Questions tagged [sage-advice]

For questions related to Sage Advice, the official rulings and rules errata column for Dungeons & Dragons produced by Wizards of the Coast.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8 votes
2 answers

Do creatures attempt a saving throw immediately when a Whirlwind is moved onto them on a turn subsequent to the initial casting?

The Sage Advice Compendium (pp. 19-20) contains a ruling about the spell moonbeam and other similar spells. The ruling provides a list of spells that are covered by it: blade barrier cloudkill cloud ...
mdrichey's user avatar
  • 10.6k
6 votes
2 answers

Do the Sage Advice columns count as official rulings?

The Sage Advice Compendium states: Official rulings on how to interpret rules are made here in the Sage Advice Compendium. A Dungeon Master adjudicates the game and determines whether to use an ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
22 votes
3 answers

Is the update history of the Sage Advice Compendium listed anywhere?

The Sage Advice Compendium holds errata/clarification for rules and descriptions within the core rulebooks of D&D's fifth edition. Each time it is updated the new additions are tagged with [New]. ...
Rykara's user avatar
  • 29.4k
18 votes
1 answer

Is there any way for the Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer’s Elemental Affinity to improve Eldritch Blast, or is the Sage Advice Compendium just wrong?

The Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer’s elemental affinity ability says: Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, you can add your ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
56 votes
2 answers

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
11 votes
3 answers

What does the Sage Advice Compendium mean in this example about casting multiple spells in a turn using Action Surge?

The Sage Advice Compendium has this text: If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.1k
19 votes
1 answer

Is the Sage Advice Compendium considered a 1st-party resource?

Is Jeremy Crawford's Sage Advice Compendium considered official Wizards of the Coast content, or rather is it more his own home-rules?
rpgstar's user avatar
  • 3,325
93 votes
2 answers

Why do Crawford's tweets seem to be treated on par with the actual rules?

I keep running into quoted tweets from this 'Jeremy Crawford' guy in 5e answers. My understanding is he's sort of in charge of the edition, like James Jacobs with Pathfinder. It makes sense that his ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar