Skip to main content

Questions tagged [simulacrum]

For questions about simulacrums (or simulacra) in tabletop RPGs, usually referring to a constructed duplicate of another creature. In various editions of D&D (and related RPGs such as Pathfinder), the Simulacrum spell is used to create a copy of the spellcaster that obeys their commands; questions about this spell are often about its limitations or its interaction with other spells.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
21 votes
2 answers
3k views

What is the origin of the simulacrum spell?

Simulacrum is a peculiar wizard spell that is widely held to be broken when it comes to power level, and is the source of so many rules questions that it is one of the very few spells has its own tag, ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
106 views

About Solar's simulacrum

The simulacrum has less HD than the original creature, but to what extent does it retain the original creature's abilities? For example, How many spells and spell-like abilities does Solar's ...
Lawrenciu's user avatar
  • 293
2 votes
1 answer
97 views

Does a Protean Scourge's simulacrum retain the ability to split up and recombine?

The simulacrum has less HD than the original creature, but to what extent does it retain the original creature's abilities? The Protean Scourge (Monster Manual III, p. 126) has the Split ability the ...
Lawrenciu's user avatar
  • 293
4 votes
1 answer
127 views

Can fast healing or regeneration from the original creature repair a damaged simulacrum?

A damaged simulacrum must normally be repaired over 24 hours at a cost of 100 gp per hp. If the original creature had the ability for fast healing or regeneration, would it work?
Lawrenciu's user avatar
  • 293
8 votes
3 answers
424 views

Is a simulacrum capable of breastfeeding?

My friends and I made a bet that a Simulacrum is not capable of breastfeeding. My friend's character is married to a wizard, and in the discussion of how magic could be applied in family life, the ...
lobstafan26's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
261 views

Can the current HP of a damaged Construct/Simulacrum be increased by spells or class features that don't specify "Healing"?

As of the 2018 PHB errata, the creature generated by Simulacrum is a construct. Constructs cannot be healed by many spells or features, such as Cure Wounds or a Paladin's Lay on Hands (that ...
Raxy's user avatar
  • 81
7 votes
2 answers
392 views

Can the Simulacrum of a Bard regain its Bardic Inspiration dice?

The spell Simulacrum reads as follows: It obeys your spoken commands, moving and acting in accordance with your wishes and acting on your turn in combat. ...The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,503
3 votes
1 answer
315 views

What deductive reasoning capabilities would a soulless Simulacrum with an Intelligence score of 22 have?

Assume that: A level 17 Wizard (School of Evocation) with an Intelligence score of 22 is able to create a finite but arbitrarily large number of simulacrums of himself, using the widely known ...
C. A. Jones's user avatar
  • 4,314
4 votes
0 answers
43 views

Would simulacrum be affected by ageing? [duplicate]

Since it is a spell with a duration "instantaneous", the spell ends after it is cast and the copy created will remain there. And it says: It appears to be the same as the original, but it ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
-1 votes
4 answers
486 views

Using RAW, can the Polymorph Any Object spell allow a Simulacrum to gain in power?

I was unable to delete this and post the revised question. I apologize to those who have invested time in answering, but I feel that this is now more evidence based than presentation based and better ...
smuckenfart's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
95 views

D&D 5e Can Wish change the composition of Simulacrum? [duplicate]

Simulacrum is made of ice, right? So, would it be possible to turn that ice into mithril or adamantine with a wish spell? If possible, will this Simulacrum be able to behave normally like a golem? If ...
조성완's user avatar
  • 437
11 votes
1 answer
599 views

Does a Simulacrum get the Hand and Eye of Vecna too?

So someone is attuned to the Hand and Eye of Vecna. It is an appendage at this point. That person then casts simulacrum targeting themselves. Does the clone gain the Hand and the Eye as well since it'...
Steven Bryant's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
946 views

Simulacrum With Time Travel

One of the Lair Actions of a Gynosphinx is: The flow of time within the lair is altered such that everything within moves up to 10 years forward or backward (sphinx's choice). Only the sphinx is ...
Curl's user avatar
  • 493
4 votes
2 answers
663 views

Can a Magic Jar-possessed body level up?

I was looking over the Magic Jar spell, and there are lots of ways to simulacrum and cheese and clone shenanigans. But I haven't seen this question yet and I was wondering... Simulacrums specifically &...
AvariceDM's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
292 views

Can the HP granted from the Aid spell, be healed normally on a Simulacrum? [duplicate]

The Aid spell says: Each target's hit point maximum and current hit points increase by 5 for the duration The Simulacrum spell says: If the simulacrum is damaged, you can repair it in an alchemical ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
196 views

Can a familiar cast Simulacrum?

