We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [shield]

For questions about shields, defensive armor carried or worn on the arm for the protection of the body.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
20
votes
4answers
9k views

Can the Eldritch Knight bond with his shield?

Basically title. I'm a shield master who frequently uses his shield to slam people down prone. I want to minimize my chances of having my shield taken away from me. Jeremy Crawford states something ...
3
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I use two shields and get the AC bonus from both?

The question title sums it up fairly quickly. If a character is wielding two shields, one in each hand, does she gain the shield bonus to AC from both, or only the higher one? And where in RAW is this ...
3
votes
1answer
14k views

What feats specifically benefit a character's shield use?

I was building a defensively-minded cohort today when I realized that I've searched stacks of books for all the shield-boosting feats several times in the past, and decided that the Pathfinder ...
4
votes
1answer
541 views

How does combat with weapon and shield work?

In Ars Magic 5th I am not able to find how combat works for a character with weapon and shield. Attack total is: Dexterity + Combat Ability + Weapon Attack Modifier + Stress Dice Defense total is:...
4
votes
3answers
23k views

Do I still get the AC bonus from a shield if I use a 2 handed weapon?

Do I get the +2AC from a shield if it stays on my back all the time? Another way to look at it: If I use my Versatile weapon as two-handed, does my AC go down? I'm still proficient in all my gear, ...
6
votes
4answers
25k views

Can I load a hand crossbow while holding a shield?

Can I load a hand crossbow if I am using a shield and the crossbow? Would I be able to get multiple attacks with Crossbow Expert if I am using a shield and a hand crossbow?
3
votes
2answers
374 views

Pinning a Shield with a Shield?

Question(s) Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Also, would Agile Shield Fighter have any effect? For instance, would that allow to "...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Are there stats for the Roman Scutum in any supplement?

The Roman Scutum was a shield much like a tower shield but smaller and lighter: While a D&D Tower Shield is 45 lbs. and can't bash, a Scutum was typically about 22 lbs. (10 kg) and was ...
-8
votes
2answers
32k views

What is Armor Class used for?

I have never understood or found any answer to how to use your AC. Is it something the GM have to keep in mind all the time to reduce or add damage to specific players based on how high their AC is, ...
2
votes
2answers
632 views

Would a torch be considered a weapon when using a light shield and the Weapon and Torch feat?

According to the Weapon and Torch feat (Dungeonscape, p. 47) I can: Attack once with your melee weapon. If the attack hits, you also sweep your torch across your foe's eyes, dealing ld6 points of ...
5
votes
2answers
586 views

Would the Shield Wall feat grant a shield bonus for each adjacent ally, or just one adjacent ally?

Situation: I am believing the feat limits the benefit to only one adjacent ally, but friends state that it should include an additional adjacent ally due to the wording: Benefit: When you and an ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it possible to block a breath weapon with a shield?

Most of us may have seen similar imagery: How could a player character do as such, with a shield? Anything RAW, and without resorting to spellcasting (if at all possible), would be nice.
2
votes
0answers
205 views

What are the limitations on the “Dueling” fighting style for Fighters? [duplicate]

So I was looking over the wording for the fighting styles for Fighters, and I notices the wording for the Dueling Fighting Style (p. 72 PHB) seemed to allow for more options than you would ...
17
votes
5answers
7k views

Shield Master - Does the reaction to block a Fireball happen before or after the Dexterity saving throw?

The Shield Master feat (PH p.170) grants the following ability: If you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your ...
3
votes
1answer
413 views

Can I wield an enchanted spiked shield and magic weapon in the same hand?

The Adventurer's Vault states that the spiked shield: can be enchanted as a magic shield or a magic weapon, but not both. A spiked shield enchanted as a magical weapon does not occupy a character's ...
27
votes
9answers
94k views

How does shield bashing work?

I've looked in the DMG and the PHB, but have only found ancillary uses of the shield. The Shield Master feat (PHB, p.170) gives you neat perks, but doesn't act as a weapon (beyond the bonus shove ...
8
votes
1answer
566 views

What's the benefit of a Druid (or a Warrior Druid in particular) having a shield?

A Druid (from 13 True Ways, page 38) gets +0 base AC and a -2 attack penalty for having a shield, going by the 13th age PDFs. There's an asterisk note that says: * Warrior druid talent choices can ...
-6
votes
2answers
20k views

Can I wield just a shield and use magic?

I play a wizard and while I am rarely hit due to being in the back I'm still paranoid I will get hit. So I was wondering if, after getting a feat to wield a shield, I can use that with one hand and ...
11
votes
6answers
7k views

How does a light shield impact your ability to cast spells with a somatic component?

