Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [saving-throw]

For questions about saving throws, often used in RPGs such as D&D to refer to a set of defensive traits based on a character's own ability to avoid the brunt of damage, resist control, and endure through some force.

12
votes
1answer
4k views

Do unconscious characters get will saves?

If a character is unconscious (for example, negative hit points, NOT sleeping) and a spell targets them that allows a will save, can they take it? While I know they count as 'willing' for spells that ...
4
votes
5answers
1k views

How can a 13th-level wizard get a 17th-level wizard to fail a will save?

I am planning a plot that involves an evil wizard who reached lichdom, was defeated by another (good) wizard (his phylactery was also destroyed), was resurrected by a resurrection spell (he wasn't a ...
3
votes
1answer
479 views

Does Fog Cloud grant enemies disadvantage on spells requiring a successful Saving Throw?

If for example my Tempest Cleric were to cast Fog Cloud into a room of enemies would they roll at a disadvantage when my Wizard companion hurls a Shatter into that room?
23
votes
3answers
12k views

How do saving throws for half combine with damage resistance?

Let's say a player has to make a saving throw or take 20 cold damage. If they succeed on the save, they take half damage (10). Resistance also halves damage. What happens if they have cold resistance ...
12
votes
2answers
7k views

Where is the rule for what the saving throw DC of a wand is?

Searching around, people say that the saving throw DC of a wand is based on the minimum stats required to cast the spell, but I can't find such a statement in the SRD. Can someone confirm?
4
votes
1answer
568 views

Is Charm Monster/Person “harmless” for the purpose of the Insistent Benefactor trait?

Do the spells Charm Monster and Charm Person benefit from the Insistent Benefactor trait? More specifically, will it increase the Spell Save DC by 2? If not, is this because the spells are not ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Does Legendary Resistance allow a Stunned or Paralyzed creature to succeed on a save it would otherwise automatically fail?

Both the Paralyzed and Stunned conditions include the following: a [paralyzed/stunned] creature is incapacitated (see condition) and can't move (or in the case of paralyzed speak) The ...
10
votes
3answers
12k views

Do saving throw based spells that do damage count as attacks?

During our last session, two of my players got involved in a little PvP, and the Rogue was fireballed by the Wizard as a last act of defiance, hoping to take the Rogue with him as she died. The ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

What to do when someone's attacking you, but succeeding the save is worse than failing it? [duplicate]

I was reading through the Monk rules in D&D 5e when I came across this section in the rules for Quivering Palm: When you use this action, the creature must make a Constitution saving throw. If ...
2
votes
2answers
171 views

Martial Classes Attacking with Saving Throws

I've been looking for ways that a fighter (or other martial class) can fight effectively, preferably at low levels, against other high AC opponents. I know there is things like "Ki Shout", where you ...
4
votes
2answers
685 views

Are there errors in the save bonus values within the stat blocks of some 5e monster Manual stat blocks (e.g. Dracoliches)?

Are the save bonuses of some monsters in the Monster Manual (5E) miscalculated? Looking at the dracolich (pg 84) for example, I see that it's save bonuses seem to be calculated as ability bonus +5. ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

In 5e, are saving throw results detected by the opposing party?

Pathfinder makes it very clear that Succeeding on a Saving Throw: A creature that successfully saves against a spell that has no obvious physical effects feels a hostile force or a tingle, but ...
-4
votes
1answer
839 views

How does the flaming sphere reflex save work?

How do I calculate what a successful reflex DC save when trying to dodge against the flaming sphere?
0
votes
1answer
383 views

Why are saving throws not typically considered an action? [closed]

It has been awhile since I played table top D&D, but I've always wondered why a player's "normal action" is not used up when making a saving throw? When a round is 6 seconds long, it seem that (...
6
votes
1answer
41k views

How are the two different kinds of saves used?

I'm trying to understand how saves work and are used. I'm reading the Basic Rules and this is what I have so far: Your spell save is 8 + (proficiency bonus) + (ability modifier). Your saving throw is ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

In what state is a person affected by Hypnotic Pattern? Can they make saving throws?

I'm reading the Hypnotic Pattern description and it says "Charmed, Incapacitated, Speed (0)" and "Snaps out of it, if being shaken or takes damage." Then I read the various states you can be under: ...
6
votes
4answers
7k views

How do Contests and Saving Throws interact?

Say I have a Stunned opponent, and I roll to grapple them. Stunned says this: Stunned A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move, and can speak only falteringly. ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

How can I increase the 'special modifiers' section of my spell saving throw?

I've been looking into ways to make it harder for monsters to make savings throws against me, and I noticed savings throws = 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + any special modifiers. What is the ...
1
vote
1answer
314 views

How Do Granted Saving Throws Interact with the Dying Condition?

Setup I've been assuming that granting death saving throws was probably not a good thing, but this recent question got me thinking. Death saving throws are a type of saving throw, so you should be ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you make your ally die faster when trying to save him from a Death Ray?

The Beholder has the Death Ray power. It says that if the target fails the second saving throw, the target dies. Does it count for when the players are using heal or powers to let their ally save ...
11
votes
2answers
31k views

Does the Hex spell give disadvantage to saving throws and attacks?

The Warlock Spell 'Hex' (PHB 251) gives Disadvantage on ability checks. Does this include saving throws and attacks? That is, in this context, are saving throws and attacks 'ability checks'?
20
votes
2answers
10k views

Does a Paladin with Aura of Protection effectively get twice the Charisma save modifer?

The question is actually rather straightforward and many people seem to be confused about it: When a 6th or higher level paladin that has Aura of Protection rolls a Charisma save, does he ...
27
votes
5answers
35k views

What is the difference between Ability Checks and Saving Throws?

Mechanically, they both seem to be d20 rolls with an added ability modifier to overcome some type of challenge. Why call it a "saving throw" and not just present it as a passive ability check? The ...
5
votes
1answer
7k views

What is the difference between skill- and save-specific modifiers and the Proficiency bonus?

Currently I only have the 5th Edition Starter Set and I'm new to D&D. I understand that there is the Proficiency Bonus (+2 for the Starter Set's Cleric for example) which would be applied to the ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there something that should be making my spell saving throws stronger?

I've read the many queries relating to this but they are mostly D&D related. I'm playing a sorcerer, and it seems that now that we are hitting L6-7, I'm less effective: my spell's saving throws ...
-1
votes
1answer
25k views

D&D 5th edition questions [closed]

A group of friends and myself are starting up D&D for the first time. So we are starting with the 5th edition since it's the latest edition. Now I am currently building my character and I am ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

What is the save DC of a supernatural ability?

I am playing as a oracle who has the supernatural ability Brain Drain. It says that the target gets to make a Will save. What is the DC of this Will save? Normally a Will save's DC is 10 + spell level ...
64
votes
6answers
21k views

Can you choose to fail a saving throw?

(Yet another) follow-up from this question: As someone mentioned in the question above, some 'friendly' spells (Calm Emotion, IIRC) specify that one can choose to fail the saving throw. In this case,...
17
votes
4answers
6k views

How to protect a Cha-based caster against Feeblemind?

Feeblemind requires an Int save: on a fail, the target's Intelligence and Charisma are set to 1. This pretty much destroys any Int or Cha-based caster, but the fact that the latter have low Int (and ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?
17
votes
2answers
4k views

Do targets of Spell Reflection get a saving throw?

The description of a Spectator from the Lost Mine of Phandelver adventure says they have the following reaction (p. 62): Spell Reflection. If the spectator makes a successful saving throw against ...
24
votes
4answers
33k views

Why is there a saving throw for each ability score?

From reading the current preview of the "Basic Rules" it looks like each ability score is now granted the possibility of being connected to a Saving Throw. In fact, certain classes get proficiency ...
10
votes
2answers
72k views

Have death saving throws changed in 5e? [closed]

I was reading an article and saw an image of what's in the Starter Set box. I was surprised to see this: Ok, there are 3 box for failures, but why are there 3 boxes for success? Is it best out of 5 ...
4
votes
1answer
927 views

Can someone agree (under duress) to forego a saving throw and can you tell if they comply or not?

Suppose a cleric wants to question an NPC under the effects of a "Zone of Truth" spell. And suppose said cleric or a member of her party has the ability to strong-arm the NPC into agreeing. Can part ...
3
votes
1answer
557 views

How do saving throws work with Gestalt?

Our party has a level 4 gestalt Scout 4 // Ranger 1 / Swashbuckler 2 / Rogue 1 Heroforge came up with base saves of +5 +5 +0 By my calculation the scout side ...
9
votes
1answer
358 views

What are the implications of letting a player skip the Save Ends on effects?

I'm a new GM to D&D 4e, and today this situation happened during our game: a player was hit by a Beholder Eye Tyrant, and started taking 2d20 ongoing damage (save ends). The player however changed ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

How can I make a high level magus fail a will save?

We are playing an epic level campaign in which all PCs and most NPCs are 20th level. This has been really fun but I am quickly finding that it is very hard to get an advantage over some of the people ...
5
votes
1answer
289 views

Trouble with certain spell saving throws

Some of them are a bit confusing. Take, for example, Ghoul Touch. It states "Saving Throw Fortitude negates," but in the text it mentions that it "causes all living creatures in a 10-foot-radius ...
7
votes
1answer
819 views

Where does a temporary ability bonus count for in spellcasting?

A "Headband of Inspired Wisdom +2" adds +2 to your Wisdom score. So a +1 to you Wisdom modifier. The first 24 hours it is worn you get a temporary ability bonus after that it is permanent for as long ...
10
votes
1answer
73k views

Spell DC Saving Throws

In the Class sections, each class Spell DC is stated as "8 + your [Ability] modifier." So for example, a Mage with 16 Intelligence would have a Spell DC of 11. However, on page 28 of How To Play, it ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

Do you always get a Will save?

In D&D is there any situation where a player character could not be given a will save? Such as unconscious, insane, already under a previous illusion? If you are not in control of your mental ...
13
votes
7answers
1k views

If a DM uses Zone of Truth as a permanent effect, should creatures get only one save?

In my current setting, the local temple has a permanent Zone of Truth effect in the main hall. While I intended the effect to be an innate quality of the stone used to build the temple, there is no ...
9
votes
6answers
2k views

Do you still roll a saving throw against effects that your character is immune to?

This question deals explicitly in how the mechanics of Pathfinder functions and not in how I should resolve this at the table; in Pathfinder, if a character is immune to an effect and then targeted by ...
17
votes
5answers
2k views

Save against a spell thought to be harmless

It's a pretty simple question, but I can't find a definite answer: The cleric tells the warrior he is going to cast a Cure spell on him (harmless spell). The warrior says ok. The cleric instead ...
8
votes
1answer
589 views

Within 6 levels is there any way to change your save DC from Wisdom to Charisma for a Cleric?

I'm playing in an E6 game (caps out at level 6) and with the stats I rolled and templates I'd like to apply, I end up with a downright amazing Charisma score. Unfortunately, I'm playing a cleric and ...
5
votes
1answer
306 views

Is it possible to save from ongoing damage, if submerged in the source of the damage every turn?

Specifically: in H2: thunderspire Labyrinth in the Hall of the Crimson Whip, there are pools of poisonous blood. The damage states: "Any creature that is not a demon and enters or starts its turn in a ...
20
votes
3answers
648 views

How much of a large's creature's space must be above a pit before they fall?

Scenario: The party encounters large skeletons. The combat map has a lot of squares marked as (possibly) bottomless pits. Each skeleton takes up four squares. If they are forced towards the edge, how ...
10
votes
2answers
8k views

Multiclass total saving throw adjustment in Pathfinder

Adding base attack bonuses, saving throw bonuses from prior class is throwing me for a loop. Example Barbarian level 3 decides Bard level 1 will be next. BAB +3 FORT +3 REF + 1 WILL +1 (barbarian 3) ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Silence spell and when to roll saving throw

This is the spell (as most people know). The saving throw section makes me confused. It is a powerful spell and the description reads as: The spell can be centred on a creature, and the effect ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Where do I find the saving throws matrix for monsters in AD&D

In the Dungeon Master's Guide it gives you a matrix for character saving throws but I can not find the matrix for monster's saving throws, where can I find this?