Skip to main content

Questions tagged [recharge]

For questions about abilities of characters or monsters that recharge after use, and the mechanics governing such abilities.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
16 votes
4 answers
12k views

How to handle breath weapon recharge when combat is interrupted?

I have a question about monster abilities that recharge, like a dragon’s breath weapon. Is the ability considered “charged” on the first round of combat, no roll required? If the answer to that is “...
5 votes
4 answers
2k views

Does a monster with multiple abilities recharging regain their use on a roll of 5-6?

From the MM, pg. 11 Recharge X-Y. The notation "Recharge X- Y" means a monster can use a special ability once and that the ability then has a random chance of recharging during each ...
6 votes
1 answer
357 views

Are a Bronze Dragon's breath attacks' cooldowns shared?

A Bronze Dragon has two different breath weapons: a Line of Lightning, and a Repulsion Gas. The breath weapons of Dragons always come with a certain cooldown period. I was wondering if using one of ...
10 votes
1 answer
3k views

How/when does an ability like a dragon's breath weapon recharge, if it's listed as "Recharge 5–6"?

Dragon breath weapons used to be simple: 3 uses per day. They magically recharged at either midnight or dawn, depending on your DM. As I read through the dragon section, I see new (to me) info on ...
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Do you reroll a dragon's breath weapon recharge time after each breath attack?

Dragon breath weapons have a recharge time. For example, a very young black dragon can use its breath weapon every 1d4 rounds. Do you re-roll the recharge time each time you use the breath weapon? Or ...
15 votes
2 answers
14k views

Does a "Recharge X-Y" ability need to recharge after it is Readied (but not used)?

This question was prompted by recent discussions on dragon breath weapons and cover. It occurred to me that a dragon could potentially use the Ready action to use its breath weapon once a certain ...
16 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does a Dybbuk's Possess Corpse ability recharge while it possesses a corpse?

Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes contains the Dybbuk, a CR 4 demon with the Possess Corpse action: Possess Corpse (Recharge 6). The dybbuk disappears into an intact corpse it can see within 5 feet of it. ...