Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange
Join us in building a kind, collaborative learning community via our updated Code of Conduct.

Questions that are about the logical interactions of a game's rules under a strictly literal reading. Not for questions about normal clarifications of the written rules. Answering rules questions with house-rules and opinions will already be restricted by our site's rules.

1
vote
1answer
28 views

Using burning disarm on an embedded metal item

So, Burning Disarm says this: This spell causes a metal object to instantly become red hot. A creature holding the item may attempt a Reflex save to drop it and take no damage Now, it does specify ...
9
votes
2answers
280 views

Can any magic item rod be used as an arcane focus?

Inspired by this question: Multi purpose Arcane Focus? The premise of the other question is about using the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a focus, and although it implies it can be used as a focus ...
4
votes
2answers
386 views

Does two weapon fighting's qualifying “attack” have to be part of the “Attack” action?

The rules for two-weapon fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
4
votes
2answers
70 views

Can a Swiftblade with Perpetual Options benefit from extra attacks that don't normally stack with Haste?

A 9th level Swiftblade gains the Perpetual Options class feature: Perpetual Options (Ex): At 9th level, you can perform even more actions with the haste spell. Instead of making one extra attack at ...
10
votes
4answers
2k views

Is it possible for a PC to become Huge or larger, in order to try and grapple a Tarrasque?

The way our game is going, it is entirely feasible we may end up fighting a Tarrasque. When it comes to grappling, RAW says the following: The target of your grapple must be no more than one size ...
4
votes
1answer
138 views

Does Shapechange allow you to speak a language you don't already know?

The 9th level spell Shapechange gives you many of the traits of the creature who's form you assume: ... You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining ...
3
votes
2answers
195 views

Can an Eidolon's Bleeding Bite Deal Bleed Damage if its Base Damage Was Negated By DR?

A summoner has the option of taking the bleed ability for his eidolon's attacks. Suppose that such an eidolon is fighting an enemy with DR 5, and bites them successfully, rolling a 3 for damage (no ...
-7
votes
4answers
151 views

D&D 3.5e - Knowledge Devotion bonuses are transferable: is my logic sound?

It seems sensible to present all the evidence first, but if it's all TL;DR then feel free to scroll straight down to the Argument. I'm looking to find out if my logic is sound and my conclusions are ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Greater Restoration also end the effects cured by Lesser Restoration?

The lesser restoration spell description states: You touch a creature and can end either one disease or one condition afflicting it. The condition can be blinded, deafened, paralyzed, or poisoned. ...
7
votes
1answer
358 views

Does the spell Swift Quiver RAW only apply to bows/arrows?

One of my players wanted to use the spell swift quiver (PHB p. 279) with a magitech revolver-style weapon. As the weapon isn't more powerful than a similar ranged weapon would be with the spell (1d8+...
8
votes
2answers
274 views

Expected damage of a moonblade with N runes?

As noted in David Coffron’s answer to another question, the moonblade (Dungeon Master’s Guide, pg. 217) has no fixed limit on how much damage it can do: there is no stated limit to the number of runes ...
2
votes
4answers
758 views

How can a warlock use enlarge/reduce without multiclassing?

I was wondering if there is a way for a warlock to consistently use enlarge/reduce (or any other second level spell that is not a warlock spell) without multiclassing. I was looking around but could ...
6
votes
4answers
154 views

How do stealth and surprise interact for full-round actions?

This is something of a clarification question off of Is it really impossible to surprise someone with a full-round action? Suppose we have the following situation: A sorcerer is stalking an unaware ...
3
votes
2answers
177 views

Is it really impossible to surprise someone with a full-round action?

Is it true that not even the person/creature/thing doing the initial action that starts a combat is able to use a full-round action? According to all sources I can find, the initial attack already is ...
19
votes
2answers
1k views

Can sequester be used to get nearly unlimited duration spell effects?

As a follow-up to this answer, consider the following situation: Be a wizard of a level high enough to cast sequester Have a spellcaster friend that is willing to sacrifice himself "for the greater ...
11
votes
5answers
1k views

Can this homebrew-race centaur thief wear magic pants?

For this question, I am using this homebrew centaur race on DNDBeyond. One of its traits is Equine Weakness, part of which states: As you lack the lower body of a humanoid, you are unable to wear ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

What are weapon damage dice?

