Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to multiple versions of Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you cast a racial spell if you do not have access to the spell slot required?

For example a Drow has the racial spell Darkness, spell level 2 (gained at player level 5). Can he cast the spell even if he is multiclassed (Eldritch Knight 3; Cleric 2) and only has spell slots up ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Does a Pearl of Power create new slots?

The Pearl of Power states You can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level. I'm a ...
11
votes
2answers
817 views

What happens to a Warlock's expended Spell Slots when they gain a Level?

Suppose a Level 6 Warlock has expended both of their Level 3 Spell Slots. Then, upon receiving XP, they gain enough to level up to Level 7. They immediately gain access to their new spell (and their ...
11
votes
3answers
612 views

How does the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature work when multiclassed into another class with the Spellcasting feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] However, the ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a multiclass spellcaster use spell slots of a level higher than the spells he could learn through a class to cast a spell learned through a feat?

The question "Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?" asked whether a character can use a spell slot to cast a spell "learned&...
11
votes
4answers
747 views

Are there any game breaking consequences in this house rule for multiclass spell slots?

Follow up to this question. So, as stated in that question, I feel that it is quite weird that a 3rd level paladin + 2nd level Ranger is not equivalent to a 5th level Half-caster (such as a 5th level ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a spell scroll be upcast using a higher-level spell slot?

For example, Magic Missile says: You create three glowing darts of magical force. Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range. A dart deals 1d4 + 1 force damage to its ...
10
votes
3answers
12k views

How does “Flexible Casting” give more spell slots?

The Player's Handbook (p. 101) states (about flexible casting): Creating spell slots. You can transform unexpended sorcery points into one spell slot as a bonus action on your turn. I'm unsure how ...
10
votes
4answers
749 views

If I attempt to use the Teleport spell to teleport into an area warded by the Forbiddance spell, is my spell slot expended?

From the Forbiddance spell description: For the duration, creatures can’t tele⁠port into the area A character may not know the area is warded by Forbiddance, attempt to cast Teleport to enter it, ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

Does a spell cast using a 10th-level spell slot count as a 10th-level spell?

The Enlightened Magic feature of the Book of Exalted Deeds (DMG, p. 222) allows for 10th-level spell slots per this question. Nothing seems to disallow level 10 spell slots, but would the spells cast ...
9
votes
2answers
741 views

Do sorcery points made from converted spell slots vanish after a long rest?

I was wondering about the sorcerer's ability to turn sorcery points into spell slots, where the same conversion rate applies to turn spell slots into sorcery points. If, by the end of the day, you ...
9
votes
3answers
510 views

What does “as if you were a single-classed member of that class” mean for spells known and spell slots?

Introduction I am currently building a multiclass spellcaster, and came across this question: Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook? This discussion appears ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

If a spell is cast using a higher-level spell slot, can it be overchanneled by an Evocation wizard?

If my level 14 Evocation wizard were to cast a fireball using a seventh level spell slot, would he be able to maximise the damage with overchannel despite the overchannel feature indicating that the ...
9
votes
1answer
845 views

Does it cost a spell slot to cast a spell from a Ring of Spell Storing?

If you have to use a spell slot to put a spell into the ring of spell storing, do you again have to spend a slot to cast a spell from the ring?
9
votes
2answers
796 views

Would it be balanced to allow the darkvision spell to target multiple creatures when cast with higher-level spell slots?

The Darkvision spell, by default, can target only one creature and gains no benefit from upcasting (= using a spell slot higher than the spell's level). You touch a willing creature to grant it the ...
9
votes
2answers
116 views

Do you lose a turn/spell slot when casting a spell on invalid creatures?

Say my Mystic attempts to cast Fear as a 1st level spell on a creature. 1st: When you cast fear as a 1st-level spell, it affects one living creature of CR 4 or lower at close range... If the DM ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can spells from the Ritual Caster feat be cast using spell slots?

I am a 4th-level Fighter (Eldritch Knight). I can choose to take a feat. I am interested in the Ritual Caster feat. If I learn the Ritual Caster feat, could I later cast the spells learned from the ...
8
votes
1answer
9k views

When casting a spell using Twinned Spell does it use one or two spell slots?

