Questions tagged [readied-action]

For questions about readied actions. A readied action is an action "held" to react to an anticipated circumstance.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
9
votes
2answers
866 views

Can a caster interrupt another caster from casting Time Stop by readying a Time Stop of their own?

If spellcaster A readies an action to cast time stop as soon as spellcaster B casts time stop, then on spellcaster B's turn they cast time stop, what happens? Who takes extra turns first? Also, can ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can characters Ready an action with the trigger “when the target stops benefiting from Dodge and before they use their action”?

I ran into a situation with ready action that I feel goes against the spirit of the game and maybe the rules but I'm unsure. I'm running a homebrew game. I made this Bladesinger NPC that I gave a ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Dispel magic be used on a readied spell before the trigger occurs?

NOTE: this does not refer to the case of readying a Dispel magic to stop a spell from being cast as in this question, but rather using Dispel magic to stop a readied spell from being cast. While ...
4
votes
1answer
74 views

Using the Ready an Action to use Swallow Whole

Could I ready an action to use Swallow Whole?
9
votes
1answer
654 views

Are readied items/abilities expended or lost when the Ready action's trigger is not met?

I have been searching for an answer to the question as to whether a spell slot is lost or not if readied but not triggered. The rules as written does not explicitly state this but that appears to be ...
32
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Silence cancel a readied spell?

The silence spell description states: For the duration, no sound can be created within or pass through a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range. Any creature or ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?

Based on this question: Can Dispel magic be used on a readied spell before the trigger occurs? Can you Counterspell a readied spell after the turn the original spell is cast as normal, but before the ...
21
votes
3answers
2k views

Does taking the option to ignore a Ready trigger waste it, or let you use it on a later trigger?

When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. (PHB, Ch9, Actions in Combat) Does that mean that by ignoring the trigger you don't ...
16
votes
2answers
10k views

Can I Ready an action to run away?

This is a follow-up to Can I Ready an action to Disengage? It looks to me that the 5E RAW does not have a simple way to declare a behaviour like this: If anything nasty comes towards me, I run in ...
6
votes
1answer
214 views

Is there an acceptable way to ready an action to move and avoid the Cloudkill spell?

Say you are confident an enemy might cast cloudkill on their turn. Your turn is before theirs. If you ready an action to move, would that allow you to avoid getting hit by the spell?
10
votes
1answer
523 views

Can you escape from the Web or Moonbeam spells using readied movement?

Inspired by this question, I was wondering whether this works: Web states: Each creature that starts its turn in the webs or that enters them during its turn must make a Dexterity saving throw. ...
20
votes
3answers
1k views

Are there serious balance implications to permitting Bonus Actions to be Readied/Prepared?

My Ancients Paladin is commonly stymied by the limitation on Readied Actions, in that Bonus Actions cannot under any circumstances, per RAW, be "prepared". For example, suppose a Paladin wished to ...
13
votes
1answer
808 views

If I Ready an action, can I then use my reaction for something else?

Merle the Wizard is fighting enemies with his friends on a bridge. He wants to cast a spell on the BBEG, but they are currently out of range and so he uses his action to ready a spell for when the ...
6
votes
0answers
102 views

Reaction while holding a readied action? [duplicate]

So when you hold an action using the Ready action you use your reaction to act when the trigger happens. however you're able to ignore the trigger. So while you are using the Ready action, are you ...
14
votes
1answer
405 views

Is it impossible to Ready the Green-Flame Blade cantrip?

I've noticed a curious quirk of wording when it comes to the Green-Flame Blade cantrip (SCAG, p. 143). Specifically, this tidbit: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a ...
37
votes
5answers
6k views

Can a thrown javelin be catapult-ed back?

The wizard is chased through the woods by a bandit. The bandit is 50 feet behind the wizard and continuously throws javelins at him. The wizard then readies a Catapult spell. The trigger is "after the ...
12
votes
4answers
4k views

Can a Rogue effectively triple their speed by combining Dash and Ready, spreading it over several turns?

