Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
15 votes
5 answers
9k views
+500

Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot?

Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot? Specifically, I'm thinking of casting Shocking Grasp as a 1st-level spell, to trigger the Storm sorcerer's Heart of the Storm feature (Sword ...
27 votes
5 answers
16k views

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
1 vote
0 answers
43 views

How do you determine your available spell slots as a Wizard/Sorcerer multiclassing? [duplicate]

When you multiclass as a sorc and a wizard, you add the two classes together and that determines your spell slots. This is one combined table of available slots that both casters share, or does the ...
0 votes
1 answer
165 views

Please Clarify Spiritual Weapon effects using higher spell slots?

Please Clarify Spiritual Weapon effects using higher spell slots? Spiritual At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, the damage increases by 1d8 for every ...
9 votes
2 answers
1k views

If the Raulothim's Psychic Lance spell "dissipates without effect", is the spell slot consumed?

I was reading the description of the Raulothim's Psychic Lance spell (Fizban's Treasury of Dragons, p. 21) and I was left with a question. Raulothim's Psychic Lance gives the following alternative ...
0 votes
0 answers
35 views

Warlock multiclass spell replacement [duplicate]

I have a level 8/1 sorcerer/warlock which just leveled up to 8/2. Warlock's spell casting says: Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and ...
19 votes
4 answers
16k views

Does a Readied spell immediately use a spell slot?

The PHB is a bit unclear when it comes to readied spells in combat. If I lose my concentration do I lose the spell slot? What about if the trigger never occurs, do I get the spell slot back?
1 vote
0 answers
73 views

How many spell slots does a Paladin/Warlock multiclassed character get? [duplicate]

I am playing a Level 8 Paladin Warlock Multiclass (5 Paladin / 3 Warlock levels) in DnD 5e. I am little confused over multiclassing with spell slots. If I understood correctly I have 3 first level ...
-2 votes
1 answer
266 views

Does anything stop a sorcerer stockpiling spell slots?

A Sorcerer converts all their slots to 1st level, then they go to bed for the night. Is there any reason why they wouldn't still have those slots when they wake up in the morning?
4 votes
1 answer
110 views

In Pathfinder 2e, how do the Cathartic Spellcasting feats interact with existing spellcasting?

Cathartic Mage Dedication is something of an odd feat, in that it grants a spell repertoire and the Cast a Spell activity if you don't already have spell slots, but augments your existing spellcasting ...
12 votes
6 answers
1k views

Do wizards not cast spells in their free time? [closed]

So the common consensus seems to be that spell slots and the restrictions that come with them are an in-universe truth that characters are aware of, to varying degrees. But that implies a few strange ...
1 vote
0 answers
69 views

Does a warlock9/sorcerer3 gets 5th or 2nd lvl spell slot when leveling as sorcerer? [duplicate]

In the description of sorcerer it is stated: "You learn an additional sorcerer spell of your choice at each level except 12th, 14th, 16th, 18th, 19th, and 20th. Each of these spells must be of a ...
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

When casting the Glyph of Warding spell, how many spell slots are used if you choose the Spell Glyph option?

The description of the spell states you can store a spell of 3rd level or lower by casting it as part of the Glyph of Warding. Does this require the use of one spell slot (because you are casting it ...
9 votes
2 answers
724 views

When I cast Glyph of Warding, can I use Wish to supply the second spell?

Assuming I do not have access to a second 9th level spell for that day (such as via a Boon, a scroll, or an item), when I cast glyph of warding at a lower level than 9th, can I use wish to supply the ...
6 votes
1 answer
4k views

What is the damage dealt by Eldritch Smite?

Eldritch Smite is an Eldritch Invocation for Warlocks similar to the Divine Smite feature from Paladins. It is available in Xanathar's Guide to Everything and states Once per turn when you hit a ...
20 votes
3 answers
148k views

I don't get the spell slot system for D&D 5e's Warlocks

Now just recently I have had a group of friends get into D&D 5e and I ran into an issue with the Warlock class Spell Slots. Cantrips: a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot ...
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a wizard with the Artificer Initiate feat upcast a Cure Wounds spell that they learn using the feat?

