Questions tagged [readied-action]

For questions about readied actions. A readied action is an action "held" to react to an anticipated circumstance.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does this lake event in the “Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden” adventure allow a grapple as an opportunity attack?

There is an event in Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden (an official D&D 5e adventure by Wizards of the Coast) that seems to allow for a grapple attack as an opportunity attack. In the Lake ...
6
votes
3answers
259 views

Do you have to specify what kind of attack or weapon you will Ready?

It seems logical that you can use the Ready action to prepare to grapple or shove an opponent if triggered. But can you just Ready an attack, and then decide when it's triggered whether to attack as ...
25
votes
1answer
9k views

Using a familiar to deliver a touch attack with the Ready action

The last paragraph of the Find Familiar spell contains the following: ...when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your ...
27
votes
5answers
31k views

How long can a readied spell be held before it's lost?

From RAW, it's clear that a character can ready a spell that has a casting time of 1 action and release the spell when the trigger occurs or directly after the trigger finishes:1 Provided, that the ...
29
votes
5answers
18k views

Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting?

As this blog post suggests, there seems to be a hole in the D&D Basic rules. Maybe. The rules for readying an action state: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right ...
1
vote
1answer
83 views

help with readied action [closed]

We roll a new initiative each turn to make it more random. The scenario: the fighter readies to attack the creature when it moves into his range. The creature moves but doesn't reach the fighter. on ...
10
votes
4answers
2k views

If I ready an action (spell) in response to a companion's attack, what is a fair GM ruling over the order of events?

In our campaign, I have a cleric who wished to use Ready an Action as his move. His idea behind this was that he wanted to ready Guiding Bolt and the condition he set was that, when one of the players ...
3
votes
4answers
344 views

Can a creature react to being targeted by a missile attack from a non-Hidden foe?

Making an attack has the following structure: Choose a target. Determine modifiers. Resolve the attack (typically as a hit or miss) Consider a creature, standing near an ally, who could potentially ...
17
votes
3answers
23k views

Can a creature with multiattack make more than one attack as part of a readied attack?

I had a group of Bullywugs ambush the party when they were fighting a giant frog in a clearing in a swamp. The bullywugs were hidden in reeds and sedges around the clearing and they had all readied an ...
21
votes
2answers
182k views

How does the Ready action work?

So from reading the Player's Handbook, it seems that the Ready action is taken instead of any other action as it is an action in its own right. However, can you move on the same turn that you ready an ...
0
votes
0answers
89 views

Holding, Delaying, or Readying an Action? - Rules As Written [duplicate]

Please point or link me to any official rules (rules as written) on when a character can delay, hold or ready an action for later in a round, instead of going on their initiative. What does a ...
22
votes
7answers
4k views

Readying an action before combat

Suppose the party suspects that combat is imminent, and some of the PCs ready actions (attack nearest hostile creature, attack first thing that moves). Then combat erupts. Some of the PCs are ...
3
votes
1answer
372 views

Can you warm yourself up with Fire Bolt?

During my last encounter my 3lvl wizard fell into a trap with freezing water below. He managed to save himself using Levitate, but during my party's post-game discussion there was a question of ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

In case a trigger for a readied action is someone else's reaction, what is resolved first?

I asked if you can ready an action with someone's reaction as a trigger. The answer is YES. But I'm still not sure - in such a case (i.e. a trigger for reaction being another reaction) - which ...
2
votes
1answer
196 views

Can you Ready an action with someone's reaction as a trigger?

The rule for readied action says: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Of course, it's rather hard to be ready for someone's else reactions, especially first-...
4
votes
1answer
111 views

How does trample work with hide and hide in plain sight?

Let's say there is a treant shadowdancer who does not appreciate interlopers in its forest. Assuming it has enough hide skill to remain unseen, and as silly as it sounds, can this treant trample over ...
7
votes
1answer
347 views

Can I Ready an attack action to trigger when the target Blinks back to the Material plane?