Im trying to understand the somatic component of spellcasting, in pathfinder, and how it relates to shields. The core rule book has this to say about bucklers: You can cast a spell with somatic ...
28
votes
3answers
37k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the War Caster feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If not,...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

When a War Caster Wizard carrying a shield casts the spell “Shield” does the AC bonus Stack?

Basically, if you are a wizard with the war caster feat carrying a shield and you cast shield, do you get the bonus of your physical shield and the bonus from the spell shield (+5 AC) or not?
15
votes
2answers
28k views

Does the Sorcerer feature Draconic Resilience work with shields?

Sorcerers of the Draconic Bloodline have the following class feature (located in the Player's Handbook p. 102): Draconic Resilience [...] Additionally, parts of your skin are covered by a thin ...
2
votes
2answers
463 views

Does a shield protect the PC, even if it's not hit?

When the PC holds a shield in his left hand, and is hit by an enemy attacking from the right, does the shield still add to the PCs armor?
1
vote
1answer
135 views

What penalties do shields have?

Shield description says "Attacks made with a shield suffer a -20 penalty" Shields also have "defensive" quality, which increases +15 to parry but attacks made by such weapons suffer -10 penalty. Do ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Pathfinder- What would using staff in main hand while using a light shield and rod in offhand entail?

Is it possible to use a Light Mithril shield +5 (I believe I can enhance shield?) in my offhand and a rod of (metamagic or absorption) in the same hand and still receive the ac bonus from the shield? ...
22
votes
4answers
17k views

Why is using a tower shield a bad idea?

The comments in this question seem to indicate that being a tower shield user is a very detrimental choice in character-building. Having been under the impression for a long time that tower sheilds ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

Are there any rules against wielding a heavy shield two handed?

Given that Heavy Shields are one-handed weapons normal rules would dictate that you could wield it two-handed for extra damage. However I have heard many people state that you can't wield a shield two-...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a Spiked Shield be enchanted with bashing

The rules state: Bashing: A shield with this special ability is designed to perform a shield bash. A bashing shield deals damage as if it were a weapon of two size categories larger (a Medium light ...
36
votes
2answers
61k views

Does the Dueling Fighting Style prevent using a shield?

The Dueling fighting style doesn't seem to state anything about shields, stating that the character can only wield one weapon while fighting to gain the benefit. Does a shield count as a weapon or ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Dual Wielding Daggers with Bucklers

So I got inspired to think about a fighter or rogue character that uses Two-Weapon-Fighting with two very light weapons and using a buckler strapped to each arm, or at least some lengthy advanced arm-...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What kind of action is exactly to done a quickdraw shield?

The quickdraw shield text is a bit confusing Benefit: If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a swift action combined with a regular move. If ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a rogue, druid, or cleric use Shield Bash without penalty?

Originally I was going to ask, "Can a rogue or druid use Shield Bash", but the answer seemed obvious: "Yes, why not?" The question then is whether a rogue or a druid can use Shield Bash without the ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

How quickly can I switch to two-handed weapon use with a heavy shield equipped?

Consider a character with a heavy shield (equipped) and a versatile weapon (equipped one-handed). I'd like to know whether they can, in the course of a single turn, forgo the shield and attack with ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

How Can I Play a Fighter Dual-Wielding Shields?

I'm rolling my very first D&D character. I'm trying to play a tank-type role in my group as a Dwarf Fighter. While looking through some forums I came across an image of an African warrior wielding ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Do shield and armor check modifiers stack?

If I wear Hide armor (Check -1) and use a Heavy Shield (Check -2) is my check -2 or -3? In other words, do the checks stack or do I use the highest negative?
4
votes
2answers
3k views

Should a dedicated sword-and-boarder use their on or off hand for their shield?

At LARP I mostly see people who focus on Sword and Board (or Sword and shield as it's sometimes known) holding their shield in their left arm, sword in the right. I'm sure I've heard some historical ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Rhythm Blade shield bonus work with an existing shield?

Does the Rhythm Blade [ddi] bonus to AC and Reflex work when you've not got an existing shield? Property: While you wield this weapon in your off hand, your ...
3
votes
1answer
350 views

Can a player ask if an immediate interrupt blinding attack will force a miss?

I believe that when a Wizard uses Staff of Defense or Shield, which are both immediate interrupts, she may ask the DM if the power will prevent the attack from connecting. Does the same hold true ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Master at Arms feat work for Shields?

Does the Master at Arms [ddi] feat work for Shields? Benefit: You gain a +1 feat bonus to the attack rolls of weapon attacks. The bonus increases to +2 at 11th ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you use a two handed weapon with light shield?

Can you use a two handed weapon with light shield? I'm confused over the wording in [DDI] ... Description: While you’re using a light shield, you can use your shield hand to hold another item, to ...