Questions tagged [savage-worlds]

Savage Worlds is a generic RPG from Pinnacle Entertainment Group. The core values of the system are explicitly stated as "Fast! Furious! and Fun!"

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
99 views

What is the average expected rounds to 1 Wound, and how is it accurately calculated?

Take a character with Fighting skill d10 who does 2d6 damage, and a standardized bandit as the target. The bandit has d6 in all Traits and in Fighting, so has a Parry of 5, and wears leather armor ...
4
votes
1answer
80 views

Does the Unplugged hindrance limit what Augments you can buy?

If I've got a character with the Unplugged hindrance (no TAP, no direct brain to machine interface), can I buy any augments at all? Based on the description some augments seem software based and some ...
4
votes
1answer
86 views

Can I use the Savage Worlds Adventure Edition core rules with Interface Zero 2.0?

I'm quite new/interested to the Savage Worlds game system, and I would like a game with a cyberpunk flavour so I ended up with Interface Zero 2.0. Can I/Is it ok to use the latest edition of Savage ...
10
votes
1answer
335 views

Which aspects of D&D 5e will be affected by incorporating the Savage Worlds “Card Draw Initiative”?

The Savage World System In Savage Worlds, Initiative is determined by using a 54-card deck (standard 52-card deck, including the Jokers). Each player and enemy is dealt a card (or group of enemies, ...
4
votes
2answers
428 views

By how much would incorporating the “Benny” system from Savage Worlds affect the game in 5e?

In Savage Worlds, I particularly like the "Benny" system, and I was wondering what the effects of incorporating this into 5e might be? So basically, the Benny system grants each PC 3 Bennys at the ...
4
votes
1answer
60 views

Does the ally from Summon Ally provide the gang up bonus?

Does the ally from Summon Ally (p.169) provide the gang up bonus? The "Gang Up" on p.101 is from "each adjacent foe" ... does the power count? Conversely the cancelling mentions "allies", rather ...
8
votes
2answers
509 views

Do parry bonuses stack?

Do parry bonuses stack? So for example if a character is using two Rapiers (Parry +1, see p.72), do these stack, so their Parry is +2 ? And continuing, does the +1 Parry bonus from the Trademark ...
3
votes
1answer
61 views

Are there any rules/pointers on the calculation of the cover a target has?

Are there any rules/pointers on the calculation of the cover a target has? The rules on p.99 describe the four categories (light, medium, heavy & near total), but on a table top with miniatures, ...
3
votes
1answer
88 views

Are there any rules/pointers on the actions involved in equipping/readying a shield?

Are there any rules/pointers on the actions involved in equipping/readying a shield? The "Readying Weapons" rules on p.105 talk about two items per turn as a free action. But what about shields?
4
votes
1answer
111 views

Does the Bronze Helmet provide full cover for the head?

Does the Bronze Helmet provide full cover for the head? So assuming the character has armour covering the rest of their body, would they have armour coverage against area effects and swarms? I'm ...
2
votes
1answer
81 views

How does an AB Weird Science recreate their Trapping items if lost/destroyed?

How does an AB Weird Science recreate their Trapping items if they are lost or destroyed? P.148 says they must always use their item ... A weird scientist’s Trappings (see page 150) must always ...
5
votes
1answer
54 views

What does “contact” mean in relation to the Barrier power “Damage” modifier?

What does "contact" mean in relation to the Barrier power's Damage modifier (see p.155 of the Savage Worlds Adventure Edition v4.1 PDF). Does someone have to actually touch the Barrier? Or does ...
5
votes
1answer
207 views

Does drawing your weapon take an action?

Previous versions of Savage Worlds explicitly stated that it took one action, and there was the Quick Draw action that turned it into a free action. However, that Edge does not seem to exist in the ...
4
votes
1answer
193 views

When is it “Dramatically Appropriate” to Apply the Innocent Bystanders Rule?

I'm really enjoying Savage Rifts, but every now and then I come to a rule that just makes me wonder what Shanne Hensley was thinking. This rule is really open to interpretation (emphasis added): ...
4
votes
1answer
352 views

Can brass knuckles be combined with Brawler/Martial Artist edge? Would it be unbalanced to allow it anyway?

I was wondering whether brass knuckle can be combined with the brawler and martial artist edges from the Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition. Both edges imply in their description, that they are meant to be ...
5
votes
1answer
88 views

How do spaceships' Armor and Toughness work?