If my target casts the Blink spell and then Blinks to the Ethereal Plane, can I Ready my action to attack them as soon as they reappear? For example, "shoot them with an arrow when they Blink back to ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Produce Flame Cantrip as a readied or holding action?

A PC states that they are going to use the Ready action to cast produce flame. They want to produce the flame to see on their turn, but they want to wait until the trigger happens to hurl the flame. ...
2
votes
1answer
141 views

How should I be handling readied actions and turn order? [duplicate]

The monster my players were fighting acted first in the intitative order. It dove into the lake and out of sight. They all readied actions to attack when it revealed itself. On its next turn it ...
22
votes
4answers
1k views

Are there serious balance implications to permitting Bonus Actions to be Readied/Prepared?

My Ancients Paladin is commonly stymied by the limitation on Readied Actions, in that Bonus Actions cannot under any circumstances, per RAW, be "prepared". For example, suppose a Paladin wished to ...
14
votes
2answers
6k views

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
31
votes
4answers
7k views

Can you ready a Fire Bolt spell to be used as a torch?

The description of the Ready action states, in part: When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy Does this mean you could cast a fire bolt spell, hold its energy indefinitely (...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Opportunity Attack, Ready Action, & Eldritch Blast/Repelling Blast

Scenario: A druid ally is in melee range of an enemy berserker and decides to move away, provoking an attack of opportunity from the berserker. My character has readied an action: Cast Eldritch Blast (...
19
votes
4answers
1k views

If a spell caster loses concentration on Greater Invisibility, and an opponent has readied a reaction, what happens first?

As an example, both the spellcaster and the opponent ("the archer") have 1 hp remaining, so whoever completes their action first will knock the opponent unconscious. The spellcaster casts Create ...
4
votes
2answers
556 views

With Crossbow Expert feat - can you Bonus Action attack on your turn, and then use a readied action to attack on someone else's turn?

I am playing a crossbow expert ranged rogue and trying to maximize my sneak attack capabilities in order to remain competitive with regard to DPR (Paladin and Fighter in the group). I am wondering if ...
1
vote
2answers
152 views

Can a player use both a readied action and an immediate action?

Character A readies an action to counter a spell if Enemy Wizard casts a spell Character A is then attacked by Enemy Rogue, and uses an immediate action (like Windy ...
52
votes
3answers
6k views

When and how does combat start in a standoff?

I run Adventurers league at a local game cafe with a veteran group that has lots of experience playing prior editions. However these players knowledge of the rules is an amalgamation of 5e rules and ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Do you lose concentration on a Readied spell when you use your reaction for something else?

The War Wizard gets the Durable Magic feature at 10th level which states: [...] While you maintain concentration on a spell, you have a +2 bonus to AC and all saving throws. The Ready action states: ...
8
votes
1answer
392 views

Does readying class features require concentration?

I'm interested in getting an answer for class features in general, but the specific case that came up for me was the following: A Grave domain cleric chose to ready Path to the Grave to use before ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Dispel Magic be used to stop a readied spell from taking effect before the trigger occurs?

NOTE: this does not refer to the case of readying a dispel magic spell to stop a spell from being cast as in this question, but rather using dispel magic to stop a readied spell from being cast. ...
20
votes
5answers
2k views

Can a Readied Action be used multiple times in the same round if you have multiple reactions?

A Marilith picks up a Longbow to use in combat. It walks to a tower window overlooking a large battle with many creatures. It takes the Ready Action with a trigger of "when a creature moves or ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an enemy “surprise” a character with the Alert feat by readying the Attack action before initiative is rolled?

My character with the Alert feat was attacked and received damage pre-combat. Specifically, our party was walking through a dark cave, and on the ceiling there was a swarm of insects (that none of the ...
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Can the Dispel Magic spell be Readied to counter an opponent's spell?

When playing as a spellcaster, is it valid the use of the Ready action to prepare Dispel Magic to counter a spell cast by an opponent? In the same vein, when declaring said action, do I have to ...
6
votes
2answers
585 views

Can someone use a Readied Help action between multiple attacks?

