Questions tagged [readied-action]

For questions about readied actions. A readied action is an action "held" to react to an anticipated circumstance.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
281 views

Can you direct a controlled mount to ready a dash action?

So you're a ranged combatant riding a controlled mount, maybe a horse. Regarding "Controlling a Mount", the PHB states about controlled mounts: It moves as you direct it, and it has only ...
user avatar
  • 121
4 votes
0 answers
58 views

How does "hold action" work in EABA?

For EABA ("End All Be All" game system), you can "hold action" (page 8 of the quickstart rules) to act preemptively to a specific trigger (e.g. shoot if they try to shoot). How ...
user avatar
  • 71
13 votes
1 answer
343 views

When readying an action to cast a spell from a magic item, do you have to maintain concentration as though you were readying the Cast a Spell action?

Typically, when using the Ready action to cast a spell, the following rule applies (emphasis mine): When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
143 views

Can I use a Ready Action to Trigger an Opponent's Concentration Check?

Suppose, I (PLAYER) choose to Ready. Next turn, an enemy spellcaster (OPPONENT) casts a spell. Can PLAYER cast a spell during OPPONENT's turn via 'ready' and force OPPONENT to make a concentration ...
user avatar
18 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a druid release a readied spell whilst in Wild Shape?

The description of the druid's Wild Shape feature makes it clear that, whilst transformed: You can't cast spells [...] With the caveat that: Transforming doesn't break your concentration on a spell ...
user avatar
  • 5,301
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

What happens to the multiple attack penalty if I use a readied action to step out of melee range?

Under this video and in various groups, there is a debate about what happens after a character uses a readied action to step out of melee range. I did not find an official answer, so maybe you guys ...
user avatar
  • 1,690
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I hit a creature that has a reach larger than mine but is using itself to hit me?

The Enormous Tentacle Has the following attack: Constrict. Melee Weapon Attack: +6 to hit, reach 35 ft., one creature. Hit: 13 (2d8 + 4) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 16). ...
user avatar
  • 3,284
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a readied action trigger on loading a crossbow and take effect before the crossbow attack completes?

Situation: An enemy with a crossbow appears. On my turn, I shout "To your knees, hands behind your head!" and ready an action to shoot my own crossbow at him, if he begins to load his ...
user avatar
19 votes
3 answers
2k views

Are there any mechanical issues with removing the concept of "triggers" for readied actions?

Since I first read the Ready Action rules, the concept of a trigger rubbed me the wrong way. The idea that a character cannot adapt and improvise in the moment seems odd to me, and when I imagine them ...
user avatar
  • 2,127
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does a character taking the Ready action perceive time?

The Ready action lets you react to a "perceivable circumstance." Trying to ready an action based on the initiative order is apparently possible, if you Ready based on a creature moving or ...
user avatar
  • 3,403
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

I know you can not "Ready" a bonus action. But can you ready an attack action and use the bonus action before the attack action when the action is triggered? The rule for bonus actions says:...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
694 views

What is the appropriate way to account for readied-action movement time and time to attack when trying to utilise Pack Tactics?

Context I want to play a character that is a Kobold race and make good use of their Pack Tactics. Pack Tactics. You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies ...
user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
353 views

Do you have to specify what kind of attack or weapon you will Ready?

It seems logical that you can use the Ready action to prepare to grapple or shove an opponent if triggered. But can you just Ready an attack, and then decide when it's triggered whether to attack as ...
user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does this lake event in the "Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden" adventure allow a grapple as an opportunity attack?

There is an event in Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden (an official D&D 5e adventure by Wizards of the Coast) that seems to allow for a grapple attack as an opportunity attack. In the Lake ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
91 views

help with readied action [closed]

We roll a new initiative each turn to make it more random. The scenario: the fighter readies to attack the creature when it moves into his range. The creature moves but doesn't reach the fighter. on ...
user avatar
10 votes
4 answers
2k views

If I ready an action (spell) in response to a companion's attack, what is a fair GM ruling over the order of events?

In our campaign, I have a cleric who wished to use Ready an Action as his move. His idea behind this was that he wanted to ready Guiding Bolt and the condition he set was that, when one of the players ...
user avatar
  • 7,393
3 votes
4 answers
451 views

Can a creature react to being targeted by a missile attack from a non-Hidden foe?

