We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [shield]

For questions about shields, defensive armor carried or worn on the arm for the protection of the body.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
18
votes
4answers
8k views

Is an equipped shield considered “wearing armor” for gaining benefit from the Defence fighting style?

The Defence fighting style reads: While you are wearing armor, you gain a +1 bonus to AC Is a shield considered armor for this purpose?
11
votes
2answers
7k views

Can my character cast the Shield spell while carrying a sword and shield?

I plan on taking the Magic Initiate feat with a paladin, giving him light, fire bolt, and shield from the sorcerer list. For light and fire bolt I can sheathe my sword as a free object interaction on ...
0
votes
2answers
683 views

Clam Attack with shields?

Could you slam 2 shields together for trapping enemies to gain advantage on attacks by others later? It seems like it should be a logical maneuver to make but I can’t find any rules either way about ...
1
vote
3answers
6k views

What benefit(s) does planting a tower shield in the ground grant? [closed]

Can a paladin/fighter plant a tower shield in the ground? What are the benefits that can be obtained from this? I'm thinking more like using Hide action or gaining half or 3/4 cover. Clarification: I'...
6
votes
2answers
621 views

Does Fire Shield count as a shield that gives an AC bonus?

While the level 4 fire shield spell is out and equipped, does it count as a shield and give the shield AC bonus? It isn’t specified in the description of the spell, so I’m just curious.
1
vote
2answers
456 views

Carrying a shield, but not using it

Suppose an arcane caster is carrying a shield as part of a disguise. The wizard is not proficient with the shield and is just carrying it in one hand. If the wizard decides to not use the shield, ...
8
votes
1answer
7k views

Spell-casting: somatic component (shield+arcane focus; dual class)

My Druid (who uses shield+staff) and has the staff as a focus, just took a level in Wizard. DM said that since RAW says Druidic and arcane focus can both be staff it’s fine. (The Druid wields staff as ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can PCs gain a double-shield bonus, akin to that of a Fire Giant Dreadnought?

I want to make a ginormous-AC character, but I am not sure of the rules about shields. I want to have two shields held at once, with no other weapons. I know this is against the Player's Handbook: "...
15
votes
2answers
16k views

Using shields with versatile/two-handed weapons?

There are several members of my 5E party who use versatile weapons, such as the warhammer, which does 1d8 damage normally but can do 1d10 damage if wielded with both hands. One of these members also ...
8
votes
2answers
834 views

Do you also lose the magical bonus of a magic buckler when two-weapon fighting?

If you use a magically enchanted buckler and a weapon in that hand, do you also lose the enchantment bonus to AC?
6
votes
2answers
17k views

Can a wizard ever use a shield?

What ways are there for a wizard in D&D 5e to use a shield? The only option I could think of was multiclassing which does not seem worth it.
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Can I craft an Arcane Focus Shield?

In building a Cleric/Wizard, is there a mechanism by which I could buy or craft a shield that is an arcane focus with a holy symbol emblazoned on it?
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Does an Animated Shield cause penalties if I'm not proficient with shields?

If my character isn't proficient with shields but is using a shield, the armour section says the following: If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you have disadvantage on any ability ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a sorcerer/paladin use an animated shield without any casting drawbacks?

My main concern is can I use it without any penalties that are added to holding a shield while casting spells, such an item would become more cumbersome than a weapon when casting but does the ...
7
votes
1answer
138 views

What book contains the rules for Riot Shields?

So, I know there are no rules for riot shields in the basic nor advanced Small Arms Combat rules. I'm wondering what supplement, if any, does contain rules and equipment for anti-ballistic shields. ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Do adamantine shields have damage reduction?

The SRD discusses the benefit of adamantine to weapons and armor. It specifies that armor gets damage reduction dependent on whether the armor is heavy (3), medium (2), or light (1). There is no ...
-4
votes
1answer
5k views

What is the price of a shield?

