Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to multiple versions of Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
195 views

Do spells gained via feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched count as “always prepared” for classes that prepare spells?

Feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 79-80) grant you spells that you can cast once per long rest for free, or you can spend spell slots on them. For ...
5
votes
1answer
209 views

When a caster affected by the Slow spell doesn't complete the spell they're casting, does it consume the spell slot and material components?

One of the effect of slow on a creature is (emphasis mine): If the creature attempts to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, roll a d20. On an 11 or higher, the spell doesn't take effect ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Is there a RAW way to allow the PCs to recover only some of their spell slots, HP, hit dice etc?

My party were rather foolhardy and have got themselves knocked out and captured. Their captors want to keep them alive for a bit to question and then to sacrifice. The party expended pretty much all ...
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Multiclassing with artificer/sorcerer? [duplicate]

I am playing a level 13 sorcerer and take 1 level in artificer, how does that affect my spells known and spell slots of each class?
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can you use your once a day Lv1 Spell with Magic Initiate feat with a higher spell slot you have if you are a caster class? [duplicate]

Can you use you once a day Lv1 Spell with Magic Initiate feat with a higher spell slot you have if you are a caster class? EX: If Wizard with Magic Initiate feat hand chose the Lv1 Chromatic Orb spell ...
1
vote
1answer
137 views

What is the highest number of spell slots a warlock can have?

Trying to find out how many spell slots a warlock could have at a given time. Level 20, access to any magic items that can give spell slots, but only one of each (no duplicates), and straight warlock- ...
1
vote
0answers
39 views

Can Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells that are not Enchantments or Illusions? [duplicate]

Can multiclass Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells they know that are not Enchantments or Illusions?
1
vote
0answers
35 views

How do spell slots work for druid/sorcerer in DnD 5e? [duplicate]

Please forgive the ignorance of this question. I'm new to DND and am DM with a group of lower level players. We are playing DnD 5e. Please explain spell slots for a druid and/or sorcerer... am I ...
3
votes
1answer
219 views

Do I understand how spell slots work for druids and sorcerers correctly?

I'm new to D&D and am the DM playing with a group of lower-level players. I do not understand spell slots for druids and sorcerers, am I correct to say: Each day players "prepare" list ...
5
votes
0answers
178 views

Is a Spell-Refueling Ring useless for a Warlock once reaching level 7? [duplicate]

My Warlock just got a ring with the Artificer Infusion "Spell-Refueling Ring", this infusion states: While wearing this ring, the creature can recover one expended spell slot as an action. ...
2
votes
2answers
503 views

Does Psionic Sorcery value spell levels differently than Flexible Casting?

In attempting to answer this question I ran into a different question about how the Abberant Mind Sorcerer's Psionic Sorcery works. Psionic Sorcery states: When you cast any spell of 1st level or ...
8
votes
2answers
232 views

Can a spontaneous caster use higher level slots to cast non-heightened lower level spells?

I'm an Oracle. I've picked up Divine Access (Ragathiel) which adds True Strike to my spell list. I've also added it to my spell repertoire as a 1-st level spell. Since it is not one of my signature ...
3
votes
0answers
69 views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Sorcerer create Pact Slots with the Sorcerer’s flexible casting? [duplicate]

In dnd warlock spell slots are max level so if you make a first-level warlock spell slot using Sorcery points does the spell slot become max level is this possible and if it is can you make infinite ...
7
votes
2answers
6k views

For the Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats, what exactly does “spell slots […] of the appropriate level” mean?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats that have been released in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 79-80) both include the line: You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the ...
4
votes
3answers
653 views

Does reading the Book of Exalted Deeds prevent casting non-upcast 5th-level spells into a Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing states (emphasis mine): This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots?

Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots? The description of the Svirfneblin Magic feat states: You have inherited the innate spellcasting ability of your ancestors. This ability allows you to ...
8
votes
1answer
451 views

Does a PF2e spellcaster who takes multiclass dedications into other spellcasting classes, and related spellcasting feats, gain more spell slots?

Ezren is a level 10 evocation wizard, and hence would have spell slots of the following levels: ...
12
votes
1answer
611 views

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight with the Magic Initiate feat (picking the wizard list) use spell slots to cast the chosen 1st-level spell?

