Questions tagged [retraining]

For questions about retraining (also known as rebuilding or respeccing), the act of making changes to a character's build after its creation has been finalized. Some RPG systems may contain formalized rules for retraining a character, whereas other systems might require house-rules in order to allow retraining.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
1answer
731 views

If my Pact of the Chain warlock switches to Pact of the Tome, will it affect the form of my existing familiar from the Find Familiar spell?

I'm currently playing a Warlock, and at 3rd level, I picked Pact of the Chain as my Pact Boon. I then, using one of the special forms provided by Pact of the Chain, summoned a Sprite familiar: When ...
18
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I change my choices for racial ability scores after play has started?

I'm still fairly new to the game, and I'm working out the schematics of my character. I play a half-elf character, and I was wondering: can racial bonuses be changed once the characters been made, or ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

If you change your Wizard subclass from Chronurgy Magic to something else, do you retain the subclass-specific dunamancy spells you've learned?

For reference, Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 8) adds official (optional) mechanics for changing your subclass. It states, in part: [...] With your DM’s approval, you can change your subclass ...
7
votes
1answer
203 views

In OD&D, how do you calculate XP, HP and Max HP when switching class?

In Original D&D, specifically the rules described in Men & Magic, it says: Elves can begin as either Fighting-Men or Magic-Users and freely switch class whenever they choose, from adventure ...
2
votes
1answer
155 views

Does a character remain in a martial stance they no longer know?

A Tome of Battle stance can be initiated as a swift action, and "remains in effect indefinitely...until you change to another stance you know as a swift action." (p. 38) If a character ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the "Changing a Skill" optional rule from Tasha's allow me to change a skill proficiency from the background for one offered by the class?

Does the "Changing a Skill" optional rule from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 8) allow me to replace a skill proficiency from my background with a skill proficiency offered by my class? ...
11
votes
1answer
944 views

Can you retrain a feat acting as a prerequisite if you get a different ability that fulfills the prerequisite?

From Retraining: You may change one feat to another through retraining. Retraining a feat takes 5 days with a character who has the feat you want. The old feat can’t be one you used as a prerequisite ...
3
votes
1answer
317 views

Can I have two archetypes at level 6?

I am playing level 6 fighter, and I was thinking if I could retrain my 3 class feats to archetype feats. The trick is that we have Free Archetype variant rule and I already have one archetype. Will I ...
7
votes
3answers
7k views

How exactly do the rules on changing your subclass from "Tasha's Cauldron of Everything" work?

I bought Tasha's Cauldron of Everything last month and have enjoyed it thoroughly. My question has to deal with the "Changing Your Subclass" rules found on page 8. The first paragraph under ...
3
votes
1answer
98 views

Can I swap a maneuver known with another one if I have te requisite before the swap but stop having it after?

The Tome of Battle states the following: Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered swordsage level after that (6th, 8th, 10th, and so on), you can choose to learn a new maneuver in place of ...
5
votes
2answers
207 views

Can a PC take a utility skill power before level 6?

Having just reached level 4, I want my battlemind PC that's just taken the feat Hero of the Faith (Divine Power 144)—picking the skill Streetwise—to retrain his level 2 battlemind utility power ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Has there been an errata that allows cantrips to be swapped out upon levelling up?

Based on the Q&A "Can certain classes replace cantrips with other spells when they level up?", it appears that, RAW, cantrips cannot be swapped out on level up like other spells can be (for ...
1
vote
1answer
81 views

How does class level rebuilding work if you want to change the order of classes (but not the classes or total number of levels)?

Say a character took 5 levels in duskblade, then 5 levels in abjurant champion, then 5 in cleric, then 5 in wizard (it's not a particularly optimized character). They later decide they want to use ...
8
votes
1answer
895 views

Would allowing Artificers to swap a cantrip on a long rest be unbalanced?

Context: I am implementing the Class Feature Variants Unearthed Arcana, which does not include Artificer, for a party with several spellcasters and one Artificer. This UA allows every "known" caster ...
5
votes
1answer
473 views

Can you end up with fewer than 3 talents at License Level 1?

According to page 18 of the Lancer Core Book First Edition PDF, under "LL0" (emphasis mine): LL0 characters start with the following: A background, which provides bonuses on skill checks (...
2
votes
0answers
80 views

Can an Eldritch Knight replace their 1st-level spell acquired through Magic Initiate (Wizard)? [duplicate]

In the Player Handbook, under Spells Known of 1st-Level and Higher for the Eldritch Knight Fighter archetype, it states that: Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the ...
16
votes
2answers
8k views

Can druids change their starting cantrips each day?

Are a Level 1 Druid's cantrips changeable each day? (As opposed to picking 2 cantrips at the start of Level 1, and those are the ones you keep until until you get more at higher levels.)
32
votes
6answers
4k views

Would letting a multiclass character rebuild their character to be single-classed be game-breaking?