Say I cast fireball using Twinned spell, I would expend 3 sorcery points and cast a second fireball, would casting those two fireballs use one or two of my level 3 spell slots?
8
votes
1answer
1k views

What level is a spell if you cast it without expending a spell slot?

There are ways to cast spells without expending a spell slot such as: Master Transmuter (PHB 119): Restore Life. You cast the raise dead spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter’s stone,...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I determine how many spell slots I have when multiclassing?

How do I determine how many spell slots I have if I multiclass into more than one spellcasting class? For example, I have a character that is a level 3 Wizard, a level 5 Eldritch Knight Fighter, a ...
8
votes
1answer
331 views

Multi-classing doesn't generalize Single-class spellcasting?

I am aware of our go to question about spellcasting and multiclassing, and I am aware of the rules. I am nonetheless confused about something: If we use the multi-class rules, in particular You ...
8
votes
2answers
266 views

When I cast Glyph of Warding, can I use Wish to supply the second spell?

Assuming I do not have access to a second 9th level spell for that day (such as via a Boon, a scroll, or an item), when I cast glyph of warding at a lower level than 9th, can I use wish to supply the ...
7
votes
3answers
5k views

Does casting a spell use a spell slot if you have the components for the spell?

Both my DMs say that if you have the components for the spell you can cast the spell without using a spell slot. Is this true normally in D&D 5e, or is it more of a DM discretion thing?
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Of what use is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?

My reading of this Q&A is that elves recover spell slots after a 4-hour long trance. However, if that is the case, then what good is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?
7
votes
4answers
19k views

Alternatives to rest for restoration of spell slots

Is there a mechanism (established in the rules) for restoring the spell slots of an arcane caster (particularly interested in Wizard) that does not involve rest? The method must be external to the ...
7
votes
2answers
11k views

Multiclass Spellcaster: Do the involved classes share the same pool of spell slots?

Introduction The eldritch knight fighter (EK) in my game is contemplating whether to dip into wizard (Wiz) for more magical versatility in combat. Spell Slots The multiclassing spellcasting rules (...
7
votes
5answers
48k views

If I multiclass as a warlock and another class, and I get spell slots from that other class, do they count as my highest-level slot or not? [duplicate]

Since warlocks have so few spell slots, they always cast with the highest level spell slot possible. So, if I got spell slots by multiclassing as a sorcerer (or wizard) and I cast a warlock spell ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

How can I get more spell slots?

I'm playing a protector aasimar paladin and I was wondering how I can get more spell slots.
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Eldritch Master Clarification

20th-level warlocks get the Eldritch Master feature, which lets them spend a minute asking their patron to regain expended spell slots (from the Pact Magic feature), and ends with this the statement: ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Sorcerer use Flexible Casting to create more spell slots than is listed on the Sorcerer table?

A Sorcerer can create spell slots by expending sorcery points with the Flexible Casting feature. In the rules, is there any point where it states that you can't have more spell slots than what the ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

How many spell slots should my level 1 wizard/level 1 fighter have?

I am working on making a wizard fighter multiclass character where the wizard is the original class. How many spells should I have in my spellbook if I am a level 1 wizard and level 1 fighter? I have ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens if you use the Magic Jar spell to possess a creature which has Spellcasting?

I would like to know what happens if you use the Magic Jar spell to possess a creature which is capable of casting spells. Below are 3 different situations. I post all these questions in the same ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Wild Magic Surge activation without using spell slots

Wild Magic Surge (or Tides of Chaos) is activated when you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. With the feat Ritual Caster you can choose Sorcerer and cast sorcerer spells without using ...
6
votes
1answer
889 views

When casting the Glyph of Warding spell, how many spell slots are used if you choose the Spell Glyph option?

