The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [shield]

For questions about shields, defensive armor carried or worn on the arm for the protection of the body.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
22
votes
4answers
17k views

Why is using a tower shield a bad idea?

The comments in this question seem to indicate that being a tower shield user is a very detrimental choice in character-building. Having been under the impression for a long time that tower sheilds ...
35
votes
2answers
59k views

Does the Dueling Fighting Style prevent using a shield?

The Dueling fighting style doesn't seem to state anything about shields, stating that the character can only wield one weapon while fighting to gain the benefit. Does a shield count as a weapon or ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

Does wielding a shield as an improvised weapon count for Dual Wielder and Two-Weapon fighting style?

Let's say I am wielding a dagger and shield, and I am using the shield as an improvised weapon. Would Dual-Wielder Feat and the Dual Wielding fighting style be in effect while I am using these as ...
15
votes
2answers
28k views

Does the Sorcerer feature Draconic Resilience work with shields?

Sorcerers of the Draconic Bloodline have the following class feature (located in the Player's Handbook p. 102): Draconic Resilience [...] Additionally, parts of your skin are covered by a thin ...
27
votes
9answers
92k views

How does shield bashing work?

I've looked in the DMG and the PHB, but have only found ancillary uses of the shield. The Shield Master feat (PHB, p.170) gives you neat perks, but doesn't act as a weapon (beyond the bonus shove ...
21
votes
4answers
19k views

Can a mundane shield be used with Mage Armor?

Mage armor: You touch a willing creature who isn't wearing armor, and a protective magical force surrounds it until the spell ends. The target's base AC becomes 13 + its Dexterity modifier. The ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it possible to block a breath weapon with a shield?

Most of us may have seen similar imagery: How could a player character do as such, with a shield? Anything RAW, and without resorting to spellcasting (if at all possible), would be nice.
28
votes
3answers
36k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the War Caster feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If not,...
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Can I craft an Arcane Focus Shield?

In building a Cleric/Wizard, is there a mechanism by which I could buy or craft a shield that is an arcane focus with a holy symbol emblazoned on it?
-6
votes
2answers
19k views

Can I wield just a shield and use magic?

I play a wizard and while I am rarely hit due to being in the back I'm still paranoid I will get hit. So I was wondering if, after getting a feat to wield a shield, I can use that with one hand and ...
25
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...
11
votes
6answers
7k views

How does a light shield impact your ability to cast spells with a somatic component?

Im trying to understand the somatic component of spellcasting, in pathfinder, and how it relates to shields. The core rule book has this to say about bucklers: You can cast a spell with somatic ...
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Can you use the hand Wielding a Shield to hold another object?

If you are wielding a shield, is that arm/hand available to be used to hold another item or object? Or is that arm/hand completely occupied by the Shield?
23
votes
2answers
8k views

Does using an Animated Shield count as 'wielding a shield' for Unarmored Defense?

Does using an Animated Shield count as 'wielding a shield' for Unarmored Defense? Specifically, would using it inhibit a monk's unarmored defense? And does the Animated Shield require proficiency ...
19
votes
4answers
34k views

Can I wear a shield and fight with a two-handed weapon?

In my group, we've been working with the understanding that you can wear a shield and fight with a two-handed weapon, the assumption being that you only get the +2 AC if you're actively wielding the ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

When a War Caster Wizard carrying a shield casts the spell “Shield” does the AC bonus Stack?

Basically, if you are a wizard with the war caster feat carrying a shield and you cast shield, do you get the bonus of your physical shield and the bonus from the spell shield (+5 AC) or not?
9
votes
2answers
14k views

Can a fighter use their shield as an improvised weapon in addition to a regular attack?

Can a level 3 fighter use their shield as an improvised weapon and attack using their bonus action on top of their regular attack?
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does using a shield as an improvised weapon work with Dual Wielder feat? [duplicate]

Does a shield used as an improvised weapon via Improvised Weapons rules An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands... (PHB 147) count as a melee weapon since it ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

To what extent does the Shield Master feat ignore penalties?

Reference: Shield Master (Combat) Your mastery of the shield allows you to fight with it without hindrance. Prerequisites: Improved Shield Bash, Shield Proficiency, Shield Slam, Two-...
17
votes
4answers
7k views

Is an equipped shield considered “wearing armor” for gaining benefit from the Defence fighting style?

