Questions tagged [shield]

For questions about shields, defensive armor carried or worn on the arm for the protection of the body.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
42
votes
5answers
4k views

Does a shield count as wearing metal armor for Shocking Grasp?

If an enemy is not wearing metal armor but is wielding a metal shield, do you get advantage on the attack roll for Shocking Grasp?
36
votes
2answers
62k views

Does the Dueling Fighting Style prevent using a shield?

The Dueling fighting style doesn't seem to state anything about shields, stating that the character can only wield one weapon while fighting to gain the benefit. Does a shield count as a weapon or ...
33
votes
2answers
3k views

How can I adjudicate a character attempting a “shield crush” attack to pin a creature?

In a recent game at my table, the cleric wanted to use his shield to pin a ghoul against the wall in order to stop it hitting people and make it easier to hit. The player was thinking of it like a ...
28
votes
3answers
38k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the War Caster feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If not,...
27
votes
9answers
96k views

How does shield bashing work?

I've looked in the DMG and the PHB, but have only found ancillary uses of the shield. The Shield Master feat (PHB, p.170) gives you neat perks, but doesn't act as a weapon (beyond the bonus shove ...
25
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...
23
votes
2answers
8k views

Does using an Animated Shield count as 'wielding a shield' for Unarmored Defense?

Does using an Animated Shield count as 'wielding a shield' for Unarmored Defense? Specifically, would using it inhibit a monk's unarmored defense? And does the Animated Shield require proficiency ...
22
votes
4answers
18k views

Why is using a tower shield a bad idea?

The comments in this question seem to indicate that being a tower shield user is a very detrimental choice in character-building. Having been under the impression for a long time that tower sheilds ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Can you benefit from two different magical shields?

Currently looking at tanking options, I understand that you cannot add the AC of 2 shields together. However, it is possible to wield 2 shields. Does this mean you can benefit two different magical ...
21
votes
4answers
20k views

Can a mundane shield be used with Mage Armor?

Mage armor: You touch a willing creature who isn't wearing armor, and a protective magical force surrounds it until the spell ends. The target's base AC becomes 13 + its Dexterity modifier. The ...
20
votes
3answers
3k views

Can Mage Hand wield a Shield?

I'm a caster with Mage Hand, and am wondering if I could use it with a regular Shield to create an ad-hoc Floating Shield. I ask because: Shields provide +2 AC but weigh 6lbs Mage hand has a weight ...
20
votes
4answers
9k views

Can the Eldritch Knight bond with his shield?

Basically title. I'm a shield master who frequently uses his shield to slam people down prone. I want to minimize my chances of having my shield taken away from me. Jeremy Crawford states something ...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when the wearer of a Shield of Missile Attraction is behind total cover?

The Shield of Missile Attraction, a rare magic item that requires attunement, has the following curse: Whenever a ranged weapon attack is made against a target within 10 feet of you, the curse ...
19
votes
4answers
36k views

Can I wear a shield and fight with a two-handed weapon?

In my group, we've been working with the understanding that you can wear a shield and fight with a two-handed weapon, the assumption being that you only get the +2 AC if you're actively wielding the ...
18
votes
4answers
8k views

Is an equipped shield considered “wearing armor” for gaining benefit from the Defence fighting style?

The Defence fighting style reads: While you are wearing armor, you gain a +1 bonus to AC Is a shield considered armor for this purpose?
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it possible to block a breath weapon with a shield?

Most of us may have seen similar imagery: How could a player character do as such, with a shield? Anything RAW, and without resorting to spellcasting (if at all possible), would be nice.
17
votes
5answers
7k views

Shield Master - Does the reaction to block a Fireball happen before or after the Dexterity saving throw?

The Shield Master feat (PH p.170) grants the following ability: If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

How much attack damage does the AC boost from a shield prevent on average?

Statistically, how much attack damage does the AC boost from a shield prevent on average? I've seen claims it results in a 10% reduction in damage taken, is that accurate?
16
votes
2answers
28k views

Does the Sorcerer feature Draconic Resilience work with shields?

Sorcerers of the Draconic Bloodline have the following class feature (located in the Player's Handbook p. 102): Draconic Resilience [...] Additionally, parts of your skin are covered by a thin ...
16
votes
1answer
7k views

Does Shield Master only grant DEX save bonuses vs. single-target spells?

The second effect of the 5e feat "Shield Master" reads (emphasis mine): If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

Do tortles get a bonus to AC from a shield while using Shell Defense?

Shell Defense. You can withdraw into your shell as an action. Until you emerge, you gain a +4 bonus to AC, and you have advantage on Strength and Constitution saving throws. While in your shell, you ...
15
votes
2answers
17k views

Using shields with versatile/two-handed weapons?

There are several members of my 5E party who use versatile weapons, such as the warhammer, which does 1d8 damage normally but can do 1d10 damage if wielded with both hands. One of these members also ...
15
votes
4answers
585 views

What balance pitfalls result from this house rule modifying the Shield Master feat?

For an upcoming game, I'm weighing Shield Master as a feat selection. The closer I look at it (and recent rulings on it), however, the more lackluster I find it in comparison to other choices like ...
13
votes
3answers
6k views

Does wielding a shield as an improvised weapon count for Dual Wielder and Two-Weapon fighting style?

Let's say I am wielding a dagger and shield, and I am using the shield as an improvised weapon. Would Dual-Wielder Feat and the Dual Wielding fighting style be in effect while I am using these as ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this homebrew tower shield overpowered?

In my current 5e game the DM allowed our paladin to purchase this shield that was homebrewed by the DM: Armor (tower shield), common \$\begin{array}{|c|c|c|c|c|} \hline \textbf{Cost} & \...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you hold a shield without donning it?

Shields take an action to "don", i.e. start to receive the benefit of the shield (2 AC for basic shields, other effects for magical shields). Can you pick up a shield and hold it without "donning" ...
12
votes
5answers
2k views

How can I have a shield and a way of attacking at distance at the same time?

Apart from the Animated Shield, is there a way to fight with a shield (given that my character has proficiency with shields), and attacking at distance (I also have proficiency with some ranged ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Do shield and armor check modifiers stack?

If I wear Hide armor (Check -1) and use a Heavy Shield (Check -2) is my check -2 or -3? In other words, do the checks stack or do I use the highest negative?
12
votes
2answers
713 views

Do monsters need to don the shields in their stat blocks?

PHB page 146 says that donning and doffing a shield takes 1 action for PCs. However I did not find anything about monsters. For example, a goblin (MM page 166) wears both a leather armor (AC 11 + ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Does the Tavern Brawler Feat mean you have to choose between Shield or Duelist?

Tavern Brawler Accustomed to rough-and-tumble fighting using whatever weapons happen to be on hand, you gain the following benefits: [...] You are proficient with improvised weapons. [...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat?

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat? The scenario I am trying to work out is as follows... ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

When a War Caster Wizard carrying a shield casts the spell “Shield” does the AC bonus Stack?

Basically, if you are a wizard with the war caster feat carrying a shield and you cast shield, do you get the bonus of your physical shield and the bonus from the spell shield (+5 AC) or not?
11
votes
2answers
7k views

Can my character cast the Shield spell while carrying a sword and shield?

I plan on taking the Magic Initiate feat with a paladin, giving him light, fire bolt, and shield from the sorcerer list. For light and fire bolt I can sheathe my sword as a free object interaction on ...
11
votes
6answers
7k views

How does a light shield impact your ability to cast spells with a somatic component?

Im trying to understand the somatic component of spellcasting, in pathfinder, and how it relates to shields. The core rule book has this to say about bucklers: You can cast a spell with somatic ...
11
votes
2answers
262 views

Do tower shields provide cover from all directions?

A Tower Shield allows you to use the Take Cover action, in order to gain Greater Cover from the shield. This is confusing because the cover rules require that a source of cover must be between you and ...
11
votes
2answers
874 views

Are there stats and rules for shield and anti-ballistic shield use in the modern day?

How are shields supposed to work in Vampire: the Masquerade? I've found some stats in Dark Ages (where they are very effective weapons for parrying attacks) but I don't know if there are stats for ...
10
votes
2answers
16k views

Would dual wielding shields apply the second benefit of Shield Master feat twice?

Shield Master feat, second bullet: If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful effect that targets only ...
10
votes
5answers
2k views

Can an Aarakocra use a shield while flying?

Another PC in a new campaign is an Aarakocra druid, with a (wooden) shield and a free hand for spellcasting (or throwing javelins). At first, the DM and some PCs (myself included) thought the wings ...
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Can I craft an Arcane Focus Shield?

In building a Cleric/Wizard, is there a mechanism by which I could buy or craft a shield that is an arcane focus with a holy symbol emblazoned on it?
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Can you use the hand Wielding a Shield to hold another object?

If you are wielding a shield, is that arm/hand available to be used to hold another item or object? Or is that arm/hand completely occupied by the Shield?
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a rogue, druid, or cleric use Shield Bash without penalty?

Originally I was going to ask, "Can a rogue or druid use Shield Bash", but the answer seemed obvious: "Yes, why not?" The question then is whether a rogue or a druid can use Shield Bash without the ...
10
votes
2answers
951 views

Cheapest way to cast spells with sword and (heavy) shield?

Suppose a spellcaster wishes to use a heavy shield, or even a heavier shield like a tower shield. Divine, so arcane spell failure doesn’t apply, but they are using a weapon. Since heavy (and heavier) ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Do you still gain the magical benefits of a shield when wearing but not wielding it?

So I gave one player's character a +1 magic shield that also grants resistance to ranged attacks. He wants to wear it on his back and still have the range resistance, arguing that he's technically "...
9
votes
5answers
2k views

What would be the rules for an “Improvised shield”? [closed]

If a character were to hold up a metal lid or broke off a wooden door or even froze some water into a roughly shield-like shape, what would be the rules for using such an item as a shield? Would it ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

Are there any rules against wielding a heavy shield two handed?

Given that Heavy Shields are one-handed weapons normal rules would dictate that you could wield it two-handed for extra damage. However I have heard many people state that you can't wield a shield two-...
9
votes
2answers
15k views

Can a fighter use their shield as an improvised weapon in addition to a regular attack?

Can a level 3 fighter use their shield as an improvised weapon and attack using their bonus action on top of their regular attack?
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a steel shield be equipped with wooden spikes?

We found out our party might be fighting vampires. It could be cool if my shield-bashing fighter affixed wooden shield spikes on heavy steel shield. Can this be a thing, RAW?
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Character Dual-Wield Bucklers, and Enjoy More AC Bonuses and Enchantments?

For wizards it's fairly standard practice to get a mithral buckler and enchant it with something (Death Ward, Energy Immunity, etc). My question is: is it possible to have a mithral buckler on both ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you enchant a shield for defense and offense?

Can I enchant a Light Spiked Steel Shield with +1 for AC and ACP, and another +1 for Attack and Damage Rolls? What would the price be, and how would that be calculated? Two separate +1’s or would ...