The description of the Artificer Initiate feat states, in part (TCoE, p. 79): You’ve learned some of an artificer’s inventiveness: You learn one cantrip of your choice from the artificer spell list, ...
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

When does an artficer regain spell slots?

I've looked on several resources and I can't get to the bottom of whether an Artificer recharges spell slots on short/long rest? Lots of articles refer to the class as a "short rest caster" ...
18 votes
5 answers
2k views

Does a creature cloned using the Clone spell have all of its spell slots?

As a wizard, I cast spells and such, then die. I have a clone set up in my demiplane (created using the clone spell; granted, I don't know any other ways to create a clone). When I "wake up" ...
12 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can the paladin's Divine Smite feature be stored in a Ring of Spell Storing?

The ring of spell storing lets you save uses of a spell for later - great for a paladin who doesn't have many spell slots. At first, I thought it'd be perfect for storing Divine Smite, but reading ...
20 votes
1 answer
1k views

What exploits would be available if arcane recovery were not limited to 5th level slots?

The party wizard is about to level to 11th. As I go over her new features, I notice for the first time that although she will now get back six levels of slots when using arcane recovery, there is a ...
5 votes
4 answers
761 views

Still gain the benefits of rest if drugged?

If PCs are drugged and fall unconscious, does the period they are out count as a short rest? Would a warlock regain their spell slots?
4 votes
1 answer
276 views

How often per day can Channeled Succor be used?

Channeled Succor is a Cleric feat that allows you to cast one of a number of spells instead of one prepared Heal spell. You can remove conditions with divine grace. You can sacrifice one heal spell ...
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

Spell Level vs Spell Slot when it comes to Artificers' Spell Storing Item ability

What I know and can look up: Ring of Spell Storing can hold 5 Spell Slots (Ex: 5x Magic Missiles, or 1 Fly and 1 Invisibility) and Artificer's Spells Storing Item ability can hold a 1st or 2nd level ...
9 votes
1 answer
241 views

Is there a daily limit on spell memorisation?

Players Handbook p31 states Before a wizard can actually cast a spell, he must memorize its arcane formula. This locks an energy pattern for that particular spell into his mind. Once he has the spell ...
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Do I need to convert spell points into sorcery points to use them for Metamagic options? If so, how does it work exactly?

I need help understanding how the Spell Points variant rule (DMG, p. 288-289) works with a sorcerer using Metamagic. I had all my sorcery points and spell slots in spell points, but I just turned ...
4 votes
1 answer
87 views

Earning new spell levels in Dungeonslayers

When a mage earns a level, I don't quite understand the spell learning mechanics. Applicable rule: LEARNING NEW SPELLS When a spellcaster reaches a higher level, he can learn new spells. This doesn't ...
53 votes
5 answers
72k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
18 votes
2 answers
72k views

Do Cleric's domain spells add slots?

I'm a little bit confused with the whole spell system and additions to them. If I pick for instance Tempest Domain Spell, are the spells additional to the other ones? (2 at level 1) So do that make it ...
3 votes
2 answers
576 views

Does casting a spell using a spell slot higher than its level upgrade its spell level even if it doesn't have additional effects from being upcast? [duplicate]

Does casting a spell using a spell slot higher than the spell's level upgrade its spell level even if it doesn't have additional effects from being upcast? This is for the purposes of determining ...
2 votes
2 answers
940 views

Can a Paladin use a Necklace of Prayer Beads as slots that can be expended to use the Divine Smite feature?

My level 7 Paladin(2)/Fighter(5) found a necklace of prayer beads. Can those spells bound to the beads be used for Divine Smite? The relevant part of the paladin's Divine Smite feature description ...
3 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does the Wild Companion optional class feature for druids let them use spell slots to cast the Find Familiar spell?

Does the Wild Companion optional class feature for druids grant access to the find familiar spell? Basically I'd rather hard cast it than waste the Wild Shape on it. The Circle of Stars druid's Starry ...
23 votes
5 answers
16k views

Can a spellcaster use spell slots above their normal limit if their ability scores allow bonus spells of that level?