A bard who takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses the bard spell list for the feat can use spell slots to cast the 1st-level spell they learn from the feat. A wizard who takes the feat and chooses ...
1
vote
1answer
368 views

Would a multiclassed Arcane Trickster rogue 3 / wizard 1 have only three 1st-level spell slots? [duplicate]

I am new to multiclassing and new to spells with 5e. Currently I am a Level 3 Rogue (Arcane Trickster) and just leveled up to level 4. For my fourth level, I was going to put a level into the wizard ...
27
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a Wild Magic Barbarian restore a 7th(+) Level Warlock's spell slots?

In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature 'Bolstering Magic'. This feature has two ...
36
votes
7answers
5k views

How can I get better at identifying the “right time” to use my spell slots?

I've played a bunch of DnD 5e, but my current campaign is my first time playing a Warlock outside of a one-shot; right now I'm almost to level 5. I'm playing more of a face/roleplay-focused role, so ...
4
votes
1answer
937 views

What is the damage dealt by Eldritch Smite?

Eldritch Smite is an Eldritch Invocation for Warlocks similar to the Divine Smite feature from Paladins. It is available in Xanathar's Guide to Everything and states Once per turn when you hit a ...
11
votes
4answers
834 views

Are there any game breaking consequences in this house rule for multiclass spell slots?

Follow up to this question. So, as stated in that question, I feel that it is quite weird that a 3rd level paladin + 2nd level Ranger is not equivalent to a 5th level Half-caster (such as a 5th level ...
2
votes
0answers
54 views

Leveling up, Spell Slot Availability [duplicate]

When a character levels up and gains new spell slots, are those slots available immediately or do they have to rest before they can use those slots?
8
votes
1answer
369 views

Multi-classing doesn't generalize Single-class spellcasting?

I am aware of our go to question about spellcasting and multiclassing, and I am aware of the rules. I am nonetheless confused about something: If we use the multi-class rules, in particular You ...
0
votes
0answers
112 views

Wizard 5 / Eldritch Knight 3 [duplicate]

I’m having trouble finding the answer to my exact question after extensive searching on here and other places. I am currently a Level 3 Wizard / Level 1 Fighter. I aim to focus on my wizard levels but ...
22
votes
3answers
2k views

Can this Lair Action restore all the lich's 8th or lower spell slots even when there's no combat or any of the lich's enemies within the lair?

One of the Lair Actions of a lich does the following: The lich rolls a d8 and regains a spell slot of that level or lower. If it has no spent spell slots of that level or lower, nothing happens. A ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Do monsters with a Spellcasting trait get spell slots back after a long rest?

Some monsters, like a lich, have the Spellcasting trait. This trait allows such monsters to cast spells using spell slots, much as spellcaster player characters do. However, taking the lich as an ...
2
votes
1answer
317 views

How does flexible casting interact with itself?

As I find builds about the Coffeelock (for peoples who doesn't know, it's a build that allows you to have an infinite amount of 5th level spells slot RAW, involving a sorcerer multiclassing in warlock)...
9
votes
2answers
925 views

Do sorcery points made from converted spell slots vanish after a long rest?

I was wondering about the sorcerer's ability to turn sorcery points into spell slots, where the same conversion rate applies to turn spell slots into sorcery points. If, by the end of the day, you ...
5
votes
1answer
494 views

Does taking the Domain Initiate cleric feat a second time give a second focus point?

Under Focus Points from Multiple Sources the book reads: It’s possible, especially through archetypes, to gain focus spells and Focus Points from more than one source. If this happens, you have ...
9
votes
2answers
161 views

Do you lose a turn/spell slot when casting a spell on invalid creatures?

Say my Mystic attempts to cast Fear as a 1st level spell on a creature. 1st: When you cast fear as a 1st-level spell, it affects one living creature of CR 4 or lower at close range... If the DM ...
5
votes
4answers
325 views

Does a Staff of the Magi Fireball penetrate Globe of Invulnerability?

Globe of Invulnerability reads, in part (emphasis mine): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using ...
17
votes
1answer
501 views

Does the “higher level spell slot” clause in the Globe of Invulnerability spell do anything?

