Skip to main content

Questions tagged [spellcasting-focus]

For questions about items which serve as a focus for in spellcasting. Examples include wands and staves. NOTE: For questions about magic items such as magic wands or staves, use [magic-items] instead.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11 votes
2 answers
748 views

Can an Artificer use a Veteran's Cane created with Replicate Magic Item as a Focus after it has changed to a Longsword?

Relevant Text: Artificer: TOOLS REQUIRED "...After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus." Magic ...
Alterinam's user avatar
  • 149
2 votes
1 answer
181 views

Can a Circle of Stars Druid wear a star map and simply touch it to use it as a focus?

I am a druid/monk multiclass. Am I able to use my quarterstaff 2 handed and wear the star map, simply touching it to use material components for a spell, or do I need to be holding it? This isn't ...
Rhylas's user avatar
  • 57
5 votes
2 answers
292 views

Can an Artificer's Infusions act as a spellcasting focus for spells from another class?

I'm specifically looking at the case of a character that starts as an Armorer Artificer, then multiclasses into Wizard for the majority of their career. As I read it, as long as the Artificer has ...
pixelcrash's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a jewel that's an arcane focus be put on a rod and still count as one?

What an arcane focus can be is listed in the Player's Handbook. If we say the player has a blue jewel and this is his arcane focus and the player put this jewel on a simple rod (not magic - any branch ...
Flo's user avatar
  • 371
2 votes
1 answer
399 views

When using a deck of cards as a spellcasting focus (with Cartomancer), can you flourish a single card (for Hidden Ace) with the hand holding the deck?

The new Cartomancer feat from The Book of Many Things states that "You can use a card deck as your spellcasting focus." It also states that you can "imbue" a spell "into a ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
3 votes
1 answer
228 views

Is a holy symbol borne on a shield a discrete object for the purposes of being the target of a spell?

Is the holy symbol that a cleric or paladin can use as a spellcasting focus a discrete object? Does it stop being a discrete object when the player decides to bear it on a shield by inlaying it? For ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
4 votes
3 answers
575 views

As a multiclass Sorcerer Warlock can I use Improved Pact Weapon as spellcasting focus for Sorcerer spells?

Both Warlock and Sorcerer use an arcane focus for their spell casting. Improved Pact Weapon lets the Pact of the Blade Warlock use a summoned weapon as their spellcasting focus. As a multiclass ...
TheyCallMeBruce's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can an Artillerist use their eldritch cannon as a focus?

I'm trying to parse out how to wear a shield, still be able to cast spells, and mitigate the cannon's abysmal walking speed in between encounters. Perhaps a shoulder mount, a la "Predator"?
Necronomicronic's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
356 views

Does the Magic Initiate feat require another focus? [duplicate]

Put simply, if say a druid wanted to take the Magic Initiate feat to gain access to sorcerer spells, would that require them to have a component pouch or arcane focus to cast those spells, as it would ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,398
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does a spell caster need to hold onto their arcane focus when concentrating on a spell?

The long-short of it is that I want to use the maneuver Disarming Attack to make a mage drop their arcane focus. While I know this will delay their spell casting (as it requires an action to pick up ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,398
5 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can an Artificer cast V,S spells with no free hand

Just seeking to clear up a bit of confusion. There seems to be a lot of points and counter points floating around so I will start at the beginning. As I understand it a Artificer (RAW but perhaps not ...
JFreeman's user avatar
  • 1,292
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does a spell have to come from your spellcasting focus?

If I for example use scorching ray does it have to fire out of my focus or can I hold the focus in one hand and fire the spell from the other?
AxelLP's user avatar
  • 73
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a multiclassed artificer/rogue use Sneak Attack with spells that use a ranged weapon as a spellcasting focus?

So, according to a tweet by Jeremy Crawford, it is possible to Sneak Attack with a magic stone when using a sling, even though it is a ranged spell attack. That got me thinking: if an artificer imbues ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
6 votes
0 answers
108 views

Can a Dhampir Sword Bard use their fangs as a spellcasting focus? [duplicate]

A Dhampir's fanged bite is considered a simple melee weapon, Vampiric Bite. Your fanged bite is a natural weapon, which counts as a simple melee weapon with which you are proficient. At level 3, the ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.1k
14 votes
1 answer
6k views

Do I need to use the Arcane Grimoire as a spellcasting focus to gain its bonuses?

The description of the arcane grimoire magic item states (TCE, p. 120; emphasis mine): While you are holding this leather-bound book, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells, ...
Kallenz's user avatar
  • 722
0 votes
3 answers
747 views

What balance pitfalls result from permitting an artillerist artificer to use ordinary, non-infused arcane foci for spellcasting?

For reasons of narrative flexibility, my group is considering house-ruling the artificer to permit using ordinary arcane foci (wands, staves, orbs, etc.) in addition to artisan's tools for ...
screamline's user avatar
  • 9,050
3 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can some Tools be used as a Druidic focus?