The description of the spell states you can store a spell of 3rd level or lower by casting it as part of the Glyph of Warding. Does this require the use of one spell slot (because you are casting it ...
6
votes
1answer
459 views

Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own: Can you cast a ...
6
votes
3answers
768 views

How does the Land Druid's Natural Recovery feature interact with the Warlock's Pact Magic spell slots?

Do the Natural Recovery ability of the Land Druid and Pact Magic of the Warlock work together? I am planning to create a D&D 5E character that can recover spell slots easily, at least during ...
6
votes
1answer
312 views

How do you use spell points as a Sorlock with the spell point variant rule?

I am currently playing an Elf that is a level 5 Warlock / level 3 Sorcerer. My DM has graciously let me take a few short rests in the morning after my trance and before we start the adventuring day, ...
6
votes
3answers
610 views

Is it possible to benefit from multiple Shield spells?

The Shield Spell allows you to use the Shield Block reaction, which ends the spell and prevents you from casting it again for 10 minutes. But what if you know the Shield spell from multiple different ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

For an Arcane Bloodline Sorcerer, does casting a spell with your bonded item cost a spell slot?

I'm helping a friend build their first Sorcerer in Pathfinder. We have decided to take the Arcane Bloodline. While I am not used to playing a magic user, I am GM every other weekend with my group. ...
5
votes
3answers
8k views

Do class spells take up spell slots?

So I'm fairly new and ended up being the Cleric in my also fairly new group. I haven't played a caster before and the book says that at level 1 I have Bless and Cure Wounds. Do I need to assign these ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

What spell slots should I have with Paladin 7 / Sorcerer 7?

The basic 5e Roll20 sheet is showing 2 slots for lvl 5 and 3 slots for lvl 4, but that doesn't seem right. I read the section on multiclassing and spell slots and I still don't understand why it shows ...
5
votes
2answers
980 views

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract. Eldritch Cannon states: Once you create a cannon, you ...
5
votes
1answer
327 views

If I cast Simulacrum on myself, will the simulacrum still have the spell slot used to cast the spell?

If I cast simulacrum on myself, I expend 1 spell slot to do so. Will the simulacrum still have this spell slot when it is created? Or will the simulacrum be missing the spell slot as well?
5
votes
2answers
656 views

Does an Arcanist really refresh her slots by studying her spellbook?

According to the Pathfinder rules on Arcanists An arcanist must choose and prepare her spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying her spellbook. While ...
5
votes
1answer
300 views

How does the Quick Study exploit work for a School Savant Arcanist?

I have an arcanist character with the School Savant archetype, which allows me to prepare an extra spell per level of the chosen school (Air in my case) but requires two preparation slots for a spell ...
5
votes
1answer
186 views

Does taking the Domain Initiate cleric feat a second time give a second focus point?

Under Focus Points from Multiple Sources the book reads: It’s possible, especially through archetypes, to gain focus spells and Focus Points from more than one source. If this happens, you have ...
5
votes
1answer
91 views

How does the Brewkeeper prestige class's Helpful Homebrew metamagic effect interact with the cleric's prepared spells?

I have recently came across the Brewkeeper prestige class and I fell in love with it. The interactions it has with spells and potions is amazing for late game, especially when you have potions left ...
5
votes
1answer
246 views

Can the Wizard's “Spell Blending” Arcane Thesis be used to convert spell slots of one tradition to another?

For example, if a Wizard takes Cleric Multiclass Archetype feats to gain Cleric spell slots, can he use the Spell Blending Arcane Thesis to transform the Cleric spell slots into Wizard spell slots of ...
5
votes
1answer
751 views

Can the Sorcerer's Flexible Casting feature make a “Warlock spell slot” for Eldritch Invocations such as Bewitching Whispers? [duplicate]

There are certain invocations a Warlock can get such as Bewitching Whispers which states: [...] You can cast compulsion once using a warlock spell slot. You can’t do so again until you finish a long ...
4
votes
5answers
1k views

What is the formula behind each level spell slot progression that I can use in a spreadsheet?

I have been trying to find a way to find the formula behind spell slot progression on the multiclass caster table, to add a spell slot table to this sheet with the best example being on the last table ...