Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1 votes
0 answers
57 views

Druid turned hamster Necromancer spells? [duplicate]

I have no idea what spells to use or keep for what will be a shapeshifting druidic gnome necromancer! She's gonna start out as level 6, but I have no idea on how to make it all work together. Trying ...
user avatar
12 votes
6 answers
877 views

Do wizards not cast spells in their free time? [closed]

So the common consensus seems to be that spell slots and the restrictions that come with them are an in-universe truth that characters are aware of, to varying degrees. But that implies a few strange ...
user avatar
  • 131
1 vote
0 answers
67 views

Does a warlock9/sorcerer3 gets 5th or 2nd lvl spell slot when leveling as sorcerer? [duplicate]

In the description of sorcerer it is stated: "You learn an additional sorcerer spell of your choice at each level except 12th, 14th, 16th, 18th, 19th, and 20th. Each of these spells must be of a ...
user avatar
  • 11
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a wizard with the Artificer Initiate feat upcast a Cure Wounds spell that they learn using the feat?

The description of the Artificer Initiate feat states, in part (TCoE, p. 79): You’ve learned some of an artificer’s inventiveness: You learn one cantrip of your choice from the artificer spell list, ...
user avatar
  • 797
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

When does an artficer regain spell slots?

I've looked on several resources and I can't get to the bottom of whether an Artificer recharges spell slots on short/long rest? Lots of articles refer to the class as a "short rest caster" ...
user avatar
  • 113
20 votes
1 answer
1k views

What exploits would be available if arcane recovery were not limited to 5th level slots?

The party wizard is about to level to 11th. As I go over her new features, I notice for the first time that although she will now get back six levels of slots when using arcane recovery, there is a ...
user avatar
  • 25k
4 votes
1 answer
270 views

How often per day can Channeled Succor be used?

Channeled Succor is a Cleric feat that allows you to cast one of a number of spells instead of one prepared Heal spell. You can remove conditions with divine grace. You can sacrifice one heal spell ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

Spell Level vs Spell Slot when it comes to Artificers' Spell Storing Item ability

What I know and can look up: Ring of Spell Storing can hold 5 Spell Slots (Ex: 5x Magic Missiles, or 1 Fly and 1 Invisibility) and Artificer's Spells Storing Item ability can hold a 1st or 2nd level ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
183 views

Is there a daily limit on spell memorisation?

Players Handbook p31 states Before a wizard can actually cast a spell, he must memorize its arcane formula. This locks an energy pattern for that particular spell into his mind. Once he has the spell ...
user avatar
  • 1,661
5 votes
1 answer
841 views

Do I need to convert spell points into sorcery points to use them for Metamagic options? If so, how does it work exactly?

I need help understanding how the Spell Points variant rule (DMG, p. 288-289) works with a sorcerer using Metamagic. I had all my sorcery points and spell slots in spell points, but I just turned ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
85 views

Earning new spell levels in Dungeonslayers

When a mage earns a level, I don't quite understand the spell learning mechanics. Applicable rule: LEARNING NEW SPELLS When a spellcaster reaches a higher level, he can learn new spells. This doesn't ...
user avatar
  • 475
3 votes
2 answers
326 views

Does casting a spell using a spell slot higher than its level upgrade its spell level even if it doesn't have additional effects from being upcast? [duplicate]

Does casting a spell using a spell slot higher than the spell's level upgrade its spell level even if it doesn't have additional effects from being upcast? This is for the purposes of determining ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
844 views

Can a Paladin use a Necklace of Prayer Beads as slots that can be expended to use the Divine Smite feature?

My level 7 Paladin(2)/Fighter(5) found a necklace of prayer beads. Can those spells bound to the beads be used for Divine Smite? The relevant part of the paladin's Divine Smite feature description ...
user avatar
  • 175
3 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does the Wild Companion optional class feature for druids let them use spell slots to cast the Find Familiar spell?

Does the Wild Companion optional class feature for druids grant access to the find familiar spell? Basically I'd rather hard cast it than waste the Wild Shape on it. The Circle of Stars druid's Starry ...
user avatar
18 votes
5 answers
1k views

Does a creature cloned using the Clone spell have all of its spell slots?