Scenario 1 : An ally is unseen and has Extra Attack. They have advantage on the first attack of their Attack action and I want to use the Help action to give them advantage on the second attack of ...
7
votes
1answer
329 views

How does readying a spell interact with the Sorcerer's Metamagic feature?

The Ready action states (emphasis mine): [...] When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. [...] Thus, when you ...
4
votes
1answer
395 views

Can you move during your reaction in a ready action?

So let's say that the party or the baddies want to dive a target all at once, but they are far apart on the turn order. Can the divers all do a ready action and then all jump in at once? Example: ...
40
votes
5answers
7k views

Can a thrown javelin be catapult-ed back?

The wizard is chased through the woods by a bandit. The bandit is 50 feet behind the wizard and continuously throws javelins at him. The wizard then readies a Catapult spell. The trigger is "after the ...
39
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I deny a counterspell by readying my spell behind full cover?

Suppose I am within counterspell range of an enemy mage (who has counterspell) and want to guarantee that my spell won't be countered. Could I do so entirely on my turn by moving behind full cover, ...
2
votes
0answers
29 views

Can you execute your ready action in the same turn it was readied? [duplicate]

Is it possible for a spellcaster to ready a fireball when he is out of view, move into line of sight and release it in the same turn , without giving the opposing spellcaster the chance to ...
29
votes
4answers
4k views

Can a spell be readied to trigger when its intended target comes into view?

Can I ready witch bolt, for instance, with the condition of attacking "the first goblin to come out of the cave" if I cannot see the goblin at the time of my (Ready) action? To be perfectly clear: at ...
0
votes
2answers
153 views

Can you ready disengage to avoid opportunity attacks on your turn?

Edit: This question isn’t asking wether you can ready to disengage. That question has been fully answered in a forum linked in a comment below. What this question is asking is, if you ready disengage, ...
8
votes
3answers
80k views

How does taking an action with my reaction work?

How does taking an action with my reaction work? For example: If my initiative put me first, but I wanted to attack after a certain event, can I use my action as a reaction to use my Attack action (...
2
votes
2answers
219 views

Is there anything preventing a familiar from Readying a Help action?

Suppose the following situation: I want a familiar to give me advantage on melee attacks via the help action. However, I do not want to be yet another adventurer with an owl familiar doing fly-by ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Is Ready required on your turn in order to use reaction abilities in between turns?

Do you have to Ready a reaction to use it? Thus, you would have had to used Ready as your action on your turn and wait for the trigger to use the reaction. Would it be correct to say that you cannot ...
5
votes
1answer
703 views

Can you Ready a Help action against a creature not (currently) adjacent to you?

Per the combat rules, Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. Is there anything in the rules that prevents me from readying an action to help ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

When does a reaction happen if the trigger is movement?

I realize there are a bunch of these questions about the ready action but I couldn't find one that answers what I have in mind. I know by RAW the reaction happens after the trigger finishes but how ...
9
votes
1answer
407 views

How does a readied action triggered on movement adjacent to an ally work when an enemy charges?

A readied action is an Immediate Reaction. A charge is a movement with an attack at the end. Suppose the following case: A PC charged with protecting his party's wizard does not want to move away ...
6
votes
1answer
789 views

Can you Ready an action to knock someone prone after they've attacked?

Could you ready the action: If an enemy attacks me then, once they've attacked, I will attempt to knock them prone. If so it could be used if the distance between you and an enemy was too far to ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a caster interrupt another caster from casting Time Stop by readying a Time Stop of their own?

If spellcaster A readies an action to cast time stop as soon as spellcaster B casts time stop, then on spellcaster B's turn they cast time stop, what happens? Who takes extra turns first? Also, can ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can characters Ready an action with the trigger “when the target stops benefiting from Dodge and before they use their action”?

I ran into a situation with ready action that I feel goes against the spirit of the game and maybe the rules but I'm unsure. I'm running a homebrew game. I made this Bladesinger NPC that I gave a ...