Following discussion here, what constitutes a weapon damage die? Is it any damage die dealt by the weapon? For example, consider a Flame Tongue longsword. While the sword is ablaze, it deals an ...
-7
votes
1answer
149 views

Does Plane Shift enable teleporting to a different location on the same plane?

Say a caster wants to travel to a different continent on the same plane. Can that journey be made using the spell plane shift, or can plane shift be used only to travel to a different plane than the ...
8
votes
2answers
396 views

Can Blink and Banishment be combined to have an effect similar to Etherealness?

Imagine the following sequence of events: The wizard casts blink. During the next turn, he uses his Ready action to cast banishment on himself once he is in the Ethereal Plane. The banishment ...
46
votes
4answers
4k views

Would forcing armour on a wizard through Illusion 'Harm' them?

A wizard wearing armour that they are not proficient in is unable to cast spells. Would it be possible to force a wizard into armour using a combination of Illusion and Illusory Reality? For example, ...
0
votes
1answer
135 views

What can one do with a captured spellbook? [closed]

My players captured two spellbooks. What is the monetary worth of a captured spellbook? The other question addresses the market value of a captured spellbook. Now, assuming the books were captured ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Flame Arrows' magic end on the piece of ammunition when the spell ends?

Flame Arrows says that: The spell's magic ends on the piece of ammunition when it hits or misses, and the spell ends when twelve pieces of ammunition have been drawn from the quiver. Does the ...
1
vote
0answers
68 views

Is the identify pearl material component consumed after each casting, or is it reusable? [duplicate]

Identify spell reads: Components: V, S, M (a pearl worth at least 100 gp and an owl feather) Is that pearl consumed? Or is it reusable? This article is written on the assumption that the pearl is ...
2
votes
1answer
66 views

Do Summoners and Eidolons benefit from the same magic item?

Magic item slots are shared between summoner and eidolon. If one has a neck item, then the other cannot wear a different neck item. Since the item slots are shared, does that mean the magic item ...
-7
votes
1answer
285 views

Is it possible to loophole your way into getting a permanent guardian of faith?

Guardian of faith says: The guardian vanishes when it has dealt a total of 60 damage. Because of this, could you: Have the guardian attack something with a good Dex save Assume the thing succeeds ...
4
votes
1answer
118 views

Can a coven be formed with two hags and a changeling?

I am rewriting a NPC changeling. I would like to include it in a coven with two hags. However, the rule implies 3 hags: Hag Covens When three hags of any type gather, they can form a coven to ...
16
votes
2answers
510 views

Can you cast and hold Produce Flame and then wield a weapon and shield?

The text of the produce flame spell reads: A flickering flame appears in your hand. The flame remains there for the duration and harms neither you nor your equipment. The flame sheds bright light ...
40
votes
9answers
6k views

Does hiding under a bedsheet provide Total Cover by RAW?

The Situation I am a high level caster surrounded by multiple high level archmages, all ready to 9th-level counterspell me if I cast a spell. For reasons unimportant to this question, I have no time ...
6
votes
3answers
325 views

Can an evil character fool Detect Evil by doing good deeds?

A player in my Pathfinder campaign has chosen Lawful Evil as their character's alignment. I've given this my blessing since Lawful Evil characters tend to disrupt the game the least in my experience, ...
10
votes
2answers
355 views

Does the Magic Initiate feat give a Thief rogue a spell save DC?

The Thief archetype Rogue gets the Use Magic Device feature at 13th level: By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when they ...
7
votes
2answers
231 views

Is Silent Image animated if an action is not used to move it?

You can use your action to cause the image to move to any spot within range. As the image changes location you can alter its appearance so that its movement appear naturel for the image. So, we ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Shatter damage objects, if objects are immune to con-save effects?

Shatter has always been my "go to" spell for damaging objects. Whether it was a wooden door or a fragile stone outcropping, I'd cast shatter to crack it or shake it loose. But today, I read something ...
6
votes
2answers
121 views

Is a partly-upgraded magic item usable?