As a wizard, I cast spells and such, then die. I have a clone set up in my demiplane (created using the clone spell; granted, I don't know any other ways to create a clone). When I "wake up" ...
user avatar
  • 2,673
4 votes
2 answers
557 views

Mana, Backlash and Slots: how to limit a magic system

Generally, I encountered three big systems for limiting the amount of magic that characters can wield at a given time in my RPG career. This is not to be confused with the number of spells a character ...
user avatar
  • 26.8k
5 votes
2 answers
118 views

Assisting in casting spells

Legends of the Five Rings does offer rules for cooperationL5R 4E Core p.81, mainly they seem aimed at mundane tasks like building a ship or designing a new garden. However, some spells, like Bonds of ...
user avatar
  • 26.8k
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

Do spells gained via feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched count as "always prepared" for classes that prepare spells?

Feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 79-80) grant you spells that you can cast once per long rest for free, or you can spend spell slots on them. For ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
265 views

When a caster affected by the Slow spell doesn't complete the spell they're casting, does it consume the spell slot and material components?

One of the effect of slow on a creature is (emphasis mine): If the creature attempts to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, roll a d20. On an 11 or higher, the spell doesn't take effect ...
user avatar
  • 30.9k
9 votes
4 answers
2k views

Is there a RAW way to allow the PCs to recover only some of their spell slots, HP, hit dice etc?

My party were rather foolhardy and have got themselves knocked out and captured. Their captors want to keep them alive for a bit to question and then to sacrifice. The party expended pretty much all ...
user avatar
  • 253
1 vote
1 answer
526 views

What is the highest number of spell slots a warlock can have?

Trying to find out how many spell slots a warlock could have at a given time. Level 20, access to any magic items that can give spell slots, but only one of each (no duplicates), and straight warlock- ...
user avatar
  • 3,123
1 vote
0 answers
42 views

Can Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells that are not Enchantments or Illusions? [duplicate]

Can multiclass Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells they know that are not Enchantments or Illusions?
user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
36 views

How do spell slots work for druid/sorcerer in DnD 5e? [duplicate]

Please forgive the ignorance of this question. I'm new to DND and am DM with a group of lower level players. We are playing DnD 5e. Please explain spell slots for a druid and/or sorcerer... am I ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Do I understand how spell slots work for druids and sorcerers correctly?

I'm new to D&D and am the DM playing with a group of lower-level players. I do not understand spell slots for druids and sorcerers, am I correct to say: Each day players "prepare" list ...
user avatar
5 votes
0 answers
1k views

Is a Spell-Refueling Ring useless for a Warlock once reaching level 7? [duplicate]

My Warlock just got a ring with the Artificer Infusion "Spell-Refueling Ring", this infusion states: While wearing this ring, the creature can recover one expended spell slot as an action. ...
user avatar
  • 72.1k
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Psionic Sorcery value spell levels differently than Flexible Casting?

In attempting to answer this question I ran into a different question about how the Abberant Mind Sorcerer's Psionic Sorcery works. Psionic Sorcery states: When you cast any spell of 1st level or ...
user avatar
  • 27.8k
8 votes
2 answers
812 views

Can a spontaneous caster use higher level slots to cast non-heightened lower level spells?

I'm an Oracle. I've picked up Divine Access (Ragathiel) which adds True Strike to my spell list. I've also added it to my spell repertoire as a 1-st level spell. Since it is not one of my signature ...
user avatar
  • 702
3 votes
0 answers
78 views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Sorcerer create Pact Slots with the Sorcerer’s flexible casting? [duplicate]

In dnd warlock spell slots are max level so if you make a first-level warlock spell slot using Sorcery points does the spell slot become max level is this possible and if it is can you make infinite ...
user avatar
  • 31
8 votes
2 answers
10k views

For the Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats, what exactly does "spell slots [...] of the appropriate level" mean?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats that have been released in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 79-80) both include the line: You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the ...
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
764 views

Does reading the Book of Exalted Deeds prevent casting non-upcast 5th-level spells into a Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing states (emphasis mine): This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. ...
user avatar
  • 72.1k
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots?

Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots? The description of the Svirfneblin Magic feat states: You have inherited the innate spellcasting ability of your ancestors. This ability allows you to ...
user avatar
  • 1,033
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does a PF2e spellcaster who takes multiclass dedications into other spellcasting classes, and related spellcasting feats, gain more spell slots?

