Skip to main content

Questions tagged [spellcasting]

For questions relating to the process of casting spells within a game. Including, but not limited to: spellcasting mechanics, improving likelihood of success when casting a spell, interrupting the casting of a spell, and mechanics surrounding spellcasting attributes (when applicable by system).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
3 answers
132 views

Can a 10th Lvl Chronurgy Wizard use its Arcane Abeyance on a spell cast into a Spell Glyph?

(So far as I can tell, this isn't comparable to Wristpocket...) In this scenario, let's say a 10th Lvl Chronurgy Wizard, casts Magic Circle into a Glyph of Warding spell glyph, & applies Arcane ...
ProphetZarquon's user avatar
15 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can Warlocks take feats that require the "Spellcasting Feature"?

In the past we've seen feats that require ("The ability to cast at least one spell"), the War Caster feat (PHB, p.170), is an example of that. I recently aquired the book "Bigby ...
svenema's user avatar
  • 2,581
2 votes
0 answers
38 views

Do Shadow Monks count as spell casters? [duplicate]

Shadow Arts gives you some spells you can cast with Ki, but not the spellcaster class feature or spell slots. However it does give you Minor Illusion as a cantrip, and I believe that races who get ...
Lucius Luci Cypher's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
895 views

Can Nolzur's Marvelous Pigments be used with the Mage hand cantrip?

I am trying to figure out a way for a 1st level wizard to escape from a cage. This is the scenario: he is trapped without any equipment (just a simple robe, and no spell left, except his cantrips: ...
sigmud's user avatar
  • 522
7 votes
2 answers
577 views

Do you have to be holding the agate for Awaken to awaken a beast/plant?

Relevant text: Awaken. Duration: Instantaneous. ...After spending the casting time tracing magical pathways within a precious gemstone, you touch a huge or smaller beast or plant. It doesn't say ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
7 votes
2 answers
302 views

Would a creature finding itself in the AOE of Insect Plague when it is cast receive damage three times if it were to also end its turn there?

During our session, we ended up debating with our DM over the wording of Insect Plague. Insect Plague's damage occurs under three conditions. Once when the spell is cast, and creatures find themselves ...
Menrel's user avatar
  • 79
1 vote
3 answers
156 views

Is the subject of a commune spell question the target of a divination spell?

In a previous question, I asked how the drow clergy of the Fane would be able to gather information on a cautious party that had infiltrated the city of Erelhei-Cinlu. One of the answers suggested ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.4k
4 votes
2 answers
90 views

Does Dispelling Globe counteract a spell that targets a creature inside the Globe?

While this previously seemed obvious to me, the answer to my previous question makes me doubtful. Dispelling Globe (previously known as Globe of Invulnerability) has the following effect: It attempts ...
Alex Millette's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
405 views

Would Thunder Crystal be ok for a Rare rating?

I'll be DMing for a party in an adventure where a lot of enemies will have resistance or immunity to the most common damage types, like Fire, Cold or Poison. In the previous adventure my Sorcerer ...
Mołot's user avatar
  • 24.6k
6 votes
1 answer
118 views

Does Dispelling Globe counteract a spell previously cast on a creature that moves into the globe?

Dispelling Globe (previously known as Globe of Invulnerability) has the following effect: It attempts to counteract any spell from outside the globe whose area or targets enter into it, as if the ...
Alex Millette's user avatar
20 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens if the black onyx used in an Animate Dead spell isn't expensive enough?

Consider the following situation: The group kills a monster, and one PC wants to use Animate Dead to turn it into an skeleton under his control. But the players have no idea what the monster is, much ...
Yopi Lapi's user avatar
  • 3,817
7 votes
1 answer
269 views

Does Casting Enlarge/Reduce on a College-of-Creation-Bard's Dancing Item Cause that Item to be Inanimate?

Relevant quotes: Enlarge. The target’s size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category – from Medium to Large, for example. ... ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
-6 votes
8 answers
545 views

How can I remove the "Generalist Spellcaster" paradigm from the game?

Pathfinder 2e designer Michael Sayer made a post describing the game's assumptions of how spellcasters are intended to play, which I found completely baffling, and totally at odds with any game I've ...
Strill's user avatar
  • 10.7k
11 votes
2 answers
396 views

Is the moons' influence on spellcasting balanced for a Dragonlance campaign?

I am about to DM Shadow of the Dragon Queen and I have almost finished reading the manual, to get the general idea of the adventure. To be honest, I feel that the setting depicted here does not feel ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 30k
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Casting a Fireball spell past an illusionary wall from Major Image

Player knew that a illusionary wall (Major Image) was fake. They wanted to centre the Fireball past the illusionary wall to catch a target that had just run thought it. I said, they couldn't as they ...
Bucket's user avatar
  • 2,616
17 votes
1 answer
3k views

What can a ranger 1/paladin 1 do with their spell slots?