This question is a follow-up to: Can you move on your turn, and then use the Ready Action to move again on another creature's turn? The answer to that question is yes. Acting according to the ...
2
votes
3answers
206 views

Does a cantrip fired with the Ready Action require concentration?

The SRD states the following for the Ready action: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, ...
33
votes
5answers
25k views

Do you get to use the additional attack from the Extra Attack feature as well when you Ready an Attack action?

Do you get to use the additional attack from the Extra Attack feature as well when you Ready an Attack action? One of my players, a monk, decided to Ready an action as an earth elemental was about to ...
14
votes
2answers
6k views

Does a “Recharge X-Y” ability need to recharge after it is Readied (but not used)?

This question was prompted by recent discussions on dragon breath weapons and cover. It occurred to me that a dragon could potentially use the Ready action to use its breath weapon once a certain ...
6
votes
3answers
166 views

How does readying an effect or spell granted by a magic item work?

Can a player hold the effect or spell granted to them by an item, and if so, does the spell or effect follow the normal "Readying spell" rule where if the trigger never occurs, the effect or the spell,...
16
votes
4answers
5k views

Can you use a readied action to act on a different round?

From the PHB, page 193: Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn so that you can act ...
25
votes
4answers
4k views

Can a spell be readied to trigger when its intended target comes into view?

Can I ready witch bolt, for instance, with the condition of attacking "the first goblin to come out of the cave" if I cannot see the goblin at the time of my (Ready) action? To be perfectly clear: at ...
17
votes
2answers
131k views

How does the Ready action work?

So from reading the Player's Handbook, it seems that the Ready action is taken instead of any other action as it is an action in its own right. However, can you move on the same turn that you ready an ...
10
votes
3answers
822 views

Can a readied action be taken after a spell is cast, but before it deals damage?

This question evolved from discussion in the comments from another Q/A: "Can you use Shape Water on Tidal Wave?". I've become unsure about how spells with a duration of "instantaneous" work. ...
4
votes
1answer
140 views

Are there limitations on what spells a creature can cast while holding a readied spell?

Are there limitations on what spells a creature can cast while holding a readied spell? To give an example, say that a cleric uses their action to cast, and hold, a sacred flame, with some arbitrary ...
22
votes
4answers
21k views

How long can a readied spell be held before it's lost?

From RAW, it's clear that a character can ready a spell that has a casting time of 1 action and release the spell when the trigger occurs or directly after the trigger finishes:1 Provided, that the ...
7
votes
2answers
220 views

What would be the balance implications of a house rule allowing a readied spell to be held indefinitely?

As established by this question, readied spells can only be held until the beginning of your next turn. What would the balance implications be if there were no upper limit on how long the spell's ...
2
votes
2answers
363 views

Can I use a bonus action to ready an action?

The 5e rules are a little unclear on this, and I haven't found anyone who has asked this yet. I've been wondering if it is possible to use your bonus action to ready an action. For example, can a ...
4
votes
1answer
397 views

Can you ready an action after you've already used your bonus action?

Like say, you use the rogue's cunning action to disengage, then you ready your action to shoot at the enemy when an ally gets within 5 feet of them. Would this work?
19
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a Valor bard Ready a bard spell, then use the Battle Magic feature to make a weapon attack before releasing the spell?

College of Valor bards (PHB, p. 55) get the Battle Magic feature at 14th level: You have mastered the art of weaving spellcasting and weapon use into a single harmonious act. When you use your ...
10
votes
2answers
341 views

Does Readied movement count as “your move”?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it... However there are several times where ...
10
votes
1answer
395 views

What else can you do in the turn you ready an action?

Suppose that, on your turn, you ready an action to hit the enemy in front of you if he tries to hit your friend. What else can you do in the turn you ready the action? (I'm asking about the turn ...
11
votes
1answer
991 views

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
3
votes
2answers
336 views

Do I have to take the Ready action to make an opportunity attack?

