Questions tagged [spell-slots]

For questions about spell slots, a method of limiting the casting of spells by granting the caster a certain number of slots into which they can fit spells. This system is common to multiple versions of Dungeons & Dragons and Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
345 views

Does taking the Domain Initiate cleric feat a second time give a second focus point?

Under Focus Points from Multiple Sources the book reads: It’s possible, especially through archetypes, to gain focus spells and Focus Points from more than one source. If this happens, you have ...
5
votes
1answer
115 views

How does the Brewkeeper prestige class's Helpful Homebrew metamagic effect interact with the cleric's prepared spells?

I have recently came across the Brewkeeper prestige class and I fell in love with it. The interactions it has with spells and potions is amazing for late game, especially when you have potions left ...
5
votes
1answer
465 views

Can a level 15 Artillerist Artificer use the same action to make two Eldritch Cannons for the first time in a day without expending a spell slot?

At 3rd level, Artificers get the Eldritch Cannon feature, allowing them to create one of three different Eldritch Cannons. It costs a spell slot to make one, but you also get one free usage of it each ...
5
votes
1answer
312 views

Can the Wizard's “Spell Blending” Arcane Thesis be used to convert spell slots of one tradition to another?

For example, if a Wizard takes Cleric Multiclass Archetype feats to gain Cleric spell slots, can he use the Spell Blending Arcane Thesis to transform the Cleric spell slots into Wizard spell slots of ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the Sorcerer's Flexible Casting feature make a “Warlock spell slot” for Eldritch Invocations such as Bewitching Whispers? [duplicate]

There are certain invocations a Warlock can get such as Bewitching Whispers which states: [...] You can cast compulsion once using a warlock spell slot. You can’t do so again until you finish a long ...
4
votes
5answers
2k views

What is the formula behind each level spell slot progression that I can use in a spreadsheet?

I have been trying to find a way to find the formula behind spell slot progression on the multiclass caster table, to add a spell slot table to this sheet with the best example being on the last table ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to the Warlock Spell Slots when he obtains new Spell Levels?

This isn't explained on the spellcasting section of the warlock. On the table, it's shown the warlock acquires new spell slots as it levels up, for example, starts at level 1 with 1 1st level slot, ...
4
votes
3answers
625 views

Does reading the Book of Exalted Deeds prevent casting non-upcast 5th-level spells into a Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing states (emphasis mine): This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

How do warlocks deal with the Healing Elixir spell, since their spell slots get higher-level as they level up?

How do warlocks deal with the healing elixir spell from Unearthed Arcana: Starter Spells, since it's a level 1 spell and warlocks use higher-level spell slots as they level up?
4
votes
1answer
667 views

What is the damage dealt by Eldritch Smite?

Eldritch Smite is an Eldritch Invocation for Warlocks similar to the Divine Smite feature from Paladins. It is available in Xanathar's Guide to Everything and states Once per turn when you hit a ...
4
votes
2answers
394 views

When can you prepare a recently casted spell?

The Pathfinder rules for divine spellcasting state that: at the time of preparation any spells cast within the previous 8 hours count against the number of spells that can be prepared. But does ...
4
votes
1answer
318 views

Truth Domain + Domain Wizard = 2nd level spells?

Truth Domain, from Races of Eberron, has Detect Thoughts (WIZ 2) in the 1st level Domain Spell slot. With Domain Wizard, "a domain wizard automatically adds each new domain spell to her list of known ...
4
votes
4answers
273 views

Does a Staff of the Magi Fireball penetrate Globe of Invulnerability?

Globe of Invulnerability reads, in part (emphasis mine): Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using ...
3
votes
1answer
495 views

Can racial spell slots work with Sorcerer's Font of Magic & Flexible Magic?

Can racial spell slots work with Sorcerer's Font of Magic & Flexible Magic? EX: Can you use a tiefling's once a day Burning Hands Lv2 and convert it to 2 Sorcery Points? Can This work the other ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Do land circle druids use spell slots when they cast their land circle spells

In 5e D&D, do Land Circle Druids use spell slots for their Land Circle spells? For example, a second level Druid gets 2 cantrips - no spell slots needed - and 3 1st level spell slots. So, he can ...
3
votes
1answer
358 views

Can Wild Magic Surges restore hit points and spell slots to a Simulacrum of a Wild Magic Sorcerer?

