Questions tagged [simultaneous-effects]

For questions about effects that occur or are triggered simultaneously (or nearly simultaneously) in RPGs, and how to resolve questions about the order in which they occur.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
42
votes
4answers
5k views

When a creature is hit with more than one fireball simultaneously, do they take damage from all of them?

Say a creature walks through a door and triggers two spell glyphs from two glyph of warding spells that are programmed to cast a fireball at the creature that walks through the door. Both glyphs are ...
49
votes
4answers
5k views

How to resolve multiple 'start of turn' triggers

There exist multiple spells/effects/mechanics that can trigger on the start of a character's turn. How in general should a DM rule the ordering, in cases where the order will matter? As an example: ...
23
votes
5answers
2k views

Are getting hit and taking damage simultaneous events?

I'm unsure whether getting hit and taking damage happen at the same or different times. The armor of Agathys spell is an example of when this doesn't matter as it states: If a creature hits you ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

How are simultaneously-triggered Readied actions resolved?

Concerning the following scenario: On her turn of the combat round, Alice readies an action to attack Bob as soon as he's within her weapon's reach. On his subsequent turn in the same round, Bob ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast invocation casts Eldritch Blast, is the 2nd attack resolved before or after the target is pushed by the 1st hit?

My question is inspired by this other question: Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam? A 5th-level Warlock with the Repelling Blast eldritch invocation casts eldritch blast, ...
34
votes
1answer
3k views

In what order should one apply max HP reduction and damage?

A character at 10/26 HP is hit by a Wraith and fails the Constitution saving throw. They take 21 damage and their maximum HP is reduced to 5. Are they unconscious because the 11 excess damage is less ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

What order do Opportunity Attacks that trigger simultaneously happen in?

In a game I am playing my GM decided that OAs happen in arbitrary order of the person doing the attack, instead of all at the same time — the order isn't even in the order of initiative. I was under ...
33
votes
2answers
3k views

Dueling Portents

I have a player with a Divination School Wizard. He has used his Portent ability upon the Big Bad several times to great effect. My Big Bad is a smart person however, and is seeking to hire a rival ...
15
votes
1answer
970 views

What happens if the effects of two different damage types contradict each other?

A flesh golem has the extraordinary ability immunity to magic, which says that A flesh golem is immune to any spell or spell-like ability that allows spell resistance. In addition, certain spells and ...
13
votes
2answers
662 views

If two Lore Bards used the Cutting Words feature on an ability check or attack, would they stack?

Let's say the party had two Lore Bards, and both used Cutting Words on a creature who tried to attack. Does that stack, since they are separate penalties and not enduring effects (like bless)? Or ...
8
votes
3answers
4k views

Are the spells Leomund's Tiny Hut and Tiny Hut considered the same spell for the purposes of combining magical effects?

The Player's Handbook contains the spell Leomund's tiny hut (on p. 255), and the Systems Reference Document contains a version of this spell called tiny hut1. The descriptions of these spells are ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I use Relentless Endurance after failing the Relentless Rage Constitution saving throw?

Can I make the saving throw from Relentless Rage (PHB p.49, Barbarian) and use my Relentless Endurance (PHB p.41, Half-Orc) if I fail it? Is there anything that would suggest this is not possible?
39
votes
6answers
6k views

If two Moonbeam spells are placed on a Large creature, does it take damage from both beams on its turn?

If two moonbeam spells are placed on different parts of a size Large (or larger creature), does it take damage from both beams on its turn? Or is this subject to the rule on combining magical effects ...
27
votes
1answer
2k views

Are there any rules or guidelines about the order of saving throws?

Let's take the example from In an area covered with Caltrops and Ball Bearings, If you're falling because of Ball Bearings, do you automatically land on the Caltrops too? In an area covered with ...
15
votes
6answers
7k views

Order of effects for Slow Natural Healing variant

The following is what happens to hit points and hit dice at the end of a long rest (PHB p. 186): At the end of a long rest, a character regains all lost hit points. The character also regains spent ...
12
votes
3answers
786 views

Can more than one instance of Bend Luck be applied to the same roll by multiple Wild Magic sorcerers?

Wild Magic sorcerers get the Bend Luck feature at 6th level (PHB, p. 103): Starting at 6th level, you have the ability to twist fate using your wild magic. When another creature you can see makes ...
7
votes
1answer
326 views

What happens when two opposing instances of Bend Luck are applied to the same roll by multiple Wild Magic sorcerers?

Wild Magic sorcerers get the Bend Luck feature at 6th level (PHB, p. 103): Starting at 6th level, you have the ability to twist fate using your wild magic. When another creature you can see makes ...
5
votes
1answer
447 views

For the UA Sea Sorcerer's Curse of the Sea feature, can you apply the curse and trigger its effect using the same cantrip?

So I will be playing a Sea Sorcerer (from Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer) soon and wanted to clear up exactly how the Curse of the Sea feature works. If I use a cantrip to apply the curse can I then ...
3
votes
1answer
192 views

How do the rules on Combining Game Effects and Combining Magical Effects relate to damage types?

How do the rules on Combining Game Effects and Combining Magical Effects relate to damage types? Fire Bolts and Fireballs! I have a question about how to interpret the sections on Combining Game ...