While working on backstory elements for a noble character, I was trying to come up with a way to conceptualize a ploy to usurp the noble using a simulacrum. The ingredients were surprisingly at the ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,328
7 votes
4 answers
3k views

Does a Simulacrum need to Eat, Sleep, Drink, or Breathe?

So I am looking for some insights into some specificities of a Simulacrum. I have a vague understanding of how the D&D rules interact with Creature types (which is that they are rarely important). ...
ZenRenHao's user avatar
  • 191
1 vote
0 answers
97 views

How does the Infinite Simulacra exploit work? [duplicate]

I'm aware that there is a RAW legal exploit to create an infinite number of simulacra of yourself as a wizard. You cannot do it with just simulacrum, as the spell itself limits you to only one ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
236 views

What is the alchemical laboratory required to heal a simulacrum?

The simulacrum spell says: If the simulacrum is damaged, you can repair it in an alchemical laboratory, using rare herbs and minerals worth 100 gp per hit point it regains. What else is needed ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
10 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can a simulacrum from the Simulacrum spell use hit dice to recover hit points during short rests?

The simulacrum from the simulacrum spell is a partially-real "illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid" – which, if damaged, can be repaired in an alchemical laboratory. In our game, my ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
9 votes
2 answers
472 views

Would creating a Simulacrum duplicate the effects of the Fates card from the Deck of Many Things?

The text of Simulacrum states: [The Simulacrum] appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion ...
Tack's user avatar
  • 6,566
7 votes
3 answers
513 views

How does allowing or disallowing simulacra to attune to magic items separately from their creators affect game play?

This question proposes that by RAW a simulacrum can attune independently from its creator. In Adventurers League, a simulacrum cannot attune to items independently from its creator, see this question. ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
9 votes
5 answers
1k views

When casting Simulacrum, do you touch the original, or the duplicate, for the entire casting time?

The spell Simulacrum says: You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The casting time is 12 hours, the range is touch. I ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
9 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does a Genie Warlock's Simulacrum regain their Mystic Arcanum and Limited Wish?

The situation is this: A Genie Warlock comes up with an elaborate scheme relying on multiple uses of his Mystic Arcanum; Wish. They know that this can be only cast once a day, but the wizard gave them ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,328
8 votes
2 answers
875 views

What happens to the simulacrum of a wizard who scribed a scroll of simulacrum, when the scroll is used?

Does the wizards simulacrum melt when the scroll is used? Or can the wizard make gold off scribing scrolls. I’m asking because the wizard is heir to a ruby mine but doesn’t want to be like his father ...
Stephen Davis's user avatar
11 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a simulacrum (of a humanoid that can take a long rest) take a long rest?

This question is inspired by Dale M's answer to another question. In that answer, Dale M said (bold added): So if a Simulacrum of a cleric can take a long rest it can change its prepared spells. ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
933 views

Can a simulacrum prepare different spells?

Inspired by this question about a Simulacrum copy using a spellbook, I started wondering how locked into their initial state a Simulacrum copy would be (when I was wondering exactly how useful a ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

How do the Order of Scribes wizard's subclass features interact with the Simulacrum spell?

I'm waffling on some interpretations regarding the Order of Scribes wizard subclass in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 77-78), and would really appreciate some second opinions. Most of the features ...
BlivetWidget's user avatar
4 votes
0 answers
50 views

True Polymorph & Simulacrum [duplicate]

If a player casts true polymorph on themselves and changes into an adult gold dragon and then casts Simulacrum, does it create a duplicate of a gold dragon or the player?
Ken's user avatar
  • 41
26 votes
7 answers
5k views

Does the phrase "the simulacrum lacks the ability to learn" have any implications beyond those explicitly described in the spell description?

The spell simulacrum states: The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn or become more powerful, so it never increases its level or other abilities, nor can it regain expended spell slots. The first ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
602 views

Is there any rule that prohibits a character from using Wish to cast Simulacrum on a hostile humanoid?

Could a character use Wish to cast Simulacrum (thus requiring only one action and no material components) on any humanoid target?
Dremons's user avatar
  • 295
0 votes
1 answer
152 views

How do simulacrums being completely subservient to their creators interact with wish?

Say you went down the cheese route and have an simulacrum of an Efreeti, and you make him grant you a wish and you wish for something so cheesy the DM tries to twist your words because of this lead ...
MarineByzaro's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
355 views

If a clone creates a simulacrum is the original one destroyed?

So I have a BBEG wizard who has the Clone spell and Simulacrum, he has a Simulacrum (Simon) who has been his assistant for many many years. This Simulacrum was actually created by a previous clone of ...
Richard C's user avatar
  • 6,306
5 votes
1 answer
238 views

What abilities does a similacrum of a summoned creature possess?