Some effects of the Wild Magic table (PHB, p. 104) make the Sorcerer regain hit points or spell slots: 15-16: For the next minute, you regain 5 hit points at the start of each of your turns. ...
3
votes
1answer
385 views

Do the extra spells from the XGtE ranger archetypes expend a spell slot when cast?

In XGtE the Ranger Archetypes are awarded additional spells at specific levels. For example the Monster Slayer archetype receives Protection from Evil and Good at 3rd level. XGtE states The spell ...
3
votes
3answers
321 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
3
votes
1answer
384 views

Can a level 1 Warlock Cast a 4th level spell from 8th level Sorcerer with their warlock pact magic spell slots?

Can my player’s multiclass Warlock 1/Sorcerer 8 cast the higher level sorcerer spells from with their warlock pact magic spell slots? My player argued that he could now cast his 4th level sorcerer ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Pathfinder Witches have a dedicated Patron spell slot?

In Pathfinder, do Witches have a Patron spell slot? APG pg 70, under "Patron Spells" says: At 2nd level, and every two levels thereafter, a witch's patron adds new spells to a witch's list of ...
3
votes
2answers
108 views

Precocious Apprentice + 14+ Ability Score

Does the 2nd Lvl slot given by Precocious Apprentice qualify the character for bonus spells of second level with a ability score of 14 or higher in the corresponding ability?
3
votes
1answer
89 views

Can you use Sublime Chord spell slots to cast Bard spells known from your Bard class (or vice-versa)?

Question is lengthy, so I'll put the question again but in full here: Can you use Sublime Chord spell slots to cast Bard spells known from your Bard class (or vice-versa)? Obviously the spell would ...
3
votes
2answers
396 views

Are there any guides for what ingredients would be needed to make a magic item, spell, or how long to research the spell to make it? [closed]

I’m planning to send my players on quests to get ingredients for a very powerful shield to protect a plane. Are there any guides or recommendations for the difficulty(CR) that magic items of certain ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Warlocks using spell slots with multiclassing [duplicate]

I'm playing a warlock/sorcerer. Can I cast a 1st level warlock spell with a 1st level slot instead of a 2nd level slot using my sorcerer spellcasting instead of pact magic?
3
votes
0answers
68 views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Sorcerer create Pact Slots with the Sorcerer’s flexible casting? [duplicate]

In dnd warlock spell slots are max level so if you make a first-level warlock spell slot using Sorcery points does the spell slot become max level is this possible and if it is can you make infinite ...
3
votes
1answer
775 views

If you take a level in Warlock, do all your other spell slots suddenly start recharging over a short rest? [duplicate]

The warlock's Pact Magic feature says: Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same ...
2
votes
3answers
45k views

How does adding Spells Known and Spell Slots work?

I am struggling to understand how exactly a player learns new spells, let's take for example the Ranger class: At level one they don't get any spell or cantrips. At level two they get to learn 2 ...
2
votes
2answers
12k views

When casting a spell as a reaction using the War Caster feat, does it use up a spell slot?

The third benefit of the War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) says: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

How are spell slots for an Eldritch Knight fighter 3/Arcane Trickster rogue 3 determined?

The multi-classing rules subsection on spell slots says: Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard ...
2
votes
1answer
517 views

Can an NPC cast a spell with a higher-level spell slot?

Can an NPC cast a spell with a higher-level spell slot? For instance, an Archmage has a spell slot for 9th level spells, and knows the Magic Missile spell. As the DM, can I make my Archmage NPC cast ...
2
votes
3answers
443 views

Multiclassing Cleric LvL 4 with Warlock lvl 1 [duplicate]

I am having a nice argument with my buddy about multiclassing. I am new to the game so there is a lot of things I don't know, he is quite versed though. Our argument is centered in the amount of LvL 1,...
2
votes
1answer
302 views

How does flexible casting interact with itself?

As I find builds about the Coffeelock (for peoples who doesn't know, it's a build that allows you to have an infinite amount of 5th level spells slot RAW, involving a sorcerer multiclassing in warlock)...
2
votes
1answer
532 views

What happens to your class features if you short rest while your form has been changed?

Bob the Warlock has blown all of his spell slots. The friendly party druid casts Animal Forms on Bob, and while in his animal form he takes a Short Rest. After the rest completes, he drops out of ...
2
votes
1answer
330 views

How many spell slots should a Fighter 11/Ranger 9 have?