Paladins and rangers get their spellcasting at level 2, as they are half-casters. However, a ranger 1/paladin 1 would have the spell slots of a 1st-level full caster. Would this hypothetical character ...
User 23415's user avatar
  • 3,716
6 votes
1 answer
249 views

Manifest Mind: Does Wizard have awakened Spellbook Vision on Reactions

Player wizard was hidden behind pillar and had the Awakened Spellbook out in play. Monster cast Hypnotic Pattern on multiple party members. Player attempted to counterspell from behind the pillar. ...
noralf's user avatar
  • 162
5 votes
2 answers
282 views

Can an Artificer's Infusions act as a spellcasting focus for spells from another class?

I'm specifically looking at the case of a character that starts as an Armorer Artificer, then multiclasses into Wizard for the majority of their career. As I read it, as long as the Artificer has ...
pixelcrash's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

If you are invisible, cast Detect Thoughts, and attempt to probe deeper into a target's mind, how would they know it was you?

As part of the description of the Detect Thoughts spell, it states: As an action, you can either shift your attention to another creature’s thoughts or attempt to probe deeper into the same creature’...
Cameron Crane's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does a new source of temporary HP instantly end the effects of motivational speech?

Per the wording of the spell - Choose up to five creatures within range that can hear you. For the duration, each affected creature gains 5 temporary hit points and has advantage on Wisdom saving ...
A.K. Lewis's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

Why does this 7th-level spellcaster NPC only have slots and prepared spells appropriate to a 3rd-level spellcaster?

In Tyranny of Dragons, on page 184, an NPC stat block makes no sense. I’ve checked the errata and have found no correction. It says the NPC “is a 7th-level spellcaster that uses Intelligence as his ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
7 votes
4 answers
2k views

Can you hold Plane Shift on an unwilling creature until they touch you to skip the melee spell attack?

One of my players uses the Plane Shift spell quite regularly in battle to get rid of unwanted opponents. With the ready action and the holding of a spell being a thing, the question has come up, ...
Ella's user avatar
  • 457
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is spell switch on the go homebrew OP?

I recently started playing DnD5E (the starter campaign Lost Mines of Phandelver), and read about the memorization of spells. And even more recently I started playing Baldur's Gate 3. In BG3 I noticed ...
Gnudiff's user avatar
  • 183
17 votes
8 answers
6k views

How to interrogate a magic user who has misty step?

We're players in a homebrew campaign, and have recently knocked out some sort of wizard that can use spells such as fly, fireball, shield and misty step. We've tied him up and put something in his ...
Lelebees's user avatar
  • 173
5 votes
3 answers
974 views

How would this extra spellcasting rule affect game balance?

I once heard of a D&D 5th edition group who played using various house rules. One such rule was as follows: As a bonus action, a spellcaster may cast any cantrip, 1st level spell, or 2nd level ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
-1 votes
2 answers
370 views

Shouldn't Magic Missile be a Divination Spell instead of Evocation? [closed]

Don't take me wrong, but in all editions I've seen so far, Magic Missile is a spell that launches darts or orbs of pure magical force (thus, it's an Evocation Spell). Inside its descriptions, it says ...
Carl HR's user avatar
  • 141
2 votes
1 answer
212 views

If a multiclassed Sorcerer/Wizard both knows and prepares Magic Missile, does it count as both a Sorcerer spell and a Wizard spell? [duplicate]

I'm building a new character for our weekly game and a build-around that I think could be fun is to optimize for the number of times I roll on the Wild Magic Surge table while dealing respectable ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
14 votes
5 answers
3k views

Do handcuffs prevent you from casting spells with somatic components?

Is a handcuffed spellcaster still capable of executing the somatic components of spells? I'm asking about rulings in the official rulebooks, not "This is how I'd do this" responses.
User 23415's user avatar
  • 3,716
3 votes
1 answer
524 views

What balance pitfalls result from simplifying the range of all D&D 5e spells to either Touch or Line-of-Sight?

For context, the Everyday Heroes product line is based on, and designed to be largely compatible with, D&D 5e. It is essentially a revival of the 3e d20 Modern line. Unlike the d20 Modern Core ...
screamline's user avatar
  • 9,050
1 vote
1 answer
146 views

Using spell with a bonus action when we had 2 actions (Haste or Action Surge as example) [duplicate]

The Players Handbook says: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action ...
Flo's user avatar
  • 371
2 votes
1 answer
132 views

Casting spells while out of hearing and sight

There are other questions addressing how casting attack spells while hidden blows your cover, but what if you are out of the range of perception for the target? Some additional background: based on ...
Isaac Kotlicky's user avatar
18 votes
3 answers
2k views

Means of pretending to be Dominated, thralled, or Charmed

Is there any means for a character to pretend to be subject to a mind-effecting spell or ability after resisting or being immune, so as not to alert the caster?
The Amused Muse's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
4k views

Would a Lich/Wizard casting Globe of Invulnerability, Prismatic Wall, and Shield (as needed) be "invincible"?

