Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to multiple versions of Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
61
votes
1answer
102k views

Why do Warlocks only have spells up to 5th level? What's the correct progression for their slots?

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level. However, the table ...
59
votes
5answers
11k views

What is a spell slot in-lore, and how does it justify the limits on casting spells?

Spell slots are something that we, as players, expend when we want our spellcasting PCs to cast a spell. It is a resource to limit how many powerful spells we can cast in a day. But for our characters ...
38
votes
3answers
45k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
36
votes
4answers
17k views

Can a Sorcerer use Sorcery Points to create spell slots higher than he can cast?

At level 6, a Sorcerer may have a maximum of 6 Sorcery Points. This is enough to create a level 4 spell slot. Would the Sorcerer be able to create a level 4 spell slot, even though he only knows level ...
35
votes
2answers
5k views

Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?
35
votes
7answers
4k views

How can I get better at identifying the “right time” to use my spell slots?

I've played a bunch of DnD 5e, but my current campaign is my first time playing a Warlock outside of a one-shot; right now I'm almost to level 5. I'm playing more of a face/roleplay-focused role, so ...
31
votes
2answers
60k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
30
votes
3answers
22k views

How does the Variant: Spell Points system from the DMG affect game balance?

On page 288-289 of the DMG, there is a "Variant: Spell Points" rule. Below are the best summary paragraphs of the system: In this variant, each spell has a point cost based on its level. ...
30
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a sorcerer learn a 5th-level spell early by creating spell slots using the Font of Magic feature?

Per the Font of Magic feature, sorcerer can use Flexible Casting to create 5th-level spell slots at level 7, even though they are not typically available until level 9. You can transform ...
26
votes
2answers
3k views

How does the November 2018 PH errata change the usage of multiclass spell slots to cast spells?

The Player's Handbook, pg. 114, once read (in the wizard's Spellcasting feature description): The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. The ...
25
votes
3answers
3k views

If a caster uses a higher-level slot for the Enhance Ability spell, can they specify different effects for different targets?

If a caster uses a higher level slot for the Enhance Ability spell, can they specify different effects for different targets? Example: target 1 gets Bear's Endurance, and target 2 gets Bull's ...
23
votes
5answers
7k views

Does Wish just give another spell slot?

The description of the wish spell reads: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly ...
23
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a Wild Magic Barbarian restore a 7th(+) Level Warlock's spell slots?

In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature 'Bolstering Magic'. This feature has two ...
23
votes
4answers
6k views

Does a countered spell cost a spell slot?

When a spell caster is interrupted by a counterspell, does the countered spell use a spell slot? The spell description reads, in part: You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting ...
23
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens when I Twin Life Transference?

The Life Transference spell states: You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature’s injuries. You take 4d8 necrotic damage, and one creature of your choice that you can see within ...
23
votes
3answers
9k views

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
22
votes
3answers
2k views

Can this Lair Action restore all the lich's 8th or lower spell slots even when there's no combat or any of the lich's enemies within the lair?

One of the Lair Actions of a lich does the following: The lich rolls a d8 and regains a spell slot of that level or lower. If it has no spent spell slots of that level or lower, nothing happens. A ...
22
votes
2answers
3k views

Does re-casting Witch Bolt use up another spell slot?

I'm relatively new to D&D and was wondering how the second part of the witch bolt spell in 5e works. The first cast allows me to recast it until the target exits the spell range, moves into full ...
22
votes
2answers
8k views

How does a damage dealing Wizard use higher level spell slots optimally?

In D&D 5e, one of the neat features for spell casting is the ability to cast spells at higher levels than the spell is originally set at. For Clerics, this makes it handy such that Cure Wounds, ...
21
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a multiclassed warlock expend a Spellcasting spell slot of a non-warlock class to use the Eldritch Smite invocation?

Can a multiclassed Warlock use a spell slot from the Spellcasting feature of a non-Warlock class to perform Eldritch Smites? Eldritch Smite says: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your ...
21
votes
2answers
4k views

How does the consumption of spell slots affect an Artillerist Artificer's ability to create Eldritch Cannons?

The Artillerist subclass for the Artificer class has the ability to summon an "Eldritch Cannon" to support them in combat: At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical cannon. Using woodcarver's ...
20
votes
3answers
2k views

Are casters aware of spell slots?

Players use spell slots as a meta concept to manage a character. For instance, Liz the Wizard gets so many spell slots at this level, and so many spell slots at that level. It says so right there in ...
19
votes
1answer
6k views

Does reapplying Hex cost a spell slot?

The PHB for the spell "Hex" indicates that (5e) If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. Does ...
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Must a warlock replace spells with new spells of exactly their Pact Magic spell slot level?

The Warlock Pact Magic feature says: The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of ...
18
votes
4answers
3k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

At what level are spells duplicated by the Wish spell cast? [duplicate]

Wish is a 9th level spell, one of the uses written into it is: The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
17
votes
4answers
38k views

If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class's spell slots for Divine Smite?

Divine Smite: Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one paladin spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon's ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Do monsters with a Spellcasting trait get spell slots back after a long rest?