Ezren is a level 10 evocation wizard, and hence would have spell slots of the following levels: ...
user avatar
  • 2,372
12 votes
1 answer
966 views

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight with the Magic Initiate feat (picking the wizard list) use spell slots to cast the chosen 1st-level spell? [duplicate]

A bard who takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses the bard spell list for the feat can use spell slots to cast the 1st-level spell they learn from the feat. A wizard who takes the feat and chooses ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Would a multiclassed Arcane Trickster rogue 3 / wizard 1 have only three 1st-level spell slots? [duplicate]

I am new to multiclassing and new to spells with 5e. Currently I am a Level 3 Rogue (Arcane Trickster) and just leveled up to level 4. For my fourth level, I was going to put a level into the wizard ...
user avatar
  • 23
27 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a Wild Magic Barbarian restore a 7th(+) Level Warlock's spell slots?

In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature 'Bolstering Magic'. This feature has two ...
user avatar
37 votes
7 answers
5k views

How can I get better at identifying the "right time" to use my spell slots?

I've played a bunch of DnD 5e, but my current campaign is my first time playing a Warlock outside of a one-shot; right now I'm almost to level 5. I'm playing more of a face/roleplay-focused role, so ...
user avatar
  • 490
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

What is the damage dealt by Eldritch Smite?

Eldritch Smite is an Eldritch Invocation for Warlocks similar to the Divine Smite feature from Paladins. It is available in Xanathar's Guide to Everything and states Once per turn when you hit a ...
user avatar
  • 35.8k
11 votes
4 answers
1k views

Are there any game breaking consequences in this house rule for multiclass spell slots?

Follow up to this question. So, as stated in that question, I feel that it is quite weird that a 3rd level paladin + 2nd level Ranger is not equivalent to a 5th level Half-caster (such as a 5th level ...
user avatar
  • 35.8k
2 votes
0 answers
55 views

Leveling up, Spell Slot Availability [duplicate]

When a character levels up and gains new spell slots, are those slots available immediately or do they have to rest before they can use those slots?
user avatar
  • 1,280
8 votes
1 answer
555 views

Multi-classing doesn't generalize Single-class spellcasting?

I am aware of our go to question about spellcasting and multiclassing, and I am aware of the rules. I am nonetheless confused about something: If we use the multi-class rules, in particular You ...
user avatar
  • 35.8k
0 votes
0 answers
122 views

Wizard 5 / Eldritch Knight 3 [duplicate]

I’m having trouble finding the answer to my exact question after extensive searching on here and other places. I am currently a Level 3 Wizard / Level 1 Fighter. I aim to focus on my wizard levels but ...
user avatar
22 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can this Lair Action restore all the lich's 8th or lower spell slots even when there's no combat or any of the lich's enemies within the lair?

One of the Lair Actions of a lich does the following: The lich rolls a d8 and regains a spell slot of that level or lower. If it has no spent spell slots of that level or lower, nothing happens. A ...
user avatar
  • 77.1k
17 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do monsters with a Spellcasting trait get spell slots back after a long rest?

Some monsters, like a lich, have the Spellcasting trait. This trait allows such monsters to cast spells using spell slots, much as spellcaster player characters do. However, taking the lich as an ...
user avatar
  • 77.1k
2 votes
1 answer
406 views

How does flexible casting interact with itself?

As I find builds about the Coffeelock (for peoples who doesn't know, it's a build that allows you to have an infinite amount of 5th level spells slot RAW, involving a sorcerer multiclassing in warlock)...
user avatar
  • 5,015
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do sorcery points made from converted spell slots vanish after a long rest?

I was wondering about the sorcerer's ability to turn sorcery points into spell slots, where the same conversion rate applies to turn spell slots into sorcery points. If, by the end of the day, you ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does taking the Domain Initiate cleric feat a second time give a second focus point?

Under Focus Points from Multiple Sources the book reads: It’s possible, especially through archetypes, to gain focus spells and Focus Points from more than one source. If this happens, you have ...
user avatar
  • 769
9 votes
2 answers
326 views

Do you lose a turn/spell slot when casting a spell on invalid creatures?

Say my Mystic attempts to cast Fear as a 1st level spell on a creature. 1st: When you cast fear as a 1st-level spell, it affects one living creature of CR 4 or lower at close range... If the DM ...
user avatar
  • 437
5 votes
4 answers
534 views

Does a Staff of the Magi Fireball penetrate Globe of Invulnerability?

Globe of Invulnerability reads, in part (emphasis mine): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using ...
user avatar
  • 2,921
17 votes
1 answer
760 views

Does the "higher level spell slot" clause in the Globe of Invulnerability spell do anything?

The description of the Globe of Invulnerability spell says, in part (PHB, p. 245): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if ...
user avatar
  • 2,921
6 votes
1 answer
769 views

Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own: Can you cast a ...
user avatar
  • 72.1k