The Defence fighting style reads: While you are wearing armor, you gain a +1 bonus to AC Is a shield considered armor for this purpose?
16
votes
1answer
7k views

Does Shield Master only grant DEX save bonuses vs. single-target spells?

The second effect of the 5e feat "Shield Master" reads (emphasis mine): If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or ...
20
votes
4answers
9k views

Can the Eldritch Knight bond with his shield?

Basically title. I'm a shield master who frequently uses his shield to slam people down prone. I want to minimize my chances of having my shield taken away from me. Jeremy Crawford states something ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

How much attack damage does the AC boost from a shield prevent on average?

Statistically, how much attack damage does the AC boost from a shield prevent on average? I've seen claims it results in a 10% reduction in damage taken, is that accurate?
8
votes
3answers
422 views

Do Tiny-sized Tower Shields provide Total Cover for Huge Creatures?

My group is playing a RAW-only game for fun. The idea is to stick to RAW as closely possible, even if it causes weird problems or wacky interactions in the game world. So, from time to time some ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I use an enemy as a shield, thus gaining benefits from cover?

Can I grapple the enemy and then use him for cover?
5
votes
1answer
934 views

From which squares does a Tower Shield provide Total Cover?

When a character uses a tower shield for total cover, which squares does that protect against? Obviously the square on the other side of the shield, but what about the diagonals? Total Cover: If ...
33
votes
2answers
3k views

How can I adjudicate a character attempting a “shield crush” attack to pin a creature?

In a recent game at my table, the cleric wanted to use his shield to pin a ghoul against the wall in order to stop it hitting people and make it easier to hit. The player was thinking of it like a ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

Do tortles get a bonus to AC from a shield while using Shell Defense?

Shell Defense. You can withdraw into your shell as an action. Until you emerge, you gain a +4 bonus to AC, and you have advantage on Strength and Constitution saving throws. While in your shell, you ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you hold a shield without donning it?

Shields take an action to "don", i.e. start to receive the benefit of the shield (2 AC for basic shields, other effects for magical shields). Can you pick up a shield and hold it without "donning" ...
10
votes
5answers
2k views

Can an Aarakocra use a shield while flying?

Another PC in a new campaign is an Aarakocra druid, with a (wooden) shield and a free hand for spellcasting (or throwing javelins). At first, the DM and some PCs (myself included) thought the wings ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

Are there any rules against wielding a heavy shield two handed?

Given that Heavy Shields are one-handed weapons normal rules would dictate that you could wield it two-handed for extra damage. However I have heard many people state that you can't wield a shield two-...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you decide not to use a shield's AC bonus? Dex bonus?

Let's say that there is a combat. There's is one player character and two enemies- one melee and one ranged. The player character has Armor of Agathys (or some other spell) and wants the melee ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can PCs gain a double-shield bonus, akin to that of a Fire Giant Dreadnought?

I want to make a ginormous-AC character, but I am not sure of the rules about shields. I want to have two shields held at once, with no other weapons. I know this is against the Player's Handbook: "...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you let go of a shield without doffing it?

Follow on from my previous question. One of my players has a (unknown to him) evil hand. I want to work out what the mechanical implications of that evil hand letting go of his shield would be. ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a sorcerer/paladin use an animated shield without any casting drawbacks?

My main concern is can I use it without any penalties that are added to holding a shield while casting spells, such an item would become more cumbersome than a weapon when casting but does the ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Is a Shield considered to be Armor when addressing Armor Proficiency? [duplicate]

This question stems from another. Does a shield count as "armor" with regard to the proficiency requirements listed under Armor Proficieny?
2
votes
1answer
346 views

How exactly does Shield Master work?

Does Shield Master removing shields' two-weapon fighting penalties mean I don't take any penalties when dual wielding shields, even if I don't have the Two Weapon Fighting feat? I plan on getting ...
1
vote
3answers
6k views

What benefit(s) does planting a tower shield in the ground grant? [closed]

Can a paladin/fighter plant a tower shield in the ground? What are the benefits that can be obtained from this? I'm thinking more like using Hide action or gaining half or 3/4 cover. Clarification: I'...
-4
votes
2answers
291 views

Is there a balanced or allowable trade that would grant Shield proficiency as a starting proficiency for a class which normally would not have it?

Normally a character has to choose between wielding 2 of a shield, an arcane focus (or component pouch), and a weapon OR just a two-handed weapon. As a Warlock, I could choose to wield an arcane ...