Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [spell-slots]

Spell slots are a method of limiting the casting of spells, by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to versions of Dungeons and Dragons and Pathfinder.

54
votes
4answers
7k views

What is a spell slot in-lore, and how does it justify the limits on casting spells?

Spell slots are something that we, as players, expend when we want our spellcasting PCs to cast a spell. It is a resource to limit how many powerful spells we can cast in a day. But for our characters ...
54
votes
1answer
79k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
32
votes
2answers
4k views

Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?
28
votes
1answer
41k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a sorcerer learn a 5th-level spell early by creating spell slots using the Font of Magic feature?

Per the Font of Magic feature, sorcerer can use Flexible Casting to create 5th-level spell slots at level 7, even though they are not typically available until level 9. You can transform ...
26
votes
2answers
3k views

How does the November 2018 PH errata change the usage of multiclass spell slots to cast spells?

The Player's Handbook, pg. 114, once read (in the wizard's Spellcasting feature description): The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. The ...
22
votes
4answers
4k views

Does a countered spell cost a spell slot?

When a spell caster is interrupted by a counterspell, does the countered spell use a spell slot? The spell description reads, in part: You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting ...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

Does re-casting Witch Bolt use up another spell slot?

I'm relatively new to D&D and was wondering how the second part of the witch bolt spell in 5e works. The first cast allows me to recast it until the target exits the spell range, moves into full ...
19
votes
2answers
784 views

What happens when I Twin Life Transference?

The Life Transference spell states: You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature’s injuries. You take 4d8 necrotic damage, and one creature of your choice that you can see within ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

Are casters aware of spell slots?

Players use spell slots as a meta concept to manage a character. For instance, Liz the Wizard gets so many spell slots at this level, and so many spell slots at that level. It says so right there in ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

How can a PC cast Elemental Weapon using a spell slot higher than 5th level?

In the PHB, the Elemental Weapon spell has a stronger effect when cast using a spell slot of 5th level or higher, with a 7th-level slot described as providing the strongest effect. However, in the PHB ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Is there any reason not to use a Pearl of Power as soon as possible?

Suppose I, a wizard, have a Pearl of Power attuned and have not used it today, and I have just finished a battle in which I used at least one spell slot of 3rd level or higher. I could save the pearl ...
12
votes
4answers
910 views

What happens if you cast Find Familar as a 9th-level spell?

If a wizard were to cast find familiar, a 1st-level spell, in a 9th-level spell slot, would anything different happen to it? For example, magic missile becomes more powerful the higher the level it ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a multiclassed paladin gain oath spells based on character level or paladin level?

Say my character is a level 6 Oath of Vengeance paladin, multiclassed with a level 3 sorcerer (of unspecified subclass). At level 6, paladins do not have access to 3rd-level spells. The character's ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a Pearl of Power create new slots?

The Pearl of Power states You can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level. I'm a ...
11
votes
2answers
453 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a multiclass spellcaster use spell slots of a level higher than the spells he could learn through a class to cast a spell learned through a feat?

This question asked whether a character can use a spell slot to cast a spell "learned" through a feat such as Magic Initiate or Fey Teleportation. The answer, in a nutshell, was: Yes, but only if the ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a spell scroll be upcast using a higher-level spell slot?

For example, Magic Missile says: You create three glowing darts of magical force. Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range. A dart deals 1d4 + 1 force damage to its ...
9
votes
2answers
511 views

Would it be balanced to allow the darkvision spell to target multiple creatures when cast with higher-level spell slots?

The Darkvision spell, by default, can target only one creature and gains no benefit from upcasting (= using a spell slot higher than the spell's level). You touch a willing creature to grant it the ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a spell cast using a 10th-level spell slot count as a 10th-level spell?

The Enlightened Magic feature of the Book of Exalted Deeds (DMG, p. 222) allows for 10th-level spell slots per this question. Nothing seems to disallow level 10 spell slots, but would the spells cast ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Does casting a spell use a spell slot if you have the components for the spell?

Both my DMs say that if you have the components for the spell you can cast the spell without using a spell slot. Is this true normally in D&D 5e, or is it more of a DM discretion thing?
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Of what use is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?

My reading of this Q&A is that elves recover spell slots after a 4-hour long trance. However, if that is the case, then what good is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?
7
votes
1answer
540 views

Eldritch Master Clarification

20th-level warlocks get the Eldritch Master feature, which lets them spend a minute asking their patron to regain expended spell slots (from the Pact Magic feature), and ends with this the statement: ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Are Ritual Caster spells compatible with other spell slots?

I am a fourth level Fighter (Eldritch Knight). I can choose to take a feat. I am interested in the Ritual Caster feat. I want to know if I learn the Ritual Caster feat, could I take a higher level ...
6
votes
1answer
6k views

When casting a spell using Twinned Spell does it use one or two spell slots?

Say I cast fireball using Twinned spell, I would expend 3 sorcery points and cast a second fireball, would casting those two fireballs use one or two of my level 3 spell slots?
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How many spell slots should my level 1 wizard/level 1 fighter have?

I am working on making a wizard fighter multiclass character where the wizard is the original class. How many spells should I have in my spellbook if I am a level 1 wizard and level 1 fighter? I have ...
6
votes
5answers
18k views

If I multiclass as a warlock and another class, and I get spell slots from that other class, do they count as my highest-level slot or not? [duplicate]

Since warlocks have so few spell slots, they always cast with the highest level spell slot possible. So, if I got spell slots by multiclassing as a sorcerer (or wizard) and I cast a warlock spell ...
6
votes
3answers
338 views

What does “as if you were a single-classed member of that class” mean for spells known and spell slots?