Frank The Fighter has a set of +2 full plate. He's on a long journey with Cathy The Crafter and wants her to upgrade his armor to +3, using the rules for crafting while adventuring. The cost ...
1
vote
1answer
161 views

Using a large dwarven waraxe as a medium creature

This question is complicated and is asking about manipulating the rules as written (RAW). RAW states that using a weapon that is not of your size category incurs a cumulative −2 attack penalty ...
1
vote
2answers
478 views

Can I overwinter in a beehive by wildshaping into a winter bee?

Can I overwinter in a beehive by wild-shaping into a winter bee? This is the bee statblock I am using. I am an 8th-level druid. I think the following procedure works but I'm probably overlooking ...
14
votes
1answer
480 views

Is an attack of opportunity an immediate action?

If you make an attack of opportunity, can you take an immediate action in the same round? It would make sense because immediate actions were invented after the PH (and therefore AoOs), but is this RAW?...
8
votes
1answer
141 views

Can I level quickly by exploiting acquired templates?

Can I level quickly by exploiting acquired templates? Inspired by Quadratic Wizard's question. This requires a friendly lycanthrope, a cleric, and a bucket of water: Be a normal character with a ...
12
votes
1answer
688 views

Can a necromancer True Polymorph to get an arbitrary CR 9-or-less companion?

According to If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? after a necromancer polymorphs an undead they control, it is still under their control. ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Is a space containing the corpse of a dead creature considered difficult terrain?

I have seen it happen at numerous tables: there's a corpse on the ground, and the DM says that the space in which it lies is difficult terrain. As far as I know there is no rule explicitly requiring ...
5
votes
2answers
119 views

Is there any drawback to a Vampire wielding an Undead Bane weapon?

For some reason I recall that Bane weapons caused problems for the wielder if the wielder was typed to the Bane. Such as a Vampire wielding an Undead Bane mace or an Elf wielding an Elf Bane axe. Am ...
8
votes
2answers
716 views

Can I level quickly by exploiting level drain and restoration?

Suppose an archmage has an apprentice, a level 1 wizard who he wants to train quickly. He attempts the following: He goes adventuring with the apprentice. The archmage fights moderately powerful ...
2
votes
1answer
62 views

Can the Move Objects power be used to 'force choke' someone?

According to Rules as Written, can the Move Object power be used to "force choke" someone (in essence strangle someone), even without any of the extras? Or would the Damaging Extra need to be bought? ...
14
votes
1answer
712 views

Does Produce Flame Trigger Flames of Plegethos?

I have a player in my campaign who took the Flames of Phlegethos tiefling racial feat (from Xanathar's Guide to Everything). One of its abilities is: Whenever you cast a spell that deals fire ...
6
votes
1answer
590 views

Is there ever a case where a creature gets a saving throw against the “Sleep” spell?

The sleep spell (PHB 276) states: This spell sends creatures into a magical slumber. Roll 5d8; the total is how many hit points of creatures this spell can affect. This and other similar spells ...
1
vote
2answers
119 views

Are there any RAW effects or attributes that give resistance to the Sleep spell?

The Sleep spell states: This spell sends creatures into a magical slumber. Roll 5d8; the total is how many hit points of creatures this spell can affect. (PHB 276) The sleep spell doesn't ...
8
votes
2answers
819 views

Is there a way to “scry” across planes to the Nine Hells?

I'm not necessarily requiring the scrying spell (because it is limited to the plane you're on), but is it possible to get a similar effect of seeing/hearing through a sensor/creature/something else on ...
3
votes
3answers
84 views

Spell Combat with a held charge vs casting a spell

My level 1 Magus has cast Shocking Grasp during the first round and missed his touch attack so is still holding the charge. On his second turn, can he use Spell Combat to attack with the spell in his ...
-1
votes
1answer
109 views

Is the target of a spell at casting time the target of the spell for it's duration?

Does the Target of a Spell Continue to be the Target? Consider dominate person or polymorph. A spell such as dominate person or polymorph is cast on a human. The human does not save. On the next ...
0
votes
0answers
173 views

Using the Lucky feat, can you choose to roll the dice, but not use a point? [duplicate]

The Lucky feature states: "...You have 3 luck points. Whenever you make an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can spend one luck point to roll an additional d20. You can choose ...
9
votes
2answers
130 views

What does Fortitude Immunity include?

According to Mutants & Masterminds 3e RAW would a flat Immunity to Fortitude Checks include immunity to: suffocation, thirst and starvation and sleep? The Player insists that it does, and hopes ...