Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to multiple versions of Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
45
votes
4answers
50k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
24
votes
3answers
10k views

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
36
votes
2answers
5k views

Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?
13
votes
1answer
5k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
18
votes
4answers
40k views

If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class's spell slots for Divine Smite?

Divine Smite: Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one paladin spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon's ...
32
votes
2answers
64k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
22
votes
2answers
7k views

Can a multiclassed warlock expend a Spellcasting spell slot of a non-warlock class to use the Eldritch Smite invocation?

Can a multiclassed Warlock use a spell slot from the Spellcasting feature of a non-Warlock class to perform Eldritch Smites? Eldritch Smite says: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

What level is a spell if you cast it without expending a spell slot?

There are ways to cast spells without expending a spell slot such as: Master Transmuter (PHB 119): Restore Life. You cast the raise dead spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter’s stone,...
59
votes
5answers
11k views

What is a spell slot in-lore, and how does it justify the limits on casting spells?

Spell slots are something that we, as players, expend when we want our spellcasting PCs to cast a spell. It is a resource to limit how many powerful spells we can cast in a day. But for our characters ...
18
votes
2answers
5k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

How do I determine how many spell slots I have when multiclassing?

How do I determine how many spell slots I have if I multiclass into more than one spellcasting class? For example, I have a character that is a level 3 Wizard, a level 5 Eldritch Knight Fighter, a ...
61
votes
1answer
106k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
18
votes
4answers
4k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
23
votes
4answers
6k views

Does a countered spell cost a spell slot?

When a spell caster is interrupted by a counterspell, does the countered spell use a spell slot? The spell description reads, in part: You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting ...
19
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points?

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points? For example: can a multiclassed sorcerer 3 / warlock 1 use Flexible Casting to create a warlock spell slot?
14
votes
2answers
63k views

Do Cleric's domain spells add slots?

I'm a little bit confused with the whole spell system and additions to them. If I pick for instance Tempest Domain Spell, are the spells additional to the other ones? (2 at level 1) So do that make it ...
14
votes
2answers
7k views

If I cast Darkness at 4th level and someone else casts Daylight at 4th level, how do the two spells interact?

If I cast Darkness at 4th level and someone else casts Daylight at 4th level, how do the two spells interact? I found this Twitter post by Jeremy Crawford back in October 2014 that says the spell ...
11
votes
3answers
709 views

How does the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature work when multiclassed into another class with the Spellcasting feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] However, the ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you cast a racial spell if you do not have access to the spell slot required?

For example a Drow has the racial spell Darkness, spell level 2 (gained at player level 5). Can he cast the spell even if he is multiclassed (Eldritch Knight 3; Cleric 2) and only has spell slots up ...
23
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens when I Twin Life Transference?

The Life Transference spell states: You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature’s injuries. You take 4d8 necrotic damage, and one creature of your choice that you can see within ...
7
votes
3answers
12k views

Multiclass Spellcaster: Do the involved classes share the same pool of spell slots?

Introduction The eldritch knight fighter (EK) in my game is contemplating whether to dip into wizard (Wiz) for more magical versatility in combat. Spell Slots The multiclassing spellcasting rules (...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

Does a spell cast using a 10th-level spell slot count as a 10th-level spell?

The Enlightened Magic feature of the Book of Exalted Deeds (DMG, p. 222) allows for 10th-level spell slots per this question. Nothing seems to disallow level 10 spell slots, but would the spells cast ...
21
votes
1answer
6k views

Does reapplying Hex cost a spell slot?

The PHB for the spell "Hex" indicates that (5e) If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. Does ...
12
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot?

Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot? Specifically, I'm thinking of casting Shocking Grasp as a 1st-level spell, to trigger the Storm sorcerer's Heart of the Storm feature (Sword ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a spell scroll be upcast using a higher-level spell slot?

For example, Magic Missile says: You create three glowing darts of magical force. Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range. A dart deals 1d4 + 1 force damage to its ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract. Eldritch Cannon states: Once you create a cannon, you ...
3
votes
3answers
323 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

For multiclassed warlock/clerics, do your spell slots from the two classes stack?

So I'm a new DM and one of my PC's who's a 1st-level warlock wants to multi-class into cleric. So he would essentially be a warlock 1/cleric 1. Since the Warlock only has one 1st-level spell slot at ...
36
votes
4answers
18k views

Can a Sorcerer use Sorcery Points to create spell slots higher than he can cast?

At level 6, a Sorcerer may have a maximum of 6 Sorcery Points. This is enough to create a level 4 spell slot. Would the Sorcerer be able to create a level 4 spell slot, even though he only knows level ...
31
votes
3answers
27k views

How does the Variant: Spell Points system from the DMG affect game balance?