I'm new to Savage Worlds, and in my preparation phase of creating a Sci-Fi campaign. I'm borrowing from the last parsec, and the original sci-fi companion to make a homebrew of sorts. I'm confused ...
1
vote
3answers
290 views

What wins, an aced die or a higher roll?

If you were doing a contested skill check, if one person got an ace on their d4 and it ended up to becoming a 6, and the other rolled a d10 and ended up getting an 8, who wins? Basically is it ...
3
votes
2answers
771 views

When calculating Parry, if Fighting is untrained, do I add +1 or +2?

Parry is a stat calculated from 2 + half of the character's Fighting die. For untrained skills, a character would roll d4-2. Is this -2 taken into consideration when calculating Parry?
2
votes
1answer
122 views

Can you split both actions in the turn when using Quickness

In Deadlands, Quickness says you gain an extra action instead of an extra turn. Can you split both actions granted by Quickness? Normally you can do more than one action if you apply a -2 to each ...
3
votes
1answer
112 views

Do I have to make an Arcane roll to concentrate if I take less damage than my Toughness?

Let's say my character has Toughness 6 and is maintaining one spell. The character takes 7 points of damage, so I have to make an arcane roll to maintain said spell with a difficulty of 7. But what if ...
3
votes
1answer
78 views

Recommended Ranks for Savage Rifts Savage Tales?

DriveThruRPG has a bunch of great "one-page" adventures, and each of them specifies a recommended Rank for the party (Novice, Legendary, etc.). I thought this was a nice touch, as I wouldn't want to ...
5
votes
1answer
217 views

Do I roll my Wild Die when rolling to recover from being shaken?

In Savage Worlds combat, I find my characters getting in a lot of trouble because they become Shaken. When I roll to get un-Shaken, my GM says, of course, to make a Spirit roll with a TN of 4. However,...
2
votes
1answer
109 views

Do you get shaken by failing an arcane roll?

Wielding arcane power has its drawbacks, but some people learn to keep their focus even when things don't go right. If a character with this Edge is Shaken as a result of failing to invoke a ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

How do you heal Permanent Injuries without powers?

In Savage Worlds, when a character is rendered Incapacitated, they have a chance of acquiring a Permanent Injury. This is some kind of disfigurement that provides a permanent penalty to the character, ...
5
votes
1answer
150 views

What happens when Arcane Skill and Agility are tied in an Entangle roll?

My friend used Entangle on a character and both he and his opponent rolled 3. What happens? Would the result change if it was for example 5 vs 5?
7
votes
1answer
55 views

How does the UP Columbus Twin-Barrel work?

it says this: Pop, Pop, Double Tap! Nothing is sexier than a big pistol, and the Columbus is 9 pounds of Black Steel. It has an innovative design configuration, with the top barrel firing, ...
4
votes
1answer
307 views

Does spending a skill point give you a d4 or d6?

When a new character is made in Savage Worlds, they have 15 points to spend on skills. According to the rulebook: Each die type costs 1 point (starting at d4) The point of confusion for me here is ...
4
votes
1answer
415 views

How are the points for attributes used?

This is my first time creating a character in Savage Worlds, so I'm confused on how the attribute points work. I have the core rule book and I have played before, but it was with pre-generated ...
1
vote
1answer
567 views

How can aiming be used effectively in Savage Worlds?

So, following a recent session of our Savage Worlds campaign, we were made aware of the ability to "Aim" (standard action, nothing to do with super powers or edges, etc.). From the explanation, if a ...
5
votes
3answers
469 views

What does “modern day equivalent” mean for income in Savage Worlds?

I'm running a Deadlands Reloaded game and had a disagreement on the rules, all hinging on a line in the description for Rich: ...Rich heroes start with three times the normal starting funds for the ...
2
votes
1answer
159 views

Where are the Black Powder Explosives in Savage Worlds?

Today, I considered the idea of trying to run a "blackpowder" fantasy setting in Savage Worlds, having been inspired by the video game Darkest Dungeon and its gun-toting, bomb-chucking brigands. ...
4
votes
1answer
370 views

Burning damage in Savage Worlds

I will soon start a game of Necessary Evil, and one of my players will have the Elemental Attack (fire) superpower, and I am not completely sure if I understand the rules correctly. Anytime ...
8
votes
2answers
794 views

What actions are free actions? Especially when Shaken?