The description of the Globe of Invulnerability spell says, in part (PHB, p. 245): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if ...
6
votes
1answer
587 views

Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own: Can you cast a ...
1
vote
0answers
104 views

Can a sorcerer cast the same spell twice if enough spell slots are available? [duplicate]

In D&D 5e, let's say that I have two level-1 spell slots available and want to cast Burning Hands. On one turn, I use one of the available spell slots to cast Burning Hands. On my next turn, I ...
-1
votes
2answers
603 views

Does the 1st-level spell you can cast using the Magic Initiate feat need spell slots?

I'm having a hard time understanding how the Magic Initiate feat works; does it require spell slots? The feat doesn't say the spell cast is free; it only says you can cast it at its lowest level once ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Do the errata changes to “your <class> spells” prevent coffeelock cheese?

The errata introduced changes to specify spell slots' classes. I was wondering if those changes could somehow prevent coffeelock cheese in the spirit of this Jeremy Crawford tweet to interpret class ...
14
votes
1answer
666 views

Are there instances where a character can cast a non-cantrip spell while having no spell slots available and they later suffer negative consequences?

Last night, I DMed a game with only two players, and neither of them had any prior experience with D&D. All in all, it went great, but towards the end, they got into some serious trouble and the ...
11
votes
1answer
5k views

How do I determine how many spell slots I have when multiclassing?

How do I determine how many spell slots I have if I multiclass into more than one spellcasting class? For example, I have a character that is a level 3 Wizard, a level 5 Eldritch Knight Fighter, a ...
2
votes
1answer
380 views

Which spell save DC do you use when casting with warlock slots? [duplicate]

So I have found a few questions that are closely related, but I can't find exactly the answer I am looking for. Say you are multiclassed warlock and wizard. You can cast either class's spells through ...
5
votes
1answer
133 views

How does the Brewkeeper prestige class's Helpful Homebrew metamagic effect interact with the cleric's prepared spells?

I have recently came across the Brewkeeper prestige class and I fell in love with it. The interactions it has with spells and potions is amazing for late game, especially when you have potions left ...
6
votes
1answer
545 views

How do you use spell points as a Sorlock with the spell point variant rule?

I am currently playing an Elf that is a level 5 Warlock / level 3 Sorcerer. My DM has graciously let me take a few short rests in the morning after my trance and before we start the adventuring day, ...
8
votes
2answers
342 views

When I cast Glyph of Warding, can I use Wish to supply the second spell?

Assuming I do not have access to a second 9th level spell for that day (such as via a Boon, a scroll, or an item), when I cast glyph of warding at a lower level than 9th, can I use wish to supply the ...
3
votes
1answer
99 views

Can you use Sublime Chord spell slots to cast Bard spells known from your Bard class (or vice-versa)?

Question is lengthy, so I'll put the question again but in full here: Can you use Sublime Chord spell slots to cast Bard spells known from your Bard class (or vice-versa)? Obviously the spell would ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

At what level are spells duplicated by the Wish spell cast? [duplicate]

Wish is a 9th level spell, one of the uses written into it is: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

Does using Wish to cast a 7th-level spell use a 7th-level spell slot as well as the 9th-level one for Wish?

The PHB says the basic use of the Wish spell is to duplicate the effect of any other spell of 8th level or lower without having to meet any requirements of costly components. If, as a wizard, you ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens if you use the Magic Jar spell to possess a creature which has Spellcasting?

I would like to know what happens if you use the Magic Jar spell to possess a creature which is capable of casting spells. Below are 3 different situations. I post all these questions in the same ...
5
votes
1answer
544 views

Can a level 15 Artillerist Artificer use the same action to make two Eldritch Cannons for the first time in a day without expending a spell slot?

At 3rd level, Artificers get the Eldritch Cannon feature, allowing them to create one of three different Eldritch Cannons. It costs a spell slot to make one, but you also get one free usage of it each ...
6
votes
1answer
777 views

If I cast Simulacrum on myself, will the simulacrum still have the spell slot used to cast the spell?

If I cast simulacrum on myself, I expend 1 spell slot to do so. Will the simulacrum still have this spell slot when it is created? Or will the simulacrum be missing the spell slot as well?