What is the price of a shield? I have looked in the Player Handbook and I can't seem to find any specifics relating to the price of a shield.
2
votes
3answers
396 views

Can a tower shield provide cover for more than one person?

If a tower shield is used to provide total cover as a wall does anyone standing behind the person using the tower shield also have cover from an attack such as a dragons breath weapon? Would there be ...
42
votes
5answers
4k views

Does a shield count as wearing metal armor for Shocking Grasp?

If an enemy is not wearing metal armor but is wielding a metal shield, do you get advantage on the attack roll for Shocking Grasp?
16
votes
1answer
7k views

Does Shield Master only grant DEX save bonuses vs. single-target spells?

The second effect of the 5e feat "Shield Master" reads (emphasis mine): If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I use an enemy as a shield, thus gaining benefits from cover?

Can I grapple the enemy and then use him for cover?
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a Tower Shield providing Total Cover in a 5-foot doorway block Channel Energy from going through?

So, like the title is asking, does a Tower Shield providing Total Cover in a 5-foot doorway block Channel Energy from going through? Aka, can a party heal safely if the tower-shield fighter blocks ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

To what extent does the Shield Master feat ignore penalties?

Reference: Shield Master (Combat) Your mastery of the shield allows you to fight with it without hindrance. Prerequisites: Improved Shield Bash, Shield Proficiency, Shield Slam, Two-...
12
votes
2answers
706 views

Do monsters need to don the shields in their stat blocks?

PHB page 146 says that donning and doffing a shield takes 1 action for PCs. However I did not find anything about monsters. For example, a goblin (MM page 166) wears both a leather armor (AC 11 + ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Is a Shield considered to be Armor when addressing Armor Proficiency? [duplicate]

This question stems from another. Does a shield count as "armor" with regard to the proficiency requirements listed under Armor Proficieny?
20
votes
3answers
3k views

Can Mage Hand wield a Shield?

I'm a caster with Mage Hand, and am wondering if I could use it with a regular Shield to create an ad-hoc Floating Shield. I ask because: Shields provide +2 AC but weigh 6lbs Mage hand has a weight ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Do you still gain the magical benefits of a shield when wearing but not wielding it?

So I gave one player's character a +1 magic shield that also grants resistance to ranged attacks. He wants to wear it on his back and still have the range resistance, arguing that he's technically "...
4
votes
1answer
175 views

Do I get shield bonus to AC when using armour spikes as an off-hand weapon?

Suppose a character has armour spikes, a weapon in his primary hand and a shield in his other hand. If he uses two-weapon fighting to attack with the primary weapon and the spikes as his off-hand ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Does the Tavern Brawler Feat mean you have to choose between Shield or Duelist?

Tavern Brawler Accustomed to rough-and-tumble fighting using whatever weapons happen to be on hand, you gain the following benefits: [...] You are proficient with improvised weapons. [...
5
votes
1answer
942 views

From which squares does a Tower Shield provide Total Cover?

When a character uses a tower shield for total cover, which squares does that protect against? Obviously the square on the other side of the shield, but what about the diagonals? Total Cover: If ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I put away my shield during a grapple?

I would like to know if it's possible to do this. With the Shield Master feat: Turn 1, shove prone with shield, grapple with free hand Turn 2, put away shield while maintaining grapple Turn 3, ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Barbarian with Dual Wielder feat and shield

Just as a clarification to Would dual wielding a sword and shield as an improvised weapon count for dual wielding perks?: If I have the Dual Wielder feat and Extra Attack (level 5 Barbarian) and I'm ...
4
votes
0answers
2k views

Dual Shield Build [closed]

Really badly want to do either a Dwarven dual shield paladin or fighter. I would basically want to be a wall that can push, taunt and just be an undying shield carrier all around. Is there ANY form ...
19
votes
4answers
35k views

Can I wear a shield and fight with a two-handed weapon?