While I was thinking about multiclassing Druid with Artificer, I wonder how broad the definition of Druidic Focus is. Might this definition cover some Tools to use the same focus for both Druid and ...
Carpetman's user avatar
  • 325
4 votes
6 answers
3k views

What is the mechanism for a character swapping their arcane/Druidic focus

As has been pointed out, a Druidic focus and a holy symbol are distinct from an arcane focus, but given they all perform essentially the same function, and the same issues probably apply to all of ...
Dan W's user avatar
  • 2,029
3 votes
1 answer
555 views

Can a wizard dual wield spellbooks and still use somatics while gaining the spellbooks "held" abilities?

I'm playing a wizard who has come across two magical spellbooks. Both spellbooks have abilities/effects that I may choose to activate if I hold them, as well as functioning as spell foci. In the PHB/...
Malice's user avatar
  • 61
1 vote
2 answers
727 views

Do NPC spellcasters need a component pouch or an arcane focus?

By D&D 5e RAW, is it possible for the BBEG (or any NPC) to cast spells without needing material components? Alternatively, is there any powerful magic item (e.g. a ring or pendant) in the ...
Nanashi No Gombe's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does wearing a focus keep your hands free?

So the text for the Nature's Mantle in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything states: while wearing the cloak, you can use it as a focus for your druid and ranger spells." Other foci specify "while ...
Mike's user avatar
  • 93
8 votes
1 answer
139 views

Can a wizard have previously prepared objects as backup arcane focuses?

Could a wizard somehow have already prepped objects (like backup wands, staves, or whatever object) as backup arcane focuses? For example, say you're a Runesage (which is the class I'm interested in), ...
ThreeQuent's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can an Eldritch Knight use a Ruby of the War Mage?

As explained in How does an arcane focus work with an Eldritch Knight?, Eldritch Knights can't use an arcane focus as a spellcasting focus. Ruby of the War Mage (XGtE p. 138), however, states: Etched ...
PixelMaster's user avatar
  • 26.2k
3 votes
0 answers
39 views

Are Spellcasting Focuses inherently magical? [duplicate]

Im having a bit of a quarrel with my DM about if spellcasting focuses are magical. He believes that they are magical since it seems magical to him that you now dont need actual material components ...
Ace Of Space's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can an Armorer Artificer wearing Guardian-model Arcane Armor cast a somatic spell without holding tools or having the Warcaster feat?

The Guardian model described in the Arcane Armor feature of the Armorer Artificer includes "Thunder Gauntlets": Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
2 votes
2 answers
276 views

Is a bonus for a dedicated spell focus too powerful? [closed]

Would giving a bonus to spell casters via a dedicated spell focus make them too powerful? Examples: A dedicated focus for all evocation spells grants a +1 bonus to spell attack rolls and damage. A ...
MyKill's user avatar
  • 47
9 votes
4 answers
4k views

Can I use a gauntlet as an arcane focus?

I am creating a Dragonborn warlock character and was just wondering if I could get a crystal arcane focus set into the middle of a gauntlet?
S1njack's user avatar
  • 91
8 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can the diamond material component for the Chromatic Orb spell be used as an Arcane Focus?

The Chromatic Orb spell (PHB, p. 221) has a material component of "a diamond worth at least 50 gp". Meanwhile, the description of the Arcane Focus item says (emphasis mine): An arcane focus ...
CWallach's user avatar
  • 1,594
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

If a spellcaster's racial trait grants a spell that requires material components, can they use their class' focus to cast that spell?

Based on the answer to this question about non-spellcasters, spells granted by racial traits don't waive the need for material components. However, can spellcasters use their class' allowed focuses ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
6 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon allow casting a spell with somatic and material components using a Heavy-crossbow as the focus?

As stated in the title, I've read about casting spells with somatic component with two-handed weapons here. The thing is that the Xanathar's warlock invocation [Improved Pact Weapon] says that you can ...
Phos's user avatar
  • 125
0 votes
1 answer
850 views

If I use a quarterstaff as my Arcane Focus, can I add my Proficiency Bonus, the way a Bard does when using an instrument as their arcane focus?

A Bard can add their Proficiency Bonus to checks they make with a Musical Instrument they're proficient with. It says on p.154 under Musical Instruments in the Player's Handbook: If you have ...
PoutPoutFish123's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
90 views

Can a "staff arcane focus" also act like a Quarterstaff? [duplicate]

Can I use a Quarterstaff as an Arcane Focus (Staff)? In my opinion it would make sense. They both even have the same weight! The reason I'm asking this is because I'm making a wizard and it would ...
PoutPoutFish123's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
140 views

If you cast a spell with a focus component and a long duration, does it end if the focus component goes missing?

I can't seem to find a good example outside of 3rd party materials right now and pending GM or Dev input I figured I'd ask here. The example I'm specifically looking at is the Dart Gun I spell from ...
Dorian's user avatar
  • 3,321
11 votes
3 answers
4k views

What exactly are you getting when you buy an Emblem Holy Symbol?

