakehelm's user avatar
  • 2,417
16 votes
3 answers
1k views

What is the casting time of a spell cast using the War Caster feat?

The third benefit of the War Caster feat states (PHB, p. 170): When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
24 votes
2 answers
3k views

What happens if I provoke reactions from multiple creatures, but the first reaction would prevent me from continuing to provoke those reactions?

Let us picture this scenario: I am standing next to two enemies, and attempt to move directly away from them both, meaning I leave a space in the reach of both. Both of them really want to hit me with ...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,051
0 votes
2 answers
159 views

Does a reaction count as "[taking] another action"? [duplicate]

I recently created a homebrew spell which, among its other language, lasts until the start or your next turn or until you take another action or are incapacitated. My question is, would the caster ...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,051
3 votes
2 answers
184 views

Does Telekinetic Rebuke trigger on a save attack?

It's been previously well-established that AoE spells and things that don't actually involve an attack roll don't trigger things like Wrath of the Storm because that reaction, specifically, calls for ...
ThreeStarDave's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
80 views

How many Reactions can a player get per round? [duplicate]

There's been some discussion lately around one of my tables about Reactions. Some are of the opinion that you only get 1 Reaction per round. Others say this is not necessarily true. According to the ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can summoned creatures take reactions?

Animate Dead is used to summon a Hollow Serpent. An ally within the hollow serpent's reach is attacked, triggering Divine Guardian. Does the summon have a reaction with which it can use Divine ...
Linus's user avatar
  • 1,236
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can Hellish Rebuke be trigged by a damaging effect that also causes a condition such as "paralyzed" or "incapacited"?

Similar to a question posed here: Can you cast Hellish Rebuke as a reaction to damage that reduces you to zero hit points? However, I am wondering what should happen when a condition is applied as a ...
Buggy Buggman's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you use silvery barbs to get advantage on a saving throw?

The description of the spell says 1 reaction, which you take when a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself succeeds on an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw So it sounds like ...
Muhammad hiari's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

What spells take away an enemy's Reaction?

I know the cantrip Shocking Grasp removes an enemy's ability to use its Reaction if you hit: ... On a hit, the target takes 1d8 lightning damage, and it can't take reactions until the start of its ...
JFreeman's user avatar
  • 1,272
-6 votes
4 answers
348 views

If I trigger something on my turn, can I immediately take my Action to react?

Alberich the Absent-minded is moving towards the evil lich Xanax to put a leather bag over its head. Xanax' skeleton minion attacks him in passing with an opportunity attack. Alberich has not used his ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
19 votes
3 answers
3k views

Do you have to take a reaction?

One of my players just got the Shield spell, which has a cast time of 1 reaction. I realized that I always thought, reactions were automatic. But since Shield is a level 1 spell, this would be quite ...
TigersEye120's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
384 views

If you have a reaction that disrupts the trigger, can you cause a creature using Stand to remain Prone?

In a recent bout with lesser deaths, we noticed some particulars about Move Actions that Trigger Reactions. Particularly: If you use a move action but don’t move out of a square, the trigger instead ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
7 votes
1 answer
487 views

If you have a reaction that causes Prone, can you cause a creature using Stand to be Prone again?

In a recent bout with lesser deaths, we noticed some particulars about Move Actions that Trigger Reactions. Particularly: If you use a move action but don’t move out of a square, the trigger instead ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
7 votes
1 answer
555 views

Can a Temporally Shunted character use any remaining actions for its turn?

As an example of the sort of action I'm talking about, at 7th level, when an Arcane Archer misses an attack, they can spend a bonus action to redirect their arrow with Curving Arrow: [...] you can ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
280 views

Can I use Maneuvering Strike benefiting my mount, as a battle master?