I was trying to work out the effects of creating a similacrum based on a summoned creature. I had a few questions that I could not resolve. First and foremost was if the abilities of the similacrum ...
Wannabe Warlock's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
212 views

Repercussions of creating Simulacra of Couatl, Astral Deva, or Dimensional Shambler

Suppose a character gets their hands on a wand of Simulacrum with only a single charge left. This character is wise enough to visit a library before using it so they know the full effects of the spell ...
Benjamin's user avatar
  • 1,285
5 votes
1 answer
135 views

Transferring 'ownership' of a simulacrum

Part of the spell description of Simulacrum states: At all times the simulacrum remains under your absolute command Is there a rules legal way for a caster to transfer this 'absolute command' to ...
MichaelDorf's user avatar
  • 1,564
15 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does True Seeing reveal an Elder Oblex's simulacrum's true form as an ooze?

I'm currently playing in a campaign where we've encountered an Elder Oblex. Before we ventured into its lair I twinned True Seeing onto myself and another party member. Later on it was revealed that ...
Cold Fish's user avatar
  • 2,347
5 votes
1 answer
350 views

Can a simulacrum be healed by any means other the 'complex process' outlined in the spell?

Inspired by another discussion of Simulacra - can a simulacrum actually heal via any method other than the 'complex process' outlined in the spell? Or is that process simply another option? What if ...
YogoZuno's user avatar
  • 15.4k
7 votes
2 answers
445 views

Can a simulacrum heal non-hit point damage?

The spell Simulacrum, while open to interpretation on many fronts, is very clear on how to heal (repair) a damaged simulacrum, requiring a complex and costly process and a lab. A complex process ...
Dastardly's user avatar
  • 1,840
10 votes
2 answers
600 views

When I cast Simulacrum to make a copy of a creature with a feature like Rangers Companion, do I get a free animal companion to go with it?

The Simulacrum spell contains an interesting clause. It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's hit point maximum and is formed without any Equipment. Otherwise, the ...
RevanantBacon's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can Fraz-Urb'Luu make use of a Wish spell from his one-minute Simulacrum ('in-Lair' action)?

As a demon Lord, Fraz-Urb'Luu has many powers. Specifically he can generate a Simulacrum of anyone in his 'lair' - and they last for about ten seconds, give or take. Specially: Fraz-Urb'luu chooses ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
737 views

Can a chain of simulacra casting a spell make it permanent?

This is a weird question. It has been established that a caster could cast Simulacrum on themselves to make a simulacra, then the simulacra can cast Simulacrum on the caster to make a second simulacra ...
Kenneth Van Booven's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Could a creature, made by the Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell?

Could a creature, made by the 7th level Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell (from Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden) as a means of bypassing the hit point maximum reduction? It seems ...
Shummed's user avatar
  • 91
11 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a simulacrum cast Magic jar?

Suppose you are a high-level wizard with access to both simulacrum and magic jar. There is a lot of discussion if the simulacrum has or doesn't have a soul, and if that interferes in the use of magic ...
Felype Brasil's user avatar
27 votes
1 answer
3k views

Interaction between an Intellect Devourer and a Simulacrum

An Intellect Devourer has an ability called Body Thief, which states: ...the intellect devourer magically consumes the target’s brain, teleports into the target’s skull, and takes control of the ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

What would happen if you cast Simulacrum on a shapechanger?

While there are many kinds of shapechangers in the D&D universe, such as vampires, lycanthropes (all of them), imps, doppelganger and changelings, there isn't much said about how they interact ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,328
5 votes
1 answer
614 views

Can you cast Sequester on yourself after creating a Simulacrum?

Is possible to cast Sequester on yourself after having a Simulacrum? I can have my real body protected for years as my Simulacrum lives my life. Something like The Flesh from Doctor Who.
Fernando Fuentes Martins's user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
2k views

If I cast True Polymorph on my simulacrum and concentrate for the full duration, will casting Simulacrum again still destroy it?

Simulacrum states: If you cast this spell again, any currently active duplicates you created with this spell are instantly destroyed. Does this mean that if I take my simulacrum and permanently ...
user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a Simulacrum create magic items or research spells?

Can a Simulacrum or a homunculus research spells or create magic items while the player went out adventuring (assuming they had the materials and capabilities)? The idea here is that our characters ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is the 'copy' from Simulacrum a humanoid or a construct?

In previous editions of D&D it was possible to have two base forms or (in some editions) a creature 'template'. In 5e the base form is important and always singular: many spells &/or magics ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar