The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [shield]

For questions about shields, defensive armor carried or worn on the arm for the protection of the body.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
2answers
234 views

Do tower shields provide cover from all directions?

A Tower Shield allows you to use the Take Cover action, in order to gain Greater Cover from the shield. This is confusing because the cover rules require that a source of cover must be between you and ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this homebrew tower shield overpowered?

In my current 5e game the DM allowed our paladin to purchase this shield that was homebrewed by the DM: Armor (tower shield), common \$\begin{array}{|c|c|c|c|c|} \hline \textbf{Cost} & \...
-4
votes
2answers
291 views

Is there a balanced or allowable trade that would grant Shield proficiency as a starting proficiency for a class which normally would not have it?

Normally a character has to choose between wielding 2 of a shield, an arcane focus (or component pouch), and a weapon OR just a two-handed weapon. As a Warlock, I could choose to wield an arcane ...
4
votes
1answer
94 views

Can allies take cover behind my tower shield?

I am a champion who is wielding a tower shield. I raise my shield, and then Take Cover. On their turns, can my allies attempt to take cover behind my tower shield also? The Take Cover action requires:...
9
votes
2answers
289 views

What harmful effects is the second benefit of the Shield Master feat useful against?

One of the benefits of the Shield Master feat in 5e (PHB, p. 170) reads: If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or ...
4
votes
1answer
142 views

Can I somehow set the tower shield down as cover?

Is it possible to set a tower shield in a place to gain cover but without the the need to hold it with one arm?
8
votes
2answers
189 views

Does firing a crossbow wielded in two hands prevent gaining a buckler's AC bonus?

The description of the buckler (Player's Handbook 123, 124) (15 gp; 5 lbs.), in part, says You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying [the buckler. I]f you use a weapon in your ...
5
votes
2answers
722 views

Is the Shield of Expression magic item made of wood or metal?

I have a Shield of Expression (XGtE, p. 139). The description I have of it is the following: The front of this shield is shaped in the likeness of a face. While bearing the shield, you can use a ...
15
votes
4answers
563 views

What balance pitfalls result from this house rule modifying the Shield Master feat?

For an upcoming game, I'm weighing Shield Master as a feat selection. The closer I look at it (and recent rulings on it), however, the more lackluster I find it in comparison to other choices like ...
10
votes
5answers
2k views

Can an Aarakocra use a shield while flying?

Another PC in a new campaign is an Aarakocra druid, with a (wooden) shield and a free hand for spellcasting (or throwing javelins). At first, the DM and some PCs (myself included) thought the wings ...
2
votes
0answers
381 views

Are these homebrew shields balanced? [closed]

Ever since I first looked at the equipment tables in the PHB, I've been dissatisfied with the lack of different shield options. I suppose it makes sense in the 5e philosophy of making everything as ...
8
votes
1answer
7k views

How powerful is a Sentinel Shield really?

For gauging the power of magic items, I tend to rely heavily on the excellent Sane Magical Item Prices document that tends to be pretty well researched and highly regarded. Thus far, I've always ...
2
votes
1answer
398 views

Does Shield Master make Two-Weapon Fighting obsolete?

I need a clarification between these two answers: 1 2 The first answer argues that Shield Master removes only the penalties from attack rolls made with a shield. So for example a character that has ...
12
votes
5answers
2k views

How can I have a shield and a way of attacking at distance at the same time?

Apart from the Animated Shield, is there a way to fight with a shield (given that my character has proficiency with shields), and attacking at distance (I also have proficiency with some ranged ...
3
votes
1answer
260 views

Can I touch something with a hand that is holding a shield?

This question might seem kind of stupid (and it might be), but let me explain. In real life, a shield isn't specifically held, but rather strapped to someone's arm, and although it renders the arm (...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Are there any rules/pointers on the actions involved in equipping/readying a shield?

Are there any rules/pointers on the actions involved in equipping/readying a shield? The "Readying Weapons" rules on p.105 talk about two items per turn as a free action. But what about shields?
12
votes
1answer
911 views

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat?

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat? The scenario I am trying to work out is as follows... ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

How much attack damage does the AC boost from a shield prevent on average?

Statistically, how much attack damage does the AC boost from a shield prevent on average? I've seen claims it results in a 10% reduction in damage taken, is that accurate?
8
votes
3answers
479 views

Are there any outlying considerations if I treat donning a shield as an object interaction during the first round of combat?

A shield takes 1 action to equip (PHB 146). I'm an new DM and would like to allow that in the first round of battle the PC may use the "interact with objects" time (PHB 190) to equip its shield, if ...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when the wearer of a Shield of Missile Attraction is behind total cover?

The Shield of Missile Attraction, a rare magic item that requires attunement, has the following curse: Whenever a ranged weapon attack is made against a target within 10 feet of you, the curse ...
5
votes
2answers
437 views

Is there a way to avoid the buckler's penalty to attack rolls?

Buckler: Benefit: [...] You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an offhand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 ...
6
votes
2answers
106 views

Can a buckler be dealt armored sacrifice damage while two-weapon fighting?

Armored Sacrifice (Ex): When damage would cause the fighter or an adjacent ally to be knocked unconscious or killed, the fighter can instead direct the damage to a suit of armor that he is wearing or ...
33
votes
2answers
3k views

How can I adjudicate a character attempting a “shield crush” attack to pin a creature?

In a recent game at my table, the cleric wanted to use his shield to pin a ghoul against the wall in order to stop it hitting people and make it easier to hit. The player was thinking of it like a ...
2
votes
1answer
348 views

How exactly does Shield Master work?