Here's my scenario, I'm on a mount. I make a weapon attack and use Maneuvering Strike: When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can [...] choose a friendly creature who can see or hear you. ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
5 votes
0 answers
108 views

Twinned counterspell against multiple reactions [duplicate]

Wizard uses Magic Missiles on two opponents. Both opponents are using the Shield. The sorcerer uses Twinned spell on counterspell to counter the Shield. Can a sorcerer do that? I'm not sure if ...
Владимир Белаш's user avatar
17 votes
1 answer
2k views

Extra attack timing: can it be interrupted?

I am trying to figure out if an extra attack can be interrupted by another effect and terminate the attack action before all attacks are completed. The specific example I'm dealing with is thus: I ...
Jonathan Grant's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
50 views

Casting a spell and a bonus action spell then using a reaction [duplicate]

I have an interesting edge condition. If I cast Healing Word as a Bonus Action and Fire Bolt as an Action, can I still cast Shield as a reaction?
Blackninja543's user avatar
15 votes
1 answer
13k views

Does casting Counterspell on one's own turn contradict the '1-non-cantrip-spell per turn' rule?

I've read both the question Casting multiple spells in a single round and the question Is it possible to cast multiple spells per turn? about using multiple spells on my turn. I know there are plenty ...
MakePeaceGreatAgain's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
301 views

If an enemy hits a duplicate from the Mirror Image spell, does it trigger the Tempest cleric's Wrath of the Storm feature?

I'm playing D&D 5th edition. My character is a multiclassed Tempest cleric level 2/Sorcerer level 9. If an enemy hits one of the duplicates from a Mirror Image spell cast by me, does it trigger ...
Daniel's user avatar
  • 29
16 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do the smaller Black Puddings have their reactions in the same round as the original Black Pudding split?

The Split reaction available for the Black Pudding monster goes as follows: Split. When a pudding that is Medium or larger is subjected to lightning or slashing damage, it splits into two new ...
vpeter1119's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
963 views

Can Primal Savagery be used as a reaction with the War Caster feat?

My druid player has just taken the War Caster feat, which states (from the PHB): When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell ...
coppersparrow's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

On whose turn does a homunculus deliver its Artificer's spells?

I am DMing an Artificer for the first time and we have some questions about how his homunculus servant works. This question is about spells cast by the artificer but delivered by the servant. The ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.5k
12 votes
1 answer
995 views

If a Death's Head of Bhaal takes damage while it's asleep, can it use its Unstoppable reaction to reduce that damage to 0?

This came up in a recent session. The Death's Head of Bhaal (BG:DiA, p. 233) has a reaction called Unstoppable that allows it to reduce the damage from an attack to 0 (3 times per day). If a Death's ...
ForcedImmortal's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
361 views

Can you use reaction class features when receiving excess damage from polymorph ending?

Is it possible to use a reaction from your class when your polymorphed form is reduced to 0 hit points and the excess carries over to you? For example, let's say you're playing a rogue and your ...
RegularNormalDayGuy's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
778 views

What is the appropriate way to account for readied-action movement time and time to attack when trying to utilise Pack Tactics?

Context I want to play a character that is a Kobold race and make good use of their Pack Tactics. Pack Tactics. You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies ...
SpiderWaffle's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
491 views

Can you use free action(s) as part of a Ready Action?

The most obvious example of this, which came up in regards to another question's answer, is Quickened Casting Metamagic, but there may be other Free Actions that modify following actions or might ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
5 votes
1 answer
441 views

Does the Kuo-toa's Sticky Shield reaction work on natural weapons?

As the title says, the Kuo-toa creature has a reaction that can catch weapons. I'm curious if it works on natural weapons like bites and punches. Here is the text in question. Sticky Shield. When a ...
bonfire's user avatar
  • 752
3 votes
4 answers
619 views

Can a creature react to being targeted by a missile attack from a non-Hidden foe?

Making an attack has the following structure: Choose a target. Determine modifiers. Resolve the attack (typically as a hit or miss) Consider a creature, standing near an ally, who could potentially ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.5k

1
2 3 4 5