Some monsters, like a lich, have the Spellcasting trait. This trait allows such monsters to cast spells using spell slots, much as spellcaster player characters do. However, taking the lich as an ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Do the errata changes to “your <class> spells” prevent coffeelock cheese?

The errata introduced changes to specify spell slots' classes. I was wondering if those changes could somehow prevent coffeelock cheese in the spirit of this Jeremy Crawford tweet to interpret class ...
16
votes
7answers
6k views

Can I cast cantrips using spell slots to get a more potent effect? [duplicate]

I am wondering whether I could cast a cantrip, for example Thaumaturgy, using a spell slot to get more than a single effect of the cantrip (i.e. both ominous sounds and alter appearance).
16
votes
3answers
42k views

What does it mean to be able to cast a spell “at will”?

Throughout the D&D 5e Player's Handbook, particularly in the warlock's Eldritch Invocations, there are abilities that allow the player to cast specific spells "at will, without consuming a spell ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points?

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points? For example: can a multiclassed sorcerer 3 / warlock 1 use Flexible Casting to create a warlock spell slot?
16
votes
1answer
2k views

What are the ramifications of this change to upcasting spells?

I was looking at the Evocation Wizard's Overchannel feature which states: When you cast a wizard spell of 1st through 5th-level that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with that spell. This ...
15
votes
2answers
3k views

How can a PC cast Elemental Weapon using a spell slot higher than 5th level?

In the PHB, the Elemental Weapon spell has a stronger effect when cast using a spell slot of 5th level or higher, with a 7th-level slot described as providing the strongest effect. However, in the PHB ...
15
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a 14th level Theurgy Wizard with the Arcana Domain cast their 8th/9th level spells after picking up three levels in another Full Caster class?

The Theurgy Wizard from UA: Wizard Revisited gets to choose a Cleric Domain at 2nd level. At 14th level they get the Arcane High Priest feature, which grants them the 17th-level benefits associated ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

Does using Wish to cast a 7th-level spell use a 7th-level spell slot as well as the 9th-level one for Wish?

The PHB says the basic use of the Wish spell is to duplicate the effect of any other spell of 8th level or lower without having to meet any requirements of costly components. If, as a wizard, you ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does trying to charm an uncharmable creature cost a spell slot?

I'm soon going to DM for the first time; we'll be playing 5e. If my players try to charm a creature with a condition immunity to being charmed, will they still lose a spell slot? They are all first ...
14
votes
2answers
61k views

Do Cleric's domain spells add slots?

I'm a little bit confused with the whole spell system and additions to them. If I pick for instance Tempest Domain Spell, are the spells additional to the other ones? (2 at level 1) So do that make it ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

How does the Divination wizard's Expert Divination feature work when you upcast a divination spell?

The School of Divination for a wizard has the feature Expert Divination at level 6 (PHB, p. 116): Expert Divination When you cast a divination spell of 2nd level or higher using a spell slot, you ...
14
votes
2answers
6k views

If I cast Darkness at 4th level and someone else casts Daylight at 4th level, how do the two spells interact?

If I cast Darkness at 4th level and someone else casts Daylight at 4th level, how do the two spells interact? I found this Twitter post by Jeremy Crawford back in October 2014 that says the spell ...
14
votes
1answer
633 views

Are there instances where a character can cast a non-cantrip spell while having no spell slots available and they later suffer negative consequences?

Last night, I DMed a game with only two players, and neither of them had any prior experience with D&D. All in all, it went great, but towards the end, they got into some serious trouble and the ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

How do spell slot recovery abilities work with the Variant: Spell Points system?

I am considering using the Variant: Spell Points system from page 288-289 of the DMG. I asked a related question on the overall balance of this rule. This question is more focused on the mechanics of ...
13
votes
2answers
6k views

Is there any reason not to use a Pearl of Power as soon as possible?

Suppose I, a wizard, have a Pearl of Power attuned and have not used it today, and I have just finished a battle in which I used at least one spell slot of 3rd level or higher. I could save the pearl ...
13
votes
1answer
855 views

Can a 2nd-level sorcerer use sorcery points to create a 2nd-level spell slot?

If a player is a 2nd-level sorcerer, and sacrifices one of their 1st-level spell slots to get an additional sorcery point, could they use their 3 sorcery points to create another 2nd-level spell slot?
13
votes
1answer
5k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

What happens if you cast Find Familar as a 9th-level spell?

If a wizard were to cast find familiar, a 1st-level spell, in a 9th-level spell slot, would anything different happen to it? For example, magic missile becomes more powerful the higher the level it ...
12
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot?

Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot? Specifically, I'm thinking of casting Shocking Grasp as a 1st-level spell, to trigger the Storm sorcerer's Heart of the Storm feature (Sword ...
12
votes
2answers
9k views

How many spell slots does a Warlock 19/Wizard 1 have?

I'm really confused by Multiclassing as a Warlock. Say I put 19 levels into Warlock and I have six spell slots. Simple enough. The tricky bit is when you think of ways to get more spell slots. The ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed paladin gain oath spells based on character level or paladin level?

Say my character is a level 6 Oath of Vengeance paladin, multiclassed with a level 3 sorcerer (of unspecified subclass). At level 6, paladins do not have access to 3rd-level spells. The character's ...