Making an attack has the following structure: Choose a target. Determine modifiers. Resolve the attack (typically as a hit or miss) Consider a creature, standing near an ally, who could potentially ...
user avatar
  • 23.2k
0 votes
0 answers
404 views

Holding, Delaying, or Readying an Action? - Rules As Written [duplicate]

Please point or link me to any official rules (rules as written) on when a character can delay, hold or ready an action for later in a round, instead of going on their initiative. What does a ...
user avatar
  • 2,002
3 votes
1 answer
644 views

Can you warm yourself up with Fire Bolt?

During my last encounter my 3lvl wizard fell into a trap with freezing water below. He managed to save himself using Levitate, but during my party's post-game discussion there was a question of ...
user avatar
  • 349
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

In case a trigger for a readied action is someone else's reaction, what is resolved first?

I asked if you can ready an action with someone's reaction as a trigger. The answer is YES. But I'm still not sure - in such a case (i.e. a trigger for reaction being another reaction) - which ...
user avatar
  • 349
2 votes
1 answer
234 views

Can you Ready an action with someone's reaction as a trigger?

The rule for readied action says: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Of course, it's rather hard to be ready for someone's else reactions, especially first-...
user avatar
  • 349
4 votes
1 answer
136 views

How does trample work with hide and hide in plain sight?

Let's say there is a treant shadowdancer who does not appreciate interlopers in its forest. Assuming it has enough hide skill to remain unseen, and as silly as it sounds, can this treant trample over ...
user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

Produce Flame Cantrip as a readied or holding action?

A PC states that they are going to use the Ready action to cast produce flame. They want to produce the flame to see on their turn, but they want to wait until the trigger happens to hurl the flame. ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
164 views

How should I be handling readied actions and turn order? [duplicate]

The monster my players were fighting acted first in the intitative order. It dove into the lake and out of sight. They all readied actions to attack when it revealed itself. On its next turn it ...
user avatar
  • 21
4 votes
2 answers
887 views

With Crossbow Expert feat - can you Bonus Action attack on your turn, and then use a readied action to attack on someone else's turn?

I am playing a crossbow expert ranged rogue and trying to maximize my sneak attack capabilities in order to remain competitive with regard to DPR (Paladin and Fighter in the group). I am wondering if ...
user avatar
  • 49
1 vote
2 answers
314 views

Can a player use both a readied action and an immediate action?

Character A readies an action to counter a spell if Enemy Wizard casts a spell Character A is then attacked by Enemy Rogue, and uses an immediate action (like Windy ...
user avatar
  • 125
8 votes
1 answer
496 views

Does readying class features require concentration?

I'm interested in getting an answer for class features in general, but the specific case that came up for me was the following: A Grave domain cleric chose to ready Path to the Grave to use before ...
user avatar
14 votes
4 answers
2k views

Do you lose concentration on a Readied spell when you use your reaction for something else?

The War Wizard gets the Durable Magic feature at 10th level which states: [...] While you maintain concentration on a spell, you have a +2 bonus to AC and all saving throws. The Ready action states: ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
21 votes
5 answers
2k views

Can a Readied Action be used multiple times in the same round if you have multiple reactions?

A Marilith picks up a Longbow to use in combat. It walks to a tower window overlooking a large battle with many creatures. It takes the Ready Action with a trigger of "when a creature moves or ...
user avatar
  • 7,899
15 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can an enemy "surprise" a character with the Alert feat by readying the Attack action before initiative is rolled?

My character with the Alert feat was attacked and received damage pre-combat. Specifically, our party was walking through a dark cave, and on the ceiling there was a swarm of insects (that none of the ...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can someone use a Readied Help action between multiple attacks?

Scenario 1 : An ally is unseen and has Extra Attack. They have advantage on the first attack of their Attack action and I want to use the Help action to give them advantage on the second attack of ...
user avatar
  • 678
8 votes
1 answer
740 views

How does readying a spell interact with the Sorcerer's Metamagic feature?

The Ready action states (emphasis mine): [...] When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. [...] Thus, when you ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
4 votes
1 answer
463 views

Can you move during your reaction in a ready action?