The description for the Emblem Holy Symbol is as follows (PHB, p. 151): Holy Symbol. A holy symbol is a representation of a god or pantheon. It might an amulet depicting a symbol representing a ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
1 vote
1 answer
103 views

Do you still take the focus penalty from the Cunning Caster feat when your focus is permanent?

Cunning Caster This feat allows you to hide spellcasting, but takes penalties for every visual aspect of the spell you need to hide. The general benefit is below: When casting a spell, you can ...
Stephen R's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
8k views

Druids, Focuses, Shields, and Spells involving a weapon

One of my players has a 2nd level Druid. He’s been casting shillelagh on his club, he’s also using a shield. I’ve been a little loose with the Druidic focus mechanics but I desire to be more precise ...
Aaron Ryder's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

How does the Mizzium Apparatus's ability to serve as an arcane focus interact with its ability to let you cast a spell you don't know/have prepared?

I recently got to DM my first campaign, and I was planning on letting my players get their hands on a Mizzium Apparatus. However, reading what the Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica says about the item, ...
Kahadi's user avatar
  • 81
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Can I use a ring as an arcane focus if my hand must still be empty?

I'm designing an outlander wood elf warlock who only has one hand. I feel like this would prevent me from cheating the action economy, while still allowing me to carry things with that hand. If I need ...
VarisBersk's user avatar
15 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can an Arcane Focus be embedded in one's body?

So, I had this idea for an albino orc, who was thrown out of his clan for being different, and ended up being raised by some elves. These elves taught him the way of magic, and thus, there was Vajor ...
dylanr2003's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
336 views

Unarmed Sorcerer's Spell Focus? [closed]

My sorcerer player has taken exception to the existence of the Hat of Wizardry being wearable on the head but not usable by a sorcerer, a class whom in their opinion shouldn't need any spell focuses ...
Blam's user avatar
  • 517
6 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does a multiclassed Oathbreaker paladin/warlock have to know the Darkness spell as a warlock to cast it using an arcane focus?

As an Oathbreaker Paladin/Warlock, my character gets darkness as an oath spell at level 5, meaning he can cast it using his holy symbol. In the event that he loses his holy symbol, does he have to ...
Matt200288's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

How does a character multiclassing into warlock get a focus?

I have a martial character I want to multi-class into warlock but from what I can see in the book, it looks like they would not receive an arcane focus since they don't get their new class' starting ...
Jonathan Grant's user avatar
14 votes
1 answer
4k views

If a character can use a +X magic weapon as a spellcasting focus, does it add the bonus to spell attacks or spell save DCs?

My 5e College of Swords bard can use a weapon as a spell focus for their spell casting. If they have a +1 rapier and cast a spell requiring a spell attack roll, do they get the +1 added to their ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.8k
14 votes
2 answers
11k views

Can a Bard use an arcane focus?

The description of the Weave of Magic in the Spellcasting chapter says Bards are users of Arcane magic, but they seem to only be offered the use of an instrument as a focus. Can they use a standard ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
12 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can an arcane focus boost spell attack or damage rolls?

Is it possible for an arcane focus to boost spell attack or damage rolls? To act as a +1/+2/etc. modifier, like stronger physical weapons.
JT1987's user avatar
  • 121
1 vote
0 answers
2k views

If a UA Artificer infuses a weapon and uses it as a spellcasting focus, can it be used for the somatic component of a spell too? [duplicate]

The new Artificer class (from Unearthed Arcana) for 5e can infuse magic into weapons or shields, and use the infused item as a spell focus for material components. However, can you wave your focus for ...
Kristian Daugaard's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a 2019 UA Artificer use a Mizzium Apparatus as a spellcasting focus?

In the 2019 Unearthed Arcana version of the Artificer, they are noted as using artisan's tools as the foci of their spells, rather than the more typical arcane or divine focuses, though the ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Which components for the Simulacrum spell are consumed?

The components of the simulacrum spell read as follows Components: V, S, M (snow or ice in quantities sufficient to made a life-size copy of the duplicated creature; some hair, fingernail clippings,...
L0neGamer's user avatar
  • 4,787
24 votes
5 answers
8k views

Can a Spell Focus or Component Pouch be used with a spell that has costless consumed components?

Spellcasters do not always need to provide the literal materials when casting spells with costless components, that's what pouches and foci are for. A character can use a component pouch or a ...
goodguy5's user avatar
  • 21.1k
0 votes
1 answer
355 views

Are all magical staves and wands spellcasting foci? [duplicate]

Are magical items such as: Staff of Frost DMG page 202 Staff of Power DMG page 202 Wand of Fireballs DMG page 210 Wand of the War Mage +1 DMG page 212 Considered to be foci usable for spellcasting, ...
Foffos's user avatar
  • 1,389