Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to multiple versions of Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can spells from the Ritual Caster feat be cast using spell slots?

I am a 4th-level Fighter (Eldritch Knight). I can choose to take a feat. I am interested in the Ritual Caster feat. If I learn the Ritual Caster feat, could I later cast the spells learned from the ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

What are the ramifications of this change to upcasting spells?

I was looking at the Evocation Wizard's Overchannel feature which states: When you cast a wizard spell of 1st through 5th-level that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with that spell. This ...
5
votes
3answers
170 views

Is it possible to benefit from multiple Shield spells?

The Shield Spell allows you to use the Shield Block reaction, which ends the spell and prevents you from casting it again for 10 minutes. But what if you know the Shield spell from multiple different ...
14
votes
2answers
812 views

Can a 14th level Theurgy Wizard with the Arcana Domain cast their 8th/9th level spells after picking up three levels in another Full Caster class?

The Theurgy Wizard from UA: Wizard Revisited gets to choose a Cleric Domain at 2nd level. At 14th level they get the Arcane High Priest feature, which grants them the 17th-level benefits associated ...
5
votes
2answers
7k views

Multiclass Spellcaster: Do the involved classes share the same pool of spell slots?

Introduction The eldritch knight fighter (EK) in my game is contemplating whether to dip into wizard (Wiz) for more magical versatility in combat. Spell Slots The multiclassing spellcasting rules (...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
7
votes
3answers
613 views

How can I get more spell slots?

I'm playing a protector aasimar paladin and I was wondering how I can get more spell slots.
34
votes
4answers
11k views

Can a Sorcerer use Sorcery Points to create spell slots higher than he can cast?

At level 6, a Sorcerer may have a maximum of 6 Sorcery Points. This is enough to create a level 4 spell slot. Would the Sorcerer be able to create a level 4 spell slot, even though he only knows level ...
5
votes
1answer
998 views

Can a Sorcerer use Flexible Casting to create more spell slots than is listed on the Sorcerer table?

A Sorcerer can create spell slots by expending sorcery points with the Flexible Casting feature. In the rules, is there any point where it states that you can't have more spell slots than what the ...
14
votes
1answer
715 views

How does the Divination wizard's Expert Divination feature work when you upcast a divination spell?

The School of Divination for a wizard has the feature Expert Divination at level 6 (PHB, p. 116): Expert Divination When you cast a divination spell of 2nd level or higher using a spell slot, ...
-4
votes
1answer
190 views

What level spells can a level 3 paladin cast?

Paladins don't get access to spellcasting until level 2. Once they are level 2 can they now cast both level 1 and level 2 spells in their list or only level 1 spells (since they couldn't cast ...
7
votes
3answers
445 views

What does “as if you were a single-classed member of that class” mean for spells known and spell slots?

Introduction I am currently building a multiclass spellcaster, and came across this question: Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook? This discussion appears ...
13
votes
2answers
43k views

Do Cleric's domain spells add slots?

I'm a little bit confused with the whole spell system and additions to them. If I pick for instance Tempest Domain Spell, are the spells additional to the other ones? (2 at level 1) So do that make it ...
3
votes
1answer
446 views

What level is a spell if you cast it without expending a spell slot?

There are ways to cast spells without expending a spell slot such as: Master Transmuter (PHB 119): Restore Life. You cast the raise dead spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter’s stone,...
30
votes
2answers
45k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
13
votes
1answer
680 views

Can a 2nd-level sorcerer use sorcery points to create a 2nd-level spell slot?

If a player is a 2nd-level sorcerer, and sacrifices one of their 1st-level spell slots to get an additional sorcery point, could they use their 3 sorcery points to create another 2nd-level spell slot?
2
votes
2answers
7k views

When casting a spell as a reaction using the War Caster feat, does it use up a spell slot?

The third benefit of the War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) says: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature ...
9
votes
1answer
500 views

Does it cost a spell slot to cast a spell from a Ring of Spell Storing?

If you have to use a spell slot to put a spell into the ring of spell storing, do you again have to spend a slot to cast a spell from the ring?
-8
votes
2answers
153 views

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books?

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books? If I had two or more spell books each with different spells, does that increase the spell limit?
0
votes
2answers
380 views

Do warlocks have to cast their cantrips at the max level of their spell slots?

If I am a level 4 Warlock I have a minimum of 3 cantrips, 5 spells known at 2nd level and two 2nd level spell slots. When casting Cantrips, is it required to use a 2nd-level spell slot? For ...
18
votes
3answers
2k views

Must a warlock replace spells with new spells of exactly their Pact Magic spell slot level?

The Warlock Pact Magic feature says: The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of ...
23
votes
3answers
2k views

If a caster uses a higher-level slot for the Enhance Ability spell, can they specify different effects for different targets?

If a caster uses a higher level slot for the Enhance Ability spell, can they specify different effects for different targets? Example: target 1 gets Bear's Endurance, and target 2 gets Bull's ...
14
votes
1answer
639 views

How do spell slot recovery abilities work with the Variant: Spell Points system?

I am considering using the Variant: Spell Points system from page 288-289 of the DMG. I asked a related question on the overall balance of this rule. This question is more focused on the mechanics of ...
18
votes
3answers
2k views

How does the Variant: Spell Points system from the DMG affect game balance?

On page 288-289 of the DMG, there is a "Variant: Spell Points" rule. Below are the best summary paragraphs of the system: In this variant, each spell has a point cost based on its level. The Spell ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Does casting a spell use a spell slot if you have the components for the spell?