So let's say that the party or the baddies want to dive a target all at once, but they are far apart on the turn order. Can the divers all do a ready action and then all jump in at once? Example: ...
user avatar
19 votes
4 answers
1k views

If a spell caster loses concentration on Greater Invisibility, and an opponent has readied a reaction, what happens first?

As an example, both the spellcaster and the opponent ("the archer") have 1 hp remaining, so whoever completes their action first will knock the opponent unconscious. The spellcaster casts Create ...
user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
32 views

Can you execute your ready action in the same turn it was readied? [duplicate]

Is it possible for a spellcaster to ready a fireball when he is out of view, move into line of sight and release it in the same turn , without giving the opposing spellcaster the chance to ...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
186 views

Can you ready disengage to avoid opportunity attacks on your turn?

Edit: This question isn’t asking wether you can ready to disengage. That question has been fully answered in a forum linked in a comment below. What this question is asking is, if you ready disengage, ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
919 views

Can you Ready a Help action against a creature not (currently) adjacent to you?

Per the combat rules, Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. Is there anything in the rules that prevents me from readying an action to help ...
user avatar
  • 6,104
2 votes
2 answers
247 views

Is there anything preventing a familiar from Readying a Help action?

Suppose the following situation: I want a familiar to give me advantage on melee attacks via the help action. However, I do not want to be yet another adventurer with an owl familiar doing fly-by ...
user avatar
  • 6,104
6 votes
3 answers
1k views

Is Ready required on your turn in order to use reaction abilities in between turns?

Do you have to Ready a reaction to use it? Thus, you would have had to used Ready as your action on your turn and wait for the trigger to use the reaction. Would it be correct to say that you cannot ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
945 views

Can you Ready an action to knock someone prone after they've attacked?

Could you ready the action: If an enemy attacks me then, once they've attacked, I will attempt to knock them prone. If so it could be used if the distance between you and an enemy was too far to ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a caster interrupt another caster from casting Time Stop by readying a Time Stop of their own?

If spellcaster A readies an action to cast time stop as soon as spellcaster B casts time stop, then on spellcaster B's turn they cast time stop, what happens? Who takes extra turns first? Also, can ...
user avatar
  • 2,466
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can characters Ready an action with the trigger "when the target stops benefiting from Dodge and before they use their action"?

I ran into a situation with ready action that I feel goes against the spirit of the game and maybe the rules but I'm unsure. I'm running a homebrew game. I made this Bladesinger NPC that I gave a ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
89 views

Using the Ready an Action to use Swallow Whole

Could I ready an action to use Swallow Whole?
user avatar
  • 859
10 votes
1 answer
922 views

Are readied items/abilities expended or lost when the Ready action's trigger is not met?

I have been searching for an answer to the question as to whether a spell slot is lost or not if readied but not triggered. The rules as written does not explicitly state this but that appears to be ...
user avatar
  • 113
6 votes
1 answer
260 views

Is there an acceptable way to ready an action to move and avoid the Cloudkill spell?

Say you are confident an enemy might cast cloudkill on their turn. Your turn is before theirs. If you ready an action to move, would that allow you to avoid getting hit by the spell?
user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
5k views

If I Ready an action, can I then use my reaction for something else?

Merle the Wizard is fighting enemies with his friends on a bridge. He wants to cast a spell on the BBEG, but they are currently out of range and so he uses his action to ready a spell for when the ...
user avatar
  • 2,793
2 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does a cantrip fired with the Ready Action require concentration?

The SRD states the following for the Ready action: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
26 votes
2 answers
849 views

Is it impossible to Ready the Green-Flame Blade cantrip?

I've noticed a curious quirk of wording when it comes to the Green-Flame Blade cantrip (SCAG, p. 143). Specifically, this tidbit: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a ...
user avatar
  • 6,104
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

How does readying an effect or spell granted by a magic item work?

Can a player hold the effect or spell granted to them by an item, and if so, does the spell or effect follow the normal "Readying spell" rule where if the trigger never occurs, the effect or the spell,...
user avatar
  • 141
10 votes
3 answers
874 views

Can a readied action be taken after a spell is cast, but before it deals damage?

This question evolved from discussion in the comments from another Q/A: "Can you use Shape Water on Tidal Wave?". I've become unsure about how spells with a duration of "instantaneous" work. ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k

1
2 3 4 5