Does Shield Master removing shields' two-weapon fighting penalties mean I don't take any penalties when dual wielding shields, even if I don't have the Two Weapon Fighting feat? I plan on getting ...
1
vote
2answers
526 views

Spellcasting with focus and shield [duplicate]

Warlock with Wand +1 and shield (hexblade, he has proficiency in shields) A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components—or to hold a spellcasting focus—but it can be ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
2
votes
1answer
85 views

How much cover do non-Medium tower shields provide?

Per the tower shield description, it's possible to deploy a tower shield to effectively create a wall along one edge of your space. This makes sense for Medium creatures wielding Medium tower shields, ...
5
votes
1answer
137 views

Does the tower shield's table entry trump the text?

The Player's Handbook on Armor on Maximum Dex Bonus on Shields says, "Shields do not affect a character’s maximum Dexterity bonus" (122), yet Table 7–6: Armor and Shields in its entry for the tower ...
10
votes
2answers
874 views

Cheapest way to cast spells with sword and (heavy) shield?

Suppose a spellcaster wishes to use a heavy shield, or even a heavier shield like a tower shield. Divine, so arcane spell failure doesn’t apply, but they are using a weapon. Since heavy (and heavier) ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a steel shield be equipped with wooden spikes?

We found out our party might be fighting vampires. It could be cool if my shield-bashing fighter affixed wooden shield spikes on heavy steel shield. Can this be a thing, RAW?
1
vote
1answer
104 views

Can you use a shield with shield spikes to make a bludgeoning attack?

With any regular shield, typically one makes bludgeoning damage with a shield bash. If you add shield spikes, it changes the damage die and type to piercing. Would it be possible still use the altered ...
9
votes
5answers
2k views

What would be the rules for an “Improvised shield”? [closed]

If a character were to hold up a metal lid or broke off a wooden door or even froze some water into a roughly shield-like shape, what would be the rules for using such an item as a shield? Would it ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Monk with the Unhindering Shield feat use Heavy Shields effectively?

I had an idea to play a monk who uses a shield in his fighting. After a little searching, I came across the Unhindering Shield feat. The feat lists a benefit which is specific to bucklers. ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you enchant a shield for defense and offense?

Can I enchant a Light Spiked Steel Shield with +1 for AC and ACP, and another +1 for Attack and Damage Rolls? What would the price be, and how would that be calculated? Two separate +1’s or would ...
5
votes
1answer
782 views

What is the cost of a +1 Mithral Heavy Steel Shield?

I need a breakdown of the item costs: Base price Mithral +1 Enchantment I’ve read that there have been conflicting prices between the Core Rulebook and Ultimate Equipment.
4
votes
2answers
408 views

Can you don or doff a shield with one hand?

Sort of follow on from my previous question. Shields take an action to don or doff. In the previous question it was discussed that the reason for this might be needing to strap the shield to your ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you let go of a shield without doffing it?

Follow on from my previous question. One of my players has a (unknown to him) evil hand. I want to work out what the mechanical implications of that evil hand letting go of his shield would be. ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you hold a shield without donning it?

Shields take an action to "don", i.e. start to receive the benefit of the shield (2 AC for basic shields, other effects for magical shields). Can you pick up a shield and hold it without "donning" ...
3
votes
1answer
548 views

How does this homebrew dual shield feat compare to existing feats?

Shield Warrior You have mastered the art of using shields as weapons. You gain the following benefits: You can benefit from up to 2 shields (including stacking their bonuses to AC). ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Can you benefit from two different magical shields?

Currently looking at tanking options, I understand that you cannot add the AC of 2 shields together. However, it is possible to wield 2 shields. Does this mean you can benefit two different magical ...
5
votes
1answer
644 views

Can AL druids choose what magical shields are made from when found, if its description doesn't say?

In Adventurers League is it possible for a player to choose the type of material of shields that is found during a session ? In particular when the object description does not state its material type. ...
7
votes
1answer
214 views

How can I increase my shield bonus?

I am playing a Fighter using a heavy shield, and looking at feats like Encouraging Shield and Stout Shield. They're nice in that they stack with Improved Defenses, but the lack of scaling makes them ...
3
votes
1answer
50 views

Does Mental Arsenal improve Reflex defense?

The Iron Soul Monastic Tradition in Psionic Power includes Mental Arsenal: Mental Arsenal: While wielding a weapon other than one in the unarmed weapon group, you gain a +1 shield bonus to AC. ...
8
votes
3answers
422 views

Do Tiny-sized Tower Shields provide Total Cover for Huge Creatures?

My group is playing a RAW-only game for fun. The idea is to stick to RAW as closely possible, even if it causes weird problems or wacky interactions in the game world. So, from time to time some ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you decide not to use a shield's AC bonus? Dex bonus?

Let's say that there is a combat. There's is one player character and two enemies- one melee and one ranged. The player character has Armor of Agathys (or some other spell) and wants the melee ...
3
votes
2answers
932 views

Using TWO tower shields?

I am fully aware you would only get the AC bonus from one - and this would be very impractical... But if someone chose to wield two for whatever reason, could they then choose two edges of their ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

Do tortles get a bonus to AC from a shield while using Shell Defense?

Shell Defense. You can withdraw into your shell as an action. Until you emerge, you gain a +4 bonus to AC, and you have advantage on Strength and Constitution saving throws. While in your shell, you ...
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Can you use the hand Wielding a Shield to hold another object?

If you are wielding a shield, is that arm/hand available to be used to hold another item or object? Or is that arm/hand completely occupied by the Shield?
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does using a shield as an improvised weapon work with Dual Wielder feat? [duplicate]

Does a shield used as an improvised weapon via Improvised Weapons rules An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands... (PHB 147) count as a melee weapon since it ...
10
votes
2answers
15k views

Would dual wielding shields apply the second benefit of Shield Master feat twice?

Shield Master feat, second bullet: If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful effect that targets only ...