Introduction I am currently building a multiclass spellcaster, and came across this question: Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook? This discussion appears ...
6
votes
2answers
922 views

Wild Magic Surge activation without using spell slots

Wild Magic Surge (or Tides of Chaos) is activated when you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. With the feat Ritual Caster you can choose Sorcerer and cast sorcerer spells without using ...
5
votes
3answers
5k views

Do class spells take up spell slots?

So I'm fairly new and ended up being the Cleric in my also fairly new group. I haven't played a caster before and the book says that at level 1 I have Bless and Cure Wounds. Do I need to assign these ...
5
votes
5answers
897 views

What is the formula behind each level spell slot progression that I can use in a spreadsheet?

I have been trying to find a way to find the formula behind spell slot progression on the multiclass caster table, to add a spell slot table to this sheet with the best example being on the last table ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Multiclass Spellcaster: Do the involved classes share the same pool of spell slots?

Introduction The eldritch knight fighter (EK) in my game is contemplating whether to dip into wizard (Wiz) for more magical versatility in combat. Spell Slots The multiclassing spellcasting rules (...
5
votes
2answers
424 views

Does an Arcanist really refresh her slots by studying her spellbook?

According to the Pathfinder rules on Arcanists An arcanist must choose and prepare her spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying her spellbook. While ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What spell slots should I have with Paladin 7 / Sorcerer 7?

The basic 5e Roll20 sheet is showing 2 slots for lvl 5 and 3 slots for lvl 4, but that doesn't seem right. I read the section on multiclassing and spell slots and I still don't understand why it shows ...
4
votes
1answer
348 views

Can a Sorcerer use Flexible Casting to create more spell slots than is listed on the Sorcerer table?

A Sorcerer can create spell slots by expending sorcery points with the Flexible Casting feature. In the rules, is there any point where it states that you can't have more spell slots than what the ...
4
votes
1answer
186 views

Truth Domain + Domain Wizard = 2nd level spells?

Truth Domain, from Races of Eberron, has Detect Thoughts (WIZ 2) in the 1st level Domain Spell slot. With Domain Wizard, "a domain wizard automatically adds each new domain spell to her list of known ...
4
votes
1answer
99 views

How does the Quick Study exploit work for a School Savant Arcanist?

I have an arcanist character with the School Savant archetype, which allows me to prepare an extra spell per level of the chosen school (Air in my case) but requires two preparation slots for a spell ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

How do warlocks deal with the Healing Elixir spell, since their spell slots get higher-level as they level up?

How do warlocks deal with the healing elixir spell from Unearthed Arcana: Starter Spells, since it's a level 1 spell and warlocks use higher-level spell slots as they level up?
3
votes
1answer
220 views

Can Wild Magic Surges restore hit points and spell slots to a Simulacrum of a Wild Magic Sorcerer?

Some effects of the Wild Magic table (PHB, p. 104) make the Sorcerer regain hit points or spell slots: 15-16: For the next minute, you regain 5 hit points at the start of each of your turns. ...
3
votes
1answer
355 views

Do Pathfinder Witches have a dedicated Patron spell slot?

In Pathfinder, do Witches have a Patron spell slot? APG pg 70, under "Patron Spells" says: At 2nd level, and every two levels thereafter, a witch's patron adds new spells to a witch's list of ...
3
votes
2answers
166 views

When can you prepare a recently casted spell?

The Pathfinder rules for divine spellcasting state that: at the time of preparation any spells cast within the previous 8 hours count against the number of spells that can be prepared. But does ...
3
votes
2answers
102 views

Are there any guides for what ingredients would be needed to make a magic item, spell, or how long to research the spell to make it? [closed]

I’m planning to send my players on quests to get ingredients for a very powerful shield to protect a plane. Are there any guides or recommendations for the difficulty(CR) that magic items of certain ...
2
votes
1answer
224 views

How many spell slots should a Fighter 11/Ranger 9 have?

I've been DM for like 2-3 months and one player who's playing a Fighter (arcane archer) wants to multiclass into Ranger. Arcane Archer is not a spellcaster so assuming he will go Fighter 11/Ranger 9 ...
2
votes
1answer
411 views

Warlocks using spell slots with multiclassing [duplicate]

I'm playing a warlock/sorcerer. Can I cast a 1st level warlock spell with a 1st level slot instead of a 2nd level slot using my sorcerer spellcasting instead of pact magic?
2
votes
0answers
686 views

Converting Spell Slots to Sorcery Points [closed]

If a sorcerer decides to convert an unused spell slot into spell points, does the sorcerer gain spell points according to the table on p. 101? So if I convert a level 1 spell to spell points, do I ...
2
votes
1answer
336 views

If you take a level in Warlock, do all your other spell slots suddenly start recharging over a short rest? [duplicate]

The warlock's Pact Magic feature says: Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the ...
1
vote
3answers
13k views

How does adding Spells Known and Spell Slots work?

I am struggling to understand how exactly a player learns new spells, let's take for example the Ranger class: At level one they don't get any spell or cantrips. At level two they get to learn 2 ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

Can you have more spells known of a certain spell level than you have spell slots of that level?

For instance, the sorcerer's Spellcasting feature (PHB p. 101) says: Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher [...] The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer ...
1
vote
2answers
517 views

For multiclassed warlock/clerics, do your spell slots from the two classes stack?

So I'm a new DM and one of my PC's who's a 1st-level warlock wants to multi-class into cleric. So he would essentially be a warlock 1/cleric 1. Since the Warlock only has one 1st-level spell slot at ...