In my group, we've been working with the understanding that you can wear a shield and fight with a two-handed weapon, the assumption being that you only get the +2 AC if you're actively wielding the ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you shield bash for AOO?

Are you allowed to make attacks of opportunity with a shield bash? Or is a better question for this, can/do you threaten with a shield?
1
vote
1answer
675 views

Do clerics lose the shield bonus while casting a spell when they provoke an AOO?

Im building a cleric and I am confused about clerics and shields. I did have another question but found it answered here. My remaining question is when a cleric casts a spell while holding a light ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Character Dual-Wield Bucklers, and Enjoy More AC Bonuses and Enchantments?

For wizards it's fairly standard practice to get a mithral buckler and enchant it with something (Death Ward, Energy Immunity, etc). My question is: is it possible to have a mithral buckler on both ...
11
votes
2answers
856 views

Are there stats and rules for shield and anti-ballistic shield use in the modern day?

How are shields supposed to work in Vampire: the Masquerade? I've found some stats in Dark Ages (where they are very effective weapons for parrying attacks) but I don't know if there are stats for ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the dex bonus to AC from armor and shield stack?

I have a dwarf with full plate armor and a tower shield with dex of 16 (+3). Full plate grants a max dex bonus of +1 to AC and the tower shield +2. Now, can I get both the +1 AND +2 to get a +3 dex ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

How does the warcaster feat interact with arcane spells, and Eldritch Knight's use of war magic?

I know war caster negates the need of a free hand for somatic components, but it's not negating the need of an extra limb for manipulating materials! (I know you can use the same hand for both ...
9
votes
2answers
14k views

Can a fighter use their shield as an improvised weapon in addition to a regular attack?

Can a level 3 fighter use their shield as an improvised weapon and attack using their bonus action on top of their regular attack?
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Light Domain Cleric cast Burning Hands while carrying a shield?

I have a Light Domain Cleric who gets, as part of the Light Domain, the Burning Hands spell. Can I cast this spell while carrying a shield? I subscribe to the idea that one physically must touch one'...
6
votes
3answers
925 views

Can Flame Blade be used with a shield?

Flame blade says that "You evoke a fiery blade in your free hand". For practical purposes, lets call your free hand "Left" and your cast hand "Right" (if indeed you receive the blade in the hand you ...
5
votes
1answer
361 views

How Does a Shield Bash Work on Multiple Targets?

I had a circumstance come up in the 5E Campaign I am running where a PC (Paladin) came across several (3) goblins that all stood up and advanced on him as he came around a corner in a dungeon. He ...
21
votes
4answers
19k views

Can a mundane shield be used with Mage Armor?

Mage armor: You touch a willing creature who isn't wearing armor, and a protective magical force surrounds it until the spell ends. The target's base AC becomes 13 + its Dexterity modifier. The ...
23
votes
2answers
8k views

Does using an Animated Shield count as 'wielding a shield' for Unarmored Defense?

Does using an Animated Shield count as 'wielding a shield' for Unarmored Defense? Specifically, would using it inhibit a monk's unarmored defense? And does the Animated Shield require proficiency ...
0
votes
4answers
486 views

How should I implement a matador's cape used as a shield? [closed]

The first thought I had upon reading about the Swashbuckler from Unearthed Arcana: Waterborne was to create a matador. Unfortunately I was unable to find (after searching through the DMG, MM, and PHB) ...
13
votes
3answers
6k views

Does wielding a shield as an improvised weapon count for Dual Wielder and Two-Weapon fighting style?

Let's say I am wielding a dagger and shield, and I am using the shield as an improvised weapon. Would Dual-Wielder Feat and the Dual Wielding fighting style be in effect while I am using these as ...
6
votes
1answer
287 views

What stops an intelligent foe from just grabbing your Animated Shield?

An animated shield floats in front of you to protect you as if you were holding it. However, it has no physical connection to you like a real shield does. I understand its usage against mindless ...
25
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...