I've been DM for like 2-3 months and one player who's playing a Fighter (arcane archer) wants to multiclass into Ranger. Arcane Archer is not a spellcaster so assuming he will go Fighter 11/Ranger 9 ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

If a cleric or druid with spontaneous casting prepares a lower-level spell in a higher-level slot, what level is the spell?

If a caster with the ability to spontaneously cast some spells (such as a Cleric or Druid) prepares a lower-level spell in a higher-level spell slot, what level is used for the spontaneous spell? ie. ...
2
votes
0answers
54 views

Leveling up, Spell Slot Availability [duplicate]

When a character levels up and gains new spell slots, are those slots available immediately or do they have to rest before they can use those slots?
2
votes
1answer
281 views

Which spell save DC do you use when casting with warlock slots? [duplicate]

So I have found a few questions that are closely related, but I can't find exactly the answer I am looking for. Say you are multiclassed warlock and wizard. You can cast either class's spells through ...
2
votes
0answers
50 views

Can a wizard transcribe spells for which they only have spell slots? [duplicate]

In a campaign that i'm playing in, my my Wizard 3/Cleric 2 has come across some new spells, the one in question being a 3rd level spell. Because of multi classing rules, he has 3rd level slots, but no ...
2
votes
0answers
1k views

Converting Spell Slots to Sorcery Points [closed]

If a sorcerer decides to convert an unused spell slot into spell points, does the sorcerer gain spell points according to the table on p. 101? So if I convert a level 1 spell to spell points, do I ...
1
vote
1answer
332 views

Can I use Eldritch Smite and Divine Smite using only one spell slot?

Can I use 1 Spell slot from Warlock to use both Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite in the same attack? Or I must use 2 spells slots?
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Can a simulacrum true polymorphed into an archmage regain spell slots? [duplicate]

Followup to: Can a simulacrum "regain" HP by being True Polymorphed into a creature that can do so normally? So this is a particularly ridiculous idea, but it might work. A simulacrum ...
1
vote
3answers
29k views

Sorcerer known spells per sorcerer level per spell level

I wondering how many spells known per sorcerer level per spell level. I haven't seen any specific clarification around this. I know sorcerers know a specific number of spells per sorcerer level, but ...
1
vote
1answer
412 views

Can you have more spells known of a certain spell level than you have spell slots of that level?

For instance, the sorcerer's Spellcasting feature (PHB p. 101) says: Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher [...] The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer spells ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

For multiclassed warlock/clerics, do your spell slots from the two classes stack?

So I'm a new DM and one of my PC's who's a 1st-level warlock wants to multi-class into cleric. So he would essentially be a warlock 1/cleric 1. Since the Warlock only has one 1st-level spell slot at ...
1
vote
1answer
552 views

How to make upcasting equivalent to using a higher level spell? [closed]

In general, damage-dealing spells do not seem worth upcasting; the damage just doesn't scale very well. This is probably by design, because no one would bother casting higher level spells if an ...
1
vote
1answer
161 views

Would a multiclassed Arcane Trickster rogue 3 / wizard 1 have only three 1st-level spell slots? [duplicate]

I am new to multiclassing and new to spells with 5e. Currently I am a Level 3 Rogue (Arcane Trickster) and just leveled up to level 4. For my fourth level, I was going to put a level into the wizard ...
1
vote
0answers
84 views

Can a sorcerer cast the same spell twice if enough spell slots are available? [duplicate]

In D&D 5e, let's say that I have two level-1 spell slots available and want to cast Burning Hands. On one turn, I use one of the available spell slots to cast Burning Hands. On my next turn, I ...
1
vote
0answers
75 views

Are the amount of spell slots per caster level derived with math or decided arbitrarily? [duplicate]

I’m attempting to make a spreadsheet in google sheets that would function like an automatic character sheet. I know there a pages and charts in the phb concerting spell slot, but I was wondering how ...
1
vote
0answers
54 views

Spells cast using Pact Magic slots recovery [duplicate]

If a wizard 4/warlock 2 were to cast Shield using a warlock spell slot. Would the character regain the ability to cast it again on a long rest or short?
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Do warlocks have to cast their cantrips at the max level of their spell slots?

If I am a level 4 Warlock I have a minimum of 3 cantrips, 5 spells known at 2nd level and two 2nd level spell slots. When casting Cantrips, is it required to use a 2nd-level spell slot? For ...