So, a friend and I are in a debate right now about how an opportunity attack works. From what I understand after reading the handbook, you can only perform an opportunity attack if you use an action ...
3
votes
0answers
40 views

How do readied actions involving movement interact with being charged? [duplicate]

Situation: On her turn, Alice uses the ready action. She specifies the condition "a creature attacks me," and an action that would take her out of melee range (like teleporting away with dimension ...
10
votes
2answers
220 views

Can I use Two-Weapon Fighting on my mount's turn?

Can I use the Ready action on my turn to specify that I will make a melee attack once in range of an enemy, use my mount to get to the enemy, attack the enemy with one melee weapon, and then also ...
7
votes
1answer
232 views

Can I Ready an attack action to trigger when the target Blinks back to the Material plane?

If my target casts the Blink spell and then Blinks to the Ethereal Plane, can I Ready my action to attack them as soon as they reappear? For example, "shoot them with an arrow when they Blink back to ...
2
votes
1answer
154 views

Can I ready an action before combat, and then use it immediately after, or just before combat starts? [duplicate]

I'm aware that you can use an action in combat in order to ready a specific response to be performed as a reaction when a certain event triggers it. But what if I'm in a situation where combat hasn'...
16
votes
5answers
3k views

Can a PC use a readied action to deflect a projectile?

Let's say that my party is fighting a bunch of kobolds outdoors. The kobolds are slinging a bunch of rocks at the party, and one player says, "I ready my action until a rock comes my way, and then I ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible to Ready a spell to be cast just before the start of your next turn by having the trigger be an ally's attack?

Can the trigger criteria for a readied action be as simple as casting after an ally's attack? If so, are there measures to prevent a pseudo double spell casting like the following example? ...
19
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you keep a readied action even through incapacitation?

The following scenario occurs: Alice takes the Ready action to do something at a later time (the specifics don't matter). An enemy casts Hold Person on her, she fails the save and is now Paralyzed, ...
8
votes
1answer
855 views

Can you move on your turn, and then use the Ready Action to move again on another creature's turn?

The Ready action is described as follows: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you ...
0
votes
1answer
241 views

Can I decide to lower my Initiative after rolling it in order to permanently change my position in the sequence of turns? [duplicate]

The current question is in some sense a follow-up to the following one: Can I delay my turn in D&D 5e? The answer to that question is no. The only means to acting at a different turn in the ...
1
vote
2answers
148 views

What is the result of a Readied Action to move the target triggered by a melee attack attempt?

Situation: Fred the Fighter wants to survive another round in the ring with Bob the Barbarian. He's a skilled fighter, and has taken Combat Maneuver feats. Bob moves in to attack, but Fred readied to ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you use readied actions to avoid being hit?

Can you use readied actions to avoid being hit? This came up in our game today; after I thought about it, it seems incredibly exploitable. Here are some examples of how you could avoid being hit. As ...
16
votes
4answers
3k views

Can you use a readied action to teleport out of the way of a weapon attack?

Let's say that a player uses the ready action and says "If a character aims at me with a weapon, I'll use Teleport to move behind cover." What happens? Does this work? If not, please cite the rules ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

If I readied a spell with the trigger “When I take damage”, do I have to make a constitution saving throw to avoid losing Concentration?

Suppose I was playing a wizard. I say to my DM, "I ready my Magic Missile. I cast it when I take damage, at the attacker." When the time comes, do I need to make a Constitution saving throw ...
6
votes
1answer
194 views

Can you include speech in a Readied Action?

During a readied action, can a character perform speech? For example: Can I speak while enacting my readied action? Such as if my readied action is to stab someone and yell "cowabunga!" when they ...
17
votes
1answer
637 views

Can you ready an action to attack a monster's natural weapon (a part of its body) with reach?

In my current OOTA Group my party fought against a rocktopus. They attacked them from the ceiling out of reach for melee attacks. Is it possible for the players to ready an attack with the trigger "...