In Dnd 5e, would casting Globe of Invulnerability at 8th level (concentration) on a surprise round, then Prismatic Wall (action) around the caster at the top of the next round, and Shield (Reaction) ...
Lemniscate's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
152 views

Can a 14th level College of Creation Bard Create Five Summonable Items for Free with Creative Crescendo and Drawmij's Instant Summons? [duplicate]

Creative Crescendo. At 14th level, when you use your Performance of Creation feature, you can create more than one item at once. The number of items equals your Charisma modifier (minimum of two items)...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

Do "10th-level spells" show up anywhere in 5th Edition lore?

I saw a video a while back about some examples of so-called "10th-level spells" causing havoc, in possibly outdated lore. I'm wondering if any of the examples of such spells have persisted ...
order's user avatar
  • 4,091
0 votes
1 answer
104 views

Can the damage taken from Blood Channeling cause you to lose concentration on the spell it's paying for?

The Blood Channeling feature of the Blood Magic Wizard from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: When casting a wizard spell that requires a costly material component, you can forego the ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
2 votes
1 answer
939 views

Does the Vital Sacrifice feat cause Fireball or Magic Missile to deal additional damage? If so, to whom?

The Vital Sacrifice feat from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says you can expend a blood boon to gain the following benefit: When you hit with an attack or spell, you deal an additional 2d6 ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
-5 votes
1 answer
192 views

Do the Friends cantrip and War Caster feat allow a PC to heal another PC as a reaction?

The Friends cantrip turns a creature hostile. When the spell ends, the creature realizes that you used magic to influence its mood and becomes hostile toward you. Opportunity attacks can be made ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
16 votes
4 answers
5k views

Does Cartomancer's Hidden Ace require you to expend a spell slot?

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things has a feature, Hidden Ace, that says "when you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class's spell list and imbue that spell ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Cartomancer's Hidden Ace allow you to bypass the casting time of a spell with a long casting time?

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things has a feature, Hidden Ace, that says "when you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class's spell list and imbue that spell ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does Cartomancer's Hidden Ace allow you to cast a spell you normally couldn't prepare?

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things has a feature, Hidden Ace, that says "when you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class's spell list and imbue that spell ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
7 votes
2 answers
898 views

Does the Cartomancer feat's Hidden Ace benefit require the imbued spell's components at the time of casting and/or imbuing?

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things (p. 49) states that "You can use a card deck as your spellcasting focus." It also has a feature, Hidden Ace, that says "when you ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
2 votes
1 answer
398 views

When using a deck of cards as a spellcasting focus (with Cartomancer), can you flourish a single card (for Hidden Ace) with the hand holding the deck?

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things states that "You can use a card deck as your spellcasting focus." It also states that you can "imbue" a spell "into a ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
5 votes
1 answer
80 views

Can Paragon Surge be cast on a familiar?

Familiars have the Share Spells ability, allowing spells with special targeting rules to be cast on them: Share Spells: The wizard may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch ...
Phoenices's user avatar
  • 2,107
2 votes
1 answer
131 views

Can You Hold the Stone that Wall of Stone Springs From?

Relevant Quotes: A nonmagical wall of solid stone springs into existence at a point you choose within range. The wall is 6 inches thick and is composed of ten 10-foot-by-10-foot panels. Each panel ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Would raging break the concentration of a Wild Shaped Druid?

If you had a Druid/Barbarian multiclass would you be able to cast a spell such as Call Lightning that requires concentration, Wild Shape, and then rage without breaking concentration on the spell? ...
XenLight's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
209 views

Can you drop concentration on Delayed Blast Fireball as Dispel Magic is being cast on it? [duplicate]

Assume you cast Delayed Blast Fireball, another creature then casts Dispel Magic on it. Would you be able to end your concentration--causing it to explode--as it is being dispelled? If so, do you do ...
AnotherAnonymous's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
172 views

Can a Devil variant of the Fiendish Spirit summoned by the Summon Fiend spell grapple a creature and also use its Hurl Flame action with multiattack?

Premise Can a Devil variant of the Fiendish Spirit summoned by the Summon Fiend spell perform a Grapple as one of its attacks on its turn, and also use its Hurl Fire ranged spell attack? Per the ...
Milo Kurain's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
323 views

Can I cast Clinging Ice twice on the same target?

Clinging Ice is a Witch cantrip. It does very good damage for its action cost, but the "target becomes immune for 1 minute after the spell ends". The spell ends if you do not Sustain it at ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
7 votes
4 answers
2k views

What is the maximum amount of reusable spells a character can have at the same time that do not require spell slots to cast?

I enjoy casting spells in D&D, but spell slots have always felt big and important to me. Regardless of the build I make, I always feel some compulsion to save them for a more important and pivotal ...
Milo Kurain's user avatar

1
2 3 4 5
19