This question is inspired by discussion here, about how Heighten Spell works with Reserve Feats. The question that I am asking here deals with whether or not players can cast spells using spell slots ...
24 votes
2 answers
8k views

What happens when I Twin Life Transference?

The Life Transference spell states: You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature’s injuries. You take 4d8 necrotic damage, and one creature of your choice that you can see within ...
4 votes
2 answers
631 views

Mana, Backlash and Slots: how to limit a magic system

Generally, I encountered three big systems for limiting the amount of magic that characters can wield at a given time in my RPG career. This is not to be confused with the number of spells a character ...
5 votes
2 answers
124 views

Assisting in casting spells

Legends of the Five Rings does offer rules for cooperationL5R 4E Core p.81, mainly they seem aimed at mundane tasks like building a ship or designing a new garden. However, some spells, like Bonds of ...
26 votes
1 answer
6k views

Can you cast a spell at a higher level, even if it doesn't have an "At higher levels" entry?

Many spells have "At higher levels" that provides for more targets or more damage. For example Magic Missile can be cast as a second level spell and shoot 4 missiles instead of it's 3 as a first ...
20 votes
3 answers
7k views

What happens when I can prepare more spells than I have slots to cast them with?

I am a level 4 cleric with a 20 (+5) wisdom in D&D 5e. This means I have a total of 9 spells I can cast in 1 day. I only have 4 level 1 spell slots and 3 level 2. So if I were to use all those ...
6 votes
1 answer
932 views

Would it be game-breaking to allow casting spells at a higher level to increase the save DC for that spell instead of increasing damage?

There are a number of spells that include a section on "At Higher Levels." The actual effect varies from spell to spell; longer duration, more targets, summon better creatures, etc. I am specifically ...
24 votes
4 answers
8k views

Does a countered spell cost a spell slot?

When a spell caster is interrupted by a counterspell, does the countered spell use a spell slot? The spell description reads, in part: You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting ...
67 votes
1 answer
120k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is a Manual of Golems' spell slot restriction covered by multiclassed spell slots?

I'm almost certain that the answer to this question is a yes, but I just want to be extra sure with extra cheese. Manual of Golems has the following restriction: To decipher and use the manual, you ...
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a Warlock use Pact Magic slots to cast spells learned from another spellcaster class?

My DM does not believe that you can use a Warlock's spell slots to cast other casting classes' spells at your Warlock spell slot level, except via the feat Magic Initiate. How can I convince them that ...
20 votes
4 answers
50k views

If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class's spell slots for Divine Smite?

Divine Smite: Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one paladin spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon's ...
5 votes
1 answer
283 views

When a caster affected by the Slow spell doesn't complete the spell they're casting, does it consume the spell slot and material components?

One of the effect of slow on a creature is (emphasis mine): If the creature attempts to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, roll a d20. On an 11 or higher, the spell doesn't take effect ...
5 votes
1 answer
5k views

Do spells gained via feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched count as "always prepared" for classes that prepare spells?

Feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 79-80) grant you spells that you can cast once per long rest for free, or you can spend spell slots on them. For ...
9 votes
4 answers
2k views

Is there a RAW way to allow the PCs to recover only some of their spell slots, HP, hit dice etc?

My party were rather foolhardy and have got themselves knocked out and captured. Their captors want to keep them alive for a bit to question and then to sacrifice. The party expended pretty much all ...
5 votes
2 answers
43k views

How many spell slots does a Level 3 Warlock have?

The Warlock Table in the PHB (p106) states that a Warlock has the following: 1 First-level spell slot at level 1. 2 First-level spell slots at level 2. 2 Second-level spell slots at level 3. Does ...
18 votes
2 answers
3k views

At what level are spells duplicated by the Wish spell cast? [duplicate]

Wish is a 9th level spell, one of the uses written into it is: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that ...
7 votes
2 answers
11k views

How exactly does the Dispel Magic spell work against higher-level spells?

The description of the Dispel Magic spell states (emphasis mine): Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of ...

1
2 3 4 5