Both my DMs say that if you have the components for the spell you can cast the spell without using a spell slot. Is this true normally in D&D 5e, or is it more of a DM discretion thing?
8
votes
1answer
2k views

If a spell is cast using a higher-level spell slot, can it be overchanneled by an Evocation wizard?

If my level 14 Evocation wizard were to cast a fireball using a seventh level spell slot, would he be able to maximise the damage with overchannel despite the overchannel feature indicating that the ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

How many spell slots should my level 1 wizard/level 1 fighter have?

I am working on making a wizard fighter multiclass character where the wizard is the original class. How many spells should I have in my spellbook if I am a level 1 wizard and level 1 fighter? I have ...
2
votes
1answer
263 views

How many spell slots should a Fighter 11/Ranger 9 have?

I've been DM for like 2-3 months and one player who's playing a Fighter (arcane archer) wants to multiclass into Ranger. Arcane Archer is not a spellcaster so assuming he will go Fighter 11/Ranger 9 ...
54
votes
1answer
85k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
11
votes
2answers
573 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
5
votes
5answers
977 views

What is the formula behind each level spell slot progression that I can use in a spreadsheet?

I have been trying to find a way to find the formula behind spell slot progression on the multiclass caster table, to add a spell slot table to this sheet with the best example being on the last table ...
5
votes
1answer
156 views

How does the Quick Study exploit work for a School Savant Arcanist?

I have an arcanist character with the School Savant archetype, which allows me to prepare an extra spell per level of the chosen school (Air in my case) but requires two preparation slots for a spell ...
1
vote
0answers
69 views

Are the amount of spell slots per caster level derived with math or decided arbitrarily? [duplicate]

I’m attempting to make a spreadsheet in google sheets that would function like an automatic character sheet. I know there a pages and charts in the phb concerting spell slot, but I was wondering how ...
0
votes
2answers
274 views

Can a simulacrum true polymorphed into an archmage regain spell slots?

Followup to: Can a simulacrum "regain" HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally? So this is a particularly ridiculous idea, but it might work. A simulacrum ...
0
votes
1answer
139 views

Does casting a spell with a higher level spell slot change the level of the spell? [duplicate]

I know that it’s possible to cast spells with a higher level spell slot than what it’s original spell level requires and several spells even give extra benefits for doing so. What I was wondering is ...
34
votes
2answers
4k views

Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?
6
votes
1answer
7k views

When casting a spell using Twinned Spell does it use one or two spell slots?

Say I cast fireball using Twinned spell, I would expend 3 sorcery points and cast a second fireball, would casting those two fireballs use one or two of my level 3 spell slots?
-1
votes
1answer
319 views

Can a bard 10/sorcerer 1 take 6th-level spells for Magical Secrets because of the way multiclassed spellcasters' slots work? [duplicate]

I have a Lore bard who multi-classed into sorcerer after level 4 and went back to leveling as a bard. When he reaches 10th level bard (11th level spellcaster), he will have 6th level slots. Can he ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

What happens if you cast Find Familar as a 9th-level spell?

If a wizard were to cast find familiar, a 1st-level spell, in a 9th-level spell slot, would anything different happen to it? For example, magic missile becomes more powerful the higher the level it ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Of what use is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?

My reading of this Q&A is that elves recover spell slots after a 4-hour long trance. However, if that is the case, then what good is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?
1
vote
3answers
20k views

How does adding Spells Known and Spell Slots work?

I am struggling to understand how exactly a player learns new spells, let's take for example the Ranger class: At level one they don't get any spell or cantrips. At level two they get to learn 2 ...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when I Twin Life Transference?

The Life Transference spell states: You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature’s injuries. You take 4d8 necrotic damage, and one creature of your choice that you can see within ...
1
vote
1answer
169 views

Can you have more spells known of a certain spell level than you have spell slots of that level?

For instance, the sorcerer's Spellcasting feature (PHB p. 101) says: Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher [...] The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer ...
3
votes
2answers
228 views

Are there any guides for what ingredients would be needed to make a magic item, spell, or how long to research the spell to make it? [closed]

I’m planning to send my players on quests to get ingredients for a very powerful shield to protect a plane. Are there any guides or recommendations for the difficulty(CR) that magic items of certain ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

How can a PC cast Elemental Weapon using a spell slot higher than 5th level?

In the PHB, the Elemental Weapon spell has a stronger effect when cast using a spell slot of 5th level or higher, with a 7th-level slot described as providing the strongest effect. However, in the PHB ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a Pearl of Power create new slots?

The Pearl of Power states You can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level. I'm a ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Is there any reason not to use a Pearl of Power as soon as possible?

Suppose I, a wizard, have a Pearl of Power attuned and have not used it today, and I have just finished a battle in which I used at least one spell slot of 3rd level or higher. I could save the pearl ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Does a spell cast using a 10th-level spell slot count as a 10th-level spell?

The Enlightened Magic feature of the Book of Exalted Deeds (DMG, p. 222) allows for 10th-level spell slots per this question. Nothing seems to disallow level 10 spell slots, but would the spells cast ...
30
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a sorcerer learn a 5th-level spell early by creating spell slots using the Font of Magic feature?

Per the Font of Magic feature, sorcerer can use Flexible Casting to create 5th-level spell slots at level 7, even though they are not typically available until level 9. You can transform ...
3
votes
2answers
215 views

When can you prepare a recently casted spell?

The Pathfinder rules for divine spellcasting state that: at the time of preparation any spells cast within the previous 8 hours count against the number of spells that can be prepared. But does ...