I just found out about the shaken errata that our Game Master did not knew about and we didn't use. Our GM is kinda strict; if it is not in the rules, it basically does not work. Under the Shaken ...
6
votes
1answer
613 views

How can a PC ever die?

We had our first PC "Death" in our last session - my PC, in an attempt to recover, failed the check (rolled 1's), and therefore "died". However, the GM explained that nobody really "dies" in this game ...
5
votes
2answers
183 views

What skill is checked to avoid getting lost?

In a Savage Worlds setting, what skill is used to avoid getting lost? (I'm plotting a Deadlands end for my friends…Bwa, ha ha ha! but any setting should do…) In the various flavors of D&D, this ...
3
votes
1answer
220 views

When a Weird Scientist dies, what happens to their Gizmos?

I was thinking about using enemies with Weird Science in one of my games of Savage Worlds. However, after reading the rules on Weird Science in the German Gentleman's Edition (Revised), I can not find ...
2
votes
1answer
102 views

Do Edges and Rippertech stack?

So I was perusing the Rippers Ressurected book and found that there is rippertech that gives +d4 to unarmed damage, and was wondering if that would stack with the Martial Artist edge, giving a total ...
3
votes
2answers
147 views

How to stat a non-human, primitive or semi-primitive NPC race?

I'm planning to run a one-shot (with the possibility of a segue into a short campaign), set in a version of the modern world (in which, of course, there's something not quite the way you learned it in ...
3
votes
1answer
129 views

Can “Metal Golem” use metal armor?

I'm telling an Accursed Story. One player created a Golem character and chose to be the Metal material. During the adventure he gained a metal armor. Can he wear it? Does it make sense for a Metal ...
3
votes
2answers
260 views

What exactly is a 'Damage roll' for Grim Servent O' Death/No Mercy edges

Lets say your gun does 2d6, if you have a Grim Servant edges, would that mean you would be shooting at a 2d6+1 or is it a 1d6+1 1d6+1? Both Grim Serv' and No Mercy use the term 'damage roll' but ...
1
vote
1answer
252 views

How long do powers last outside of combat rounds?

I know a combat round is six seconds, and all of the power duration are in rounds. I was wondering if there was a rule for how long powers last outside of combat? It seems like trying to use powers ...
9
votes
1answer
936 views

Can the Marksman edge be used while duel wielding pistols?

The marksman edge says The hero excels at taking controlled, measured shots. If he does not move in a turn, he may fire as if he took the Aim maneuver. Marksman may never be used with a Rate of ...
4
votes
1answer
503 views

Can you roll a critical failure on a single action where you roll multiple skill dice?

A normal Trait roll involves only 2 dice for a Wild Card, and thus the rule for Critical Failures is described as: snake-eyes (double 1s) on one of these rolls is a critical failure (SW Deluxe 63)...
3
votes
1answer
257 views

Savage Worlds - Firing into close combat…and missing

While working my way through the combat rules the need to shoot into close combat came up. The attacker, a Human with a Smith and Wesson .357 (2d6+1) wanted to shoot a frogman who has just Stunned ...
4
votes
1answer
986 views

Savage Worlds - Understanding the effects of Shaken

I'm just starting out with Savage Worlds and I'm running through the combat rules I had two humans ...
33
votes
2answers
4k views

What do I do if the GM at a convention game isn't anywhere close to getting the rules right?

I once played in a one-shot at Origins Game Fair that was supposed to be a Savage Worlds game. However, the gamemaster wasn't even close to following the rules correctly. It wasn't just things like ...
4
votes
1answer
136 views

Do gadgets/fetishes expire at the end of the session they are created?

In Savage Worlds and Deadlands Reloaded, do gadgets and fetishes (made with the Gadgeteer and Fetish Creator Edges) remain between sessions if they have PP remaining? Meaning if I make an item each ...
3
votes
1answer
227 views

What roll puts out a fire?

If a character is on fire, what they would they roll to put themselves out? How long should this take? A spot fire versus being completely engulfed might require different amounts of effort and ...
1
vote
1answer
344 views

Do touch attack powers only require one attack to use multiple?

When a power says, “use a touch attack to use this power”, does a player need to make multiple touch attacks to use multiple powers or is one touch attack enough? If just the one, is there a multi-...
3
votes
1answer
223 views

Can Soaking prevent being Shaken?

Does a character still get Shaken if he Soaks all wounds that would be dealt by an attack? SW Deluxe has this to say on page 69: If the character is left with any wounds from an attack, he’s still ...