One of my players is a Warlock 3/Fighter 2 multiclass Half-Elf. We haven't played for a while as we have all been either busy or away on vacation and so she decided to take the opportunity to ...
7
votes
1answer
227 views

Is there any way to get a character with these class levels using retraining?

I am wondering if there is any way one can become a Wizard 1, Mage of the third eye 10, Evangelist 9 by using the retraining rules If yes, would you have to get 1 wizard, 4 in another class and then ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Can spells from the Magic Initiate feat be swapped out for different ones?

For example, a character takes the Magic Initiate feat at level 4, picking spells from the Wizard spell list, because they have been researching and learning all they can about magic (such as a ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Druid change Druid circles?

I have a level eight moon druid and would like to maybe change to another type of druid. Can a swap Druid circles ?
6
votes
1answer
370 views

What happens when one retrains "Collegiate Wizard"?

The feat "Collegiate Wizard" can only be taken at first level. Its benefits are: You begin play with knowledge of six 1st-level spells plus 1 per point of Intelligence modifier. Each time you gain ...
2
votes
1answer
95 views

Can a Weaponmaster retrain their Weapon Talent?

Our party's Weaponmaster has been using a single handed weapon since level 1 and took the "one-handed" option. They have since found a Two-handed weapon. Is it possible to "retrain" the talent?
23
votes
4answers
38k views

Can certain classes replace cantrips with other spells when they level up?

Many classes: bard, ranger, sorcerer, and warlock have this type of text in their Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature under Spells Known of 1st Level or Higher: Additionally, when you gain a level ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Do the rebuilding/retraining rules from PHB II allow "bootstrap" qualification, creating legal characters that could not be made without these rules?

The rebuilding/retraining rules (PHB II, p. 192) allow a player character to retroactively change character choices, including feats and class levels. The rules include some restrictions that look ...
0
votes
2answers
781 views

Retraining Archetype

I'm playing a Lv5 Bladebound Magus, and I was thinking of retraining using the Ultimate Campaign Rules and adding the Kensai Archetype. I've figured out the rest of the class except for the diminished ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you retrain a feat into a feat that "must be taken at 1st level"?

Can you retrain a feat into a feat that "must be taken at 1st level", such as Fiendish Heritage or Monstrous Mask?
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Can you change skill proficiency in a character by magical means?

I've made a 5e Paladin. I took Intimidate as a skill proficiency. Now that I am choosing my oath it doesn't really work with Intimidate. My DM is kind of a stickler so I am was wondering: are there ...
2
votes
1answer
803 views

Can I use a maneuver to meet the prerequisites for a martial stance, then swap out that maneuver later?

I'm a Warblade in the process of reaching level 6. I have one level 1 Diamond Mind maneuver. Is the following possible: For my level six feat, I want to take Martial Stance to attain the Diamond Mind ...
4
votes
1answer
276 views

If I retrain the feat Skill Training, do I then lose training in that skill?

Let's say at level 2, I choose to learn the feat Skill Training and add a +5 training bonus to Dungeoneering. Then at level 11, I retrain it with a Paragon level feat. Do I then lose the training ...
16
votes
3answers
15k views

Is class retraining an option?

I skimmed the PHB, but I didn't find any information on "retraining" or any ways to "undo" character advancement. Is retraining (especially of classes and class features) available ...
4
votes
1answer
5k views

Is it possible to switch archetypes?

Is it possible to start the Eldritch Knight progression then switch to another archetype, say Battle Master archetype, later? I'm thinking that I'd like to get a Hammer of Thunderbolts, but if I do ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

How can a character be rebuilt?

In the Pathfinder game I run, a player with a level 1 PC wants to change his class from fighter to rogue. The party made the acquaintance of a mid-level thief and during downtime the character wants ...
4
votes
1answer
616 views

Can Vivisectionist retrain Throw Anything feat?

One of my players has an alchemist with vivisectionist archetype, thus loosing ability to make bombs in change of roguish sneak attack. He tries to convince me, that Throw Anything feat gained as a ...
6
votes
1answer
737 views

Is there a way for Adepts to swap/retrain adept powers?

For one of my characters I've found that certain powers I've chosen as an adept don't really come in to play much; is there a way for an adept to essentially retrain power points? I realize magic (...
25
votes
2answers
6k views

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
2
votes
1answer
237 views

Retrain languages in the 4e character builder?

Is it possible to retrain languages? How does one do this in the 4e Character Builder?
8
votes
1answer
3k views

How many feats/skills/powers can a player retrain on gaining a level?

Every time your character gains a level, you can retrain. To do so, change one of the following: a feat, a power, or a trained skill. You can make only one change per level. I believe that means one ...
7
votes
1answer
968 views

If I train a skill I already have via a feat, do I get to retrain that skill?

If a character trained in Perception in Star Wars Saga Edition later buys Force Perception (Train Perception, and roll UtF for it instead), can the character retrain the skill training lost? The ...
8
votes
2answers
788 views

Can I retrain a multiclass feat?

Can I retrain a multiclass feat? Furthermore can I retrain into a different multiclass feat?