On page 288-289 of the DMG, there is a "Variant: Spell Points" rule. Below are the best summary paragraphs of the system: In this variant, each spell has a point cost based on its level. ...
23
votes
2answers
5k views

How does the consumption of spell slots affect an Artillerist Artificer's ability to create Eldritch Cannons?

The Artillerist subclass for the Artificer class has the ability to summon an "Eldritch Cannon" to support them in combat: At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical cannon. Using woodcarver's ...
20
votes
3answers
2k views

Are casters aware of spell slots?

Players use spell slots as a meta concept to manage a character. For instance, Liz the Wizard gets so many spell slots at this level, and so many spell slots at that level. It says so right there in ...
22
votes
2answers
3k views

Does re-casting Witch Bolt use up another spell slot?

I'm relatively new to D&D and was wondering how the second part of the witch bolt spell in 5e works. The first cast allows me to recast it until the target exits the spell range, moves into full ...
17
votes
3answers
45k views

What does it mean to be able to cast a spell “at will”?

Throughout the D&D 5e Player's Handbook, particularly in the warlock's Eldritch Invocations, there are abilities that allow the player to cast specific spells "at will, without consuming a spell ...
8
votes
1answer
9k views

When casting a spell using Twinned Spell does it use one or two spell slots?

Say I cast fireball using Twinned spell, I would expend 3 sorcery points and cast a second fireball, would casting those two fireballs use one or two of my level 3 spell slots?
18
votes
2answers
2k views

At what level are spells duplicated by the Wish spell cast? [duplicate]

Wish is a 9th level spell, one of the uses written into it is: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens if you use the Magic Jar spell to possess a creature which has Spellcasting?

I would like to know what happens if you use the Magic Jar spell to possess a creature which is capable of casting spells. Below are 3 different situations. I post all these questions in the same ...
5
votes
3answers
9k views

Do class spells take up spell slots?

So I'm fairly new and ended up being the Cleric in my also fairly new group. I haven't played a caster before and the book says that at level 1 I have Bless and Cure Wounds. Do I need to assign these ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to the Warlock Spell Slots when he obtains new Spell Levels?

This isn't explained on the spellcasting section of the warlock. On the table, it's shown the warlock acquires new spell slots as it levels up, for example, starts at level 1 with 1 1st level slot, ...
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Can a simulacrum true polymorphed into an archmage regain spell slots? [duplicate]

Followup to: Can a simulacrum "regain" HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally? So this is a particularly ridiculous idea, but it might work. A simulacrum ...
23
votes
5answers
7k views

Does Wish just give another spell slot?

The description of the wish spell reads: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly ...
16
votes
7answers
6k views

Can I cast cantrips using spell slots to get a more potent effect? [duplicate]

I am wondering whether I could cast a cantrip, for example Thaumaturgy, using a spell slot to get more than a single effect of the cantrip (i.e. both ominous sounds and alter appearance).
12
votes
1answer
442 views

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight with the Magic Initiate feat (picking the wizard list) use spell slots to cast the chosen 1st-level spell?

A bard who takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses the bard spell list for the feat can use spell slots to cast the 1st-level spell they learn from the feat. A wizard who takes the feat and chooses ...
11
votes
2answers
890 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Sorcerer use Flexible Casting to create more spell slots than is listed on the Sorcerer table?

A Sorcerer can create spell slots by expending sorcery points with the Flexible Casting feature. In the rules, is there any point where it states that you can't have more spell slots than what the ...
4
votes
5answers
2k views

What is the formula behind each level spell slot progression that I can use in a spreadsheet?

I have been trying to find a way to find the formula behind spell slot progression on the multiclass caster table, to add a spell slot table to this sheet with the best example being on the last table ...
36
votes
7answers
4k views

How can I get better at identifying the “right time” to use my spell slots?

I've played a bunch of DnD 5e, but my current campaign is my first time playing a Warlock outside of a one-shot; right now I'm almost to level 5. I'm playing more of a face/roleplay-focused role, so ...
26
votes
2answers
3k views

How does the November 2018 PH errata change the usage of multiclass spell slots to cast spells?

The Player's Handbook, pg. 114, once read (in the wizard's Spellcasting feature description): The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. The ...
25
votes
3answers
3k views

If a caster uses a higher-level slot for the Enhance Ability spell, can they specify different effects for different targets?

If a caster uses a higher level slot for the Enhance Ability spell, can they specify different effects for different targets? Example: target 1 gets Bear's Endurance, and target 2 gets Bull's ...
17
votes
1answer
444 views

Does the “higher level spell slot” clause in the Globe of Invulnerability spell do anything?

The description of the Globe of Invulnerability spell says, in part (PHB, p. 245): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if ...